IMDb > Brüno (2009) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Brüno
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Brüno More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Interleaved...
Reviews from users who voted this title less than 5.9.
Reviews from users who voted this title less than 5.9.
Page 3 of 17: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [Next]
Index 165 matching reviews (391 reviews in total) 

6 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

This movie sucks!

1/10
Author: (henrik-skov) from Denmark
14 July 2009

If you love Borat don't go for this movie. I could not believe that the man behind this very funny and provoking movie would treat his audience like he's done with Bruno. I sat in the cinema with a few youngsters and some old hillbillies in the back row, non-stop laughing every time some said dirty words. Sacha Baron Cohen has wasted his talent on a subject, that kick in open doors and only have a provocative impact on the most stupid and most American American rednecks. Period. Cohen rides high on Elton John, Slash and other celebrities. Cohens gay liberation happening in the end is sympathetic as a kind of opposition to American conformists. But believe me - this movie is not worth driving, walking or paying for. I'm very fund of good movies, funny movies, gay, lesbian. politicians, hippies, rednecks - anything - as long as it's funny, provocative, whatever. But this movie is not worth a dime... or kroner, like we use them in Denmark. Tro mig - dette er en lortefilm og Cohen har baghylet sine fans - bigtime!

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

irritating

1/10
Author: Boris Todorov (boris_todorov@hotmail.com) from Seoul, South Korea
7 March 2010

I guess that I am missing the point but WHAT was exactly funny in this movie? While Borat had an offensive sense of humor, yet there was a lot of humor in the first place. It did offer politically incorrect clichés about various cultural groups but still, it managed to create diverse spontaneously entertaining situations. And I emphasize SPONTANEOUS. There is very little of it in Brueno where everything is clearly staged and manipulated. The two successful "sketches" were the Paula Abdul interview and the baby-casting; I presume all parents should be arrested by now unless everything has been deliberately mixed up in the cutting and they were actually answering different questions (I would not be surprised). All the rest is just a collection of irritating moments. I am not really sure what precise human weakness(es) was/were made fun of??? Perhaps the love for reality shows and the tendency among modern people - from politicians to hunters, to swinger-party aficionados - to appear all-too-willingly on the camera without inquiring beforehand who the host/anchor/reporter/negotiator is. That is actually not funny, it is just an irritating way of making reality shows even more abominable. Who really needs that except for Baron Sascha Cohen himself???

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

F***ing Dumb

1/10
Author: socksandfire16 from United States
13 July 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I knew going into this movie that Cohen's character was a fruit loop and to expect some pretty homosexual things. But the way he went about it was just damn gross and just not humorous. It wasn't funny to see a dildo attached to an elliptical type machine being rammed up his ass (whether it be fake or not). To see a cock spinning in circles on the screen isn't funny. It's just completely non-enjoyable. To see two men drinking champagne out of each other's ass is just embarrassing and NOT funny at all.

Stay at home, Google the red ban trailer and you've basically seen the movie. Well actually, if you watch the trailer you will see few more funny parts as some humorous parts in the trailer did not make the final cut onto the movie screen.

I am not one to write reviews, but this movie called for action. Bruno was downright terrible. Do not waste your money.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Borat was soooo much better.

1/10
Author: cnlson from United States
12 July 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Back when it was the Ali-G show Brüno was a five minute filler when SBC ran out of shout outs and Kazachstan news and for that five minutes he was tolerable. A full feature movie, this character does not deserve. From the ass waxing to the full frontal nudity (he shakes it directly at you) for his celebrity MAX show (which features an "interview" with Harrison ford in which he walks by and tells brüno to "fook off") and of course he has to try his bear-bating first on blacks with his black baby fashion accessory and then on the nascar crowd with a UFC type event for "straight dave" (i leave it up to you as to what the F in UFC should stand for) in which the bait and switch leaves chairs, drinks and other things being thrown in his direction as he makes out with an effeminate male assistant. The most uncomfortable moment is when he is pretends to perform sex acts on a ghost milli (milli vanilli) i was not shocked or disgusted as many in the theater were, but i was let down. this movie is not funny and is a serious let down from borat. I don't think this will do any where near as well as borat did and i think this will eliminate any chance for an ALI-G movie. The whole thing really appears to be a shot for outrageous over funny and let me wanting my money back, but i was too embarrassed to ask for it back since i would have to admit that i actually watched part of this crappy movie

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

Avoid!

