Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 4 of 61: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]
Index 610 reviews in total 

18 out of 29 people found the following review useful:

Boring don't waste your time with this or the 2nd!

1/10
Author: riseagainst88 from United States
25 January 2011

Completely lacking in imagination, storytelling, and cinematography, this is the worst I have seen in the series.

Aside from the first 15 and last 15 minutes, The Hallows is the most boring and badly presented to date. I understand character development and a sub story was going on during this portion, but it is so blatantly spoon fed and boring it was borderline offensive. Characters should be developed by following them through a story, not by stopping (or slowing) the story to develop the character! As for audience appeal I can say only this: being a PG-13 movie with such dark and sexual overtones the dialog and presentation feels aimed at the intellect of a 6 year old audience.

Further, the way that characters just hop in and out of scenes, unannounced, and unexplained ruined most every major action sequence for me.

The three main characters can't ever figure anything out on their own or spot obvious traps. They just dumbly wander from dangerous situation to the next while trying not to unravel simple clues. They are constantly bailed out by random characters showing up at just the right random time and place. I didn't read this book, but I have read a few, and the author seems to describe the situations and traps as subtle and tricky. The director failed at this concept completely.

They should not have split this into two movies, and I honestly hope, when I watch part 2 at home, the director pulls his production team, editing, and writing together for something that makes sense and serves to fill more then just time. This movie was terrible and a waste of time!

Was the above review useful to you?

22 out of 37 people found the following review useful:

It makes you think

3/10
Author: jelly336 from United States
21 November 2010

This is one of those movies that causes you to reach deep down in yourself and think. For example, I was thinking, "Did I turn off the iron? Why did I pay so much for popcorn?" I'm sure the producers were thinking, "Hey, they are so far into it now, we can throw up any thing on the screen and still make buckets of money. But let's have Daniel Radcliff take off his shirt so they won't know they've been suckered." Even if you're read the book and watched the other movies, the plot is incomprehensible. The movie consists of a bunch of action sequences strung together with no regard for the story.

At least I didn't pay to watch it in 3D.

Was the above review useful to you?

65 out of 123 people found the following review useful:

OH MY GOD... what did they do.,..

4/10
Author: darren-906-93171 from Spain
24 November 2010

I have looked at other peoples reviews of this film, and let me start by saying I loved the other HP Movies.

But the people that have reviewed this film are you sniffing GLUE??? What a waste of 2 hours..... it was just a lot of nothing.... I read this on someones Else's review and i think they are spot on...

"When Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollows ended, I asked to myself: Two and a half hours for this? I think that the important elements from this film could have easily occupied the first half hour from the following film without losing the spirit from the book or the growth from the main characters. Big part of this film is a boring "road movie"" I was shocked and I nearly feel asleep and for 1 second i thought it was just me but when it ended, I heard nearly everyone in the Cinema saying what a load of XXXX and how do we get our money back!!! What were they thinking when then split it and done what they did, I guess it must have just been a money making Spin before the last one..

Do yourself a favour wait for this to come out on DVD and don't waste your money at the Cinema, YOU WILL BE Disappointed:: Just my view, but I have never come back and went straight on IMDb to tell everyone I could, not to waste the time in their life when they could do other things and enjoy it more when the next one comes out.... I hope they don't mess that one up too..... I'm worried.

....

Was the above review useful to you?

115 out of 223 people found the following review useful:

Harry Potter and the Random Series of Forests

1/10
Author: joshbwhite from United States
23 November 2010

Completely lacking in imagination, storytelling, and cinematography, this is the worst I have seen in the series.

Aside from the first 15 and last 15 minutes, The Hallows is the most boring and badly presented to date. I understand character development and a sub story was going on during this portion, but it is so blatantly spoon fed and boring it was borderline offensive. Characters should be developed by following them through a story, not by stopping (or slowing) the story to develop the character!

As for audience appeal I can say only this: being a PG-13 movie with such dark and sexual overtones the dialog and presentation feels aimed at the intellect of a 6 year old audience.

Further, the way that characters just hop in and out of scenes, unannounced, and unexplained ruined most every major action sequence for me.

The three main characters can't ever figure anything out on their own or spot obvious traps. They just dumbly wander from dangerous situation to the next while trying not to unravel simple clues. They are constantly bailed out by random characters showing up at just the right random time and place. I didn't read this book, but I have read a few, and the author seems to describe the situations and traps as subtle and tricky. The director failed at this concept completely.

