IMDb > Stargate: Continuum (2008) (V) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Stargate: Continuum
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Stargate: Continuum (V) More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]
Index 31 reviews in total 

78 out of 98 people found the following review useful:

Everything I ever wanted

10/10
Author: bAchilles from United States
3 July 2008

I was really hoping that this movie would bring back the feel of the first seven seasons. A warm and cuddly SG-1. I am very happy to say it lived up to all of my expectations.

I enjoyed every moment of this movie, and it is without a doubt a spectacular finish. People familiar to Stargate will find that this movie does not go through too much spectacular special effects. The lines are not drawn out and the story makes this a very nice watch. Old and new characters combine to do what SG-1 does best... Save earth.

I would not like to go into too much detail as I would want all of you to watch it for yourself, and take it in for it's full meaning. It goes above and beyond the realm of Stargate.

Was the above review useful to you?

60 out of 84 people found the following review useful:

Thoroughly entertaining story concludes Goa'uld plot arc with finesse

7/10
Author: Virgil Ierubino (Aquillyne) from United Kingdom
4 July 2008

You may find reviews of 'Stargate: Continuum' inflated because of its contrast to the preceding 'Ark of Truth'. Whereas 'Ark' was in many ways, but not completely, a huge disappointment, 'Continuum' is and does everything 'Ark' failed at: the plot genuinely grips you, and is in no way linear; it surprises you, twists unexpectedly, rolls back on itself and weaves several arcs together, just like any good story should; there's genuine, fantastic character development; and a deepened attention to detail and realism. Take your pick on one of the best ever 'Stargate SG-1' episodes, and imagine it being given the royal, feature-length treatment. 'Continuum' finally realises this notion without the symptoms of a clumsy transition between 42-minute episodes and an attempted epic that 'Ark' suffered from.

For any of you who are new to the Stargate franchise, I will provide a brief explanation – but thankfully 'Continuum' doesn't make 'Ark's mistake of being incomprehensible for someone who hasn't watched Stargate for 10 years. The Goa'uld are a snake-like race of aliens who implant themselves inside humans, thereby taking total control of their bodies. Some of these aliens have amassed huge power, controlling vast fleets of ships and armies of "Jaffa" warriors, by using various technologies to give the impression that they are gods. Known as the System Lords, they have been conquering the galaxy for millennia. Near the end of 'Stargate SG-1', the System Lords were all but defeated – except for the most cunning, Ba'al, who managed to clone himself in an attempt to render himself unstoppable. 'Continuum' picks up after our heroes, SG-1 – the primary five-strong team taking orders from the U.S. Government to counter such inter-galactic threats – believe they have the last Ba'al remaining.

But Ba'al is tricky as ever and, as ever, Cliff Simon plays him with a delicious mix of scheming genius, elaborate malice and exuberant vanity that has made Ba'al the villain we love to hate and hate to love. Indeed, Cliff Simon gives his singularly best performance of Ba'al to date, and is without a doubt the star of the show. In one dedicated, extended, excruciatingly well written and delivered sequence, Ba'al's character is really given a playground with the feature-length treatment he's always deserved: if you know Ba'al already you won't be able to stop grinning; if you don't you will fall hopelessly in love. This scene is rivalled only by one of the tensest hostage sequences I've ever seen on a film.

In 'Continuum' SG-1 probably faces the toughest trials it ever has, causing the usually gentle-mannered Daniel Jackson to exclaim in profanities twice throughout the film. Initially this shocked me, as care is usually taken to ensure Stargate productions can be watched by all ages – but actually this elevation of maturity really added some welcome grit to the story, and is matched by a handful of graphic, gory killings. This grittiness is enhanced by the aforementioned attention to realism that a full-length movie allows time for. In your typical Stargate episode, being stuck in an ice cavern isn't all too bad – you'll find your way out soon enough. In 'Continuum' this entails that there's no light, you can't light a fire, your fast, hard breaths billow visibly through the air, you're shivering uncontrollably and eventually you'll get frostbite with dire consequences.

At its heart, 'Continuum' is a time-travel story – a staple of science fiction and certainly of Stargate – but handled much better than usual. Whereas the 'SG-1' episode 'Moebius' thought it could hush the time paradoxes it generated aside, 'Continuum' deals with them head-on. However, like the best sci-fi, it doesn't attempt to deliver you pseudo-scientific explanations, it just highlights the puzzles for your attention – they're interesting issues as questions alone. Of course, the time-travel itself is no real focus of the film, but more of a device to shake things up; in a sense, 'Continuum' is one, big, Stargate-themed "What if?" Characters are tested to extremes, are forced to interact with completely different roles, and the opportunity is seized to throw in more guest appearances of old characters than you can count.

