IMDb > Already Dead (2007) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Already Dead
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Already Dead More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 15 reviews in total 

33 out of 42 people found the following review useful:

A Superb Action Thriller!

7/10
Author: Mr Saxon from United Kingdom
8 January 2008

It seems strange to me that we live in an age where scripts for mediocre thrillers such as "Firewall" can draw a big name like Harrison Ford whilst this little gem goes seemingly unnoticed. However, don't let the absence of any A-list Hollywood names stop you from checking out "Already Dead" because Ron Eldard and Til Schweiger are perfectly cast here. Never heard of them? Don't worry - you'll probably recognise them when you see their faces and, if there really is a God, they'll both soon headline much bigger movies.

What's fantastic about "Already Dead" is that it doesn't waste time getting into the story. The movie begins with events set in motion. Our first scene introduces us to Thomas Archer, a man evidently in some degree of emotional turmoil, as he walks through a train station with a large bag. What's in the bag? As he makes his journey towards his destination the audience is given brief flashbacks which bring you up to speed on what has already happened. As the present events unfold, the flashbacks continue until they intersect at a specific point and Thomas Archer is posed with a terrible decision.

I won't mention any more of the storyline because, for me, one of the highlights was the way in which it progressed. Another review on IMDb mentioned the lack of surprises which makes me wonder if we saw the same movie. I was continually wondering about the motivations of certain characters (in particular, Schweiger's character who is simply known as 'The Man') and the ending I predicted never occurred (yet still fully satisfied me). I also have to take issue with another reviewer's comments that the movie was 'slow in the middle'. I didn't find that all.

Despite "Already Dead" being a very polished production, it is deliberately filmed in a very raw way which mainly uses hand-held cameras to make you feel as though you're there with Archer during the movie. Good performances from the two leads as well as the supporting actors (Patrick Kilpatrick and Christopher Plummer) ensure that you're gripped throughout. It also manages to not outstay its welcome; there certainly weren't any moments when I found myself looking at my watch.

If you like smart thrillers with lots of action, I'd definitely recommend checking out "Already Dead". I'd also recommend not reading about the plot beforehand. Watch it without any knowledge of what will be happening and you'll find yourself pleasantly surprised.

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

Very watchable. Not many surprises, but good quality film

6/10
Author: night_wng from United States
29 December 2007

I enjoyed this film, for the most part. The acting was well done, lighting was good, and it had plenty of action to hold interest. One main point I liked, is that it will cause you to wonder if you might take the same risks and actions, as the father does, if you were in his shoes.

It seemed every scene was valuable to the story, and character background. But, I thought the sequencing of certain scenes caused me to momentarily lose my focus on what was happening.

I won't say what those are, or discuss any of what happens. I did wonder who plays the son. There was no mention of him in the credits, nor is that information on any movie review site that I've seen.

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 25 people found the following review useful:

Watchable...though a little slow in the middle

6/10
Author: from Canada
28 December 2007

I wasn't completely sure what to expect from this movie given the plot summary, title and no previous user comments.

The movie starts slightly 'within' the story so we are given a few flashbacks at the beginning to let us know why this slightly dishevelled guy is walking with a big black bag (hmmm, I wonder what's in it!). However, although it seemed to start out pretty predictable, it was still intriguing enough for the first 15 minutes or so to keep me watching (that's my usual time limit before I decide to switch off or not).

There are some twists and turns along the way, though the seasoned movie aficionado will probably guess them all anyway (I try not to work it out - I prefer to just sit back and go along with the ride). It does get a little slow in the middle, but then picks up again towards the end.

The acting was fine, particularly Til Schweiger (The Man), who should be doing better in Hollywood than his Filmography suggests.

If you like a bit of suspense and a bit of action without too much thinking, then I can recommend this movie. It wasn't terrible but it won't win any Oscars either. 6/10

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 30 people found the following review useful:

Pretty damn good

8/10
Author: depayens from United States
2 January 2008

After reading the reviews on here I wasn't expecting much from this movie but I have to say that I definitely was surprised at how underrated this movie is.

this movie has no big name actors but the acting is definitely solid. Til Sweiger isn't a huge actor but is a hell of a lot better than some bigger ones. The special effects, directing, and filming were all par with big movies. Overall its a very solid movie.

Almost dead has a great plot line and does well mixing action and thriller moments. There's no good way to tell some of the twists without containing spoilers but its a definite must watch for people who like hostel and rambo.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

surprisingly advanced and suspenseful thriller with some interesting twists

8/10
Author: ethan-b-uk from John O' Groats. Scotland
29 June 2008

I have to be in the mood for thrillers as I often find them a little predictable. Not so with 'Already Dead'. (Btw, the title seems to be a very poor choice, coming from a glib one-liner in the movie and has no relevance to the plot whatsoever nor even to what you might think the plot might be.)

When Archer's happy, affluent life as a ordinary man is destroyed in a moment of life's cruelty as a result of the murder of his young son, he and his wife are devastated by the tragedy. It is tearing him up inside and destroying his marriage. When without really thinking about the implications, he is given or led into a clandestine opportunity to get his own back, without recrimination upon himself, against the man who destroyed his life he embarks upon a course of actions that leads where he would never have expected. There are some surprises in store.

In the hands of a different Director, this movie could have been so much better IMO, but for all its many Directorial faults, the acting skills of the people playing the main characters and a plausible storyline carry the film and make it eminently watchable, indeed, extremely suspenseful at times. Ron Eldard (Archer) and Til Schweiger (the 'man') are outstandingly good in their roles, although Plummer is just being a ham.

There are times where the pace slows a little and I felt a little bored whilst waiting for something to happen where a better Director would have used suspenseful music or switched scene or added dialogue, also occasionally better lighting would have not been a bad idea - watching a black screen whilst two men are fighting but you can't see them is a bit frustrating. Nevertheless I was intensely interested to see what happened so I stuck with the movie despite the less skillful Direction.

I am being rather generous with my rating at 8 stars, but the film deserves some merit for a very interesting storyline, convincingly portrayed by skillful actors despite only passably competent Direction.

Worth watching to the end despite a few lulls in pace. Overall a good film, with a few twists and several incredibly tense scenes that should stop you switching it off. For all its faults, I enjoyed it.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Pretty good thriller

7/10
Author: petsteph1 from Taiwan
13 October 2009

The premise is simple and the movie takes place in a warehouse: one man has been given the killer of his son to exact vengeance, but that's not really how it is...

The acting was good for the most part - the script was fine, the direction was solid and the story line was fine with small doses of suspension of disbelief. But hey it's not a documentary.

Maybe the denouement could've been a little more clear but it worked.

Quite gory and a lot of violence so this definitely isn't one for the family video night until the kids are asleep.

Enjoy.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Finish it. Get back your life.

7/10
Author: lastliberal from United States
17 January 2009

An interesting twist to the typical revenge movie.

Ron Eldard's life is turned upside down after his son is killed and his wife (Marisa Coughlan) is attacked during a burglary. This information is presented in brief flashbacks as he proceeds to a room where the supposed burglar is strapped to a chair and a table full of implements a la Hostel is available to him to exact his revenge.

Christopher Plummer plays a psychiatrist that arranges for former law enforcement officers to find the perpetrator when the police fail. But, things don't go as planned and Eldard ends up running for his life.

An exciting thriller with lots of action in the second half, and an unexpected ending.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

The Horror of an Avenging Mind

8/10
Author: gradyharp from United States
30 March 2008

While the current trend in scary movies seems to be becoming the property of the Computer Generated Graphics industry, real terror comes from studying the possibilities of a human mind scarred by trauma. Such is the material that makes ALREADY DEAD a frightening film - a revenge story by Robert Lynn Archer transformed for the screen by Joe Chappelle and directed imaginatively by Joe Otting. If the theme of a citizen taking justice into his own hands is not new, it wears well enough when we consider the current state of criminal justice as portrayed in the media today.

Thomas Archer (Ron Eldard) is living a successful, happy life until a burglary associated with the death of the babysitter and his son and the beating of his wife disrupts everything. Thomas is informed that the police don't have the manpower to investigate the killings, a fact that further enrages Thomas who is unable to work or function in his grief state. He is referred to a therapist Dr. Heller (Christopher Plummer) who oddly counsels him that perhaps the only way Thomas can get on with his life is to do everything in his power to track the killer down on his own. 'Arrangements' are made with a group of men (mostly frustrated cops) who inform Thomas that for a large fee they will take him to the killer and he can act on his vengeance. Transported by cellphone instructions to a deserted warehouse, Thomas encounters a bound and gagged man (Til Schweiger) who he is told is the killer of his son. Thomas begins his torture of the man only to gradually discover that the man does not bear the arm tattoo Thomas had clearly seen on the perpetrator. Dr. Heller is called to the scene and encourages Thomas to kill the suspect, but Thomas has enough doubt that he frees the suspect and together they begin a terrifying journey out of the maze-like warehouse. The ending may not come as a complete surprise, but it is the telling of the story as basically a character study between the two men that makes the film powerful.

Both Ron Eldard and Til Schweiger are completely convincing in their not so disparate roles: they both have very strong screen presences and with minimal dialog manage to take us, the audience, along with this creepy 'game'. There is some violence to be sure, but the terror of the film emanates more from the interaction of Eldard and Schweiger, each showing the extremes the bruised psyche can display. Not a great film but a film far above the routine 'horror picture' category. Grady Harp

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Steady slide downhill......

5/10
Author: merklekranz from United States
5 November 2008

Interesting premise of a secret organization that gives victims an opportunity for revenge when the judicial system fails. Unfortunately a similar idea was explored far better in "Star Chamber". Most of the movie takes place in an abandoned manufacturing building with hand held cameras. Everything is very dark, with much of the action almost impossible to see. Christopher Plummer is always above average, but here his character is used for nothing more than a well telegraphed twist at the end. So what you get is a good start, followed by a prolonged chase, and finally a no surprise "surprise ending". Not recommended - MERK

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Better Than Expected and Superior Casting

8/10
Author: rsternesq from United States
5 July 2010

Gore is not my usual thing but this is a sort of chess game plus Spanish prisoner plus violence with very nice looking male leads that turns out to be worth the time spent on it. Agree that some of the details could be improved but all in all, it is worth the two hours. One thing that is very striking is the casting. The Tom Archer character and his son are cast with actors who look like a father and son. remarkably so and the kid is a beautiful child with real camera presence. the actress who plays the mom looks like she could be the mom but beyond that is a prop. the one line that resonates is that when she looks at her husband, she sees the son. So does the audience. That said, the mechanic is a somewhat handsomer version of the same type and the two of them fill the screen with enough male energy to make the screen sizzle. the bad guys are very bad indeed and the good guys -- one a bit more shaded than the other but still coming down squarely on the "hero" side, are satisfying. In the end, it is a parable, a chess game, a conundrum and a lesson that probably needs to be learned by most of us in that things aren't simple, bad things happen and that two wrongs most assuredly don't make a right but that the male instinct to protect should be understood and supported when it appears in the sheepdog because that is our only defense against the ravening wolves amongst us.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Parents Guide Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history