IMDb > WrestleMania XXIV (2008) (TV) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
WrestleMania XXIV
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
WrestleMania XXIV (TV) More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 15 reviews in total 

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

The best Wrestlemania in the last 5 years...

9/10
Author: KillerK1991 from United States
31 March 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Most the matches on the card were solid. Most ended up being a lot better than I though they were. There was really only one mediocre match that was thankfully short.

The results were as follows: 1. The Undertaker def. World Heavyweight Champion Edge (New Champion)- Great way to end the show. Edge put on one hell of a performance. He dominated the contest. He may have came up short, but he went out a fighting champion, redeeming his other hilariously cheap wins. Undertaker delivered as well, refusing to show any signs of age hindering his step. I can see both main eventing Wrestlemanias for their respective brands for years to come.(5/5)

2. Floyd "Money" Mayweather def. Big Show (Knockout)- This surprisingly lived up to the hype(or lack thereof), and delivered one of the most entertaining contests in Wrestlemania history. Big Show has really stepped up his game. Mayweather should stick around a while longer-he makes a great heel.(4.5/5)

3. Triple Threat Match: Randy Orton def. John Cena and Triple H (Orton retains WWE Title)- The best result of the night. It's very refreshing to see WWE pull a wild card. Like him or not, Orton needed this win a 100x more than HHH and Cena.(4/5)

4. Beth Phoenix & Melina def. Ashley & Maria in the BunnyMania Lumberjack Match- This shocked me the most. The divas actually put on a good match for once. Ashley and Melina remind me of Lita and Trish, and should feud for the title sooner rather than later.(3.5/5)

5. Kane def. ECW Champion Chavo Guerrero (New Champion)- About time Kane had his moment in the sun. A very brief moment I might add...(3/5)

6. SmackDown vs. Raw: Batista def. Umaga- The worst match of the night, they needed to spice it up quite a bit by making it a cage match or something. I wasn't interested at all.(2/5)

7. Shawn Michaels def. Ric Flair (Career Threatening Match)- Unsurprisingly, they put on a clinic. Michaels, seemingly motivated by Flair's "moonsalt" comment the night before managed to deliver quite a few, including a crazy lionsalt from the outside apron through a table. Unfortunately they decided to end it with an incredibly cheesy ending, but at least they gave Flair the dignity of essentially putting himself away.(4/5)

8. CM Punk wins the Money in the Bank Ladder Match- Highlights of this thriller involved Morrison's laddersalt outside the ring, the Sunset Flip-Superplex-Bomb off the ladder delivered by Kennedy and Shelton, and Matt Hardy's somewhat predictable return. Jericho seemed poised to win but got his foot caught in the ladder by Punk in a moment reminiscent of Razor Ramon/HBK's finale years back.(5/5)

9. JBL def. Finlay in a Belfast Brawl This match was okay. It was well placed at the beginning of the show and it was over quick, which was probably for the best considering the competitors(Though JBL's entertaining) and little that was at stake.(3/5)

In short:

Best Match: Edge vs Taker(Classic)

Worst Match: Batista vs Umaga(Boring)

Best Result: Orton Winning.(Refreshing)

Worst Result: Mayweather winning.(Predictable)

Overall: 9.5/10

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

A great Wrestlemania that was under the sun

8/10
Author: kliko400 from Australia
1 April 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Wrestlemania XXIV was a great show which had great matches, good memories, good story lines and hype. I would definitely say that this Wrestlemania was better than last years {Although last years was a great Wrestlemania as well}.

FIRST MATCH- JBL VS. FINLAY W/ HORNSWOGGLE IN A BELFAST BRAWL MATCH An okay way to start Wrestlemania with this Belfast Brawl match which has had a great storyline behind it. It was pretty brutal with lots of weapons used such as kendo sticks, tables, trashcans etc. Good match, JBL wins after hitting Finlay with the Clothesline From Hell. 6/10