Besides all this praise there are some things 'Continuum' really lets itself down with. Some very awkward dialogue between the SG-1 members at the beginning reeked of the writer not really knowing what else to say – although there is an extremely bold speech from Vala, which is impressive purely on account of the boldness of writing it in. Some crucial plot moments are swept over far too quickly – how quickly do you think you could be persuaded that your mortal enemy is actually your friend if you'd never met him before? Well, pretty damn quickly, 'Continuum' seems to think – although again there is enough material for the hardcore fan to "explain away" this kind of problem. It was also disappointing that Joel Goldsmith's score was disappointing – many scenes that really needed a strong sense of drama are overplayed by bright, bouncy music, which slightly jars; one thinks, "Aren't people dying here?" That said, it equally has its moments of grandeur.

'Continuum' seems to have proved that both Stargate, and science-fiction as a whole, have moved on for the better. Whereas 'Ark' was written and directed by veteran Robert C. Cooper, 'Continuum' was the work of original developer Brad Wright, with the direction of the more recent Stargate talent Martin Wood. And it really shows - watch out for an extended tracking shot in the first few minutes of the film that climaxes with the entrance of the heroes, and which would give 'Atonement' (Joe Wright, 2007) a run for its money. Whereas 'Ark' doesn't at any point seem to know quite what it's doing, 'Continuum' really takes you for a ride, with perfect pacing and just the right emphasis placed on every part of the plot: the people behind this were right on the cutting edge of what Stargate is today.

Was the above review useful to you?

47 out of 64 people found the following review useful:

Box Office Worthy and in True Stargate Spirit

9/10
Author: poriami13
6 July 2008

The general attitude going into this movie is half-skeptical, half-excited: on the one hand, direct-to-DVD rarely bodes well and Ark of Truth, while not bad on the whole, could have been a lot better; on the other hand, it's a new SG movie, it's got Jack, Goa'uld instead of Ori, whohoo! The verdict? Two words, people.

It's Good!

Continuum redeems the whole "SG1 movies" idea. True, Ark of Truth wasn't such a hard act to follow, but this goes above and beyond the "better than the first film" label. It's a true SG1 story, like we used to get'em in the first seasons. Plenty of adventure (they can't seem to get a break throughout the whole film), interspersed with the small moments we loved throughout the series: the one-liners (yes, Jack's got some lines, but most come from Mitchell), the technobabble (Sam still doesn't get to finish a phrase w/o being interrupted), the hard choices. And a taste of the good old Goa'uld arrogance we all know and love, to boot.

The characters each get their spotlight moment. Mitchell shines throughout, indeed this seemed to be a movie made to show he well and truly belongs to SG1 outside the Ori arc, as well. Daniel gets his moments, as well as Sam, and we get to see both of them interact with Jack once again! On the Goa'uld front, we are treated to a whole parade of former system lords, pretty much anyone you can think of. Baal, of course, is his usual charming evil self. And we get a great new villain in the person of Quetesh, who personifies the perfect Goa'uld queen: subservient, double-faced, deadly. Almost wish she'd been there for the first seasons of the show!

The quality is very good, most scenes would have done very well on a big screen. Effects, great, but then that's nothing new. In short, this movie delivers what it promised: an epic SG1 adventure and a great character show. I'd originally given it 8 stars, but by comparison to Ark of Truth, it gets an extra one. Totally worth the money, can't wait to own the DVD.

Was the above review useful to you?

39 out of 50 people found the following review useful:

Stargate SG-1 Comes Full Circle

9/10
Author: Matthew Kresal from United States
30 July 2008

Following on the release of The Ark of Truth, Continuum is the second Stargate SG-1 movie to come to DVD. Unlike Ark of Truth, Continuum is not potentially weighed down by having to overtly tie up loose ends left by the series. While, in fact, it does tie up a few loose ends rather nicely it also does something else: it brings Stargate SG-1 full circle.

The plot is classic SG-1: the last of the system lords Ba'al (played by the ever villainous Cliff Simon) is about to be executed with SG-1 and Jack O'Neill in attendance. Suddenly people start disappearing and SG-1 members Daniel Jackson, Samantha Carter, and Cameron Mitchell flee through the Stargate to a world where the Stargate never made it to America just before World War II thanks to Ba'al meddling with history. After facing alternate versions of people they know and being dismissed, Earth comes under attack from Ba'al, his queen Qetesh (aka Vala) and his first prime Teal'c. The team must find out how Ba'al changed history and put it right…or else. Writer Brad Wright brings together two of the series' best threads: time travel and the threat of Goa'uld invasion together to bring the series not only full circle but what could also be called SG-1's greatest hits.

