Like Dandelion Dust (2009) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
23 Reviews
Sort by:
8/10
An Important Little Film
gradyharp30 June 2011
LIKE DANDELION DUST is a very small scaled film about a very large subject: adoption and the struggles that at times are associated between birth parents and adoptive parents. Adapted from Karen Kingsbury's popular novel by Stephen J Rivele and Michael Lachance and directed with sensitivity and fine pacing by Jon Gunn, the film succeeds primarily because of the exceptional acting on the part of the acting by Mira Sorvino and Barry Pepper.

Blue collar worker Richard 'Rip' Porter (Barry Pepper) is an alcoholic with anger management problems and as the film opens he is arrested for beating his wife Wendy (Mira Sorvino) and imprisoned for seven years. Simultaneously we meet the wealthy Jack Campbell (Cole Hauser) and his wife Molly (Kate Levering) who are playing with their six year old son Joey (Maxwell Perry Cotton) and interacting with Molly's sister Beth (Abby Brammell) and husband Bill (Kirk B.R. Woller) who are suggesting that Joey, being adopted, should be brought up in the church: there is conflict as Beth seems to feel Molly isn't caring correctly for Joey since he is adopted!

Rip is released form prison and is clean from his alcoholism and anger management problems and Wendy confesses that when Rip was incarcerated she had been pregnant and because of Rip's problems she put her newborn son up for adoption, having her mother sign for Rip. Rip is shocked with the news and at once wants to get his son back. An adoption agency is consulted in the person of Allyson Bower (L. Scott Caldwell) who is placed between the Porters and the Campbells in making the decision as to where Joey should be. Because of the forged adoption papers Joey is still the child of the Porters and they fight the Campbells for custody. Joey is in the middle and with Allyson's guidance tries to adapt to his birth parents on planned visits while the Campbells try every avenue to retain their beloved Joey. How the game is played includes errors on the parts of both sets of parents but the situation is finally resolved in a very touching manner.

Sorvino and Pepper are brilliant in their roles as the beleaguered Porters. The reason the film works as well as it does is the fact that the good and bad aspects of human behavior on the part of all the characters in the film is balanced. It is a realistic look at what appears on the surface to be polar opposite couples - and in the middle is the very finely tuned performance of little Maxwell Perry Cotton. This is a film that tugs a bit heavily on the heartstrings, but for anyone who has been involved in an adoption problem it will ring true.

Grady Harp
15 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
See it if you can find it!
trey-866-8475109 October 2010
One of the best movies with one of the most bizarre releases I've ever seen. In the Dallas area it is currently playing in one mall theater for only two shows a day, one in the morning and one in the early afternoon.

I can't comprehend how such a good movie gets so little theater distribution.

The six main characters are as multi-dimensional as fictional movie characters get. They act like real people would in real situations.

While there are a few times when the camera lingers too long for emotional effect, everything about this production is top rate.

If it is being shunned due to its Christian origins, that is a shame. The few references to Christianity are really only there to advance the plot.

I was a little surprised to realize at the end that I had just watched a great movie without any profanity or skin. It is still not a film for children because of its theme and some domestic violence.

If anybody knows, please post why this film is not enjoying wider distribution. This is a Blind Side caliber movie without near the preachiness.
44 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
High Emotions - Uncomfortable scenes - Wonderfully executed
margotsaites23 March 2011
There were so many things to like about this movie and so many talking points.

While the movie was a little too stereo typed for my liking, stereo types exist for a reason.

I thought the Porter side of the story was extremely well done. Wendy Porter played the abused wife brilliantly, acting as abused and battered women often do.

I was perplexed as to why Wendy would want her biological son to live with her though. Perhaps the fact that her husband wanted the boy influenced her. After all, what is in the best interest of the child? What they went through with the boy, and their experiences was so well done it was very difficult to watch.

The Campbell's were the boy's adoptive parents and they were portrayed as such the perfect family, that you couldn't help but want the boy to stay with them. I found the way they acted, especially the way Holly Campbell reacted was a little too unrealistic but then again, I've never been in the position of potentially losing my child.

This is a powerful movie. Definitely one to stir the emotions.
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
More like a novel than a film
napierslogs5 February 2011
When the father is an alcoholic abuser and the mother can't stick up for herself, there's always hope that the son will get to a better home. "Like Dandelion Dust" explores that hope and the powers of wealth, love and family.