SECOND MATCH- MR. KENNEDY VS. JOHN MORRISON VS. CHRIS JERICHO VS. CM PUNK VS. CARLITO VS. SHELTON BENJAMIN VS. MVP IN A MONEY IN THE BANK LADDER MATCH This was by far the best MITB that I have seen, although one problem is if it could have gone maybe a extra 5-10 minutes longer. Highlights are definitely Morrison doing a moonsault on the outside holding a ladder at the same time. Also Matt Hardy made an unexpected return & nailed a Twist Of Fate on MVP from a ladder. CM Punk grabs the briefcase & wins the MITB Ladder match. 6/10

THIRD MATCH- BATISTA VS. UMAGA IN A RAW VS. SMACKDOWN SUPERIORITY MATCH Started off slow, but picked up pace later on. Could of been a good match but it was kept pretty short as Batista beat Umaga with the best Batista Bomb I have ever seen {Even though I hate Batista}. 5/10

FOURTH MATCH- MARIA & ASHLEY VS. BETH PHOENIX & MELINA IN A TAG TEAM LUMBERJACK MATCH SPECIAL ENFORCER: SNOOP DOGG I had low expectations for this match, as Diva matches at Wrestlemania seem to be very boring. But I slightly enjoyed this match, because off new wrestling moves shown by the Divas throughout the match. Santino distracts Maria, enough time for Beth Phoenix to nail her Brainbuster move for the win. After the match, Snoop Dogg knocks down Santino & surprisingly locks lips with Maria. 5/10

FIFTH MATCH- RIC FLAIR VS. SHAWN MICHAELS IN A CAREER THREATENING MATCH IF RIC FLAIR LOSES, HE WILL HAVE TO RETIRE FROM WRESTLING Good enjoyable match that had that Wrestlemania feel to it. Great submission wrestling holds were used through this match, as Ric Flair despite his age sure can wrestle. Michaels hesitates, then tells Flair "I love you" before nailng Sweet Chin Music on Flair for the victory, as Flair's prestigious career is sadly over. An emotional match it was as we should expect, as Flair was very tearful after his match. 6/10

SIXTH MATCH- CHAVO GUERRERO {CHAMPION} VS. KANE FOR THE ECW CHAMPIONSHIP Kane won the 24 Battle Royal earlier to earn a title shot. Very short match with Kane nailing a Chokeslam on Chavo for the easy victory. May be short, but it was priceless as Kane has finally won after all the benefits he has done for the WWE such as competing in lame story lines. 5/10

SEVENTH MATCH- RANDY ORTON {CHAMPION} VS. TRIPLE H VS. JOHN CENA IN A TRIPLE-THREAT MATCH FOR THE WWE CHAMPIONSHIP I was very surprised to see this match placed too early on the card, as I honestly thought it was going to be the mainevent. I was a bit disappointed as to how short this match took, should of been longer. Randy Orton covers Cena after a HHH Pedigree for the win to retain his WWE Title. I honestly did not think that Orton was going to retain, good job WWE. 5/10

EIGHT MATCH- FLOYD "MONEY" MAYWEATHER VS. BIG SHOW IN A NO HOLDS BARRED MATCH I enjoyed this match very much, as Floyd Mayweather is just not worth $20 Million. I liked how Big Show was beating Floyd up, until the end of the match, where Mayweather would knock Big Show out with a brass knuckle for Big Show to be knocked out for the 10 count. 6/10

NINTH MATCH- EDGE {CHAMPION} VS. UNDERTAKER FOR THE WORLD HEAVYWEIGHT CHAMPIONSHIP This was by far the best match on the card. You can feel the intensity, the rivalry and the hype behind this match. Lots of nearfalls and counters made this match just plain enjoyable and pure entertainment. Edge even breaks out of Undertaker's tombstone finisher during the match, Undertaker catches Edge in his new submission to get the tap out victory, keep his undefeated streak alive and winning the World Heavyweight Championship for the 6th time. Kudos to both men as this is what you call a Wrestlemania main event. 7/10

This was a very enjoyable Wrestlemania, even better than last year's. WWE put a very good effort on this event, that made it worth watching. Some matches were short, but that was about it. Still this is one Wrestlemania to talk about. Good job WWE.

Overall I'll give it 8/10 & a B+

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Better than last year!