One of Continuums biggest pluses is that it brings the original cast back together. Richard Dean Anderson appears once again as General Jack O'Neill and while he does not appear in the entire film, his presence his certainly welcome and makes for a great addition to the film. Also returning for this film is the SGC's original leader, General Hammond. The late Don S. Davis makes his final appearance as Hammond in the film's alternate time line and while it's a shame that he doesn't know the team in those scenes, his appearance (like O'Neill's) is a welcome addition to the film.

The big thrill of Continuum is watching familiar characters in the alternate time line. It is here more then anywhere else that the film brings the series full circle. We get to see the Goa'uld system lords back together again even SG-1's first nemesis Apophis in a surprise appearance. On top of the alternate versions of Teal'c, Vala, Hammond, and O'Neill we get to meet alternate versions of Hank Landry and President Henry Hayes. Landry is played masterfully by Beau Bridges who is able to make the lines between the "real" and alternate Landry's almost indistinguishable. Hayes, played by William Devane and last seen in SG-1's seventh season finale Lost City, is much the same as the "real" version we've met before; skeptical at first and then forced to face the incredible with a brave face. Their appearances are what separates Continuum from Ark of Truth and marks an improvement.

The film also makes a fine blend of the cerebral and action sequences. While ostensibly an action story, Continuum also takes moments to explore, on the personal level, the effects of seeing a world and people you know be almost completely different. Yet when the film needs action it has action from submarines rising in the Arctic, to dogfights and gun battles the film shows what SG-1 could be at its best: intelligent and yet action packed.

The stand-out aspects of Continuum are the amazing location photography, special effects, and music. The location filming in the Arctic (done in below zero temperatures) is amazing, beautiful, and breathtaking all at once. Considering this is a relatively low-budget film it's an incredible addition and it makes the film feel even bigger in scope and scale. Scope and scale are the purpose behind another one of the film's highlights: the special effects. From dozens (if not hundreds) of Goa'uld ships to dogfights and extensions and additions to sets, the special effects in Continuum continue SG-1's proud tradition of bring feature film quality effects to the small screen. Then there's Joel Goldsmiths' score which like Ark of Truth evokes the epic feel of the film. Each of these make Continuum stand head over heals above many of the direct-to-DVD sci-fi films released all the time.

Continuum is not only an excellent addition to SG-1 but brings the series full circle. From classic elements to the return of favorite characters and villains to outstanding photography, effects, and music Continuum takes what could have been a boring attempt to tie up the loose ends of the series and creates a action packed adventure. Continuum may well the end of SG-1 and if it is, Continuum is it going out on top.

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 29 people found the following review useful:

Worth the time

8/10
Author: Wraith_2106 from Denmark
21 July 2008

Well there will always be a difference in opinions, and mine does somewhat stray from the negative. I've enjoyed watching SG-1 over the years and still find pleasure in hunting down the latest episode of Atlantis. That said i did enjoy this movie, both for it's originality in plot and because it stays true to the series. Way to often have we seen movies that were more like spin offs than anything. You could argue that this could have been just another double header, but the shere amount of known characters in ever so small parts shows that this one has been done for the love of the show and fans, rather than "just in it for the money" I'd like to give it a 10 out of 10, but i also have to maintain a certain level of reality, where 10/10 is reserved for movies that stretches my imagination. I won't be talking about this for several months to come, but i will however make sure that all my fellow SG-1 fans know that this exist and is well worth their time.

Was the above review useful to you?

26 out of 41 people found the following review useful:

Stargate: Continuum Has Plenty Of Action

7/10
Author: gerrythree (gerrytwo@hotmail.com) from New York
4 July 2008

The latest episode of Stargate involves SG-1 trying to prevent System Lord Ba'al from permanently changing history so he can conquer the Earth. Given a bigger budget for this made for DVD movie, this movie has quality production values and well done visual effects. Unlike many Stargate SG-1 episodes, there are no scenes set in the forests of British Columbia, as I recall.

Stargate: Continuum is almost all fast paced action. But the movie gives the audience what it wants, explosions, evil people and Earth in danger. Nothing wrong with that, unless you were expecting Shakespearean prose.

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 28 people found the following review useful:

"then there's cake..."

