IMDb > "Maui Fever" (2007) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
"Maui Fever" More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 11 reviews in total 

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

this show is unbelievably awful

1/10
Author: rencori1984 from United States
20 February 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

first of all, this whole reality TV is getting out of hand. i love reality TV but this show is AWFUL i cant believe how much they completely make every girl ( considering most of them arnt even of drinking age) partying and hooking up with guys even the ones that are the main characters in the show the guys are pigs which u can realize before even watching the show and the show makes the whole island look like its filled with college kids that are primarily white. i cant stand how basically its a bunch of sluts (men and women) running around with no jobs or school...and partying every night and getting wasted and having sex!!! i just don't get it, how many people are really interested in this garbage!! i feel like i get more stupid just watching the previews lol...i just needed to vent about how horrible this show was uhhhh

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

this is horrible

1/10
Author: orlifan17 from United States
5 February 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

this is show is just horrible i don't know what MTV is doing everyone loves Laguna beach and this is far from being anything like it the girls are trashy and horrible and the show is just boring Laguna beach was better and it got such great rating and teen could actually relate to the problems that those people had and it was fun to watch on Maui fever all it is is stupid girls chasing after guys and they all seem so trashy. the guys just want all of the tourist girls anyways so there is no point in this show what so ever and it really upsets me that MTV would do this Tessa and those girls aren't done with high school so they could easily come up with a better show from there senior year ANYthing is better than Maui fever

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Maui Vomit

1/10
Author: dunbare from United States
1 February 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This show is incredibly stupid! I have only seen one episode and it is just another one of those stupid 'reality shows' like Laguna Beach where all this unnecessary 'drama' is going on. Really it is just a bunch of people crying because they are not having sex with the people they really want to have sex with.

There are two very blond girls with very dark tans who look like they are from California. One is apparently a flirt who has a loser boyfriend the other still has the hots for a sun damaged guy who looks like he is dying of some sort of disease, I think his name is Shane, but it is spelled differently. I just kept thinking as I watched this show that the characters keep getting whiter and whiter. Are there not Hawaian people in Maui? I have never been, but i'm pretty sure there is more to life to the average Maui resident than soaking in the sun and whining "like oh my gosh I am totally stressed!" Annoying! MTV really is just a sess pool of garbage! No good shows at all! For anyone over the age of 10 stay away.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

I disagree with the Unattractive Comment--This show I kind of like!

8/10
Author: Capri8 from United States
14 April 2007

I think the fact that they are not as attractive as any of those other shows (The hills, Laguna beach) is what makes this show more real. In the real world not everyone looks like models and actors. Attractiveness is universal, these people might be attractive to some but not all!! So I happen to like the show, I have become addicted to the characters. I also like the location in Maui, Hawaii. It is interesting scenery to watch. No matter what reality show, there is always some kind of improvising or acting going on when your in front of a camera, but this show is as real as it gets in terms of the look of the characters and what people in there 20's do in their everyday life; they basically hang-out, party, surf, have sex and go through relationship problems.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

The Worst Show EVER!!!

1/10
Author: Sarah from Oklahoma
1 February 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

They should really have a 0 star for this one i watched like 15min. of it and almost puked!!! The girls are fake the guys are weird and the plot is dumb. "Girl fight with boy the boy is to wimpy to defined himself then mops." The other guys try to be real cool but just end up looking dumb!!! UUGGHH!!

The girls though have to be the worst cause there spoiled know it alls and the show had better find some better people cause every show the show is the same. It is a shame to all shows and is a copy cat of the HillS, No i take that back it is trying to be as good but doesn't even compare!!

PLEASE CANCELL!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Good, for what it is.

