BBC Sunday-Night Play (TV Mini-Series 1960–1963) Poster


Episode List


Season 4

21 Oct. 1962
A Suitable Case for Treatment
Heavy-drinking Marxist writer Morgan Delt must hold on to his sanity whilst trying to resolve his marital problems.
28 Oct. 1962
The Big Eat
An eating contest is staged for a new TV show - with fatal results.
18 Nov. 1962
The Aspern Papers
A publisher insinuates himself into the mouldering mansion of the centenarian lover of a renowned but long-dead poet in order to find his lost love letter.
23 Dec. 1962
The Canterville Ghost
The ghost of Sir Simon De Canterville has terrified visitors to his family home for centuries - but when a family of Americans rent the place, he's the one who's terrified.
13 Jan. 1963
The Madhouse on Castle Street
A man mysteriously locks himself in a room in a boarding house leaving only a note saying he has decided to "retire from the world". His worried sister and the other boarders then try to discover why.
24 Feb. 1963
The Prisoner
Not to be confused with the 1967 TV series of the same name (also starring Patrick McGoohan), this adaptation of Bridget Boland's 1954 stage play depicts the conflict between a Cardinal (allegedly inspired by real-life Hungarian Cardinal Mindszenty) in an unnamed totalitarian state and the Interrogator who tries to force him into a public abjure of his religious convictions.
3 Mar. 1963
June Fall
Two lonely, unbeautiful people are brought together by a dating agency, and, against all odds, find love.
10 Mar. 1963
Continuity Man
Don and Roz, a very trendy couple, are expecting a Hollywood film actress as their dinner guest, but find they also have to look after Don's very eccentric and contrary father.
17 Mar. 1963
For Tea on Sunday
Three girls sharing living accommodation invite their boyfriends for tea on Sunday. One of the young men arrives carrying an ax over his shoulder.
26 May 1963
How to Get Rid of Your Wife
Mild-mannered and unassuming, Gerald Swinney has had enough of his nagging, domineering wife. So he resolves, not to kill her, but simply to "get rid" of her.
16 Jun. 1963
The Full Chatter
An eccentric teacher dreams of finding fame as a novelist; but everything in his life seems to conspire against him.
14 Jul. 1963
Take the Plunge
Douglas has fallen in love with an American girl and is perturbed to find, at the same time, that he really must get a job at last.
15 Sep. 1963
The Affair
A young fellow of a Cambridge college is accused of fraud and dismissed. Based on the eighth novel in C.P. Snow's "Strangers and Brothers" series.

« Season 3 |  Season 4 

See also

TV Schedule

Contribute to This Page