10/10
Author: u2theedge from Australia
9 August 2008

The best stargate movie to come out. i liked the ark of truth but this was so much better. Richard dean Anderson's cameo well more of a bit player was great he never ceases to amaze me. The whole cast returns and pays homage to Australia in one of the jokes which was hilarious!. Amanda tapping looked extremely beautiful in the movie. Beau bridge,Claudia black, Ben browder, Christopher judge and of course one of my favorites next to Richard Michael shanks. CGI was amazing! one liners were perfect and the story was awesome! action, humor and Gould threatening to enslave humanity what more could you ask for. Bring on NUMBER 3!

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 27 people found the following review useful:

TERRIFIC SG1 movie - made me want more - with all characters

10/10
Author: sandimcg from United States
2 August 2008

This movie was SO enjoyable. I just wish it could have been longer - there could have been more fun/funny things happening for the year they were all in limbo. Plus it would have been great to have Jack in much more of the movie, although I presume Richard Dean Anderson didn't want to do that. I love the writing for Jack's witty sarcasm. I realized with great nostalgia, how much I MISSED this show (with these characters - so liked them all). I have always missed the "Jack" humor since he left the show - so liked the little laughs from his lines. The writing was terrific - action-packed and a good story line. I liked the bigger budget effects. I think Ba'al is a fun bad guy. If you were a Stargate SG-1 fan, you will have a very good time with this movie - and it WILL be over WAY too soon. I wish the $ people would decide to do a few more (maybe could film 2 at a time) - if they can be this clever and well-written AND with the full cast (even though they'd have to film around everyone's schedules).

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

Well worth the price

8/10
Author: skoyles from Calgary AB Canada
29 July 2008

"Continuum" is one of the few motion pictures that fulfills every hope that even a reluctant SG1 fan like me has. I saw the motion picture "Stargate" and enjoyed it moderately. The TV series sort of wormed its way into my heart despite myself. Richard Dean Anderson managed to make his character over from Kurt Russell's tortured officer to the lighter character we now know and in that first season he did a remarkable job. The bonus material with "Continuum" is great fun too. And perhaps that is the secret: I have become used to the cast members over the years and it was a treat to see what seemed like every one of them in this movie. There is a bittersweet joy to see the late Don S. Davis for the last time. That we also get to see so many of the System Lords speaks well for the friendly personal relationships that the makers of SG1 must have with the actors. Yes, it is a simple story of good versus evil but so are all stories in which many of us have any interest. I was very surprised to find myself thinking of how important Cam Mitchell became to SG1; he seems to be indispensable. I hope that the producers will continue to make these movies; if they hit the high mark of "Continuum" I will happily fork over the price of the DVD.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

A good experience

8/10
Author: anifanmc from United States
12 August 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

As the conclusion to the Goa'uld arc, for pretty much any fan out there this movie is fantastic to watch. For non-fans, it's still a great experience, as it embodies what was at the heart of Stargate when it began and takes the greatest characters from its past to make a thrilling film.

The story starts off with the execution of Ba'al, the last of the Goa'uld System Lords. The group is rejoicing, with their enemy finally coming to an end. However, within seconds, the Tok'ra base where the execution is occurring is being destroyed within seconds, people are disappearing into thin air, and Ba'al appears to have escaped. Col. Sam Carter, Daniel Jackson and Col. Mitchell manage to escape the Tok'ra planet and find themselves stranded on an alternate Earth after traveling through the Stargate.

After learning that the history of the Earth has been altered and the Stargate program never having been started, they deduce that Ba'al somehow changed the past and, using his knowledge of the future, has taken over all of the System Lords to become the supreme ruler of the entire Goa'uld fleet. Vala never lost her symbiote, as the Tok'ra were annihilated, and remained Qetesh, the queen of Ba'al, while Teal'c, who still strives for the freedom of the Jaffa, has decided to serve Ba'al in order to obtain it on his (likely false) promises. Despite all of this, the US government refuses to allow the team to change history back to what it was and forces them to resume civilian lives. After about a year of living this existence, the team is recalled due to an imminent, massive attack on Earth by Ba'al, who seeks to dominate the planet and rule it through an insidious fear, using the governments of the world as his pawns.

The acting is far better than what was found in Ark of Truth, with Christopher Judge taking the role far more seriously and with plenty of cameos (General O'Neill, General Hammond, President Hayes, and enemies that had fallen off the map or were killed, like Cronus and Apophis). It was more of a cinematic experience, with glider-MiG dogfights and a glassing of the Earth.

A must-see for any fan. 8/10

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history