1/10
Author: Shuggy from New Zealand
14 July 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Confession: I walked out of this after less than half an hour. I'm told it has a good joke near the end, but I wasn't prepared to put up with another half hour like that one to see it. My apologies if it picked up after that, but it was too late for me, and by all accounts, it didn't.

The umlaut should be a warning sign before you even buy your ticket. It was added to "Üniversal" too, but why? Saying "Brueno", and correcting others' pronunciation could have been a running gag, but Cohen just says "Bruno". This is about as funny as the backwards Rs in "The Russians are Coming! The Russians are Coming!" (1966)

It's not that I hate the genre: I enjoyed "Borat". Borat had a kind of innocence, so you could laugh at the ignorance of his anti-Semitism and the like (and Cohen, being Jewish, knew what he was doing). An out gay man can not claim that kind of innocence, and Sasha Baron Cohen is not even a real gay man. (Gay groups have compared him to a white man in blackface.) Real gay men like Julian Clary and Graham Norton can send up the downsides of gayness from the inside. Cohen just reinforces homophobia by portraying gay attitudes and gay sex as homophobes imagine it. (And what's with filming sex acts then covering them with your own black blobs? Why film yourself in order to censor yourself? How daring is that?)

If this film had been staged farce from beginning to end, like Austin Powers (so the writers had complete control of content) it would have been good enough at its own low level. Or if it had been "reality", improvised from beginning to end, it would have had consistency of another kind. But "Brüno" doesn't know what it is, and nor do we know from moment to moment whether we are looking at poor scripting or mediocre improvisation. (Did Cohen imagine Harrison Ford would say anything but "Fuck off!" - I didn't - so why didn't he have a comeback ready?)

Ricky Gervais (The Office {UK version}) is the master of the comedy of cringe, and he succeeds because we see our own vanity and self-delusion reflected in him. Brüno is an alien, even if you're Austrian and/or gay, and we can see nothing of ourselves there.

As others have said, "Brüno" has a meanness about it. What's funny about ambushing a conservative politician and crudely trying to seduce him? It would be funny if he was a homophobe (outside the US, we have no idea) and funnier if Brüno had got even part way, but he behaved exactly as you'd expect, fleeing as soon as he knew what was up. The charity celebrity invited to sit on immigrants as "furniture" did so for a minute out of politeness to her host but got out not a minute later than anyone else would have. If Brüno had had a trace of subtlety, he might have led them further down the garden path. This could have been very funny indeed. Instead he was whipping them with rosebushes before they got in the gate.

Sasha Baron Cohen has forgotten a word his Ali G. made so famous the Queen Mother was using it - Respec'.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

I wanted it to be funny... but it just wasn't

1/10
Author: jennitreadwell from United States
12 July 2009

Gosh, I LOVE Sascha Baron Cohen in EVERYTHING he does, but gosh, this movie was a real flop. I really don't know how else to describe it. He is so talented, so funny, such a comedic mastermind- but this movie just wasn't that great. Maybe it was that it was over-hyped? I'm not sure, but I was sincerely disappointed, and I think many others in the theater were equally as disappointed.

I went hoping for something witty and clever, and all I got was gay porn, a slow plot line, and an unlikable character to say the least. SBC, what gives?

It had a great opening weekend- who knows if Bruno can keep that up for very long. I just don't think it'll get favorable word of mouth after this weekend.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

Disgusting

1/10
Author: from United States
26 July 2009

This was the most disgusting, disturbing and pathetic movie i have ever seen.You might as well watch a porn video.