10/10
Author: Derek West from Canada
3 June 2007

This show is good for what it is. And thats a show specifically made for teenagers. I'm sure the actually city of Maui is filled with diverse, intelligent, and cultured people but unfortunately the common teen is looking for something else.. And I'm sure MTV found it with Maui Fever. Drama, Sex, alcoholism, parties, and hook-ups is basically what a young adult finds interesting; If the show tried a more cultured approach, their ratings might sink even though it might be known to be more respectable. This shouldn't be a debate, nor should it be hated on. It's a show, that either entertains you or not. I'm sure no-one despises it so much that they have to rate it 1 out of 10. So relax. Watch it and take your brain out, gasp at the awkward relationships and giggle at the boys one track minds.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

I dislike Maui Fever

1/10
Author: hanalei525 from United States
22 January 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I dislike Maui Fever because it showed teenagers/young adults hooking up and partying. I was born and raised on the island of Maui and life here is nothing like that. It's not all about partying and having sex, we have a life. We work, go to school, play sports, play music, and live the island life. This show disgraces my island home. Also, ethnicity on Maui vary, it's not just 1 type, like shown. I understand that an opportunity for the local people were offered and not taken because the true local people are not those that expose themselves on national television. Those that are filmed are in fact the only ones that agreed to be filmed. That's not the way of life on Maui. The show makes visitors of Hawai'i not want to come because of fear that their child could be raped from these boys on the show asking them out and having sex with them. I believe that it should not continue on air for the sake of the islanders. Sacred places are revealed on the show that no one should know about. Permission from the Maui residence should have been asked before filming began. Thank you for your time.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

i like it.

9/10
Author: babyimghettofab from United States
15 February 2007

in my opinion i like this show. i mean its almost like Laguna beach tho with older people. most people are hating it and want to cancel the show. well thats there problem. i actually like it. i mean its drama and it makes TV.when i first saw the previews i was like well it doesn't seem to be as good as i thought it was,but until i watched the premiere and started watching more episodes,it kind of got addicting. i'm hoping that it doesn't get canceled because i think it makes good TV.This show is probably my next favorite show besides Laguna beach. Most people think its stupid and people that have no life.But actually its something that you watch and seem to find the same situation.I really don't care that people don't like this show.Its good to me.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

i hate this show!!

Author: bebebabex0x from United States
24 January 2007

this is one of those shows that everyone who watches it loves to hate. you keep watching it to see how stupid and annoying these losers are! they are really really really gross and all they talk about is who they are gonna go bang next. They are also not as attractive as mtv made them seem in the commercials. Mtv made them look like the hottest people ever and when you watch the show they are not what you expected. seriously does there really need to be an entire show about that??? i liked Laguna beach about a million times more and MTV should bring that back instead of this junkie show. they should have just quit while they were ahead with all the reality shows and stick to the best ones :road rules, real world, the hills, and back to Laguna beach.they are more entertaining then this show.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Mtv is the best!

10/10
Author: from United Kingdom
4 February 2007

This show puts Laguna Beach to shame. It actually shows the reality of some young people, and the reality of what they get up to in this day and age. To be honest i think the whole concept is hilarious, because its completely the opposite to Laguna Beach where all the actors are rich. I did love Laguna Beach, but i like this one too because i can relate to it much easier than to a bunch of rich kids, who don't represent the true Orange County, where there are plenty of average young Americans too! Firstly i understand why some residents of Maui may have been offended by it. But in honest opinion it doesn't give a representation of Maui as a whole, only a representation of those specific actors and their specific lifestyles. Any viewer will understand that its not the real thing and that Maui is still a beautiful place with a lot to offer. However i think this whole argument has been blown totally out of proportion. MTV has always been known to showcase programmes which can be offensive. But that appeals to me and probably to most of MTV's viewers. If you don't like it then simply don't watch it! There's no reason to hate it just because of the location. You must consider that it is a TV show made for the purpose of entertainment, even though it may not be based on fact.

Lets not be selfish here. The fact it, Maui is being put on the map and I'm sure you cant complain. There will always be controversy for any reality TV programme on MTV. The Hills does not give a true impression of LA for instance! There are a lot of poor people there too. But the fact is, its a TV show based on the lives of those individuals.

I think its an awesome show, probably the best of MTV ever! The cast are absolute jokers, and partying is fun!

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings External reviews Official site
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history