IMDb > Little Fockers (2010) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Little Fockers
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Little Fockers More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 16:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 152 reviews in total 

169 out of 231 people found the following review useful:

It just wasn't funny...

3/10
Author: Joe Smith (duckfeetpro) from United Kingdom
22 December 2010

Okay so you know the premise with these types of films, you've got your father in-law and your son in-law arguing while the rest of their family watch them get into zany situations. Being such a used formula, you can guess what's going to happen, this isn't a problem with comedies as their jokes are what hold them up, right?

My main problem with the film is that there were no jokes, the entire audience was silent, the only laughter I heard was from some teenage girls laughing at a scene involving a needle and someone's penis. I wouldn't have minded puns, or cheesy jokes, or embarrassing situations, but the film was just like a drama that wasn't very dramatic.

I felt like the film didn't know what it wanted to be, the title "Little Fockers" implies that the children are the main focus, but the two children are barely in the film and when they were, they were just a bit annoying. The film is definitely not a family film, it's heavily sexually based, I wouldn't advise taking your children to see this, but then adults won't find the humour very funny.

The acting wasn't bad to be perfectly honest, the line up is good and I felt that the characters were believable. As for messages? The film carries some messages about family loyalties and priorities, but doesn't every film like this carry that message?

I don't like sounding too negative, but the bottom line is that I didn't enjoy this film, simple as that. If you like these kinds of films then I would suggest renting it some time, it's not as bad as I may have made it sound, but it's still pretty bad in my opinion. I hope this review helped you, and maybe saved you some money.

Was the above review useful to you?

99 out of 134 people found the following review useful:

The same tired old jokes and clich miscommunication story lines

3/10
Author: Movie_Muse_Reviews from IL, USA
25 December 2010

Quality comedies -- if they go beyond one sequel -- never come in threes. In the case of "Little Fockers," three's a Focking mess. But we asked for it; "Meet the Fockers" ranks as the highest-grossing live-action comedy in the U.S., so regardless of quality, we were going to get whatever studios served us. And sure enough, "Little Fockers" cooks up tired modern gags, basically forgetting that the last decade of comedy (including its two predecessors) ever existed and that we could be won over by open mentions of sex (ooh!) and recycled dick drug gags. It's several years later and Greg and Pam Focker (Ben Stiller and Teri Polo) live in Chicago with their twins, Henry and Samantha. Grandpa Jack Byrnes (De Niro) has grown concerned over the Byrnes family legacy as he's been having some heart issues lately and his first son-in- law, Dr. Bob, has failed him after having an affair and getting a divorce. As such, before he and wife Dina (Blythe Danner) arrive for the twins' birthday, he tells Greg that he's ready to pass the torch to Greg, who's eager but still scared about winning Jack's full approval and becoming "The Godfocker." The film focuses on Jack and Greg again, as expected, so among other faults, the title "Little Fockers" is misleading. The kids are hardly in the picture expect for cheap jokes and they're neither cute nor talented. In a family dinner scene where Greg (with "Godfather" music in the background) commands that Henry eat his lasagna, Henry succumbs but then spews vomit all over his father. Whenever the film seems to breeze about with a bit more of a sense of humor, a tasteless joke shoots in that prompts us to do the same. Contrivances and predictable story lines litter "Fockers" and damper the occasional moments of humor. The familiarity we have with Greg and Jack helps create that humor and some clever jokes actually do exist, but the script leans on typical "misunderstanding" plot devices, most of which were ironically used most effectively in "Meet the Parents" and "Meet the Fockers." The whole idea of "if they worked once they'll work again" does not apply. The "twists" of this film are set up so conspicuously that as they unfold, it's like you know what happens because you've seen it before. And you likely have, because there was probably something similar in it from a previous "Focker" film. Outside of Jack spying on Greg, who tries to keep it a secret that he's trying to make extra cash by pushing a new erectile dysfunction drug for a gorgeous drug rep (Jessica Alba), all the side characters and plots are garbage. Owen Wilson returns as Kevin and the running joke other than him being some rich worldly hippie is that he's in love with Pam, which never amounts to anything. Alba over-ditzifies her part, which should have been played by a nameless attractive woman, proving she has no idea how to shake her type. Even Bernie and Roz Focker (Hoffman and Streisand) are out of place, squeezed in to appease the audience who expects them to show up. It's actually unfortunate, because neither of them totally overdo their part or annoy us with the fact that despite the same thing happening for the third film in a row now, no one's learned their lesson. Greg actually catches Jack spying on him on the train and after eight years of knowing each other, Greg doesn't confront him. Sure this was for the sake of keeping the tension up, but at some point you can't keep milking the same goat, or cow, or cat. Yes, Jinxie returns, also with a convenient line of dialogue from Wilson who says "I had her brought in town for you when I heard about your heart," just to set up another pet mischief joke that's completely out of place at the end of the film. Basically, we're Focking tired. "Little Fockers" is simply another example of a movie concept that's run its course and should have never gone beyond two films and only did because of the money. In a sense, there should be no surprises here. Then again, attempted jokes such as young Henry randomly asking if girls poop from their vaginas at the dinner table, could have been replaced with something more thoughtful -- and tasteful. ~Steven C

Was the above review useful to you?