This was a complete waste of time and money. The producer/director and actors of this movie must really have some serious problems to come up with such a perverted movie.

I can not believe this garbage made it to theaters.

I would not recommend it to anyone not even if it were free admission. I regret not having walked out sooner, the majority of the audience slowly walked out. I think theaters should place security at the entrance so that children do not sneak in.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

Just terrible

1/10
Author: chrisrich7777 from United States
26 July 2009

It is difficult to put into words how bad this movie was. I was remotely excited to see it as I thought it would be funny even if somewhat disgusting at parts as Borat was; this was not true though. As many of the people he pranked likely thought, much of his antics amounted to near-pornography or straight-up pornography with black bars used to gain an R rating.

I understand some of the point was to expose ignorance about homosexuality but I think Cohen as Bruno has set back that goal and created more ignorance and disrespect by being as ignorant and disrespectful as the worst homophobes or at times even worse.

For the most part I would say that claiming this movie has any purpose at all other than angering and disgusting people would be giving Cohen and everyone else who helped make this movie far too much credit.

For the first time in quite a while I actually seriously regret spending my money on this movie as it was a waste and subsidized a fraud.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

So Boring!

1/10
Author: xmafiagurlx from United States
15 July 2009

Sorry for all you Bruno fans, I thought BORAT was pretty funny, and I consider myself able to think pretty much anything is funny...but this movie was not! In fact, it was so horrible I created a IMDb login just to say how dumb it was (ok, so maybe I have no life) :).

Anyways, the story line was almost non-existent. About the only thing there was (that is undoubtedly in any Cohen movie) is the "Shock Value" that he seems to do so well.

Seriouly, my movie only cost $4.75, yet somehow I still feel I should have been the one paid to watch it!

In Short: Do not waste your money.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

After this Razzie Award has no sense at all

1/10
Author: aperisic from Seattle
14 July 2009

The problem with both Bruno and Borat is that they are not movies. You go to theater to extend your life, to participate in this or that form of art, even at the basic level, to share something other people learned, saw, anticipated, wrapped, rationalized for you. Something you would not be able to do on your own. A movie theater is not a flat restaurant, where you go and eat soup, just because you have no time to prepare it yourself at home. The theater is a place where you go to enjoy something you can't otherwise. Although we can't call every movie an art, and although many belong to very bad art, ugly art, evil art, art of nonsense, it is still art just because it does not belong to everyday life, they all create another world, and, likable or not, it is somehow new. What we can find in Bruno and Borat is nothing new. It is just a condensed version of lack of any kind of creativity, any kind you like: stupid, ugly, beautiful... There is nothing there, unless we want to call a foul toilet that does not allow entrance an art. However, it does redefine the art, because it attaches to it something history will not be able to define: instead of changing human spirit, it digs out the worst part of it in a raw format and displays it. Worst part of human nature condensed and displayed in a raw format is not art. It is nothing. To be satire it has to be less real, less obvious, more directed etc. Both of the movies have no direction, no reason why they are made apart from being an attention grabber. A fight in the street is an attention grabber and on its own only its randomness could make it a movie. But Borat and Bruno are not random. Both are insult to even worst movie director. After them Razzie Award has no sense at all. I am aware that blockbuster system creates worse and worse movies through years just because they are the answer to the question: how low we can go and earn more and more money out of more nothing. But, I do not know if Borat and Bruno are goal or warning. Are we there? Do they already set the standards I was afraid we are about to reach? Standards where script, camera, acting, cinematography... as much as they are overrated, pardon overpaid, these days, will be ignored and forgotten. Are Borat and Bruno just the consequence of initial Hollywood mistake that to have a good movie means having A LOT of money (otherwise anybody could make good movies and we wouldn't have Hollywood at all)? Are they at least the proof that something more radical, for bad or good, has begun?

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 3 of 17: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards Newsgroup reviews External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history