Author: Legend Killer from United Kingdom
31 March 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This Wrestlemania was a great Wrestle Mania. Not a contender for the greatest Wrestle Mania of all time however, but a great Wrestle Mania. There was no match I felt that will be talked about in 20 years time, e.g Bret Hart vs Stone Cold Steve Austin, which is why it won't go down as one of the greatest Wrestle Mania's of all time in my opinion. There were however some superb 'Match of the Year' contenders. Also, that kind of atmosphere hasn't been seen since Summer Slam 1992.

1) Fit Fnlay vs JBL (Belfast Brawl)

A good enough opening for a Wrestle Mania. JBL (who is in terrible shape by the way) did his whole moody heartless routine whilst Finlay carried on the role of the babyface. Hornswoggle was a welcome addition at ringside. A rushed feud, but a decent match: C-

2) Money In The Bank Ladder Match

Shelton Benjamin decided to steal the show for the 3rd time in a Money In The Bank Ladder Match at Wrestle Mania. The spot from the top of the ladder to the ladder outside of the ring was breathtaking. Matt Hardy made a great cameo appearance taking out MVP. We had a Code Breaker using a ladder, a Back Cracker from the top of the ladder & a moonsault from John Morrison whilst he was holding a ladder. As far as in-ring action goes, this match stole the show: B+

3) Batista vs Umaga

An average 'RAW' quality match. Batista is starting to see signs that the crowd are getting bored of him. He got a lot of boos in this match. Neither man really did anything to make the viewers remember this match... Very average: D-

4) Chavo Guerrero vs Kane

LOL! The shortest match in Wrestle Mania history. This match reminded everybody not to assume that they know what is going to happen next & it was nice to see the WWE give Kane his moment at Wrestle Mania even though it was a very short moment. For the element of surprise alone because there was no in-ring action: C+

5) Ric Flair vs Shawn Michaels

The only thing that these two men had to do was not wrestle like retards because this match was always going to be remembered fondly. This match was all about the wrestling world saying goodbye to the greatest heel in wrestling history. He may have wrestled for 10 years too long, but who could deny that they were choked up by this classic Wrestle Mania moment? A quick note must also be made about a sickening spot involving HBK moonsaulting from the middle rope onto the edge of the announcer's table. I can only assume that the spot was botched because it looked like one of the most painful spots in Wrestle Mania history & HBK looked genuinely in pain. The match was actually a good catch-as-catch-can wrestling match. For in-ring action: C+ / For the occasion: A*

6) Randy Orton vs John Cena vs Triple H

The biggest upset since John Cena's victory over Triple H at Wrestle Mania XXII & Triple H's victory at Wrestle Mania 2000. For the doubters who continue to deny 'The Age Of Orton', this was his defining career moment. Much like HHH's victories over Mic Foley in 2000 cemented Triple H's place as the no.1 man in the business, this victory finally establishes Randy Orton as the top man in the industry (rivalled only by Edge). A decent, but short match. As good as it was expected to be: C+ moved up to a B- because of the surprise ending

7) Playboy Bunny Match

A match that was put there to calm people down in between main events. Your usual half naked women trying to wrestle with the exception of Beth Pheonix who actually can. Also, a cameo appearance from Snoop Dogg who delivered a surprisingly well executed clothesline to a hilarious Santino Marella: E

8) Big Show vs Floyd Mayweather

A match that could've potentially been the biggest flop since Hogan vs Warrior Part #2. However, this match lived up to all of the hype. Mayweather should take plaudits for giving a very credible performance and achieving levels of in-ring storytelling that many WWE superstars fail to achieve. The interference by Mayweather's posse added extra scandal to the match and the finish was great to watch. Both characters came off looking credible as did the WWE in general. For the in-ring action: C+ For the storyline entertainment: B+

9) Edge vs Undertaker

The best Wrestle Mania 'WRESTLING' match since Angle vs Michaels. Edge reminded everybody that he's one of the best in the business & not just a transitional champion. He was actually more dominant over The Undertaker than anybody else has ever been at a Wrestle Mania. Edge reversed almost every Undertaker move and what made the match even more interesting was the less predictable finish which saw The Dead Man win via submission instead of The Tombstone that EVERYBODY was expecting him to win by: B+

Overall a great Wrestle Mania. The matches were of a Wrestle Mania standard, the atmosphere was AMAZING and the segments & celebrity involvement really made it feel like a Wrestle Mania. A great improvement on last year's disappointing Wrestle Mania XXIII: B+

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Overall....Well

7/10
Author: him318 from United States
31 March 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This wrestlemania went well not as exciting and hyped as i thought it was going to be but it did prove some surprises.