84 out of 137 people found the following review useful:

It really is that bad....!

1/10
Author: Stephen Hinton from United Kingdom
28 December 2010

So the third film in the hugely successful franchise as been thrust upon on us, but it is far from a welcome addition to the family.

The main reason is it's just devoid of any originality whatsoever and is just complete recycling job of excellent first two outings and one where you can only use the father-son-in-law 'interrogation' theme for so long before it wears incredibly thin. Even the title 'Little Fockers' would have been a good indicator that the main objective and jokes would have centred around the kids but the truth is they have very little screen time in the film.

When screen legends of Robert DeNiro, Harvey Keitel and Dustin Hoffman received the script they must have been thinking "not much to do here, except just pickup an easy pay cheque".

The film also introduces a new character in the way of Andi Garcia (Jessica Alba) all I can say it's the most annoying character forced upon us since Jar Jar Binks in the 'Phantom Menace'

The only plus point to come out of the film is during it' end credits where there is a hilarious re-mix video. Apologies if this review sounds over the top but this film really is that bad and is the reason why I am giving my first ever 1* rating

Was the above review useful to you?

72 out of 117 people found the following review useful:

What a FOCKED up excuse for a movie!

Author: dtucker86 from Germany
23 December 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This was one of the movies that I was most looking forward to seeing this year and it turned out to be the WORST movie I have seen all year! What were DeNiro and Stiller thinking? Let me rephrase, what was ANYONE thinking who had anything to do with the making of this wretched bag of dreck posing as movie. Back in 2000, Meet The Parents was looked upon as one of the funniest movies ever. I remember that the editorial page of my hometown newspaper even praised it. Here, they have just disgraced themselves. Apparently the movie makers thought it cute to show a little child being injured and someone slashing themselves cutting the turkey. Oh and also, the scene where DeNiro takes that Viagra drug and it shows him with a huge bulge in his....oh never mind. I want to tell the screenwriters that bad taste does not equal funny. DeNiro has earned his place as one of our greatest actors and he should have known better agreeing to this. He merely embarrasses himself as everyone else who made the film did. They should hang their heads in shame.

Was the above review useful to you?

108 out of 196 people found the following review useful:

Focking awful

1/10
Author: alex (doorsscorpywag) from United Kingdom
24 December 2010

What a jolly jape making another movie with Focker in the title because, hilarity upon hilarity, Focker sounds like something rude so we must laugh. Except we don't really as this series of films has dredged the barrel bottom clean for a second unfunny sequel to complement something that was not that funny first time round. The gangs all here again to perform a series of unfunny sketches unfunnily and leave the audience paralysed with laughter. Well paralysed at least if they don't get up and do something more interesting like repoint their sewage system. Robert DeNiro used to be one of the finest actors ever to hit the screen and that's all you need to know about this pile of putrid puss. As long as people troop in and titter at the Benny Hill style double entendre of people called Focker then there will be no doubt be a fourth probably called 'something something mother Focker something' which will send us apoplectic with mirth.......or not most likely. The silliest Fockers of all have to be the audience for this tripe. Luckily I saw it for free and I thought I was robbed. They may not make films like they used to but they still churn out utter garbage like this year in year out so prepare for more Focking Fockers in the near future. Makes you Focking weep!

Was the above review useful to you?

39 out of 59 people found the following review useful:

Let's hope the little fockers know it's time to terminate the franchise.

Author: jdesando from United States
22 December 2010

Because there are no big issues at the Little Fockers house, little issues drown it in nonsense so that humor can barely breathe. Patriarch Jack Byrnes (Robert De Niro) thinks his problematic son-in-law, Greg (Ben Stiller), should be his heir to the "godfocker" role. Greg (previously in life named "Gay' for Gaylord) accepts and spends the rest of the film showing he is not qualified for the responsibility.

Thence come the pratfalls and pranks that comedies rely on for laughs when they lack the wit to laugh by lines. The most exciting but humorless action comes in the delicious form of Jessica Alba, a pharmaceutical rep bent on seducing Greg, a male nurse who could help her company promote a new erectile enhancing drug. Sadly already this year Love and Other drugs with Jake Gyllenhaal as the rep for a Viagra pill covered the erection action with a bit more verve.

When even Owen Wilson as flaky Kevin Rawley, admirer of Greg's wife, Pamela (Teri Polo), doesn't get as much as a smirk from me, then I know I am in an underachieving comedy. At least the dog in this movie does not masturbate (see Due Date); it just swallows a gecko. Not much funnier than one of the Focker kids puking at the dinner table. I need say no more.