They should not have split this into two movies, and I honestly hope, when I watch part 2 at home, the director pulls his production team, editing, and writing together for something that makes sense and serves to fill more then just time.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

The worst yet

1/10
Author: Leofwine_draca from United Kingdom
22 April 2011

Without a doubt the worst Harry Potter film yet, and this is somebody who didn't like the last three entries in the series, either. The decision to split the seventh book into two parts mean that this one is long winded and preoccupied with needless trivia. The first, better half is similar to ORDER OF THE PHOENIX and HALF BLOOD PRINCE in that it tries to cram too much into too short a space of time. It's all about the detail, and any attempts at atmosphere or suspense are bypassed in favour of storytelling (and don't get me started on the lameness of the horcrux plotting). The second half of the film involves one long camping trip in the woods, spicing things up with a little sexuality and violence. It's as dull and pointless as it sounds.

The worst mistake is wasting one of the biggest ensemble casts in British film history. Why cast the likes of Alan Rickman, Brendan Gleeson, Robbie Coltrane, Rhys Ifans, Jason Isaacs, Timothy Spall, David Thewlis, Ralph Fiennes, Helena Bonham Carter et al when none of them get more than a couple of minutes screen time apiece. Daniel Radcliffe appears bored, itching to take on more adult roles, while Rupert Grint barely registers. Hermione turned from an engagingly cute bookworm into whiny, frowning, petulant little character a long time ago and I ended up praying that the scriptwriters would change the story and kill her off. No such luck.

Add in some poor editing, seen-it-all-before type special effects and poor action sequences and you have an aimless, disappointing movie with a tired feel. Take, for instance, the wand battle: it's filmed like a gunfight. Gunfights have been filmed in thousands of movies, wand fights in only a few, so why go down the dull and clichéd route instead of thinking of something more spectacular? Just one example of the deficit of imagination found everywhere in this film.

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 30 people found the following review useful:

A Disappointing Disjointed Movie

6/10
Author: tabuno from utah
11 December 2010

This beginning of the end for the Harry Potter series is a disappointment and apparently without the book the movie is unable to stand alone as a movie and instead becomes a disjointed, disconnected series of movie scenes that initially begins with fusion between a TERMINATOR 2: JUDGEMENT DAY (1991) action thriller and a junior version of BRAZIL (1985) and a retro-stylistic, parody version of the cold war, totalitarianism. The rest of the movies eventually almost becomes more like an expensive video game as Harry and company get to survive to the next level in a series of disconnected, random levels. Throughout there are logic gaps, omitted scenes that avoided much needed character, plot development. The purported transformation from magical children entertainment into a darker fantastic juvenile action thriller merges too close the LORD OF THE RINGS trilogy which in many ways remains a fantasy classic and by comparison pales in J.R.R. Tolkien writings.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Worst and Longest of the Series

6/10
Author: erik_squires from Boston, MA
13 April 2011

Worst of the Harry Potter series. The biggest problem to me seems that they wanted to save money on effects and actors by spending endless amount of time shooting outdoor forest fly-by scenes instead of including side plots and more special effects. The movie has about 30 minutes of outdoor scenes which could be completely removed. Also, there's a scene where Harry and Hermione dance that is supposed to be poignant, but I found it endless and pointless. I can't remember the last time I saw a non-musical movie which included a complete song. Usually they are shortened to show the highlights and move the story along, but not Deathly Hallows. I'll definitely not be too worried about buying the extended DVD! I'd actually pay extra for a better edited version.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Didn't live up to expectations

5/10
Author: emmakateri from United Kingdom
12 April 2011

I missed out on seeing this at the cinemas, and although the experience would have been undeniably better if I had seen it there first as opposed to from my living room sofa, I'm kind of glad that I didn't bother. I have read the books and seen the other films countless times, and even the later, darker ones are still enchanting and heart-warming. This one, however left me completely cold. Most of the film is flat and dull, with none of the charm and detail of the book and as much as I usually love the actors, I didn't feel any connection to the characters. After all the hype and success of the other films, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part I was a big disappointment. I can only hope that Part II makes up for it.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 29 people found the following review useful:

A tragic, beautiful movie with tremendous poignancy.