Match 1.24 man battle royal went OK could of been more exciting but then again it was a dark match.Winner Kane Match 2 (Start of the show).We had Finlay face John Bradshaw Layfield in a Belfast brawl could of been more exciting.Winner JBL Match 3.This years money in the bank went off well we had some guys who have been there before and some new ones,John Morrison did a excellent moonsault of the top rope with a ladder in his hands we had a lot of ladder fight and Shelton Benjamin had a nasty fall through a ladder,MVP almost won it but we had a Hardy 1.0 appear and Twisted MVP's dreams of winning it down the drain,It finally came down to Chris Jericho(I'am a jericho fan)and Cm Punk Y2J came close but Cm Punk caused y2J to get hung up in the ladder allowing Him to capture the briefcase and the contract for a championship anytime anywhere.Winner Cm Punk.

Match 4.This battle for brand supremacy went OK could of been better but the match was fast paced for some reason i thought there were gonna be some table bombings overall Batista finishes it with The Batista Bomb.Winner Batista

Match 5.SQUASH MATCH need i say more chavo went down after a 1-2-3 in 9 seconds from a choke slam about time Kane its been 6 years since you won a singles belt now don't lose it in one day just like you did to Austin.Winner Kane New ECW Champion

Match 6.This is the match i was waiting for i had an idea who was gonna win but Flair was the best wrestler ever in my opinion but he went down without a fight, It was a well fought match and was the true main event. I was put to tears at the end HBK wins by SCM if you don't know what SCM means you haven't been around for long.Winner HBK

Match 7.I watched it and found it exciting and fun the diva's hot as always and a good match, The crew had a malfunction with the lights and had to use a another source of light so the crowd could see. Although Maria and Ashley lost,Santino got a trip down snoop dog lane after a clothesline from the rapper and then to top it off Snoop gave maria a smooch for putting on a show and santino got reported out the arena hopefully to the nearest Asylum.Winners Melina And WC:Beth Phonenix

Match 8.Why this wasn't the main event well the title change no hands the match teased who was gonna win around between john cena and triple h but overall the opportunist Orton stole the win and retained after triple h scored a pedigree and got a congratulations from Orton by getting punted in the head.Winner Orton

Match 9.It was OK although may weather didn't take much of a beating his handlers took the most beatings may weather wins it and leaves with out any broken bones although i believes brass knuckles would knock someone out,Sorda like deja vu when cena knocked big show at WM 20.Winner Floyd may weather

Match 10.Well Streak vs Streak Edge vs Undertaker it went OK and the match was well enough for me but the edge heads should of gotten involved earlier but undertaker wins it by putting edge in the horrifying submission winning the Big Gold Belt.winner undertaker 16-0 BABY

Overall this wrestlemania had a good show could of done better but good. 7 out of 10

Was the above review useful to you?

Best WrestleMania Since WM 21

8/10
Author: Owen Ogletree from United States
29 February 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This was a superb show with some great matches, a real WrestleMania atmosphere, and plenty of surprises as well.

Belfast Brawl: JBL vs. Finlay - This was an okay match. It was pretty much everything you'd expect from these guys. JBL wins with a Clothesline from Hell. RATING: **2/3

Money In The Bank Ladder Match: CM Punk vs. Chris Jericho vs. Shelton Benjamin vs. MVP vs. Carlito vs. John Morrison vs. Mr. Kennedy - This is probably the second best MITB match after the original, in my opinion. The spots are as fun and exciting as ever, with the highlight being John Morrison's Moonsault. CM Punk wins the briefcase. RATING: ****

Battle for Brand Supremacy Match: Batista (Smackdown) vs. Umaga (Raw) - Another boring big man match. Yawn. Batista wins. RATING: *3/4

ECW Championship Match: Chavo Guerrero (c) vs. Kane - An 8 minute squash match with Kane winning the Championship. RATING: N/A

Career Threatening Match: Ric Flair vs. Shawn Michaels - This is an excellent match, but I do find it overrated. This was a great technical match with plenty of emotion, but I don't think it was the match of the year or even match of the night. It's mostly about the occasion. Shawn Michaels puts Flair away with a Superkick, ending one of the greatest wrestling careers of all time. RATING: ****

Triple Threat Match for the WWE Championship: Randy Orton (c) vs. John Cena vs. Triple H - It didn't go quite as long as some would have liked, but this was still a very good match. They pretty much kept the action going the entire time and the double cross-body was memorable. The ending was also a surprise at the time. Randy Orton retains his Championship. RATING: ***3/4

No Disqualification Match: The Big Show vs. Floyd Mayweather Jr. - The entertainment spectacle of the night, fun to watch while it lasted. Floyd Mayweather wins. RATING: ***

World Heavyweight Championship Match: Edge (c) vs. The Undertaker - In my opinion, this was the match of the night and the best WM main event since the WM 20 triple threat. Edge really proved to be a true main eventer in a clinic against the Undertaker where he pushed the dead man to his limits. One of both men's best for sure. The Undertaker wins the Championship and keeps his streak intact with the Hell's Gate. RATING: ****1/2

This is on par with WM 21. One of the better Wrestlemanias for sure and a great show overall that wrestling fans must see.

8.5/10

Was the above review useful to you?

This is one of the greatest wrestlemanias of all time!

10/10
Author: davielee15 from United States
28 April 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Wrestlemania 24 will go down in history in the top 5 greatest wrestlemanias of all time. WM20 was suppose to be the greatest but it wasn't. WM21 was good but not great. WM22 was great but one of the least favorites of the greatest. WM23I thought was a good show also but very disappointed with the match card. This years set new standards for this new WWE style today particularly having no blood and still had great matches. No spoilers. I hope not.

Match #1- Belfast Brawl JBL vs. Finlay- This was a very good opener with a lot of weapons and a lot of hardcore moves. 7/10 very good match.

Match #2- Money in the bank ladder match- The greatest MITB match ever. Everybody shined in this match. You can even see how the sky when from daylight to dark blue sky and it was an incredible sight especially when the winner celebrated. 9/10 superb!

Match #3- Batista vs. Umaga- While their entrances were spectacular, the match was not spectacular at all and is a breakdown on this show. However it had a good start and a good ending. 4/10 mediocre.

Match #4- ECW Championship match- Chavo vs. Kane- I can't rate this match because Kane deserved it.

Match #5- Career threatening match- Ric Flair vs. HBK- Wow! What an emotional match. When I first saw this I was merely impressed, but the second time I watched it, I really enjoyed it more.Perfect wrestlemania match/moment. 10/10 perfect.

Match #6- Playboy bunnymania- Not a bad match at all. It had tremendous, tremendous lights and atmosphere. It also had decent wrestling for a women's match. Be sure to watch Santinio's appearance in this match. He was hilarious. 5/10.decent.

Match #7- 3 Men WWE title match- Randy Orton vs. Cena vs. HHH- I did not know this was not the main event and I was surprised! I was shocked who turned out to be the winner! 7/10. very solid title match.

Match #8- Floyd money mayweather vs. Big Show- With a no DQ stripulations added, this proved to be an entertaining encounter. 8/10 Great.

Match #9- World Heavyweight title match Edge vs. Taker- It had a great video package leading up to this match and both of these men deserved to be in the main event. It was interesting because not only was Taker undefeated at Wrestlemania but Edge was also. It was a huge roller coaster ride and a great way to end a really superb ppv the WWE has not put on for a long time. What a relief. SUPERB! 9/10

Overall PPV: perfect 10/10.

Was the above review useful to you?

One of my all-time favorite Manias

10/10
Author: jakespick from United States
20 April 2010

Like Wrestlemania X-Seven and Wrestlemania 3, XXIV was of the more "classical" Wrestlemanias that I've ever seen. It brought back that feel, that "Mania Feel" that I hadn't experienced since X-Seven.

