IMDb > Saw IV (2007) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Saw IV
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Saw IV More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 6 of 34: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [Next]
Index 331 reviews in total 

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Unlogical, weird and not to follow.

5/10
Author: Marc from Netherlands
21 November 2008

The first Saw was pretty good ! But as often sequels of movies aren't very successful.

I hope Saw 4 was the last part, because this entire movie didn't make any sense, it was hard to follow and it was more of the same as you will see in any other ordinary horror movie.

The story of Jigsaw becoming the evil person he is doesn't contribute to the story and for the first time we find out he actually had a girlfriend ! So where was she during the first 3 movies ??? Wasn't any cop smart enough at that time to question her ???

Saw 4 only knows two highlights ; and they are on Betsy Russell.

:-)

People please don't buy this DVD ; just wait until it get's on TV.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

UGH! Miserable end to a mediocre series...

Author: rixrex from United States
10 June 2008

The opening sequences of the autopsy of the Jigsaw Killer tell you exactly what this will be, a puke-inducing gross-out torture film with no redeeming qualities.

The whole plot is insipid and derivative of the others in the series, they themselves being mediocre at best. Typical unrealistic plot contrivances that are impossible and just plain stupid. And, as usual, really dopey 'Rube Goldberg' styled murder contraptions that would never actually be invented or exist. (Except in the minds of twisted gross-out filmmakers, which begs the question, what kind of mentally aberrant person would think of such things as fun to show?)

Maintains the same totally bizarre logic of the 1st Saw film which presented the wholly ridiculous idea that Jigsaw would lie still without twitching or breathing for multiple hours, then tried to explain it away in absurd fashion in Saw II after the outcry about how dumb that setup was. The series then went downhill from there.

Only good if you need something to pass the time while you eat popcorn, then want to puke it up afterwards.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Weak continuation of a series that's loosing spirit

4/10
Author: NitroHerb from Switzerland
9 February 2008

I'm usually not the kind of person that tries to summarize a movie in a couple of words, but this one really disappointed me. SAW really kept many people interested. The first part was great. I loved the idea, and the way it followed through.

With the time, SAW movies get uninteresting. Alright, it's kinda fun to watch new ways of how one could take a body apart, but that just doesn't do it. The twist, that should be fundamental, and hopefully surprising and shocking just happens less and less, the larger the numbers after the tile "SAW" get. And in this movie, the plot reaches a new low point. The story tries to be confusing to make up for the not apparent mystery. By trying to get people to think about things, that in the end have nothing to do with the outcome, it seems to me like the writers were really in a hurry to write some crap in time to make this movie happen at Halloween. The ending is the most disappointing of any SAW movie so far. The twist is simply boring, and predictable. The movie doesn't ever build up any suspense, no dynamics. After every scene in which some blood flows, the movie lets itself plunge into the same hole it just came from.

I'm sorry, I am somewhat of a SAW fan, but this one is hopefully not the creative peak the writers are trying to reach, when writing the next one.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

more of the same

2/10
Author: dbborroughs from Glen Cove, New York
5 January 2008

After an opening graphic autopsy of Jigsaw the film settles down into the usual game of nasty traps so that people will finally feel alive, as Jigsaw has left some messages from beyond the grave. Technically a better film than the previous two this film suffers from total illogic and the damning flaw (as have all but the first film) of the impossibility of making and setting up these elaborate traps in such short period of time. yes the traps are cool, but lets face it, they really are just S&M porn pushed to the limit while everyone keeps their clothes on.

While I'm all for what ever floats your boat I have to wonder what this says about out society when the orgasm of the actors in real porn which might involve a loving relationship is restricted and locked away, while films like Saw 4 where heads are squashed in anger and hatred between two huge blocks with a huge eruption of blood and brain matter, is readily available to anyone pretty much at any age simply because its not deemed adult. Where is societies priorities?

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

"Saw" plus "IV"

8/10
Author: dee.reid from United States
28 October 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

It's gotten to the point in the "Saw" series of serial killer/torture films that we can always expect a new one after the last concluded. It's also gotten to the point that while there is a very perverse sense of genius working behind the scenes, it is clear that we have a new horror franchise on the loose, and unlike the films of Freddy, Jason and Michael, it doesn't show any signs of running out of steam any time soon.

The latest sequel in the "Saw" series, "Saw IV," begins right where "Saw III" (2006) never left off, which featured the demise of the Jigsaw Killer (Tobin Bell), a serial killer who was not a serial killer in the usual sense of the word. Jigsaw is unique amongst movie slashers in that he did not technically murder his victims; they did that themselves. Jigsaw often set up elaborate tricks & traps/torture devices that were designed to teach his victims the meaning of their own existence and if they died, it meant they didn't value their lives; being able to escape with their lives intact was its own reward. They may have been horribly disfigured or mutilated if they survived, but at least they were alive.

When Jigsaw met his demise at the hands of distraught father Jeff (Angus McFayden) in the previous film, we first see Jigsaw in "Saw IV" being given an autopsy, and the medical examiner discovers a tape he had hidden in his stomach, which details that someone new has been selected to carry on his "work," and the possible locations of two previous Jigsaw victims - Kerry (Dina Meyer) and Eric Matthews (Donnie Wahlberg). In this new chapter of tricks & traps, S.W.A.T. officer Rigg (Lyriq Bent) has 90 minutes to save the lives of Eric Matthews and an F.B.I. man named Hoffman (Costas Mandylor).

Meanwhile, Agent Strahm (Scott Patterson) and Agent Perez (Athena Karkanis) are hard at work grilling Jigsaw's former wife Jill (Betsy Russell) because it's clear to them that Jigsaw was not working alone, even while bedridden and dying of cancer with his protégé Amanda (Shawnee Smith) to carry on his work. So is there a third Jigsaw out there?

James Wan directed "Saw" back in 2004, which introduced the all-new torture movie concept. He has been succeeded in each sequel by director Darren Lynn Bousman. While the content of the story of each sequel has gone down, the gore factor has gone up extremely (but succeeds in being hideously inventive, and subtly sadomasochistic). The production values, mood, and writing also remain top-notch. When I first heard the rumors that were later confirmed when I learned that "Saw IV" was being made, I didn't think it was possible to make yet another movie, especially after the way the third movie ended, and the departure of "Saw" co-creator Leigh Whannell (who also played victim Adam in the first film) didn't help matters much. Since writers Patrick Melton and Marcus Dunston are filling in for Whannell, this film's story is as twisted and convoluted as one of Jigsaw's traps. The narrative and tricks & traps is strong, but ironically it's also its biggest weakness, since the plot just seems to be too smart for its own good, and apparent gaps in the storytelling seem to hurt it when trying to figure out the confusing bits.

In the end, however, I guess such criticisms are forgivable because the movie succeeds in keeping you on the edge of your seat during its running time. Despite any drawbacks, "Saw IV" remains yet another strong and successful entry in a franchise that looks like it's just going to continue on for years to come, which is both good and bad. The good is that the writing is sure to remain thoughtful and convincing and full of neat little twists. The bad thing is, those twists can only go only so far, and pretty soon you can bet that they'll start running out of sick and ingenious ways to torture/murder people. That's what happens when we fall for a serial killer who always has the last laugh.

8/10

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

great film, brings about more meaning to saw 3

8/10
Author: richard_hunt_1986 from United Kingdom
28 October 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

just got back from seeing this film and i was pretty impressed. the series seemed to trail off slightly in the 3rd installment, leaving a few too many questions unanswered. its good to see the writers had a good reason for this. many things are resolved in this film and in true saw style, many more questions are posed for the final 2 installments. nice as well to see flashbacks telling of johns involvement with those he subjects to his 'tests'. rather than seemingly plucking them out of thin air. i was very shocked as well at just how graphic the autopsy was. but was very good. im looking forward to part 5 now. and my faith in the series has been restored. and as every other dedicated saw fan is, im still counting on the nice old twist at the end of no.6 to be a little cameo from dr. gordon. we will have to wait and see

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

nice!!

8/10
Author: caste78 from Colombia
27 October 2007

All sequential movies have the expectation about how the story goes on, and, what happen with some characters. I've read some comments that have said about the film "the same thing that all previous movies". What do you expect from a movie that you know the way how the plot is? . Definitely has no sense to say something like that. Bloody games of course!.

The film has some terrifying scenes in which you'd prefer not to see. I'm not sure if it is more Bloodthirsty than the other three works, but I think it is. With this movie we knew two different things, about Jigsaw's life before he became a serial killer, in other words, the beginning of the story and who will continue with his legacy. I recommend it.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Quite possibly the best one yet...

9/10
Author: K-Mac017 (xxxtheman88xxx@aim.com) from Charlotte, North Carolina
29 October 2007

I saw it on midnight last Thursday with a friend which, to my surprise, it said on the top that it was the Saw Marathon and it started at 6, and the end credits to Saw III were rolling when we got in there, I guess they were playing all 4 Saw movies that night in chronilogical order. Damn, I wish I would've known, then I would've came to see the first 3, too, even though I already have all of them on DVD (that's how big of a Saw fan I am). Still, Saw IV was really good, but I'm here to warn you right now: just like the 3rd, if you're in the least bit squeamish, DO NOT SEE SAW IV! I can't stress that enough. This one's even MORE disgusting than the 3rd, believe it or not, it seems each new Saw that comes out is more disgusting than the last, watch as they find a way to top the 4th in disgustingness with the next movie (it's not gonna end just there, like Jigsaw said in the previews, it will continue, LOL). But still, it was really good, quite possibly the best of the 4, and I'm a big fan of this series. This one may have had the best traps of the 4, and the backstories behind each one and whatnot I thought was done superbly, and a nice twist at the end (hint: it's not what you may think). All-in-all, definitely go see it, if you're into gross-out horror flicks, but be warned about it's gross content, it was, at times, too much for even me to handle, I even had to turn my eyes away from the screen during certain parts of it (literally, it was that gross).

Overall, I give it 4.5 */5, this was about as close to perfection as it's genre allows.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

A fabulous psychological thriller

9/10
Author: furiousmcd from Canada
29 October 2007

After being somewhat skeptical about the Saw series when it first came out, I have grown to love this series. Saw IV brings a whole new dimension to us that is both engaging and thrilling while also managing to horrify us with its limitless insanity. I would, however, not recommend this movie to people who are only looking to be shocked by vast amounts of violence; you will most likely ignore a majority of the plot, keeping in mind the fairly quick pace, and probably end up hating the movie at the end. If you are looking for a vastly entertaining psychological thriller that will bewilder you and keep you on edge, then this is a movie you simply must see. If you are only looking to see Saw IV for its bloody scenes, then you are best to steer clear of this franchise.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Lamer than the Matrix

1/10
Author: jseemore1973 from United States
27 February 2008

Sorry but a better plot was had in any Paris Hilton movie and that isn't saying much at all.

Saw 4 was a bigger disappointment than any of the star wars movies or the fabulously disappointing Matrix movies. From a guy like me who usually adulates 'B' movies this movie relegated a 'D' or 'F' Rating.

To say overcooked is an understatement. Saw 4 is so well done you can't even chew on it for days in the hopes that it might grow on you. The more you chew the more you realise that the director was amateure, the producer was a dick, the actors were less than worthy of daytime television, and the storyline was of the caliber that usually ends up on Oprah or Judge Judy. Like imagine Obama had an affair with Clinton...that bad. I tried 5 times to watch this movie and American Idol proved more entertaining every time which doesn't say much.

The highlight of it all is that I get to write a review, which I can't stand doing.

Enjoy Saw 4. It really is worse than plan 9 from outer space.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 6 of 34: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history