10/10
Author: Az B from Kuwait
18 November 2010

Never before have I felt so immensely satisfied with a Harry Potter movie.

The opening sequence may be one of the most beautiful and heartbreaking moments in the series. It is absolutely gut-wrenching to see how much Voldemort (menacingly played by Ralph Fiennes) has taken over and what has to be done to protect the ones we love. I've seen the movie three times (more than any Potter movie); and this particular moment never fails to move me.

The acting is absolutely spectacular in this movie. I'm so glad the trio stepped up their game because the movie would have collapsed had they not been up to the challenge. Emma was absolutely phenomenal; I was really quite impressed with her performance. Nuanced, poignant, and deeply affecting. She has come a very long way, and I'm grateful that she stepped up her game. Rupert was great. You could always tell in the past movies that he had potential, and it was certainly shown in this one. We get to see a very different side of Ron. Daniel gave a good performance, but he was the weakest of the three.

Sure enough, we get to the middle, which has been criticized by some. To me, a lot of the past movies in the series failed to capture a lot of the emotional resonance that were in the books. With Deathly Hallows 1, during the middle sequence, we are rewarded with some of the most beautiful, touching, and poignant moments in the series that define our heroes. These moments either made everyone in the theater giddy with happiness, or sad due to the losses. Deathly Hallows 1, above all else, is a coming-of-age tale, as our heroes that we have come to know and love change and develop into adults. A magnificent and highly moving evolution that was, unfortunately, sometimes sorely missing in the previous outings. Deathly Hallows 1 proves why we fell in love with witches and wizards, and it's because they're just like us, dealing with the same internal conflicts we all have gone or are going through.

The action sequences are excellent, and Yates has proved to be very apt at creating suspense. A lot of people jumped at one particular scene in the movie.

The cinematography (filmed by Eduardo Serra) is absolutely gorgeous and stunning to look at. I was in awe at the breathtaking beauty of England's countryside. Fortunately, not once did the very impressive special effects overwhelm a scene, which was very comforting. The production design is absolutely staggering, and Alexandre Desplat's haunting score blends in with the movie perfectly ('Obliviate' is one of the best tracks in the series).

Yates and Kloves have captured the essence of Rowling's very dark story with grace and potency, creating a movie that is extremely faithful to the source material both thematically and in content. This is by far the most satisfying movie in the series, and easily the most mature. I personally cannot see how any fan could be disappointed in it.

Was the above review useful to you?

19 out of 33 people found the following review useful:

Unbelievable!

10/10
Author: mrfrodogetdown from Finland
17 November 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I have been fan of Harry Potter books since 2001, when I first saw Philosopher's Stone in movies. I was 11 years old back then, and I thought the movie was great. One month later I saw The Lord of the Rings - The Fellowship of the Ring, which literally changed my life; I now study cinematography in Finland.

Sadly, none of the Harry Potter films have been better than the first one, which is still a great movie, but very childish. As the books became darker and better book by book, the films remained childish. To me, Half-blood Prince was an awful film: I didn't like the way how there were scenes that weren't in the books, like stupid jokes and the burning of The Burrow. Especially I was irritated by the way there were some great scenes missing, like Voldemort's memories.

But now, in The Deathly Hallows the movie series has finally reached the stage it should have been since The Goblet of Fire. It is absolutely great! As a movie, there's only one word for it: unbelievable. Cinematography is beautiful and the scenery is breath-taking (I gave this part of the making a lot of thought as it will be my occupation someday). Director has done good job with everything. Music fits well to the scenes and Daniel Radcliffe shows finally his talents as an actor. Visual effects are great, and they gave me some serious goosebumps. The best thing in the movie is that there are not many scenes that were not in the book. Those that are, are actually pretty good jokes that fit well to the story. All the main parts of the novel are there, which was nice. Only few things made me annoyed (like Wormtail, and the actor of Bill Weasley, who was not "cool" as Harry described him in the books). Also a good thing was that the movie was actually bit scary, even to me - and I'm 20. Bathilda Bagshot was creepy and the Horcrux scene was gorgeous in a strange way.

All in all, this is by far easily the best part of the HP series as a film and as a book. It's so good it deserves 10 stars out of 10, and I even dare say it's one of the best films made in few years. It is absolutely one of the best fantasy/ sci-fi films ever made. I wish the next July would be here already...

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 4 of 61: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history