IMDb > The Hills Run Red (2009) (V) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Hills Run Red
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Hills Run Red (V) More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 5 of 7: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [Next]
Index 64 reviews in total 

Shield Shmield.

5/10
Author: DustinRahksi from Canada
13 October 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Short and sweet review: I've been meaning to watch this films for years now, but forgot about it. But turns out it's on ITunes, so I rented it. As far as recent slasher films go, this one is not bad. The plot is idiotic, the characters are worthless and despicable, they really ruffled my spirit, I'm looking at you Serina.

So, we open with Tyler, an obsessed horror fan, researching a lost horror film. His girlfriend comes in, and offers him sex. And like a complete beast, he tells her to go back to bed while he looks at his horror film. This comes into play, and bites him in the ass in a few minutes. Then we are introduced to his best friend, Tyler explains his plans to visit Alexa, the daughter of the director of the lost horror film. So he goes to find her, while his best friend goes to his friends girlfriends house, and then they adulterate. Yeah, guess who I don't want to make it through the film, these two. But that's not it, Serina tries to get the audience to feel sorry for her and root for her. She makes it out that Tyler is the bad guy, and she tries to guilt him. My god, this woman is toxic, she cheats on him, snuggles with his friend right in front of him, and she still eggs him on like they are still having a good relationship. Well she ends up getting it bad in the end. So now Tyler is with Alexa, and baby face is now on the hunt. I like the look of the doll mask and rotten jaw bone, he means business when he looks you in the eyes. It's strange, they play him off as someone like Jason Voorhees, but he actually speaks, quite eloquently at that. What a curve ball, but he never does it after that moment, it's really strange. The Tyler character was so obsessed with finding this lost film and it's secrets, but when he gets what he wants, he turns into a little Pansy, and changes his mind, and for once shows some concern for his girlfriend who he neglects. The best friend gets killed, baby face gets killed (turns out all you had to do was poke a stick through him, and no one ever tried that before huh). Tyler finally gets to watch his precious lost film. OH, yeah Serina was raped by baby face. So her fate is to be chained up in a barn for nine months until she gives birth to baby faces child. She got the short end of the stick, poor old Serina got it bad. She'll probably just give birth to the baby, and then be killed, that's terrible.

I can the film was watchable, and I'll probably watch it again in the future. It's worth a watch, it better than the Michael, Jason, and Freddy remakes, that's just sad.

Was the above review useful to you?

The film was good, but...

5/10
Author: potterhead97
10 August 2013

While the film had a good plot line, I believe it could have been executed a lot better. I think they should have taken the time to delve into the mind of Concannon. Yes, he was absolutely crazy. But what made him that way? I also would have liked to have seen some more traps rather than straight up murder. I really appreciated the use of the trap in the tree scene, it would have been nice to have something along those lines done in the film. I love when the writers get more creative with killing someone, instead of just a knife to the throat or something. I think a confrontation between Tyler and Lalo in which Tyler finds out about the fling between Lalo and Serina. That would have increased the tension in the film indefinitely. Overall, I think The Hills Run Red was a pretty good movie. I would recommend it, but maybe not as a first choice.

Was the above review useful to you?

Not a bad slasher film

6/10
Author: deatman9 from Canada
27 November 2012

I was kind of nervous at first watching this movie because I heard it was a straight to DVD thing but I was bored so I decided to give it a try. For a horror movie I got to say that it actually has some pretty decent writing and twists and turns. Not you typical slasher film which is good. The only real complaint with this one is the acting exspecially from Tad Hilgren or whatever his name is. You may remember him better from on of the terrible American Pie spinoffs. And he was a far better actor in that then in this frankly hes just terrible. The others were not too bad however so it was watchable. The blood looked terribly fake though so.

This movie is about a guy who is obsessed with horror movies. With one impaticular that never was released to the public. Apparently because it was so gory and sadistic. So the guy goes on the look for the orgins of the tape and the tape its self starting with the only known living cast member...the directors daughter.

This movie was pretty good I really wish a studio could have picked this up and upped the budget a bit because you can tell its low.

Was the above review useful to you?

Thoroughly enjoyed - Delivered what it promised, and more

9/10
Author: dragongard_72 from Australia
9 July 2012

I started watching the movie, having no idea what it was about. I was pleasantly surprised. It had a really well written story-line and plot. Easily re-watchable and it'd actually make more sense the second time watching.

For a B-grade horror film it certainly delivered. It had gore, suspense, great plot, all the characteristics needed for a great horror film.

I was expecting a terrible movie, which sub-par acting, but even for a cast list I had never heard of before (except Sophie Monk) it was a truly great movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Eh...

Author: Joe Miller from United States
15 June 2012

Well a while back I saw clips of this movie in a fan-made music video and I spent a good 2 or 3 weeks trying to find out the name of this movie ( all I saw was Babyface and some gore shots ). I really looked everywhere for this movie but living in a small town in South Dakota we don't have many stores that have movies.

So finally I just started looking online and I found this and was really excited about watching it!

