IMDb > "Dirty Sexy Money" (2007) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Dirty Sexy Money"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratings
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Dirty Sexy Money" More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 26 reviews in total 

44 out of 51 people found the following review useful:

Brilliant, engaging show...

9/10
Author: Trentw427 from United States
29 December 2007

This has become my favorite show on television. It has its own special charm to it. I love the characters in the Darling family. The acting is superb for nearly all of them. Donald Sutherland is incredible as always in the role of Tripp, the tactful businessman. Then you have Glenn Fitzgerald as Brian, the flawed priest; William Baldwin as Patrick, the spineless politician; Samaire Armstrong as Juliet, the spoiled daughter; Seth Gabel as Jeremy, the reluctant playboy; Natalie Zea as Karen, the impetuous harlot; and Jill Clayburgh as Letitia, the spaced-out mother.

The character of Brian is the one I find the most entertaining. He perfectly pulls off being a complete jerk, which makes his contrasting moments of humanity that much more impressive. His relationship with his son brought some of the funniest and most heartfelt moments of the season, which is really saying something considering the strength of the rest of the show. The character of Jeremy is intriguing as well, as he's somewhat of a security blanket for Juliet. Fitzgerald and Gabel show off their acting talents in these roles, but it's Sutherland that steals the show.

The well-acted characters don't stop there, though. Peter Krause nails the role of Nick, the lawyer/babysitter for the family. Will Shadley is adorable as Brian Jr. Blair Underwood adds mystery as the rival billionaire. Daniel Cosgrove gave a memorable performance as Karen's boytoy Freddy. Shawn Michael Patrick adds even more talent as the obedient limo driver. Zoe McLellan is stuck in that middle as Nick's wife Lisa, along with fascinated-by-rich-life daughter Kiki, portrayed by Chloe Moretz.

There are precious few flaws with this show. Leticia, Patrick, Juliet, and Karen can grow tiresome, partly because their characters are sometimes intended to annoy the viewers with their actions. However, the truth is that Clayburgh, Baldwin, Armstrong, and Zea simply don't possess the acting talent of the rest of the cast. I can hate and love Brian at the same time, and I can't say that for the rest of these characters who are supposed to elicit similar feelings.

The only reason I gave it a 9 instead of a 10 is because the latest episodes haven't been quite as good as the early ones. Still, I think that speaks more to the excellence of the show's beginning more than anything else. There's plenty of potential to develop all the characters much further, as you could make a lesser series based on any one of the characters. I don't know what the future holds for this show, but I can only hope that we haven't seen the last of it. If they give this enough of a chance, I think it will be truly great.

I worry, though, because nearly everyone I try to talk to about it hasn't heard of it, and we're going on a few weeks now without a new episode. It seems pretty high-budget as well. I think a little more promotion or patience could save the show. I fear the worst, but I'll breathe a sigh of relief if I see another new episode in the new year.

Please, ABC, keep this show going. If it disappears, it will be sorely missed.

Was the above review useful to you?

35 out of 46 people found the following review useful:

totally entertaining...

8/10
Author: ajamichelle02 from United States
10 October 2007

I really like this show. I think that it follows in the footsteps of desperate housewives and others before it as far as it being character-driven, engaging the audience in a great story, with a good blend of comedy and drama. Some of the previous comments have implied that we've seen this plot (or something similar to it before) and I couldn't disagree more -- I don't think that the story seems done. In my opinion, the story line is definitely creative and unique... much like housewives, greys, and heroes (my three favorites) I'm totally curious and entertained (and the point of TV is to entertain, after all!) Bottom line: I can't wait to see whats to come -- it's a breath of fresh air that TV has so desperately needed.

Was the above review useful to you?

28 out of 35 people found the following review useful:

Not really dirty or sexy

8/10
Author: Ryu_Darkwood from Netherlands
16 May 2008

I consider this to be the third best new show I started to watch last year( with Damages undoubtedly on a first place and Californication on a close second ).

