Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips
Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 3 of 63: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [Next]
Index 630 reviews in total 

20 out of 32 people found the following review useful:

A tragic, beautiful movie with tremendous poignancy.

10/10
Author: Az B from Kuwait
18 November 2010

Never before have I felt so immensely satisfied with a Harry Potter movie.

The opening sequence may be one of the most beautiful and heartbreaking moments in the series. It is absolutely gut-wrenching to see how much Voldemort (menacingly played by Ralph Fiennes) has taken over and what has to be done to protect the ones we love. I've seen the movie three times (more than any Potter movie); and this particular moment never fails to move me.

The acting is absolutely spectacular in this movie. I'm so glad the trio stepped up their game because the movie would have collapsed had they not been up to the challenge. Emma was absolutely phenomenal; I was really quite impressed with her performance. Nuanced, poignant, and deeply affecting. She has come a very long way, and I'm grateful that she stepped up her game. Rupert was great. You could always tell in the past movies that he had potential, and it was certainly shown in this one. We get to see a very different side of Ron. Daniel gave a good performance, but he was the weakest of the three.

Sure enough, we get to the middle, which has been criticized by some. To me, a lot of the past movies in the series failed to capture a lot of the emotional resonance that were in the books. With Deathly Hallows 1, during the middle sequence, we are rewarded with some of the most beautiful, touching, and poignant moments in the series that define our heroes. These moments either made everyone in the theater giddy with happiness, or sad due to the losses. Deathly Hallows 1, above all else, is a coming-of-age tale, as our heroes that we have come to know and love change and develop into adults. A magnificent and highly moving evolution that was, unfortunately, sometimes sorely missing in the previous outings. Deathly Hallows 1 proves why we fell in love with witches and wizards, and it's because they're just like us, dealing with the same internal conflicts we all have gone or are going through.

The action sequences are excellent, and Yates has proved to be very apt at creating suspense. A lot of people jumped at one particular scene in the movie.

The cinematography (filmed by Eduardo Serra) is absolutely gorgeous and stunning to look at. I was in awe at the breathtaking beauty of England's countryside. Fortunately, not once did the very impressive special effects overwhelm a scene, which was very comforting. The production design is absolutely staggering, and Alexandre Desplat's haunting score blends in with the movie perfectly ('Obliviate' is one of the best tracks in the series).

Yates and Kloves have captured the essence of Rowling's very dark story with grace and potency, creating a movie that is extremely faithful to the source material both thematically and in content. This is by far the most satisfying movie in the series, and easily the most mature. I personally cannot see how any fan could be disappointed in it.

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 34 people found the following review useful:

Lack of passion & feel in the acting, Poor directing, Dull and long winded. How did they manage that ?!

5/10
Author: PrinceKOH93 from United Kingdom
21 November 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

First of all, I'm a person who has read the HP series several times over so I do know what I'm talking about. Good:

This is by far one of the best " stuck to the book & plot " harry potter movies.

The scenery and views are beautifully stunning most of the time ( Norwegian valleys and lakes ) but sometimes its a bit Tesco value really ( yeah i mean the bit when they're running away from the snatchers who happen to be chasing them in Bracknell, Berkshire just behind the lookout adventure park )

By far the darkest potter movie so far.

The film is more grown up, responsibility and love of family are at heart of this film especially during turmoil in relationships.

This is where the good stuff ends ( yeah really not much is there )

Bad:

This movie is over 2 and a half hours long. Thats over 150 minutes ! its not good enough to have a 5minute action scene with a bit of spell bashing and exploding dishes and furniture and then have 30 minutes of book reading or guarding a tent. Honestly at some points my eyes where wondering to corners of the screen where I was hoping i would find something more interesting. It was very dull for a lot of the time, how can they have got it so wrong??!! A dull harry potter movie? You need some skill to achieve that, heres why..

I felt COMPLETELY and utterly unconnected to the actors. There was no connection or chemistry between the actors and the audience, I was left completely cold. Now I know for a fact from the earlier movies that these actors CAN have a definite relationship between the audience and yet there was none, not a single scene left me emotionally connected.