What really helped this event was the decisions behind the match card, and where the matches were placed. Ending the show with two upsets and an excellent one-on-one title match, that wasn't over-hyped, with the Undertaker was a brilliant decision. Another great choice was to start the show off with a fast paced, quick street fight, or as it is referred to here, a "Belfast Brawl." The show had something new to offer for each match, and had no "card fillers" as you would expect from seeing many Manias in the past. The problem with the WWE is that they over-hype Manias like 20 and 25 and try too hard to make them good, and they come out as stinkers. For some reason they feel the need to fill the show by having 12 matches, and every title defended. Nobody really cares about the Tag Team titles or the Women's Championship, they want to see matches like the Ladder Match and the three main events. They want to "feel" Wrestlemania, which certainly happened in the Flair vs. Michaels match, and the very emotional outcome. But most of all, they want to be surprised.

And boy did this show have some surprises, not to mention the wonderful choice of CM Punk winning the Money in the Bank Ladder Match. What everyone seems to be talking about when they think of XXIV is Orton's win in the Triple Threat. This was a brilliant move by the WWE, and I'm sure it was a last minute decision (note the poll that was taken early on in the show, I'm sure they based who won on the lowest percentage of people who voted for that person, which just happened to be Orton thankfully). The Triple Threat was great, I think, because it was so well set up - you had the two big comebacks over the past year (HHH and Cena) who were both potential Champs following Mania. But if there's two hyped comebacks in one match? Together? For the title? At Wrestlemania? How can you possibly make the best of it? You turn it into a triple threat match with the most unlikely winner on WWE, and there you go...

Now to The Biggest vs. The Best. I was pleasantly surprised at the excitement I had while watching this match, and watching Big Show's interaction with the crowd, which made it all the more entertaining. Big Show always seems to be the first in line for these kinds of odd-ball matches, like his Sumo Match at 21 (which wasn't as exciting, but still interesting). Mayweather walked away with the win, by knock out, which was partly surprising and partly expected. A great match nonetheless.

Finally, we arrive at the main event: World Heavyweight Championship. They under-hyped this match so much that its brilliance was unexpected and was an amazing choice for the main event of the evening. Undertaker truly was put to the challenge, surprisingly, by Edge in this match. The crowd in this match helped out a lot, as they did with many other matches, and really brought the event to life in the last 30 minutes of the show, making Taker's win all the more special and appropriate.

Of course, in the "good-bad-good" trend that WWE's Manias have been following over the past couple of years, I didn't expect much from the 25th Anniversary, that truly was one of the dullest and most laughable Manias I've ever seen, a real dive. By "good-bad-good" I of course am referring to the trend started around 18 or 19, or even 20, where it goes from a good Mania, to a bad Mania, to a better Mania, to a horrible Mania. With 26 being an improvement over 25, obviously, as bad as it was, I think I may just vomit thinking about how bad 27 could be.

Oh well. All I can do is hope for another XXIV.

Was the above review useful to you?

A very entertaining Wrestlemania

8/10
Author: (stuartnicol1) from United Kingdom
8 March 2009

I was just getting back into the wwe just before the No Way Out PPV a month before wrestlemania so i was able to follow the stories leading into it and was quite impressed with the quality of the event.

Obviously the hype going into this Wrestlemania was (to the outside world) Mayweather vs Big show. However within Wrestling the show was all about Ric Flair vs Shawn Michaels, where if Flair lost then his career would be over. So for all wrestling fans its a must have as it is 2 of the all time greats up against each other on the grandest stage of them all.

Match 1 Belfast Brawl JBL vs Finlay 7/10 Not a bad match by any means. Hard hitting as you would expect from 2 men like Finlay and Bradshaw with a few entertaining spots. An enjoyable and worthy opener for Wrestlemania, just overshadowed by matches later on the card.

Match 2 Money In The Bank Ladder Match. 7.5/10 Always enjoyable to watch. MitB was a great concept for wrestlemanias and this one didn't disappoint. Slight criticism would be that you could see a few wrestlers being a touch lethargic when preventing someone from grabbing the briefcase which meant they had to be REALLI slow in reaching for it. However there were quite a few high spots in this match involving Jericho, Shelton Benjamin and John Morrison.