It has all that you want from a prime time soap: intelligent satire, adoring characters, a captivating mystery and ambient settings. I love it how they show that a materialistic lifestyle doesn't lead to happiness. In all their efforts to buy their happiness, these characters find that it is the small things that make a life worth to live. A comforting thought for a ''poor'' guy like myself.

My only criticism is that the title of the show is a bit misleading. If you put the words dirty and sexy in a title, it suggests that the content is...well, dirty and sexy. But this show is actually rather decent compared to a lot of recent shows.

Was the above review useful to you?

25 out of 31 people found the following review useful:

A fascinating, funny and intriguing look at life from the top

10/10
Author: legacye from United Kingdom
9 December 2007

I starting watching this show with the expectation that it would be driven only by it's star power and would leave little to the mind, however, that said - Dirty, Sexy, Money far exceeded my expectations. It is an intriguing drama with plots than only become more interesting at the season progresses. The Darling's are not a 1-Dimensional family - we get a balanced view of each family member's bizarre, twisted and occasionally desirable life styles with a plot that only becomes darker as the weaves of truth and deception spin their way onto our TV sets. Out of the many new shows that were aired this year, DSM is certainly one I would place up in the top 3. My final word? - this is definitely a show you want on your TiVo.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

ABC lays off cast and crew !!!

9/10
Author: shunkele-2
23 June 2008

Just wanted fans of Dirty, Sexy Money to know that while so many of us have been waiting for the new shows to air, ABC suits have been unhappy with writers and have laid off the cast and crew. Some new episodes were filmed but if and when we will see them who knows. It is not like they have so many great shows on. I am so disappointed I was really looking forward to a new season. There were so many hints that many juicy secrets were yet to come. If the cast and crew get offers for new jobs it will be impossible for them to get them all back together. I guess they want to kill the show. Fans need to rally behind the show and get ABC to bring everyone back. The show must go on!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Inconsistent show that can't make up its mind what it wants to be, but has some good parts.

5/10
Author: sunshine_reggie from Berlin
21 April 2010

Started out well, but drifted away into a complete chaos at the end. For example, the characters. Take Nick George. At first he is so opposed to the wealth etc. of the Darlings, then he lets himself be seduced by it. It would be interesting to watch him sink in more and more into this shallow and cruel world.. then emerge out of it with a changed personality and a learned lesson (or not, and that would be a message to the viewers). Instead what happens is that we are first supposed to believe he is following the wrong path, succumbing to all this money, etc., then turns out that actually it's OK, he's a nice guy helping this family and that's it. There is no more drama or character development, it just stops. His marriage with Lisa falls apart, he does exactly what his daddy, who he hated, did to him, but that's all OK! In addition to this completely illogical and incoherent "turn" we find out that in fact he was always in love with Karen and is now glad he separated from Lisa. Why? Why fall in love with this shallow, rich woman who has absolutely nothing in her? Seems like the original Nick shown in the first series would never fall for that kind of person, but no, apparently he always was secretly in love with her. It's hard to believe for us as viewers not only because it's so out of the blue but also because Krauss just can't act this, perhaps because he doesn't understand why his character would do this (all in all I have to say that Krauss was really not the right person to portray supposed complexity of the character Nick). All in all the show starts as one thing, kind of a comment on the life of the rich, supposedly satire, etc. and it's good in that way. But then it loses the focus. The other flaws include complete and unexplained disappearance of Juliet who at first was shown as a very close part of her twin brother Jeremy, who then seems to forget all about her in 3 episodes. Jeremy's character is actually played well and is more or less consistent. So is Lisa's.

Some major things just happen "in passing", like Karen's miscarriage, as if the there was not enough air time to properly play the scene out. Some scenes are just forgotten, like the arrest of Patrick (accusation of murdering his wife) is just forgotten in the next episode. Not to mention the completely crumbled and unsatisfactory ending (not really an ending at all but not a invitation to watch further episodes either, just something in between.) Also there is this theme of Tripp always pressurizing his children and each one of them being secretly unhappy in their own way - Jeremy takes up a job, Juliet takes pills etc) that is also just dropped at some point and the kids seem to be actually fine. Basically the whole thing is very inconsistent. It's well done and not thought through thoroughly.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Inteligentelevision !!!

