IMDb > Saw IV (2007) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Saw IV
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Saw IV More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 7 of 34: [Prev][2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [Next]
Index 333 reviews in total 

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Why Was This Needed?

1/10
Author: Nick from Canada
4 November 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

SaW IV wasn't worth money.It was GARBAGE.The traps were so unoriginal and didn't look to painful what so ever.Unlike the original saws (1-3) this movie lacked just about everything.The story was just awful.So much running around and random crap we didn't need.The story was also lacking interesting twists.I mean the movie was so predictable.It had no mystery to it.I mean I'm a huge saw fanatic...one could say I'm obsessed but i think SaW IV WAS NOT Necessary.JigSaW is dead...leave it at that.I mean honestly why do we need more, when the main character is dead? its stupid.With JigSaW and Amanda dead why continue.And whats the deal with Matthews? It was CLEARY MADE, that she MURDERED HIM in III....if u ask me...SaW IV is not worth money at all.Not worth even seeing if you loved the first three.And the sad part is there's going to be 7.One more with Tobin Bell (long live Tobin as JigSaW).So what the hell point?.This movie is a money scam...it will only leave u asking why? Why would lions gate ever make this? Why would they allow it? Its pointless...LGF needs to smarten up and stop making the SaWs now.Its past its prime with JigSaW dead.So why do we need more? Why is the real question!?! Oh yea before i forget about the traps...the traps were AWFUL!! All of them were bad especially the main stories one about Rigg trying to save Mathews...Screw SaW IV and just watch the originals by Leigh Whannell.There the only good ones.

SaW IV's Official Rating By me would be lower then 1.

So don't bother seeing it...it will only kill SaW for you.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Confused?

8/10
Author: fluffer70 from United Kingdom
26 October 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Just got back from the UK opening night. Absolutely brilliant but incredibly complicated and confusing. The film is so complex that we're only just unfolding it an hour or so after getting home. I understand that Saw IV runs at the same time as Saw III but I'm still confused as to why Agent Strahm ends up being locked in the room from III with John when John had already been autopsied and had the tape extracted from his stomach? The film goes back and forth to John's early days to get an understanding of what made him what he is but this unsequential time line adds to its complexity.

Go and see this great installation in the series, but I promise, you'll need to revisit the cinema to watch it again.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 27 people found the following review useful:

Unrelentingly Awful

1/10
Author: Box Office from United States
16 December 2007

Saw IV takes the already hopelessly bad Saw series and manages to go one step further. This time it hits rock bottom and never looks back. There is nothing original in this movie, as much of it is recycled from past Saws. The plot is yet again exactly the same, to put some unsuspecting person through a series of tests. The course of action he will take is completely predictable not to mention rather boring.

There are also plenty of sub plots and flash backs, which are supposed to fit in and make sense to this whole master plan. Most of the plot didn't make much sense and what did make sense was bad to say the least. There was way too much of an attempt to make the past Saws tie in with this, and it really shows as the script goes no where.

Most of this film being made seems like an excuse to have more of those Jigsaw traps. They are obviously present again and are once again way over the top and elaborate. There are so many flaws with the traps alone such as the design, set up, and execution. Most of them would never get past the idea of them, but impossibility is no match for Jigsaw or his sidekicks, apparently he can make anything happen. It's just not fun to sit through any of the traps, let alone the entire movie, when there is absolutely no payoff for the viewer. And as always, Jigsaw's plan goes off without a hitch. Not once does something out of the ordinary happen where something malfunctions or a character takes a different course of action. Apparently Jigsaw has thought of everything and no one can ever get out of anything he puts you in. Throughout this series there has been plenty of times where someone could have done more than nothing to interrupt this plan or get help. But then again I guess this movie couldn't be made if anyone had any common sense.

There is nothing to like about Saw IV. Everything from start to the unsatisfying finish was pure garbage. Even the sound at some points was horrible with this over the top cracking sound. Finally, there is the twist at the end which seals the deal on how bad this movie really is. The plot, the traps, the setting, the characters, and the terrible writing all seem so unrealistic and careless of anyone watching this. If it had any inclination of making sense they would have cut out the flash backs and stop trying to make "everything" lead up to the events in Saw 4. But it's all supposed to be okay, because according to Jigsaw these people will learn to appreciate life after going through it. By the time it's over you won't care, any maybe not even know, who put who up to what and why. There was once again an obvious attempt to surprise you just as the first Saw may have with it's revelation, but fails due to it's lack of shock and significance.

In the end you take a terrible concept and somehow make it worse. Saw IV plunges below the bottom of the barrel and is possibly the worst of the 900+ films I've watched. This makes The Hitcher and Black Christmas look like they're not the worst. It almost makes Leprechaun 3 look average. It really creates it's own level atrociousness. I hated every second of Saw IV. The bottom line here is only watch Saw IV if you are interested in adding another 1 rating to your total. Get some extra sleep instead of subjecting yourself to this worst movie of 2007. Zero stars.

Was the above review useful to you?

45 out of 89 people found the following review useful:

Amazing! Nearly as good as the first movie!

9/10
Author: xblackxphoenix from United States
28 October 2007

The first time I watched "Saw," I was horrified beyond belief, yet as soon as the credits rolled I wanted to watch it again and again and again.

Saw II was just as amazing, but I thought the traps were a little dull, probably because I spoiled myself watching the traps on YouTube. =/ Saw III was very good, but nowhere as near as great as I, II, or IV.

Saw IV was amazing. It was a thriller that had me racing the entire time. However, just like how Saw II and Saw III failed to deliver the true horror the first movie delivered, Saw IV didn't have me cowered into a little ball in my seat. Despite the fact that I was more thrilled than scared, I still found the movie extremely scary. The number of jumpers was kept to a minimum, and, as with the previous movies, you could always tell when a jumper was going to happen. The only thing that made me jump out of my skin was when my old girlfriend showed up at the theater.

The traps were phenomenal! The traps were by far the best out of all the movies! Some of the traps were EXTREMELY gory. I wondered what they had cut out to merit it an R rating! Even though the traps were extremely gory, they weren't a mindless killing spree and they were very interesting.

The acting was superb! Tobin Bell (John Kramer AKA Jigsaw) stole the show yet again, followed by Scott Patterson (Strahm), and then Lyriq Bent (Rigg). All of the emotions of all of the characters seemed genuine and I did not notice a single sentence that was poorly acted.

The only minor drawbacks to this film were- a)Several of the things that we were told would be revealed were not! b)The ending seems like it sucks until you think about it, but the writers wanted us to think, so I'm not sure if I should put this as a drawback.

Overall, this movie was amazing, and you should definitely see it if you've seen the first three.

Was the above review useful to you?

56 out of 111 people found the following review useful:

Jigsaw returns .. better than ever !!!

10/10
Author: bargainsaustralia from Australia
25 October 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Jigsaw returns to his games but as we know from Saw 3, he is dead. The opening of the movie starts with the autopsy of Jigsaw. But later they find that even that he's dead, he has planned more twists for then and his work hasn't ended.

The main idea of the sequel is uncovering the true reasons why jigsaw became the man he is today. Many of the characters from Saw 2 and 3 and present in the 4th sequel which they used to build on the story and i can admit that there is a lot of suspense and mystery in this sequel.

It is hard to predict what is gonna happen in the next scene but again this is what made the SAW series one of the best psychological thrillers ever made.

I was disappointed by the ending, unlike the other 3 parts of saw, the element of suspense died in the last 10 minutes of the movie and i think this is where the movie will loose a lot of its rating power.

However, this a movie that will be nice to watch more than one time .. i know i will and i do recommend watching this movie at home.

One lesson can be learned from this sequel and that is Patience ... after u watch it you will know what i mean

Was the above review useful to you?

79 out of 157 people found the following review useful:

The trap in Saw IV is the movie itself!

1/10
Author: dyl_gon from Canada
1 November 2007

The Saw movies always feature people stuck in terrible trap in which to survive, they must go through excruciating torture. The latest installment in the series, Saw IV, is one of these traps itself, in which you will either suffer through 95 minutes of excruciating torture or commit suicide before the end credits come up.

The first Saw was an accomplished horror movie. It was new and interesting, as well as very unsettling. Most of the film was spent in a single room and it focused more on suspense, rather than gore. As new installments came to theaters, there was a gradual decline of suspense and the focus was put more on gore and torture. By the time Saw III rolled around, the entire movie was basically disturbing torture, but there were at least a few scenes that attempted to be frightening.

Now that Saw IV is out, you can tell that they're really dragging this series out as far as it will go. This installment has two separate story lines, one in which a police officer is put through a series of tests to save his friend. Although Saw IV had a new writing team, the story is almost identical to the one in Saw III, which wasn't a good story to begin with. The movie is set up to showcase as much gore and torture as possible, which means the main character's trap is that he has to try and free other people from traps, and more often than not, they die excruciatingly painful deaths. The storyline isn't scary and there isn't even an attempt to be. The director, Darren Lynn Bousman, just tries to cram as much torture into the film as he can. This is exactly the same type of storyline we got in the third Saw. It sucked in the third one too, but at least it was original. The only difference between the story lines is that in Saw III we got a lady's rib cage being torn open, and in Saw IV it's a lady's scalp being torn off.

Not only is the whole movie pointless, it's poorly written too. This has to be the first Saw movie where I'm almost positive I could've escaped from at least two of the traps easily. They are so poorly designed. It's a miracle at least half the characters die in them, as they rely solely on unlikely coincidences and chance. In the first Saw, the characters tried many different attempts at escaping and all angles were covered. In this one, everything just falls into place perfectly and the victims in the traps never do the "smart" thing. It doesn't even make sense. We never learn why the hell the main character couldn't just call the police and have them come help him work his way through the traps, as there is nothing stopping him (yes, in Saw IV, the main character actually has the option to not partake in the trap at all if he wanted).

The second storyline is told through flashbacks and attempts to explain why Jigsaw, the old man creating these gruesome devices, got into the business of killing people. This new storyline provides absolutely nothing interesting or any insight into why he became what he is. The audience was already given enough of an explanation for his motives in the previous three films. Saw IV just adds a new, unnecessary motive, involving Jigsaw and his ex-wife. Not only is it pointless, it's poorly done too. Tobin Bell wasn't a recognized actor before the Saw series and now I know why. He has no acting ability and can't convey any emotion. The flashbacks are supposed to show his progression from a regular guy into a crazy psycho, but he acts exactly the same throughout the entire storyline. Even at a pivotal moment, when something terrible happens to him that is supposed to change him, we get shots of him standing there with the same damn expression on his face.

A key part of the Saw movies is the twist ending, but they aren't even trying anymore. It's as if they just threw in the first thing that came to mind. The twist comes out of nowhere and further insults the audience by showing flashbacks to different points throughout the course of the movie, as if they are supposed to point in any way to the nonsensical twist. There are so many plot holes in the last 10 minutes, including the fact that the characters all do random, idiotic things that nobody on this planet would ever do in the given situation, as well as a death straight out of Final Destination (which I guess could happen, but it's just cheesy).

When it comes down to it, if you liked Saw III, there's an inkling of a possibility that you may enjoy Saw IV. They both lack suspense, a good plot, and good writing, but at least Saw III was original. If you're looking for a good horror movie, I suggest you go see 30 Days of Night. I'm not going to debate whether or not 30 Days was a good horror film in a review for Saw IV, but it at least attempted to be good. Saw IV doesn't even try. It just tries to show off tons of gore and adds a twist at the end, and hopes the fans will eat it up.

Was the above review useful to you?

Pure torture.

3/10
Author: Matt Greene from Panama City, Florida, United States
4 December 2017

I'm starting to think this franchise is a convoluted cruelty device itself, in which Jigsaw is trying to teach me some sort of moral about continuing to watch these dumb movies. The nu metal of horror franchises, they seem to be getting more obnoxiously agro and ridiculously elaborate as they go. Still, this one is slightly better than the last, with its really cool opening blind / deaf death machine scene and some interesting decisions forced upon the main guy.

Was the above review useful to you?

A scary but also perplexing game

5/10
Author: TheLittleSongbird from United Kingdom
28 November 2017

Finally saw all the 'Saw' films prior to seeing 'Jigsaw' (as part of my wanting to see as many 2017 films as possible this year, during a quieter and less intensive period). Heard a lot about the films, good and bad, but wanted to see them for myself to know what to expect.

The films as an overall series are a very mixed bag. The original 'Saw' had a great premise and while it was problematic it was still pretty good and one of the best in the series. 'Saw II' had its own problems but it was still one of the few follow-ups to be just as good and have what made the first click as well as it did. Things did go downhill with the overblown and confusing 'Saw III', which was suggestive of not just the novelty wearing off but done to death. 'Saw IV' improves on the third instalment and is among the better sequels, but not up to the level of the first two films. It's neither great or terrible, more uneven, but unlike the third film there is at least a sense that it's remembered what made the first two films work.

Lets start with 'Saw IV's' strengths first. The traps, tortures and such are closer in spirit to the suitably diabolical and inventive ones of the first two, almost like medieval torture, and there are a few clever, if not exactly bold, twists and turns. It's scarier and more suspenseful than the third film, being not as rambling, a little more cohesive and not being as over-reliant on what the third film overblew distastefully.

Production values, apart from the haphazard editing, are slicker and not as amateurish here and the music score is suitably eerie. The opening sequence is the single most disturbing opening of the whole series and one of its most disturbing scenes full stop, despite being dead Jigsaw still has what makes him an interesting and quite unique character and the seeming frailty of the human condition, done in a way that's pretty embittered, and Jigsaw's moralism being painted seemingly sympathetically is just as creepy as the traps and torture. Tobin Bell looms ominously and Donnie Wahlberg makes much of little.

On the other hand, the story is still very flawed. It is more atmospheric and eventful than the third film, but there's not enough to hide that it's more of the same stuff that does try to do too much and doesn't have enough original material to set it apart. Also, structurally with the back and forth and with laudably trying to tie up loose ends from before (but unsatisfyingly) it's still not easy to follow, culminating in one of the most perplexing head scratcher endings of any film from the 2000s from personal view. It's not just cohesiveness the film struggles with, credibility also goes out of the window.

'Saw IV', while not as much as the third film, still goes too far with the gore and violence (the latter almost pornographic level) which is not handled with much taste or subtlety. At least one doesn't feel as exhausted or find themselves trying not to laugh here though, which is an improvement, just that one doesn't have a good taste in their mouth after. The script is still flat and contrived and Jigsaw is the only character that interests the viewer and doesn't leave one feeling bored or frustrated. Bell and Wahlberg aside, the acting is nothing to write home about with Lyriq Bent's performance being one of the series' low points.

In short, watchable but not entirely satisfying. 5/10 Bethany Cox

Was the above review useful to you?

A disgusting but interesting next chapter to the Jigsaw series

5/10
Author: swilliky from United States
29 October 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Moving the franchise into a trilogy, the third brutal torture horror film explains a bit more how Jigsaw pulls off the sick games while showing even more gore. The film begins with Eric Matthews (Donnie Wahlberg) breaking his leg in an attempt to escape captivity. Detective Kerry (Dina Meyer) searches for Eric but she also falls victim to Jigsaw's awful torture. The main story consists of John Kramer (Tobin Bell) and his pupil Amanda Young (Shawnee Smith) kidnapping a surgeon Lynn Denlon (Bahar Soomekh) in order to keep John alive. Jigsaw wants to oversee one last game before he finally passes away so attaches a deadly necklace to Lynn's neck that has shotgun cartridges all around it and will go off if John's heart rate stops.

The test revolves around Jeff (Angus Macfadyen) who must go through a series of awful tortures. He lost his son in a drunk driving accident and has never recovered. His first test is to help the woman who witnessed his son's death, Danica (Debra McCabe), from freezing to death. She is hung up naked in a frozen locker and has water sprayed on her periodically unless Jeff grabs a key. He burns his cheek grabbing the key but doesn't save her in time. The next round is the judge who let the killer go, Judge Halden (Barry Flatman). The Judge will be drowned in rotten pig guts if Jeff doesn't burn his son's possessions to get the key.

Check out more of this review and others at swilliky.com

Was the above review useful to you?

Halloween Review #28:Dissapointing..

4/10
Author: lorcan-61881
27 October 2017

Saw IV came out,who knew,like I always say. The film follows a new police officer has to go out on a horrible walk through at what the new Jigsaw is going to do to these horrible,guilty,ya,ya,ya people..for some reason. So,when Saw IV came out,I was actually kind of excited also because of the cool posters they released all over the internet..Saw is neat..but it sequels can not be,so the film opened with one of the actual most gruesome scenes in horror cinematic history and I kind of though,like,what the hell?! This is not a opening scene,this is just some random strangers examining the body of Jigsaw,like..what the f*ck?! This is so stupid and then even worse,the next scene,yes,the trap with those two people,like sure its creative but its so dumb!! ITS SO Dumb! WHAT IS WRONG WITH THIS?! WHAT IS WRONG WITH THIS?! The next hour and a half of the film then bores us with awful gay writing,disgustingly horrible traps that make you wanna vomit on the woman beside you's shoes..I swear that did'int happen,na I was joking!! Saw IV..ahhhhh!..codswallop..

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 7 of 34: [Prev][2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history