The Focker franchise is lucrative, and Stiller, De Niro, and company are a talented bunch, so I am an optimist that their next reunion may hold an amusing concept with lithe lines. Not.

Was the above review useful to you?

58 out of 97 people found the following review useful:

Not bad as many think, just don't expect great!

7/10
Author: medellinrob from Mexico
15 December 2010

If it was a movie with intentions of being forever remembered and awarded with Oscars I would rate it 2/10 of course, but knowing it has been made for laughing, then it's a 7. I did laugh quite a bit, but it's not an 8 or 9 because some jokes are not my kind of humor or it's the same jokes as the previous movies in the series (with the last name and so on). Also, the plot is dull, like always, things don't work out for Greg and blah blah.

The positive: Some fresh jokes, Good acting, Laughs are guaranteed.

The negative: DeNiro while showing great character adaptation, I miss him in more serious movies. Some jokes are old, Same formula.

So, to sum it up: Just go see it if you want to laugh, don't expect to be a great movie.

PS. Jessica Alba looks great in the movie, but the character is tedious.

Was the above review useful to you?

55 out of 92 people found the following review useful:

Oh just fock off.

3/10
Author: freemantle_uk from United Kingdom
28 December 2010

I would love to become a film writer/director, but I often suffer self-doubts on whether I can write anything good or come up with a good idea. Weirdly Little Fockers gives me hope because I know that least I try hard with an idea and do not settle for less like the writers of Little Fockers.

Little Fockers is set five years after the events of Meet the Fockers. Greg (Ben Stiller) and Pam (Teri Polo) are happily married and have five year old twins, Sam (Daisy Tahan) and Henry (Colin Baiocchi). But after Jack (Robert De Niro) has a heart attack, he decides that that Byrnes family needs a new patriarch: Greg is the only man available for the job. Jack makes Greg perform tasks to prove him, by getting his kids into a good school and make himself financially secure. To do that Greg moonlights to promote a new Viagra drug for heart patients after being recruited by sexy pharmaceutical representative Andi Garcia (Jessica Alba). But there is distrust because of her good looks.

Now I confess that I am not a big fan of the 'Meet the Parents' series and the only reason I went to see it with people was because there were no good screening times for Tron Legacy or The Way Back. I had low exceptions and Little Fockers met them. Little Fockers follows the same formula of accidents and misunderstandings, with Greg and Jack constantly fighting and mistrust: surely wouldn't men have learn by now, they are meant to smart. Most of the humour is juvenile, mostly farting related. Fine for young kids, but at the same time there are a lot of sex jokes which takes away the family audience. This type of comedy and this series is stale: it is another example of a film franchise becoming too successful for its own good.

Little Fockers was directed by Paul Weitz, the less talented brother of Chris Weitz (the director of The Golden Compass and New Moon). It was obviously with his workman like direction and a lack of care in about the script and the performances that he made this film just for the money: well there is a recession. There was nothing inventive about this film.

Performance wise there isn't much to say, all the regular actors do their usual routine. This is one of Stiller's worst film, he needs to make more films like Tropic Thunder and I do wonder if Robert De Niro made a deal with the devil, he could star in films like the Godfather Part 2 and Raging Bull, but in the later had to make this rubbish. I hope Martin Scorsese comes in and saves his career. Owen Wilson was on auto-pilot and Jessica Alba was in the film just because of her looks. Surely Alba should get a better agent because all she does is strip off in her films (as a man I enjoy it, but as an enlightened person there has got to be more to her then her body).

Basically the only highlight of the film was the use of a smart child for some of the comedy: smart children are often more funny then dumb children in films.

Was the above review useful to you?

57 out of 97 people found the following review useful:

A sequel that shouldn't have been made

4/10
Author: bassrourke from Australia
20 December 2010

For a start the director of American PIE should not have been put in charge of this so far so good franchise. Meet the Parents has just finished with this installment. Ben Stiller is back with his ongoing shenanigans with father in-law DeNiro, but all to no avail You will see many Godfather references and Jaws references to name a few. Just terrible and all in all rude, obscure and down right awful humour. If you see this because your a Jessica Alba fan, your forgiven, but if you expect to see legends Harvey Keitel, Barbara Streisand or Dustin Hoffman on screen for more than about 15 minutes, forget it. Leave your brain at the door, this stupid movie may get more laughs when vacant.

Was the above review useful to you?

84 out of 151 people found the following review useful:

Terrible.

2/10
Author: arcanearrow from United Kingdom
23 December 2010

This film is terrible. I finally became a member on IMDb so I can say just how bad this film is. If you're thinking about going to see it..don't.

It is not funny, it lacks direction and most of all it is pointless. It is an insult to the two earlier Meet the Parent films. Why it is called 'Meet the Little Fockers' is beyond me, the children really are not that involved in the film. The title is probably the funniest joke in the whole film.

I could explain for longer why this film is so bad, but that would take far too long.

In summary, the film is bad; go see Narnia, Tron or anything else.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 16:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history