The strength of the film lies in its story-telling. The characters were all painted extremely realistically and even sympathetically, and every scene in the film advanced the plot. Written by Oscar-nominated writer Stephen J. Rivele and Michael Lachance, it certainly comes across as a film driven by the writing. But no matter how interesting the story was, they couldn't completely keep my attention. When we have gritty scenes, we get drab shots. The story really wasn't brought to life.

"Like Dandelion Dust" is less like a film and more like a novel. And unsurprisingly, it is a novel with the same name by Karen Kingsbury. As I have just learned, Kingsbury is known as a Christian novelist. Although religion is an element in this film, it's presented in a very subtle, questioning way. See "Like Dandelion Dust" because it's a novel, not because it's a Christian novel.
12 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Gritty but very moving drama
MattyGibbs16 September 2012
A relatively low budget but extremely good drama. This could have turned into a standard melodrama but is elevated far beyond this by an intelligent and believable script.

The real stars though are the actors who are all terrific. Barry Pepper has always been a favourite of mine and he excels himself in this role but there are no weak links in this film. A special mention must go to the actor playing the little boy, Maxwell Perry Cotton who is utterly convincing as the frightened and confused little boy. It was one of the best performances from a young actor I have ever seen.

The film does flag a little towards the end but finishes on an emotional high. I rarely watch films twice in a short period of time but I did with this one and enjoyed it just as much second time round. Recommended.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
beyond reproach
markandkarenfitz28 October 2011
This is one of the best films I have ever seen. It is so well acted, that it is difficult to see the film itself separate from the acting; if that makes sense. Barry Pepper and Mira Sorveno are stunning in their representation of a flawed soul and the wonderful woman who loves him. I could not love Mira more. She is utterly beautiful in her totally natural manifestation here.

The strongest element of this film is the dichotomy between this less successful couple and their rivals, a very wealthy couple. The latter seem so one-dimensional by comparison. It fed my bias against the privileged. But by the end I took an arc.

Really nice work too by the young boy in the film. Barry Pepper is an inspiration to young actors with great talent who might despair thinking there isn't room in the industry for character actors still.
10 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
A potent movie that tugs at our emotions
Nat Williams15 April 2011
After watching this powerful movie, I asked aloud why it wasn't nominated for any awards. It was only after I checked further that I discovered why: It is the product of a Christian movie production company and had limited distribution. The fact that I didn't know that, in itself, is a testament to the greatness of this movie. I'm a grown man who is usually not very emotional, but this movie had my tear ducts working overtime. I can't say enough about the cast, the script, the direction, the music and everything else. The story, about two sets of parents on the opposite ends of society, successfully avoids clichés and provides a realistic and painfully emotional story. This is a tour de force that came in completely under the radar. I highly recommend it.
11 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Redemptive Psychology, Trustworthy Storytelling
Marcin Kukuczka27 December 2012
"Adoption is a redemptive response to tragedy that happens in this broken world" (Katie J. Davis, Kisses from Katie: A Story of Relentless Love and Redemption).

I have selected this quote to open my review because it seems that the key aspect which underlines the 'message' of Jon Gunn's movie is adoption collaborating with redemption. Before getting into a variety of psycho-emotional development of captivating and educational human experience, it is important to state that at the heart of this movie is a 6 year old boy Joey (Maxwell Perry Cotton). This little character leads us into the inner world of child's fragile feelings which are put to test in two families: his real one and the adoptive one. However, the movie does not open with a child but a parent, Rip Porter (Barry Pepper) who is clearly a grown up but not a mature man. He is a psychologically wounded man who finds for himself a victim, his wife Wendy (Mira Sorvino). The opening mis-en-scene proves that assumption right. Marital violence within the marital status leads his wife to give up the upbringing of her newborn baby, her dreams appear to be in vain...yet, 7 years later, bad events may be turned into a renewed, redemptive reality no one would have ever predicted.

Not to reveal much about the content which really keeps viewer's attention, let me make myself clear about what I mean by 'captivating and educational human experience' The strongest point of LIKE DANDELION DUST is the powerful depiction of FEELINGS. This is neither a fake sentimentalism or any tear jerking hypnosis. You can find anything human in this story from nervous breakdowns, inner struggles, determination, honor to sacrifice, spiritual growth and redemption. How can a story brought to screen fail to captivate viewers when they see something that authentic? Four characters, two married couples provoke our insightful viewing into what a human character really is and into a prospect how they can change and what they may become...if only they want. Although Joey is at the center of attention, it is in the way they deal with him when we get to know them. But, this appears to be extremely important to mention: no judgment is being made, none of the characters is good or bad. These terms simply do not work, which makes it possible to make a starting point truly psychological. Let me focus on this point more deeply. But before this, consider the crucial aspect in all of them: ALL CHARACTERS CHANGE. Isn't that educational at the same time?

THE PORTERS: Being perhaps the least sympathetic of them all, Rip Porter is most memorable. His neurotic nature combined with addiction and prison experience do not allow him to be a good father to Joey and a good husband to Wendy. His fault is, consequently, the most serious one and yet, it is not his last chance. There is constantly an opportunity to change. Along with his character, there is a never ending theme of redemption indicated, so widely discussed in cinema from its very beginnings, just to mention THE PHANTOM CARRIAGE (1921). Rip, played vibrantly by Barry Pepper, supplies us with an intriguing insight into an unpredictable, furious addict with a slight bit of honor still left. His scenes with Wendy and Joey may shock at certain moments but when we constantly keep in mind the opening scene of the movie, it appears easier to justify his behavior or at least see a clear reason for why he is the way he is. Doesn't it appear parallel to real life? Wendy is a good loving mother; yet her status cannot allow her to be the way she dreams to be. Her sacrifice is the greatest and her struggles seemingly unendurable...consider the scene she tries to stop her husband from drinking.

THE CAMPBELLS: The adoptive parents are an absolutely different sort of family. While Jack is a settled down man of career and high financial status, he takes everything for granted. His offer to Rip that results in a fight is a beautifully psychological presentation of prefabricated materialist suggestions vs unpredictable eccentric outbursts. Money simply cannot interfere in the context like this and it cannot. Cole Hauser gives an adequate performance of a settled 'gentleman' and, at the same time, a 'requiring' husband. Molly is an absolutely different wife than Wendy is and clearly less prone to...determination. Doesn't our lifestyle with its conditions shape ourselves?

In between them comes a CHILD that renews, a CHILD that offers change, a CHILD that leads to sacrificial love, a CHILD that seems to know love more than the wisest elderly geniuses, a CHILD that does not need linguistic ornaments or legal regulations in order to realize where genuine feelings are. And this little CHILD brings something most desirable and yet so hard to achieve: redemption. That is, consequently, so trustworthy, that is so real and so unique about the film, so educational and so captivating. Maxwell Perry Cotton's performance is worth attention and can be considered as one of the great child achievements in cinema. Many scenes are so authentically played that you as a viewer may quite forget it is not a real story but only a film.

A highly recommended movie with clear redemptive psychology and trustworthy storytelling that is not only appealing to modern viewers but very thought provoking. There is a HUMAN solution to the tragedy of the broken world, after all.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Realistic tear-jerker
Nocgirl7212 June 2011
I just watched this movie and had a hard time keeping a dry eye. The sad truth is there are cases similar to this going on in family court everyday..maybe not as extreme as this one (most kids are less than 6 years old) but fights between bio parents, foster parents and adoptive parents go on every day. This is an adoptive parents nightmare. I thought the performances by all were solid and very believable. The kid that played Joey is so cute and a good little actor. I really do not understand how people can bash this movie. They must not be adults, or parents for that matter. The subject matter is very surreal and let me tell you, I would have done the EXACT same thing as the adoptive parents did in this movie.
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
A movie about 2 sets of parents, birth and adoptive fighting over a 7 year old boy. It will beak your heart. I say B
Tony Heck25 January 2011
Warning: Spoilers
After 7 years in prison Rip Porter (Pepper) is released and comes home to find out he has a son that was given up for adoption. He sets out to get him back. A father who never knew his son (Pepper) wants a chance to raise him. The only father the boy has known (Hauser) fights to keep him. Due to a flaw in the prison system the adoption of the boy turns out to be fraudulent and a fight begins. I have a feeling this kind of thing really happens. This is not as good as I want it to be. It was good, but TV movie good, like a really good Lifetime movie. This movie is very emotional and you feel for the little boy the entire time and wish for his ordeal to be over. This is yet another movie with a lot of potential but also falls flat. It is a good movie just, again, could have been better. When you watch make sure you give your lady Kleenex. I give it a B.