This applies to people who haven't read the book, what was Yates thinking ?!? how creative is it to have a fight scene, then the 3 disappear to another place, wait around 30 minutes, another fight or chase then they disappear to a different location. ON 3 DIFFERENT OCCASIONS??!! what message does that send to the audience ? Yeh we've wrapped up 5 films nicely, now lets just milk the audience from their cash. Because that is exactly where this is heading, 6 was atrociously bad but at least it had some humour. This barely has that, apart from Dobby clinging onto Mungundus and a few awkwardly funny moments with Ron and Hermione the amount of humour was next to none. Yes its a much darker and more scarier ( supposedly ) than the others, but there was no tension or excitement. The build up times where almost ridiculous and when you got the peak of the tension there wasn't anything to get your heart racing, or anything you wouldn't expect. 'YAWN' a snake jumps from a whole and tries to eat harry after 10 minutes of him and Hermione creeping around in a dark house full of flies and blood 'YAWN'

I'm so disappointed, all the hype, all the production time and its barely better than number 6. And that is really poor because 6 was a disgrace if I'm honest. The best book was made to appeal to 14 year old girls who'd giggle at the love & relationships throughout the movie. Really if they want to step it up they have to make a 15 and actually make it gruesome and scary at times when it needs to be ! Not to have a 10 minute lead up to a snake attacking harry and biting a chair leg !!( pathetic )

Finally, I cant believe at the amount of good press and reviews this has, are you all out of your mind ?! I tried to look at this in every possible way, HP fan, non HP fan, book fan, non book fan. FROM EVERY ANGLE this movie was long winded, dull, acted without enough feel & passion and poorly directed. And yes I have taken into consideration the fact this is part 1 of the book, and part 2 will definitely be more exciting, but it really seems as if they looked at the feedback from HP 6 and went ' yep the audience didn't like it when we made up stuff, lets stick to the book ' so they stuck the book in the most uncreative, utterly boring story telling fashion. There was no sparkle or anything special setting this apart from the other movies. Think about it, HP1: introduction to the world of magic, everything is new, epic set of tasks which young harry, Ron and Hermione conquered. HP 2 : Epic Quiddich and fight with the Basilisk, HP3: Epic death eater scene and true identity of Sirius. black HP4: Epic maze and Voldemorts ' reincarnation ' HP5: Epic battle, emotional death of Sirius & Dumbledores EPIC fight with Voldemort. HP6: Ehhh, epic flop ? HP7 P1: Epic directing & acting fail ?

MASSIVE disappointment for someone who paid in excess of £15 to watch this and has eagerly waited for months.

5/10 is extremely generous and only awarded because I've always been a HP fan and I love the books and previous movies especially 4&5 which were fantastic. To be fair 50% doesn't even reflect the amount of money I'd pay to watch this, because If i'd known, 5 quid would've been absolute limit.

This is not a bash but really a set of details in what went wrong in the movie, I'm not saying I'm an expert of any sort, but really they should and they CAN do better, we have proof of that earlier on in the series. There were positives, but for a film of this magnitude, this expensive and this famous, it ought to be MUCH better.

Was the above review useful to you?

23 out of 38 people found the following review useful:

It makes you think

3/10
Author: jelly336 from United States
21 November 2010

This is one of those movies that causes you to reach deep down in yourself and think. For example, I was thinking, "Did I turn off the iron? Why did I pay so much for popcorn?" I'm sure the producers were thinking, "Hey, they are so far into it now, we can throw up any thing on the screen and still make buckets of money. But let's have Daniel Radcliff take off his shirt so they won't know they've been suckered." Even if you're read the book and watched the other movies, the plot is incomprehensible. The movie consists of a bunch of action sequences strung together with no regard for the story.

At least I didn't pay to watch it in 3D.

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 35 people found the following review useful:

Unbelievable!

10/10
Author: mrfrodogetdown from Finland
17 November 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I have been fan of Harry Potter books since 2001, when I first saw Philosopher's Stone in movies. I was 11 years old back then, and I thought the movie was great. One month later I saw The Lord of the Rings - The Fellowship of the Ring, which literally changed my life; I now study cinematography in Finland.

Sadly, none of the Harry Potter films have been better than the first one, which is still a great movie, but very childish. As the books became darker and better book by book, the films remained childish. To me, Half-blood Prince was an awful film: I didn't like the way how there were scenes that weren't in the books, like stupid jokes and the burning of The Burrow. Especially I was irritated by the way there were some great scenes missing, like Voldemort's memories.

But now, in The Deathly Hallows the movie series has finally reached the stage it should have been since The Goblet of Fire. It is absolutely great! As a movie, there's only one word for it: unbelievable. Cinematography is beautiful and the scenery is breath-taking (I gave this part of the making a lot of thought as it will be my occupation someday). Director has done good job with everything. Music fits well to the scenes and Daniel Radcliffe shows finally his talents as an actor. Visual effects are great, and they gave me some serious goosebumps. The best thing in the movie is that there are not many scenes that were not in the book. Those that are, are actually pretty good jokes that fit well to the story. All the main parts of the novel are there, which was nice. Only few things made me annoyed (like Wormtail, and the actor of Bill Weasley, who was not "cool" as Harry described him in the books). Also a good thing was that the movie was actually bit scary, even to me - and I'm 20. Bathilda Bagshot was creepy and the Horcrux scene was gorgeous in a strange way.

All in all, this is by far easily the best part of the HP series as a film and as a book. It's so good it deserves 10 stars out of 10, and I even dare say it's one of the best films made in few years. It is absolutely one of the best fantasy/ sci-fi films ever made. I wish the next July would be here already...

Was the above review useful to you?

23 out of 39 people found the following review useful:

Do people really like this film?! It was so utterly boring!

5/10
Author: Eelco_1977 from The Netherlands
24 December 2010

After I'd seen the sixt Potter movie, I thought they would improve on the pace in this (part 1) seventh movie. But boy, was I wrong. I was so bored after the very well done beginning of the movie. Voldemort's meeting and the motorcycle chase were very exciting, but then it started again just like in part six...the very very slow scenes about how Harry thinks he's so alone and he and his friends don't know what to do...blablabla. Really, I have to see the second part of the seventh book, just because I have to know how it all ends, but the director is giving me a really hard time. I like the wonderous world of Harry Potter, but not like this. Personally, I think the fourth part was by far the most exciting of the Potter movies. OK, now let's sum up what I liked about this seventh movie: -The beginning (Voldemort's meeting and motorcycle chase) -The overall look of the movie (sets, lighting, etc.) -The Deadly Hallows story sequence -The casting. Helena Bonham Carter is one of my favorite actresses Now, things that I didn't like: -The pace...ow my goodness. And I thought Gone with the Wind was slow or for instance Dr. Zhivago or Signs. -Ron thinking Harry has the hots for Hermione and fighting about it. Jeez...this was so forced. I mean, Harry already knew in the 5th and certainly in the 6th movie that Ron liked Hermione and Harry already had it going with Ginny. This was so stupid and boring. -How many items do they actually need to kill Voldemort. 7 Horcruxes that can be destroyed by a sword and than you also have the 3 Deadly Hallows. My goodness...in a computer game OK...but in a movie?! -When it became clear the neckless was making people angry I wanted to shout: "Cast the ring into the fires of Mount Doom!" Damn, this was such a rip-off of Lord of the Rings. -And yeah, there we have it again...all those damn unoriginal references to WW2. As Basil Fawlty would say: "Don't mention the war!" -There were so many moments in this movie that it seemed like the story progressed simply by chance. -The introduction of Dobby again and his utterly useless and overemotional death. He dies and the movie tries to make us feel so sad because he was such a lovable and important character...NOT! Maybe in the books, but when you've only seen the movies like I have, Dobby's not really a character that I established an emotional band with during the last six movies. -The movie took itself too serious, but that's probably what the tone of the book is too. A little more wonder and innocence would have been nice. The humor was so scarce. As The Joker said in The Dark Knight: "Why so serious?!"

All in all I just have two words for this movie...too bad! :(

Was the above review useful to you?

31 out of 55 people found the following review useful:

The worst Harry Potter film so far

4/10
Author: darkthirty from Vancouver, BC
21 November 2010

Is it part art film? I'd say yes, in the better parts, it had something wise and melancholy going for it, rather like the book, but it was lost all too easily to the infrequent action sequences which neither impress nor lend any forward motion, aside from a particular part of the Bagshot/Nagini sequence making the audience jump a couple feet, and all without Voldemort. Meh.

Alterations to the plot were generally as bad as they've been in the past, but the Lovegood house was so very poorly done, it rates special mention. It well and truly sucked. (I wondered if there had been some technical difficulties with the editing, it was so bad.) Most of the emotional scenes are strangely unmoving. Hermione's torture becomes something weirdly camp - Tim Burtonish, if you will - with no power to unsettle. The much anticipated horcrux destruction scene lacks any sort of nuance at all, so much so that Ron's resigned remark at the end of it falls as flat as a bassoon. Hermione looked like an airbrushed NY fashion house mascot, and Harry looked like plastic, with some silvery gloss smudged on. It was hokey, and I felt embarrassed watching it.

There were other bothersome things (the list could go on) - the whole imprisonment scene was horrid, rushed and thoughtless, and the basement itself looked like they were in some half-finished suburban ground floor, only thing missing was a couch, a TV and some paneling. Olivander looked far healthier than he did in the first film, Luna was an afterthought, Wormtail was apparently lulled to sleep by general uneventfulness, and Dobby looked like a wax figure moved by strings. Bellatrix was about as scary as The Count from Sesame Street, the snatchers behaved like the three stooges, and the confrontation at the end had all the movement drained from it, arranged instead like a lazy, half-hearted family portrait, just so they could end it with a hokey special effect that didn't work - the knife turning to jelly or something in the whirlwind of apparation. Dobby's death was atrociously handled, Luna spoke far too soon, and the burial was filmed in the blandest possible way.

The story was told in a linear way, and the camera work was too, which resulted in a very one dimensional film. The burial scene, for example, could have had a shot threw the window, with Hermione on the couch, Ron beside her, and Harry in the background or something - it would have taken no more time, but it would have filled the world better. Anything to vary the 1, 2, 3 of the telling.

The Story of the Three Brothers animation was very cool, and strange as it may seem to say it, Emma Watson's acting is almost the best thing about the film.

I liked the arty parts, but everything else is trash.

The film needed a new director and a new writer. I fear for part two very much now.

Was the above review useful to you?

65 out of 123 people found the following review useful:

OH MY GOD... what did they do.,..

4/10
Author: darren-906-93171 from Spain
24 November 2010

I have looked at other peoples reviews of this film, and let me start by saying I loved the other HP Movies.

But the people that have reviewed this film are you sniffing GLUE??? What a waste of 2 hours..... it was just a lot of nothing.... I read this on someones Else's review and i think they are spot on...

"When Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollows ended, I asked to myself: Two and a half hours for this? I think that the important elements from this film could have easily occupied the first half hour from the following film without losing the spirit from the book or the growth from the main characters. Big part of this film is a boring "road movie"" I was shocked and I nearly feel asleep and for 1 second i thought it was just me but when it ended, I heard nearly everyone in the Cinema saying what a load of XXXX and how do we get our money back!!! What were they thinking when then split it and done what they did, I guess it must have just been a money making Spin before the last one..

Do yourself a favour wait for this to come out on DVD and don't waste your money at the Cinema, YOU WILL BE Disappointed:: Just my view, but I have never come back and went straight on IMDb to tell everyone I could, not to waste the time in their life when they could do other things and enjoy it more when the next one comes out.... I hope they don't mess that one up too..... I'm worried.

....

Was the above review useful to you?

116 out of 225 people found the following review useful:

Harry Potter and the Random Series of Forests

1/10
Author: joshbwhite from United States
23 November 2010

Completely lacking in imagination, storytelling, and cinematography, this is the worst I have seen in the series.

Aside from the first 15 and last 15 minutes, The Hallows is the most boring and badly presented to date. I understand character development and a sub story was going on during this portion, but it is so blatantly spoon fed and boring it was borderline offensive. Characters should be developed by following them through a story, not by stopping (or slowing) the story to develop the character!

As for audience appeal I can say only this: being a PG-13 movie with such dark and sexual overtones the dialog and presentation feels aimed at the intellect of a 6 year old audience.

Further, the way that characters just hop in and out of scenes, unannounced, and unexplained ruined most every major action sequence for me.

The three main characters can't ever figure anything out on their own or spot obvious traps. They just dumbly wander from dangerous situation to the next while trying not to unravel simple clues. They are constantly bailed out by random characters showing up at just the right random time and place. I didn't read this book, but I have read a few, and the author seems to describe the situations and traps as subtle and tricky. The director failed at this concept completely.

They should not have split this into two movies, and I honestly hope, when I watch part 2 at home, the director pulls his production team, editing, and writing together for something that makes sense and serves to fill more then just time.

Was the above review useful to you?

123 out of 239 people found the following review useful:

Harry Potter Review

3/10
Author: Justin Docherty (docherty98@hotmail.com) from Canada
15 November 2010

I just got home from the official worldwide premier of the new Harry Potter movie. Overall the movie was great it had a good flow to it, you become attached to the characters and the mystical world they live in, the story has a lot of excitement to it and there is always something interesting going on. I have read all the Harry Potter books and this interpretation of the 7th and final book is very accurate and does not leave out any major detail,I know that a lot of people are upset that Warner Bros. decided to make this final book into two separate movies but maybe its better this way, it allows the viewers to get the most detail of what happens in the book, and it allows the filmmakers to express the most detail of the final chapter of the Harry Potter series.

Overall I really enjoyed the movie, it has a runtime of about 145mins but I went into the theatre and it felt like the movie was about 20min long. I would encourage anyone who enjoys the Harry Potter series to not hesitate, and go watch this movie and not wait until it finally releases on DVD. Overall rating 9/10

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Worst and Longest of the Series

6/10
Author: erik_squires from Boston, MA
13 April 2011

Worst of the Harry Potter series. The biggest problem to me seems that they wanted to save money on effects and actors by spending endless amount of time shooting outdoor forest fly-by scenes instead of including side plots and more special effects. The movie has about 30 minutes of outdoor scenes which could be completely removed. Also, there's a scene where Harry and Hermione dance that is supposed to be poignant, but I found it endless and pointless. I can't remember the last time I saw a non-musical movie which included a complete song. Usually they are shortened to show the highlights and move the story along, but not Deathly Hallows. I'll definitely not be too worried about buying the extended DVD! I'd actually pay extra for a better edited version.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 3 of 63: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history