Killer Movie (2008) Poster

(2008)

User Reviews

Add a Review
15 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
6/10
Funny.. worth a watch
dgilmartin-115 February 2009
This movie is strangely filmed with comments from the actors every five minutes after something slightly interesting happens. It's a funny film with a few exciting scenes, kind of predictable but worth watching once if you have a few hours to kill! The acting is laughable at times with many parts reminding you of a school theater production, but this adds to the laughter and makes it more interesting. Kaley Cuoco doesn't bring much to the role apart from her great looks, she should really stick to TV and rolling out one-liners. Tries to be gory but doesn't make you want to hide behind a pillow! Swear words are thrown in a lot which make things slightly more entertaining but in the long run remind you more of watching a porno! Overall this movie was as expected, probably funnier if watched in a Cafe in Amsterdam, if you get my drift..
11 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Above Average
alienworlds7 June 2010
Compared to 90 percent of the horror films released over the past little while this one stands a head and shoulders above the competition. There is a blend of comedy and horror which works well since the entire concept of horror has fallen by the wayside due to the vast number of similar films that have been made in the genre. Horror isn't frightening the way it used to be, so why not make fun of the genre? A mostly younger cast work well here, playing off the fact they are younger and pretty much regarded as mental light weights by the general public. They are really not that dumb when you get right down to it. Good Job...
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
killer movie: not your typical slasher
Leven32120 April 2008
"Killer Movie" succeeds because of three elements that are sorely missing for the majority of horror films these days: thrills, titillation, and wit. This is a diamond in the rough.

A long time ago in a galaxy not so far away, the slasher genre was a reliable source of entertainment. Sadly it has devolved into a breeding ground for the most shallow, talentless people in the film industry. It seems there is no room to make a movie that's actually, well, GOOD, just profitable. Every "creative" decision is borne from the desire to make money. And of course, throngs of people flock to the theaters and eat it up.

Against such a grim backdrop, it is a cause for celebration when a movie like "Killer Movie" comes out. Here's a slasher film that adheres to all of the conventions of the genre without pandering to the lowest common denominator. Horror fans will love this, and I predict it will do extremely well commercially.

The story is of personal relevance to its director (a former reality TV director), and the results are funny and scary, often at the same time. Fisher had previously worked on shows like The Simple Life and Real World, and it's easy to see how the experience affected him. I guess the best way to segue from reality TV into the film industry is to make a film about a reality TV show crew being MURDERED.

"Killer Movie" is an impressive debut, and I look forward to whatever Fisher does next.
20 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Reality With a Smart Edge, Sexy, Funny and Horrifying
lkaletsky9 April 2008
I saw a private viewing of Killer Movie and was blown away with Jeff Fisher's brilliant, imaginative twist in taking Reality Shows (and his depth of experience in directing them) into a whole other realm. For insiders there's hysterical insights and scenes. For general viewers, a unique look through the camera when great looking Hollywood comes face to face with right-wing, God fairing Middle-America. What does a smart, young director do with a plethora of knowledge, years of grueling shoot schedules, and a myriad of Divas and high maintenance talent? Parlay it into the real horror of it all....a tight, smart movie that gives the audience a roller coast ride of emotion and insight into how it all looks from the inside and when you expand and explore the content, what a horror it can develop into. Sex, abundance, attitude and verve collide with the moral majority to provide a violent elixir. Well written and tight this film will keep you thrilled. Great cast, great plot.
18 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
For the love of God, would somebody please get naked!
MBunge25 June 2010
Warning: Spoilers
This is a slasher film with no nudity. It does have a muddled concept, amateurish editing, an excess of bland characters and enough expository dialog to choke a rhino, but a slasher movie with no nudity is like a peanut butter and jelly sandwich that has neither peanuts nor jelly. What's the point?

Attempting to mix a poorly thought out take on reality television with the same sort of generic violence you can see in a thousand other cheap horror flicks, Killer Movie is about a TV crew from Hollywood that's taken up residence in a small North Dakota town. They're supposed to be making a reality show about one thing, but the producer (Cyia Batten) wants to change the focus to something more tawdry and sensational, causing friction with the show's newly hired director (Paul Wesley). There's also an out-of-control celebutante (Kaley Cuoco) who's signed up to be a production assistant on the show as research for her next film and, of course, a masked killer who appears to be shooting his own reality show.

I'm sure you know the drill. People get slaughtered, there's a mystery about who is responsible and blah, blah, blah. In this case, however, the phrase "blah, blah, blah" is especially appropriate because it accurately describes at least 50% of this movie. Characters are constantly explaining things, both to each other and to the audience though the use of reality show style "confessionals" where they talk directly into the camera. A movie is supposed to show, not tell. All Killer Movie does is tell and tell and tell and tell and none of it is smart or funny or insightful. Imagine a Kevin Smith script written after Kevin Smith had suffered a very serious head injury. That's what this film is like.

There are only two halfway decent characters in this tale, but they aren't the main hero or the masked killer. The main hero is good looking and generally concerned about other people. That's the sum total of his personality. The masked killer is defined by a wristwatch and eyeliner. No, you didn't read that wrong. The masked killer has a wristwatch and wears eyeliner and that's everything there is to him. The interesting characters are the relentless bitch of a producer and the foul-mouthed starlet, nicely portrayed by Cyia Batten and Kaley Cuoco. They're not exactly Shakespearean in their complexity, but they have strong personalities and understandable agendas. Pretty much everyone else in the cast is just waiting around to get killed. I supposed you can give writer/director Jeff Fisher some credit for coming up with at least two intriguing characters. Not much credit, though, because he does nothing at all of interest with either of them.

I also couldn't stand the editing of Killer Movie and a film's editing has got to be really atrocious for me to even notice it, let alone be annoyed by it. The persistent and superfluous use of establishing shots is what got to me. You know how when scenes change in a movie, the next scene will start with a shot of where it is. A scene on a boat will end and then you'll see a building because the next scene in that building. Well, this film takes that principle to ridiculous lengths. For example, if the next scene is in the local high school, we won't just get a shot of the high school to establish things. No, first there will be a shot of the countryside to, I guess, remind us the story is taking place in North Dakota. Then there will be a shot of the school. Then there will be a shot inside the school, but NOT of where the next scene is taking place. Only after all that will we get to the next scene.

And even though this movie sucks, writer/director Fisher still sticks an open-ended conclusion on it that's so blatant, he's essentially getting down on his hands and knees begging for the chance to make a sequel. It's like going to a restaurant and eating a meal that makes you sick to your stomach, then getting a coupon so you can eat for free on your next visit.

As terrible as Killer Movie is, there are plenty of attractive actresses in the cast and if even some of them had gotten naked, that would have at least been something nice to look at. The essence of slasher movies leans toward crap, which is why nudity is so commonly added to the mix to distract from the overall crumminess of the product. Without it, a slasher movie needs to be especially intelligent and thoughtful just to make it to average. Killer Movie is dumb, shallow and nobody takes off their clothes. Rush right out and watch something else.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
An great film about deadly chaos on a reality show set
cheese61419 April 2008
I can't wait to see this movie out in theaters..I absolutely loved it. Definitely, definitely worth the watch. It has a great script and excellent filming... I'd never heard of Jeff Fisher before but when I found out he worked on shows like The Simple Life and The RW/RR Challenge I was blown away. I guess it makes sense that the movie is about a reality show, but it works..it really really works. I can't wait to see more from him in the mainstream. His work really worth taking notice of. The movie provided with laughs without the mindless humor "comedies" ALL contain nowadays, and chills without overdoing it like most horror movies usually do. The concept is so creative, and I think they satirize the reality show business perfectly. I've said it about 3 times already, but I mean it..I really loved this movie and I'm hoping you all will take the chance and check it out.
16 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Hands down one of the best horror movies made...if you know what you're in for.
areadingwoman2 January 2015
Let me preface with the fact that I rarely give a 10 to anything. As a person with 2 English degrees, I have sort of been formally trained to be overly critical. This movie is worth your time. I can't even count how many horror movies I have seen in my life, but this nearly tops them all. BUT, you have to be aware that you are going into a movie that is clearly designed to function as both a horror movie, but all also functions as mockumentary for both the horror genre and reality TV genre. So, yes, it does make fun of itself rather in the way Scream does or the later Friday the 13th movies do. And it's every second a delight. Also, it's truly watchable start to finish. Rarely can I make it through a full horror movie without fast forwarding a bit. I don't dig excessive gore and find it more revolting than frightening, but this movie doesn't rely on gore to be successful at giving scares. While it isn't a film that will give you nightmares for weeks, it is one that it thoroughly enjoyable on several levels and is very much worth a watch so long as you aren't expecting a flat out slasher.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Making a Horror Flick Can Be a Killer!
kyleallen_916 February 2009
I just bought this movie and i have to say wow! This movie thrilled me right down to the bone. Imagine filming a horror movie in a small creepy town and the crew begins to mysteriously disappear and bodies begin popping up. How do you know if it is all a joke, you don't, until it's too late. In this horror flick, the cast and crew of a horror documentary begin to be picked off one by one, by a masked stalker. This movie had little sex, but had its share of gruesome killings. I compare this movie with 2009's My Bloody Valentine and Urban Legends 2:Final Cut. The cast on the other hand, made this movie enjoyable. It stars Kaley Cuoco(The Big Bang Theory and Charmed), Gloria Votsis(2009's upcoming remake of Terror Train), Torrey Devitto(I'll always Know What You Did Last Summer and One Tree Hill) and Leighton Meester(Gossip Girl and Drive Thru). Other stars that made impressionable performances are Paul Wesley, Adriana Demeo, Jason London and Al Santos. I strongly urge anyone who comes across this movie either in a store or online, to buy. You definitely wont be disappointed!!
7 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Kill my acting coach....
FlashCallahan2 March 2013
Warning: Spoilers
A reality television shoot goes awry when its crew finds itself stranded in a remote Northern town.

A killer is on the loose, stalking cast and crew members one by one.

As past suspicions, betrayals and secrets inexplicably come into play, the nightmare of shooting this reality show becomes all too real for Jake, the show's director, his crew and Hollywood starlet Blanca Champion.....

So it's basically Scream for the big brother generation, with the one from The Big Bang Theory who decidedly ugly, playing a big star who everyone lusts after.

One of the crew is a little bit strange, Scooby Doo strange, and once you see him, you think to yourself 'the makers couldn't be that stupid to make him the killer'.

Guess what, they are, and then some...

None of the cast are likable, the editing and narrative are awful, and the last five minutes of the film literally has more shots of the sidekick dog than anyone else.

The final reveal features the killer wearing some eye make up, and even the makers get fed up by the end and just have shot in a maundering way.

It's even depressing to write about it, I wouldn't bother, even if you had nothing to do, sitting and staring the abyss would be a better choice than seeing this excremental excuse for a film...
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
It really is a Killer Movie!
KevAtl3818 April 2008
This movie really is Killer! I watched a private screening of Killer Movie and loved it. It is smart, funny, scary and sexy. I think Jeff Fisher is an incredible director and the cast of the movie is awesome. The cast is gorgeous and are all on their way to becoming huge stars. With reality television taking over, the timing of this movie could not be better. Whether you are a fan of reality television, horror films, comedies, or action flicks, you will enjoy this movie. This movie had me cracking up at times and sitting on the edge of my seat. I can't wait for it to be released. It is going to be a huge hit. Make sure you go and see it.
12 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Milder 80s style horror
TdSmth51 August 2011
Killer Movie is a fairly entertaining teen horror movie very much in the spirit of the 80s, but without the nudity.

A small town that has never had a decent ice hockey team is about to win it big. Hollywood decides that this story would be perfect for a reality show. As the director arrives he finds out that the producer has other plans- to unmask all the towns dirty secrets, of which there are plenty as the former hockey coach just got out of jail after killing is ex wife accidentally. But then, more gruesome killings begin. The crew which doesn't get along entirely tries to just do their work. Eventually they too will be affected by the town's darkness.

Much is made of a celebrity character that takes the job of a PA to advance her career. But it's Hollywood that is also a principal character in this movie and the way it operates, through deception and manipulation. And that aspect of the movies is the most interesting and entertaining.

We don't really get a sense of the town and it's people because the crew is at the center. A masked killer starts killing random people and filming it all. Strangely, no one bothers to call the police but as always, the script requires a bunch of teens to start investigating things on their own in the middle of the night.

There are a lot of attractive ladies in Killer Movie. Even though we have no hint that this will turn out to be a whodunit, the identity of the killer turns out to be a surprise, it's an insignificant one because at no point are we asked to wonder about his identity.

As a slasher movie, this one lacks scary moments and gory killings. There are a lot of characters and few too care for, so the deaths don't have any impact. The main storyline of the making of the reality series isn't all that interesting really. But it's the intrigue that keeps things going.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Killer Movie
Scarecrow-8813 February 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Realty television crew are assigned to cover a small town high school hockey team running into a serial killer wearing a black mask and hoody. Lots of interviews where the members of the crew(and some of the locals who live in the town of White Plains where most of this film is set)talk into the camera about each other, those they encounter in the town of White Plains, their current situations, and the showbiz side of their lives. The screenplay is often acidic, cynical, and caustic and Killer Movie essentially pokes fun at realty television shows, featuring a cast of characters one might find on The Real World. If this plot is attractive to you, knock yourself out. I found the characters tiresome and the satire is old hat. Out of the cast, Paul Wesley, the director needing a big break, encountering more than he could possibly bargain for, Jake Tanner, is a nice guy, coming off very likable and tolerant of the crap he must contend with, considering the prima donnas and immature people in his entourage who often cause nothing but migraines. Particularly irksome is his producer Lee(Cyia Batten), a tyrant constantly barking orders to everyone, her poisonous attitude creating much tension..she's the type of producer who wishes to capitalize on a small town eruption regarding the killer, using the hockey team cover story as a front to exploit the tragedy occurring in White Plains. Those familiar with Kaley Cuoco know that by now she has perfected the pampered princess, got it down pat because it's the only role we ever see her in most of the time. As Blanca, she's polarizing the way she demands attention, milking what little celeb status she has to the hilt, manufacturing much friction as she becomes a source of frustration, and has quite the potty mouth(Cuoco may've taken the part just so she could escape her usual television sitcom roles, allowed to spout profanity without restriction) Cuoco, along with the entire cast, services Killer Movie as eye candy, but it's hard to find any character you wouldn't want to see hacked to pieces with a meat cleaver. Jason London is the sound/equipment guy, a real creep with a sour attitude, often tormenting the others with his foul comments that are uncalled for. We witness lots of personality clashes, watching how these self-absorbed Hollywood types in the cast snipe at each other. The killer's identity shouldn't surprise anyone, it's quite blatantly obvious. Some minor gore, but most of the violence is shot off-screen. Despite some tame lesbianism, not even this is satisfying. Leighton Meester pops up in the film as a cute victim. Director/writer Jeff Fisher assembles quite an attractive cast, but I wouldn't be able to distinguish this from the innumerable slashers that have stocked the horror shelves over the last ten or so years since SCREAM. While I've never liked any of Cuoco's characters, I never tire of looking at her, but eventually she needs to come up with a role that doesn't consist of her preening, with smug arrogance, always whining and complaining.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Not that good
SanteeFats3 February 2014
Warning: Spoilers
A very up and down movie. A nut case is running around killing who knows who for who knows why. A Hollywood film crew is in town supposedly to film the once in a life time run to the state championship for the hockey team. In actuality is that they are there to try and get a story about the killer, kind of, maybe, sorta. The killings go on and on as the plot has them going about by their selves. Only in low budget horror films like this send the actors off by themselves to die. Turns out the killer is a love lorn nut case who is in love with Cuoco's character. He is finally shot by one of the film crew and gets put in a body bag by the cops. I guess in looking for a possible sequel set up the bag turns up empty with a bullet proof vest thrown on the ground. I sure hope a sequel is out of the question.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Reality TV Slasher
acidburn-105 April 2012
The plot = A TV crew set out to make a documentary about a small town hockey team in a small town, but almost as soon as they arrive, people start getting killed but are written off as accidents and then the camera crew start to get picked off one by one.

"Killer Movie" has an interesting concept and competently made and could have easily been great if it didn't fall apart too many times. It is watchable but yet it is quite poorly executed, like the death scenes lack any imagination at all and are mostly off screen and generally comes off as an easy-going piece of work that's simply unable to engage the viewer on any real level virtually from start to finish. But the good aspects that I liked are the characters that ultimately save this movie in my opinion like Blanca played by Kaley Cuoco, okay her performance wasn't perfect but she was the best thing about this movie, and the fact that I'm a big fan of Kaley I loved her in The Big Bang Theory, In this she plays a bitchy Paris Hilton type and unlikely final girl. Paul Wesley the male lead I found him likable and engaging and one of the more interesting characters in this movie and Al Santos who plays the camera man was also fun and likable.

All in all Killer Movie is fun with some witty dialogue with some interesting stalking scenes, but as a whole this movie is quite forgettable.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews