IMDb > 100 Tears (2007) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
100 Tears
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
100 Tears More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 20 reviews in total 

32 out of 41 people found the following review useful:

Many kills, boring plot

4/10
Author: dschmeding from Germany
24 February 2008

This is a pretty average horror/slasher movie. I grant the makers they squeezed in a lot of kills and especially fans of decapitations and guts will like it. The movie is about a serial killer in a clowns outfit who slashes people by the dozen with his hack-axe. Two detectives are on the hunt for the "teardrop killer" who leaves bloody tears behind on the murder scenes and got a back story they slowly unfold. Its like two plots running along each other... Clown slashes people with some entertaining ideas (liked the wheelchair down the stairs shot) and the detectives uncover the story with real bad acting. Basically the movie should have concentrated on the gore because this is where its strong side lies... the acting is real bad, the music is annoying (always the same hardcore techno over the kills and one music sounds a lot like being taken directly out of Hellraiser). The pseudo plot will bore the gore hounds to death and especially fails of bad acting and inconsistency. "100 tears" is rather for the trash/splatter fans but I guess because the director couldn't decide which way to go this one will soon be forgotten. And BTW... the closing scene sucks and like in many movies made me think they didn't know how to get out of their scripts mess.

Was the above review useful to you?

23 out of 30 people found the following review useful:

Slow Gore / Slasher Flicks - Might NOT Appeal to Everybody

Author: ichocolat from i1chocolat.blogspot.com
4 September 2008

This film is like wine, it is an acquired taste. Whilst some people may like it, others may not.

This film is also not meant for the broad public. It is targeted. In my opinion, only those who like gore/slasher flicks would like this film. Others,, don't even bother.

I am not terribly enthusiastic about gore/slasher flicks, I didn't like this film that much. Plus the progress is rather slow and it got me restless halfway through the film.

Again, as I said, only watch this if your a die-hard, super fan of this kind of genre. Otherwise, find other films instead.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Proves yet again that OTT gore isn't everything.

4/10
Author: capkronos (capkronos00@hotmail.com) from Ohio, USA
4 April 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Two tabloid reporters, Jennifer Stevenson (Georgia Chris) and Mark Webb (writer/producer Joe Davison) are wanting to be taken seriously as journalists and begin investigating a serial murderer known as "The Teardrop Killer," who has been hacking up people over a 20 year period but has somehow managed to elude the police all that time by hiding out in an abandoned building's cellar. Jennifer and Mark piece the clues together, which lead them to a flea-bag circus (which seems to be right in the middle of some junkyard) and revelation that the psycho is actually an obese, jilted clown named Gurdy (Jack Amos) who murdered a few people decades earlier before disappearing. Also disappearing around the same time was Gurdy's lover Tracey (Leslie Crytzer), who has successfully managed to change her name and live in the same small town along with her and Gurdy's whorish cutter daughter Christine (Raine Brown) for two decades without being detected. Other characters include a dwarf and bartender who know the clown's whereabouts and a pair of ineffectual police detectives (Kibwe Dorsey and Rod Grant), as well as various victims (a real estate agent, partying teens, etc.) who show up just long enough to get killed.

This very low-budget film (shot on digital) excels at one thing and one thing only - gore. Heck, during the first fifteen alone the body count has already reached double digits as the clown killer goes around a halfway house hacking up anyone he can get his hands on with a huge meat cleaver. There are cut off limbs, slashings, decapitations, guts spilling out all over the floor, a head getting stomped in and blood literally gushing out all over the place. These scenes are actually pretty entertaining and well done. Unfortunately after the first fifteen minutes of almost non-stop carnage, the film then tries to add the plot and deal more with characters and this is where it starts to come apart. In fact, 100 TEARS seems to falter any time it isn't being gory. The entire mid-section of the film is slow-moving, tedious and badly written, with uneven performances and a sense of humor primarily centered around farts and bowel movements. The ending is also rather sloppy, and the overdone gore scenes themselves start growing tiresome and monotonous after awhile.

A good point of comparison might be with Peter Jackson's DEAD ALIVE (aka BRAINDEAD), which has even more gore than this one but also managed to be entertaining and fun when it wasn't being disgusting. Jackson's film is also much more clever and inventive when it comes to creating new and original gore scenes, while the kills in this one - bloody as they may be - aren't particularly clever. Though in this film's defense, it only had a 75K budget while DEAD ALIVE's was 3 million, so I guess they did a good job cramming as much blood and gore in as possible. It's just too bad the other areas of the film aren't quite as strong. From a technical standpoint (cinematography, score, sound, editing, etc.), it's pretty uneven, though again not bad for the budget.

So if you're looking simply for gore and a high body count, then this will satiate your blood lust. However, if you're looking for a scary or otherwise good horror film, you'll probably find less to like here.

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 28 people found the following review useful:

Gruesome and Goofy... Gotta Love It!

6/10
Author: terrible2 from Istanbul
20 November 2008

An over-sized meat cleaver being swung by an over-sized clown...

An overly low ended "Thud" is followed by an over-sized spray of blood..

All set to an overly goofy carnival organ soundtrack...

If this is interesting to you, then you might want to check out "100 Tears" for an evening of over the (big) top indie horror fun. Marcus Roch directs this strait to video opus to great effect, and never under-estimates the power of splatter. Sure, it's silly and even down right corny, but in this context it seems to work quite well. I think all would-be low budget horror producers should take a gander at "100 Tears", and take a few notes along the way. The film never tries to take itself too seriously, and that's what makes it stand out in a sea of indie crap being peddled on the unknowing public. It is hard to produce a "Realistic" story when you are working with next to no money, so why not make a film that uses that fact to it's advantage? The acting is stiff but watchable (minus the wonderful comic timing of Joe Davison) and the cinematography / lighting scheme are weak but tolerable. These down sides are over looked because the film simply entertains, and you become a part of this twisted world thanks (in part) to a wacky soundtrack by "The Voodoo Organist". Probably not for everyone, but none the less a gruesomely goofy viewing experience.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Slow-moving DTV slasher with plenty of blood and guts.

7/10
Author: HumanoidOfFlesh from Chyby, Poland
17 June 2009

A huge creepy looking clown Gurdy walks through a halfway house and systematically slaughters at least a dozen people with meatcleaver.The gore flows freely in the first 15 minutes.Two reporters Mark and Jennifer are investigating the legendary 'Teardrop Killer',who's been butchering unsuspecting groups of victims for 20 plus years."100 Tears" is among the goriest indie slasher movies I have ever seen.I must say that the bodycount is truly high and the killings are over-the-top including several juicy decapitations and dismemberments.The techno score is annoying,the acting is mediocre and the climax is abrupt,but if you enjoy drowning in the sea of blood and guts "100 Tears" can't be missed.7 out of 10.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Total Gore Fest

4/10
Author: Hannah Sutcliffe from United Kingdom
27 September 2015

This movie may be a far cry from great, but it is certainly not terrible. I found the acting to be rather mediocre and the plot line to be almost non-existent, but this movie gets an A+ for blood and gore. I counted ten gruesome deaths in just fifteen minutes! This movie is really only for people who are die-hard slasher fans and are looking for a brutal gore fest from start to finish. I've hated a lot of clown horror films lately, but this is not that bad. I agree that it looks much more home made than professional, but to me that just makes the experience even more disturbing. I would recommend this to those few horror movie lovers who can appreciate excessive blood and nothing more.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Stupid and monotonous, but great gore

6/10
Author: Sickcess from Sweden
18 April 2014

Like another reviewer pointed out, this style of splatter probably has its roots in Germany, with directors like Andreas Schnaas, Olaf Ittenbach and Timo Rose. Both when it comes to the style of the gore and the way of making a script I would say. The gore is great and they have really tried making a serious plot, but ended up with a plot that is very unrealistic, and to say it plainly, stupid.

Let me explain by giving you the basics of the story. It is about two tabloid journalists writing an article about serial killers and trying to track down a serial killer wearing clown make up. So far it sounds OK, right? But the thing is the clown has killed over 160 people over a period of over 20 years, he has done nothing to cover his tracks and it takes the journalists a couple of days to figure out that the killings has always occurred in the vicinity of a circus. By some really lousy detective work they manage to track down the killer in a week or so, which the FBI has tried for 20 years!

I would compare this movie to Brian Paulins films, which also are German-style American splatter. They suffer from the same faults of bad story and bad acting, but makes up for it when it comes to the gore. And really, that is what is important here, right? I mean, sure I can enjoy deep relational dramas or clever social commentary, but when I watch a movie like 100 tears, I expect decapitation, torture, blood and guts. Watching a movie like this one for the story would make as much sense as watching a porno for the story. And the gore is great. Loads of blood and intestines throughout the whole movie. And the fx are good too for a low budget movie. But it becomes a little monotonous as the killer almost always uses the huge meat cleaver or whatever the weapon is supposed to be.

Also, the soundtrack is most of the times pretty good. The soundtrack includes weird but good music by The voodoo organist and Voltaire, which I would not be able to define the genre of and a dark hardcore song, which also is good. One complaint here is that the movie could have used some more songs, instead of re-using the same over and over again. So, monotony is sadly something that spoils the good parts of this movie a little on several levels. But not that much. When it comes to the soundtrack it's really a very minor complaint.

Well, that's my take on it. Turn off your brain for a while and enjoy the gore. And if that isn't your cup of blood, stay away from this one.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Very enjoyable if you're into gore

9/10
Author: TheRetardedVacuum
22 June 2013

I've been wanting to see this movie for a while but after reading the negative user reviews on IMDb I was a little worried, but then I saw the trailer on YouTube and I thought it looked pretty awesome, so I checked out the movie, and i really liked it. It met my expectations and then some. I was expecting to see a psycho killer clown running around killing people with lots of gore and that's exactly what I got. Though it was a little slow-paced, but that didn't really take away from the enjoyment for me.

Almost everything in this movie, acting, camera-work, gore FX (especially the gore FX), was actually done very well considering this is a low-budget movie. My one complaint though would have to be the lighting during the parts inside the darker areas of the killer clown's warehouse, but again, all more than acceptable considering the budget.

I expected to like this movie, and I ended up liking it a lot more than that. So if you're a gorehound like me, you should at least give this one a chance, and you might not regret it, I know I didn't.

Was the above review useful to you?

bloodbath from a crying on the inside clown

5/10
Author: tdrish from United States
26 October 2015

You have to understand something, and get this straight in your noggin...just because a movie was made doesn't mean that the crew knew what they were doing when they made it. Period! This is the case with 100 Tears, which is so horribly bad and awful, that you have to love or laugh at the fact that at least they tried to make a slasher movie with twice the body count as your average slasher flick. Body count? Over 30, check! The rest of the movie? Overlook the bad lighting, cruddy story line, bad casting, horrible choreography, and endless line of errors with the film, and you're in for a lot of fun! We got a demented clown on the loose, and he likes to go around swinging his giant meat cleaver at various parts of the body. Heads are cut vertically and horizontally in half, guts are spilled, and gallons of blood is shed. Now, you don't have to watch this. Personally, I would question the sanity of any one who would want to sit through this shart of a movie. It should satisfy gorehounds, but that's about it. What doesn't work, however, is the nutty azz investigation with the detectives, and for three reasons. Reason 1: No detective would go after a bloodthirsty clown with a weapon like that. Let the FBI deal with this matter, you just stick with the crime lab. Reason 2: No detective would investigate a crazed clown without a weapon of their choice, which is the case with these goons. So if your expecting a shoot out at the end, you will be disappointed. ( You'll be disappointed by the ending anyway, trust me.) Reason 3: It's barely even an investigation! There's no forensics, nothing! Detectives are so useless, I'd lay them off, at least that way, they would be safe from this lunatic clown that makes IT look like a Disney Jr character. So, if you want to be branded for life, have at it with this goofy horror flick. But, I will say again, don't say you weren't warned about the ending. ( As far as the beginning, you won't have to wait long for the blood to spill.)

Was the above review useful to you?

Crazy Clown

7/10
Author: AriaSkies
12 June 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The acting in this movie was not the greatest, but I have seen worse. Some of the actors/actresses didn't really put a lot of gusto into their lines, and some of the conversations seemed unrealistic and forced.

For a lower budget horror flick, the camera quality was great. There wasn't the annoying shaking or anything, and the lighting was pretty consistent for each area, and really added to the atmosphere.

I love the fact that the clown just walked around with a giant cleaver. Out of all the weapons they could have chose, I am glad they chose the abnormally large cleaver. And the special effects at the first massacre were hilarious! But still bravo! Nice gruesome deaths!

I also loved how the janitor hears people screaming and just keeps on mopping, and then when he comes back and sees a bloody clown he gets angry that the floor is getting dirty after he just mopped.

The clown was creepy so they get points for that. At first I thought is was a ghost clown that was seeking revenge, but then its like "Nope he's alive".

BONUS POINTS: The giant cleaver versus a pitchfork battle

When they introduced the girl as his daughter closer to the end, it felt as if they were trying to create an alternate Harley Quinn back story. I mean: 1. She's blonde, 2. He gives her a sledgehammer (close enough to her giant hammer), 3. This would explain her obsession with clowns.

I hate the reporters. Like, who goes into a large abandoned building where you know a crazy serial killer is going to be without back up? Even the cops couldn't handle it.

MORE BONUS POINTS: Voltaire song during the credits and during the father/daughter killing spree.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history