But.... when I started it I kinda was disappointed. I still watched it hoping it got better but it really didn't. You could really guess what was going to happen in the next shot and well that's never fun in a horror movie right?

I gave this a 4 because the story really didn't capture me and it just didn't interest me all that much.

~Joe

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

The Hills Yawn Red...

5/10
Author: loogenhausen from United States
8 November 2011

I guess the horror landscape is so sparse with quality releases that when a film like this comes along, the horror critics fall all over themselves to sing its praises. It's a decent film but not a great one in any reality or on any planet. The main problem is that at 81 minutes with credits, the movie has absolutely no time to breathe and takes way too long to get where it's going and then when it does, throws eighteen plot twists at you and expects you to care about every single one. If it was a little longer, the story would have had a much greater effect on the viewer. The idea of a lost film that exists only in legend is an intriguing idea and the film makes good on that promising idea only about halfway. I don't see this having any kind of effective sequel whatsoever but I'm sure we'll see at least one. All in all, though, it was still mostly entertaining and the cast is likable and delivers their lines better than 90% of the slasher flicks out there. You can do a whole lot worse than The Hills Run Red, but rest assured that you can also do better.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

And This Is A straight-to-DVD feature?????

9/10
Author: simp_1988 from United States
15 March 2011

why? If this movie would have been viewed worldwide in every theater, baby face would be the next horror icon.this is down right amazing with an almost perfect plot. Great!!!!!! I've been waiting for a great horror movie with a plot that actually makes sense to surface. Here it is..I enjoyed every single moment of this film. If your looking for a slasher film with original taste and its own story line and not those typical duplicates they tend to release nowadays, "The Hills Runs Red" will definitely give u a run for your money...Jason?Micheal Myers?Pin Head? No...Not this time..Victor Crowley?. No. Not this time..Baby Face is the name..Hey, give him a Chance..its well deserved with a layout like this. what more can u ask for? I thought horror died about 10 years ago..Guess not..This film proved me wrong...Enjoy!!!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Pretty good horror movie

8/10
Author: TdSmth5 from US
26 October 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Some annoying college kid obsesses over an unreleased cult horror movie called "The Hills Run Red". There is a trailer, some images but nothing else of this movie. He convinces his girlfriend and best friend to join him on the search for any clues about the existence of the movie. He tracks down a girl who appears in the trailer, the daughter of the director who is now a stripper. She takes them to the woods where the movie was filmed. On the way they meet some scary hillbillies.

Once there, things start going wrong. Initially the hillbillies attack the group but then the villain of the movie appears- some guy with a doll mask called babyface. The group scatters but eventually meet up at the at a house, where all is revealed. The director's daughter is part of a plan to lure horror fans to the woods/home were the family- dad, daughter, and babyface butcher them. There's a twist as to the identity of babyface.

Overall this is a good horror movie with all the necessary elements lacking in theatrical release horror movies: violence, gore, nudity, and a story. Some weaknesses are some of the performances, but Sophie Monk shines. Another letdown was the villain, this fellow with a some girly porcelain face mask. He's not particularly scary because of the silly mask. But the good part there is that he's not the only villain. What was also well done is the relationship between the characters: the main characters girlfriend isn't just there to support him with everything, but his obsession in a way drives her into the arms of his best friend. Aside from some minor issues, this is a horror movie well worth watching.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Great movie

10/10
Author: Fontler from Sweden
29 November 2009

The Hills run red is one of few horror movies that actually made me scare. It builds up a tension in the spine and you pulse increases more and more during the movie. The guy from American Pie 4 makes a great role and I suggest you don't watch this movie alone for the first time.

The only sad thing is that you pretty early gets that the movie in the movie isn't finished but you don't really care because it's so good. And even if babyface gets killed, his child will live on into "at least what I hope" The hills run red 2. I wish there will be a second "The hills run red" and that Tad Hilgenbrink survives and goes as nuts as Sophie Monk in the movie.

Those two would be a great on screen couple!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

a return to the slashers

5/10
Author: trashgang from Midian
9 November 2009

Not really knowing what to suspect of The Hills Run Red somehow Fangoria took my attention surrounding this flick. It's indeed clear that the torture porn is over, the hype of Saw is declining. For a lot of people it's been there, seen it done. Due the remakes of gems like Friday the 13th and My Bloody Valentine more and more geeks are returning to the slashers. And this one surely is a slasher with an ode to the 70's. A movie called The Hills Run Red was made then and is lost. A lot of people are searching a copy so some one is able to track down a girl who was the daughter of the director. The only minus is the storyline in the beginning. The daughter just comes along with the searchers of the flick. Without thinking just like that, but you will see why she does it. In fact, everything a slasher should have is included. Of course the killer himself, with mask! and a lot of nudity. In the beginning the killings are of camera but how further you go into the movie much red stuff flows and it even gets gory. For me it was never frightening but it sure has his moments. Not the best slasher but a welcome into the rise of the slashers.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 5 of 7: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history