9/10
Author: Dave Archibald from Canada
8 July 2008

Not to often you get a surprise like this,rather than insulting your intelligence it instead stimulates it! I only discovered this show by accident myself. After the first episode i wanted to see the second and since then have not missed an episode.

Beautifully written,engaging performances and attention paid to cinematography.

Apparently this had been slated for at least two seasons but have only been fortunate enough to have seen the first ten episodes,last one being 12/05/07 I believe.

I warrant my 9/10 rating for the simple reason of being put-off for an undeclared amount of time with no word or promise of another episode...hate it when they do that with new shows.

The comment above mine sums this show up nicely and I concur.

You want great entertainment.WATCH THIS SHOW!

Two thumbs up in Canada.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

More than expected

10/10
Author: chris_bull7 from United Kingdom
29 March 2008

Having watched the first half doven or so episodes of this show, it is fast becoming my favourite programme on television. Unsure of what to expect, the show mixes intelligent drama with a very sharp wit. It is in many ways remenicent of six feet under in this respect, and Peter Krauss' performance is as equally polished as his work on that. Perhaps the shows strongest feature is its beautifully developing characterisation of its main protagonists, each revealing themselves to have more depth than we are originally shown. The strong moral undertones of the show lend themselves well to family viewing, and leave the viewer feeling satisfied at the end of each show, which is nice when nearly every other drama deems it necessary to leave the viewer with a cliffhanger. This show simply relies of its strength of characters for its magnatism. Put simply, this is one of the best developing shows on television, which is too interesting for the glipse into the lives of the uber-wealthy it gives us.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

1st season Excellent, the 2nd absolutely awful.

6/10
Author: TheEmulator23 (Shelman23@gmail.com) from S. Lake Tahoe, CA
27 December 2009

I said it in the title & I'll say it again, "The 1st season Excellent, the 2nd awful." It is amazing how a fun although quite Soap Opera-y show the first year could turn to such garbage the 2nd year. I really can't compare the two seasons because the are completely different shows! If you have a chance to see both seasons, DO NOT WATCH SEASON 2! I'm not sure who left or who started working on the show in the second season but they killed it. The whole casting of Lucy Liu was stupid & her character was utterly useless. They also got rid of Samaire Armstrong which was a good character & she was good but w/out any sort of explanation or what happened to his twin sister? C'mon now! 8/10 for the 1st year 4/10 for the ridiculously dumb Second season.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 32 people found the following review useful:

Arrested development goes to SouthFork for smart people

7/10
Author: diannejohanss from Mt Holly, NJ
5 January 2008

In all honesty, I didn't even know what channel ABC was on before I sought out this show, but it made me look! I missed the initial airing so I caught up via "OnDemand" and was hooked--I ended up watching all the episodes twice. I love everybody in it, although Peter Krause alone would have been enough for me. It's apt that he's the designated voice of reason: he always brings such a sense of realness & believability to whatever he's in. Although some of it is over-the-top, I think it'll be like peering in on how the other half live. (I remember reading that one of the Kennedy in-laws--maybe Shriver?--was the go-to guy for all the Kennedys--they didn't even know how to renew a drivers' license without him.) The rich are like you and me in that neither of us has a clue how the other lives (e.g., Paris Hilton asking if WalMart was where you go to get anything you need for your walls). I'm looking forward to finding out how/why the evil Brian became a priest -- I find that more amazing than the fact that he's a father. I also like that Donald Sutherland doesn't seem intrinsically bad--just clueless about child-rearing. This show will only get more interesting, & will probably almost write itself. With Bryan Singer and so many other heavy-hitters behind it, I can't imagine it doing poorly unless it the audience doesn't have the attention span to absorb it all.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings Awards External reviews
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history