Would I watch again? - No
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Dust in the Wind
tieman6431 August 2012
Warning: Spoilers
"Like Dandelion Dust" shouldn't work at all, but modern cinema is now so absent of human beings that this low key drama, directed by Jon Gunn, manages to garner praise and accolades.

The film tells the fairly familiar story of a young boy, Joey, who is the centre of a bitter custody battle. On one side of the fight we have Joey's poverty, alcoholism and crime stricken genetic parents and on the other we have his wealthy foster parents. Both groups love Joey, but his genetic parents eventually decide that "it's in Joey's best interest" to live with his wealthy, foster parents. Cue much tear-jerking. Though the film removes all the offencive religious overtones of the novel it's based on, other contrivances, rampant stereotyping and dubious social and class implications remain present and unexamined.

Maxwell Cotton, who plays Joey, turns in an excellent, naturalistic performance. Mira Sorvino, who plays his foster Mom, is excellent as well. Barry Pepper, who plays Joey's deadbeat but sympathetically portrayed dad, overacts, as has become typical of Pepper. Jon Gunn's script is slight but directed in a agreeably low-key way. He wisely gives several unconventional scenes times to breathe. Like the similar "Kramer vs Kramer", these moments of naturalism can't overcome the film's larger implications.

7.9/10 – Worth one viewing.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Horrible Film
Lynn Sunflower26 March 2011
When I heard that they were making "Like Dandelion Dust" into a film, I was excited. But then I watched the film, and was sorely disappointed and mad. Why do movie producers/screenwriters think they have to change a book in order to make it into a film? If fans love the book, then why mess with success? The film is nothing like the book. If you like the book, save yourself the sorrow and skip this film.

The movie gives humanity to Rip's character, a humanity that is not found in the book. Instead of making Rip out to be the jerk that he is in the book, you actually feel sorry for him here. I realize that people can change, but that's not what Karen Kingsbury intended to write about.

Jack and Molly's characters are nowhere near as good as those Kingsbury wrote about. They aren't portrayed as the loving couple she makes them out to be. The complete second half of the film is all screenwriters' ideas, with only a few nods to Kingsbury. All the Christianity, faith, and prayer from the book have been scrapped. The book had such potential and would have made a great movie, if it hadn't been rewritten. I understand that due to time constraints some changes had to be made to the original book, but they didn't make some changes, they changed the whole film. If you're thinking about renting the movie, save yourself the money, and go to the library. The book is amazing and you won't regret reading it!
10 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Skillfully -acted film; excellently cast thriller
Susan7 April 2011
Warning: Spoilers
To me, the film was well-written; well-cast; marvelously acted (especially Barry Pepper, Cole Hauser, and Abby Brammell--though all the leads were good); and believable. And, it allowed viewers to learn a little something when they were watching--which is always a good thing. Note 1. As an educator I would not recommend it for children under 12. The premise, of parents being able to be taken away from them and exchanged for new ones is too scary for those under their teenage years, I believe. Note 2. I was surprised to learn that this was labeled a "Christian" film, because I was never aware of it (and as a non-Christian, I would have been).
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Had profound effect on me and my wife...
iamthorny5 March 2011
Others can discuss the nuts and bolts and the philosophical questions raised by this film.

All I have to say is... by the end of this film my wife and I were running to our children with hugs, kisses, and tears a plenty.

There are some moments in this film that are beyond poignant. One line of dialog rates up there with the best I've ever heard in any film.

Watch it and hurt for both sides and then realize the treasure and wonder that are your children.

If you want something to loosely compare this to, I would have to go with GONE BABY GONE. The only thing that could've made this one any better was Morgan Freeman.