Match 3 Umaga vs Batista 7/10 This match could have been better. Again it wasn't bad but it seemed very run-of-the-mill and average for a match at Wrestlemania between 2 big men. Although there were a few good displays of power from Batista and agility from Umaga and the crowd did get into it which keeps this match on 7/10 Match 4 ECW Championship Match. Chavo Guerrero vs The Battle Royale Winner 1/10 I don think there is a single person who liked this. ECW gets one match per PPV. This is the biggest PPV of the year and they were given an 8 second match. I sincerely hope the writers change this for Wrestlemania 25. VERY disappointing Match 5 Career threatening match. Ric Flair vs Shawn Michaels 10/10 10/10 because these 2 wrestlers did do nothing wrong in this match. they excelled themselves and you even see Flair successfully perform a top rope move!!! lol. This match had so much emotion and had a perfectly fitting ending. Considering Michaels is early 40's and Flair is late 50's it was an incredible display of athleticism and a fantastic match.

Match 6 Playboy Bunnymania Lumberjill Match Maria and Ashley vs Beth Pheonix and Melina. 5/10 Its very difficult to give womens matches high ratings as they simply don't captivate the audience enough. This match was also stupidly placed on the card. After Flair vs Michaels and before the WWE championship match. Nothing wrong with this match but just nothing special. Apart from snoop dogg and the slight beating santino gets.

Match 7 WWE Championship Match Randy Orton vs HHH vs John Cena 6.5/10 Disappointed a bit here because these are 3 great wrestlers. The match didn't seem gripping enough for me. After being caught up in Wrestlemania so far this was a let down with an ending that could have been much better. Nonetheless worth a watch, but for something that was no DQ and no Countout there was barely any hardcore intervention, which would have been fine had the wrestling been more entertaining.

Match 8 The Biggest vs The Best Floyd Mayweather vs Big Show 8/10 What can i say? Very entertaining considering the size difference. Both Mayweather and Big Show fought very well and both took a substantial amounts of beatings. I was impressed with Mayweathers ability to put up a good fight. Surprisingly good Match 9 World Heavyweight Championship Match. Undertaker vs Edge 10/10 A slight bias here as these are 2 of my top 3 favourite wrestlers, but this was an awesome and deserving main event. Both men brought their best to this match and it went back and forth keeping the crowd on their feet. Sensational main event of good length, that topped off what was an entertaining 'Mania.

Hall Of Fame Ceremony. 10/10 Now its a bit strange 'rating' the hall of fame ceremony, but it comes with the DVD and it is definitely worth watching. JBL was very funny inducting the Brisco's, there was a very long part with none other that THE ROCK who was incredibly entertaining as always and he gave a good light hearted roasting to many including Santino, John Cena, Jericho, Foley and others. But aside from being funny, this was a tear jerker at many points but mainly in the Ric Flair induction. Not tear jerking to the extent of the 2006 ceremony with Eddie Guerrero but it was highly emotional nonetheless and needs to be watching by wrestling fans.

On the whole a very solid Mania and definitely one of the better ones. Though the event card equates to just over 7/10 it was also the way the event was put together along with the attendance (in excess of 70.000) and the atmosphere that kept the rating high. The WWE really did put on a classy show. Not as good as 17 or 21 but still very good.

Was the above review useful to you?

Truncated Hall of Fame Ceremony

5/10
Author: Greg-Scott from Canada
23 July 2008

Overall, this is a pretty standard and quite respectable Wrestlemania DVD package. However, I have a warning to any WWE fans who are contemplating springing for the rather expensive deluxe 3-disc collector's edition of Wrestlemania 24. One of the reasons I purchased the 3-disc edition was to own the unforgettable 2008 WWE Hall of Fame Ceremony. Be forewarned though that the ceremony is truncated. In the original broadcast of the Hall of Fame Ceremony, before presenting any awards, the Rock made all kinds of clever and light-hearted comments. These included self-deprecating remarks about his own involvement in the "Doom" box office debacle, sarcastic words about Santino Marella and a jab at John Cena and his work in the WWE film "The Marine". Sadly, this lively and entertaining banter has all been removed from the DVD version of the Hall of Fame ceremony. The most disturbing part is that this was obviously a conscious decision by the WWE to save money. I felt robbed, since it was one of the main reasons I bought the collection. I am sure that other WWE fans will clearly feel the same. If they don't, they should. This is unfortunately, a reminder of all that is wrong about the WWE today.

Was the above review useful to you?

That Wrestlemania feel is back!

Author: denial636 from United States
12 July 2008

I was taken by surprise by this event since Wrestlemania 21 to 23 were nothing more then Backlash with an extra hour, I wasn't expecting what I got, the show was thrilling and very entertaining.

JBL vs. Finally (3/5) I thought they should of opened the show with a normal match but hey, overall it was better then I thought it was, and I was happy to see JBL come out on top.

Money in the Bank Ladder Match (4/5) WOW, I think this was the best Money in the Bank yet, and kunos to John Morrison, his spots with the ladder were incredible. I was really blown away. I am a huge Morrison fan anyway. I was hoping for either Jericho or Morrison to come out on top, but CM Punk did, I'm okay with that.

Womans Tag Team Match (1.5/5) A lot better then I expected. Even though it was the worst match of the night. Beth Pheniox and Melina really carried it.

Batista vs. Umaga (2/5) Boring. I like Umaga a lot. I thought Batista was alright a few years ago but now he isn't really anything special. I was not looking forward to this before WM and after I forgot, I almost forgot judging it while typing this.

ECW Championship Match (2/5) Well I was happy to see Kane on the card. And the match made me laugh and overall, I think this was the best approach they had for this match.

WWE Championship Triple Threat Match (3/5) I was expecting a great match with the three top guys in the WWE, but I did not get that. I feel like the match was to short, and it was very messy, so to say. I was hoping Triple H to win, I wanted to see Randy walk out so WWE could reclaim the surprise factor in it. I was VERY happy to see Orton walk out with it.

Floyd "Money" Mayweather vs. Big Show (2/5) Well good job to WWE making Mayweather a face and Big Show a heel. Only that did not happen at all, I was expecting something like what we got a WM21 with Big Show vs. that Sumo guy. But hey I have to give Mayweather his congrats, I was shocked that he would take those chops by the Big Show. Those are the only things that hurt a lot wrestling and Mayweather got them hard. Overall I was expecting something worse out of it, though it wasn't great.

World Heavyweight Championship Match (4/5) WOW, It felt like old wrestling again. It didn't seem fake, it seemed like Undertaker wanted to pop Edge's head off, which was good. It brought the feeling of a compotision not a fight, which pro wrestling is supposed to be. The hype wasn't great for this match, but the match brought near falls and more. Even though everyone knew Taker was beating Edge. And btw, Edge is my favorite in WWE right now, I know WWE wouldn't let Edge end the streak. And I didn't want him to either. Overall it was exciting. It would of been a 5 out of 5 if they hyped it up better.

Ric Flair vs. Shawn Michaels (5/5) (beyond the best match) Wooooo. Great story to it, great storytelling, great emotion, great hype, great performers, and a GREAT MATCH. I was sad to see Ric Flair leave. But he went out in style. And the way he dissevered to leave in. Ric Flair is one of the best, way better then Hulk Hogan. And him to face in most wrestling fan's opion the best wrestler ever Shawn Michaels. Two of the best wrestlers in history in Flair's last match. This is with out a doubt one of the greatest matches in pro wrestling history. It had a great storyline, and every different type of wrestling was involved. And Flair saying he didn't want this match main eventing the card and hearing his reason why was so respectful, I have so much respect for him. And the end of the match when Michaels said "I'm sorry, I love you" and Flair cried while getting pinned showed that this match was very emotional, a lot of people were very sad to see Flair go, watching this match live, my friend cried a lot when Flair started to cry, I can not describe how wonderful this match really was...

This Wrestlemania was with out a doubt one of the best in a very long time, all the superstars involved gave it their all in it and it shows. It very much gave that Wrestlemania feel that it was lacking for some time.

P.S. Sorry if I misspelled some things I didn't go back to check, and I'm already a very bad speller.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history