One film related note...Mira Sorvino... just wow.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Amazing film
stusskilla23 February 2011
This movie hits very hard, I really don't care who you are this movie will make you take notice, Mira Sorvino and Barry Pepper play a dysfunctional couple who at the beginning of the film get in an altercation that ends Pepper in jail for 7 years, upon his release, Sorvino informs him that she gave his child up for adoption, He decides to do all the right things to get his boy back, but the boy has a new family, and 2 parents who live for this boy, The story has many twists and turns and gets better and better, The entire movie is wonderfully directed, and the acting is sheer genius, Cole Hauser really steals the show with an Oscar worthy performance, and Kate Levering is so good you can feel her pain, I would recommend this movie a thousand times. In fact anyone who doesn't at least have to fight back a few tears from this movie may be a heartless grinch. The writer Karen Kingsbury really wrote a gem here.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
four solid performances
SnoopyStyle4 September 2015
Wendy Porter (Mira Sorvino) calls the cops and sends her abusive drunk husband Rip (Barry Pepper) to prison. Seven years later, she's there to greet him upon his release. He has stopped drinking and is a changed man. She reveals to him that they have a son and she let him be adopted. The adoption paper was forged by somebody inside the prison and a judge annuls the adoption. Joey is ripped from his comfortable home and loving parents Jack (Cole Hauser) and Molly Campbell (Kate Levering).

The interesting thing here is that nobody is played as a pure villain. Everybody struggles in this movie. It's a losing proposition in any case. All four actors bring out some deep emotions. There are some real moments. The lack of one specific rooting interest does take a toll on the movie. This is a difficult but compelling watch.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Warning: Watch something else
helgerahbek9 May 2012
Warning: Spoilers
An absolute disaster of a movie. It might be the first time I watched a movie with a above 7* rating on IMDb, and found out it was absolutely terrible. The actors overplay, the dialogue seems to be read out aloud, which is not good, when it contains some of the worst clichés in the history of film making.

Besides that the story is so thin and, and you know what will happen next during the entire time.

Besides that there is several loops in the story, that makes absolutely no sense: How come Rip goes to jail in 7 years for broking Wendy's arm? How come they apparently haven't talked in that time, but still seems to be in love when he comes out? Who calls their husband/wifes/girlfriends/etc for "Mom" and "Dad" as both couples do? Who spends time on a regular basis with people, that they assumely hate to be together with? And so on and so on.....

Just a warning, so you, just like me, have to spend 1,5 hour of wasting your life.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Like Dandelion Dust (2009)
adrienne_aline30 January 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Get ready to get your heart strings ripped out. At least they'll be sewn together good as new by the ending.

An abusive man goes to jail and while there, his wife at home discovers she's pregnant with his baby. Instead of aborting the baby or keeping it, she gives it away, fortuitously to incredibly caring, financially comfortable adoptive parents.

Then there's an interruption. Apparently basic biology trumps good parenting and a legal contract. Six years later, through a minor technicality, the contract was deemed void upon the biological father release from jail. He returns to the biological mother, renews their relationship and eager to have an instant family. Of course this entails tearing the boy from the only parents he's known. It should be noted that the biological father is excited to know he has a son but it makes the viewer wonder if he would have been so enthusiastic about a girl.

The biological parents are irresponsible; they're ignorant (which isn't a crime) but also have anger and codependency issues that are so severe they quickly effect the child negatively: Actual bruises on the little boy's body.

The adoptive parents wind up taking matters into their own hands and running off to Haiti with their Christian neighbors who have a charity program there.

They make the decision to give up contact with their other friends, relatives, to live in a strange new country essentially to protect their child.

The scene where they separate from their Christian friends in Haiti is underplayed and well done. Secretly they know they are not saying goodbye for the day but possibly forever, into hiding.

Afterward, the Christian wife and husband have a private conversation challenging their perspectives on faith and philosophy: She makes the decision to report them to the Haitian authorities. He strongly disagrees with that choice and tries to warn them.

Apparently the Christian wife has more faith in biology and a stupid law than thinking for herself. Ironically, this winds up helping everyone become aware of the fact that the biological parents are a blatant failure which means the adoptive parents can regain custody and return to their homeland safely. However, this is only because the abuse is severe (the biological mother's face is black and blue and the social worker is persistent enough to witness it). Think about all the other cases where this doesn't happen.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Almost Docudrama Adoption Film
drpakmanrains27 May 2011
Warning: Spoilers
I never heard of this film until it came to my attention on Netflix and I watched it. It was an amazingly well balanced film, similar to some stories that were in the news a few years back, where an adopted child is sought by his biological parents years after an adoption was assumed permanent, due to the father not having given legal consent. Reading the credits, I learned it was based on a novel by Karen Kingsbury, and after reading the other reviews here, learned it was released by a Christian company, which I was totally unaware of while watching the film. I am an agnostic, and lean toward atheism, but have loved some Christian films, like Treasures of the Snow, Fireproof, and To Save A Life. And while this barely touched on Faith, (Thankfully in my non-religious opinion), those who decried the changes from the book, (which I haven't read, nor probably never will), struck me as not liking the film for the very reasons that made it so good. That is, not portraying the parties in obvious colors, not making the biological parents totally unfit, at least at first, after Pepper's release from prison, and not portraying the adoptive parents as beyond fault, which raised this above the typical lifetime movie, in my opinion. In fact, when Barry Pepper reverts to some of his abusive behaviors late in the film, I was a little disappointed, because I didn't want the film to take the easy way out. And in some real cases in Ohio, the children were returned to the biological parents, which I think is very unfortunate when the child has lived happily for many years with the couple he or she knows as Mom and Dad. I wanted a happy ending, which I got, but I didn't want it to look so one-sided that the deck looked stacked. And as a non-believer, if a lot of Faith preaching is added, for me, it only detracts from the drama, and risks becoming corny and trite. If the film were a little livelier or faster paced, I would have given it a 10, but if it were like those who described the book as being, I would have given it a 5 at best.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
anti Christian movie from a famous Christian novel
johnpatd-967-267583 February 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Based upon a famous Christian novel. this film completely perverts the Christian elements of the novel Although well acted, the film makes the Christian sister of the heroine both stupid and rash. The plot device at the end of novel that shows how God is in control is completely ignored by the filmmakers. This film will infuriate any Christians who read the book. Despite good acting from Barry Pepper and Mira Sorvino, the Christian message of the novel: God is in control; is completely ignored. After watching the film, I went and read through the novel because I could not understand how his was considered a Christian film. Well IT IS NOT. If anything it's anti-Christian film. If you see this junk, read the novel, or a least the last half of the book and you will see what I am talking about.
4 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Christianity Watered Down
saucygurl1 June 2012
After reading the Karen Kingsbury novel that the movie 'Like Dandelion Dust' was based on, I was very much looking forward to watching it. However, I was disheartened to see that there was no mention of Christ Jesus at all in the movie. The whole premise of the story in the novel was to show that faith in Jesus and prayer will overcome all odds. Instead, the movie portrayed Christians as righteous and overbearing. And that making wishes on dandelions works better than prayer. The movie also left out a lot of detail that although made it work, I felt that it rushed the story. I understand that when you sell the rights to your novel, the movie producer has the right to change certain aspects of it, but I'm disappointed that Ms. Kingsbury would allow the removal of faith in Christ.

On a positive note, I found the acting very good, especially by Mira Sorvino and Cole Hauser and I was impressed with Maxwell Perry Cotton as little Joey Campbell. I had a good cry throughout the movie. Would still recommend to others.
2 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Not what I expected....
jenniferk167 March 2011
Warning: Spoilers
I read the book and was anticipating the movie. I didn't expect it to be exactly like the book, but I felt the movie missed the mark entirely. I almost bought the movie for $23 at the bookstore, I was so sure I would like it. I'm so glad I rented it at Redbox for $1! This IS a faith based book, so I didn't realize the movie could be made and ignore the primary theme of the book. I think the acting was quite decent overall, and the movie was fairly well made. My complaint doesn't really lie with that. It's just so much of the book is missing, made to fit the movie, and the only barely there elements of faith are to support the character attempt to "run off" with the child. In no way does it make people of faith look good, just the opposite. They look rather stupid and involved. I just didn't get it. I'm very very disappointed with Karen Kingsbury. I would never have sold my book rights to a film maker if they were going to leave out the entire point of the movie. Sorry, I just didn't care for it. The book was far better at grabbing my attention and pulling me in. Yawn.
1 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Why some people should NEVER have children
jumpingbum10 February 2011
Warning: Spoilers
This movie tells me one thing: some people should NEVER have children. What I saw was a man who hit his wife, spent time in prison and is rewarded only for biology. A lie is a lie: that the Mother LIED when she signed LEGAL paperwork and then LIED in front of a judge? She should have been put in jail. I was disappointed that the adoptive Father offered money for his kid. Stupid for the rich guy to start a fight. But there is a certain type of people who should NEVER reproduce. I realize it sounds like class snobbery and it probably is, but what I saw was a class of people acting like they were brought up by their parents to act.
0 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews