IMDb > Brüno (2009) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Brüno
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Brüno More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 39:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 390 reviews in total 

376 out of 635 people found the following review useful:

Outrageous fun

9/10
Author: chicandcheerful from United Kingdom
22 June 2009

I was lucky enough to win tickets to the premiere and spent the entire movie alternating between HUGE belly laughs and covering my eyes in disbelief. If you didn't like Borat, you are unlikely to enjoy this one either as there is a lot of nudity (including one memorable shot of a talking.... body part), profanity and taking the mickey out of: a) rednecks b) fashionistas c) F-list celebrities (and a few A-listers too; remember, children are not an accessory. Unless they're cute. Or match your outfit.) d) terrorists (yes, really, don't know how Sasha got out of that one alive)

I loved the movie and although some of the scenes worked better than others, for sheer inventiveness, audacity and brilliant ad-lib comedy, Baron Cohen remains at the top of his game.

Was the above review useful to you?

251 out of 404 people found the following review useful:

I had prepared myself for this film...

8/10
Author: rogue_eagle from New Zealand
8 July 2009

I expected there to be a high level of gay and crude sexual jokes in this latest Sacha Baron Cohen adventure. Then the movie took it 2 steps further than anything I had prepared myself for.

The result; a lot of uneasy moments, a lot of uncontrollable laughing, and some putting my hands over my face in disbelief or disgust. The humour in the film is clearly that of in-your-face slapstick, however given the extremes the film goes to, it's all relatively entertaining. Like Borat, all of the genuine laughs are in everyday peoples reactions, rather than the poorly structured story or scripted scenes.

That said, it was a challenge of how much one could handle, and I wouldn't have minded if they had left out a particular full frontal shot of the male anatomy spinning around (an image that will stay with me for some time and probably haunt my dreams). It's not a movie I could really get 'comfortable' with watching, seeing all hell unravel in a variety of situations one after another with very little in the way of breaks, but time did go by relatively quickly, which helps given the intensity of the scenes.

It's not a film for the faint of heart, and definitely has more potential to offend than Borat ever did, though for the more open minded among us who aren't so easily offended, you may find some enjoyment in this film. Humanities finest moments certainly aren't on display here. Go see it with a few mates or drinking buddies and have fun, though you may exit the cinema a little more disturbed than when you went in.

Was the above review useful to you?

149 out of 217 people found the following review useful:

Underwhelming

7/10
Author: RussianPaul from United States
17 July 2009

I just saw it and I was a bit let down. I am gay, I love Cohen, and was ready to laugh. But the problem was he didn't expose any under-the-surface bigotry like he did in Borat. He overdid his "gayness" to such a violent extreme that he forced reactions out of people, some of whom are probably plenty openminded. You ended feeling sorry for these people.

Especially Ron Paul, who out of all the politicians Cohen could have chosen, deserved it the least. He's no champion of gay rights, but he is certainly not an enemy either and he reacted like any normal person would in that nightmarish situation. There were also some genuine bigots in the film, but Cohen goes to such an extreme to provoke them, by the time it gets to that point, who cares?

There were funny moments, of course, Cohen is a funny man, but this movie lacks the bite Borat had. This was just an exercise in bad taste (which is fine, if that's what you're looking for).

Was the above review useful to you?

212 out of 358 people found the following review useful:

For those asking how the shock effect of 'Borat' could be topped...

8/10
Author: nosiesnetnieuws from Maastricht, Netherlands
10 July 2009

Brüno is a gay Austrian fashion reporter impersonated by the man that notoriously starred as Borat in... Borat.

(For those that have seen Borat: you probably know what to expect. If you did not like Borat for the painfully explicit content, stay away from Brüno. If you almost died of laughter during a certain hotel scene in Borat, go see Brüno immediately and prepare for almost certain death.)

Obviously, having made Borat, the producers of Brüno had a hard time to repeat the surprise effect. It should therefore not come as a surprise that the movie contains substantially less confrontations between the main character and innocent (famous) bystanders. Still, confrontations with a number of people, among which a few famous ones, seem sincere, and work on multiple levels, as in Borat. Others are clearly scripted, but not less funny for that (watch the ending credits for an example).

In general, compared to Borat, Brüno focuses more on a) effectively shocking it's viewers with the (sexual) misconduct of the main character and b) stunts of this main character in front of a large audience. Essentially, this time the shock effect is moved from the 'random' people that appear in the movie, to the audience looking at the movie.

For many, it will definitely be more shocking than Borat, given the shamelessly explicit content that exploits every possibility for jokes concerning men making out. For others, the never-ending provoked racism of Borat will have a longer-lasting impact.

All I know is that I laughed a lot during this movie. It will once again lead to lots of controversy and imitation at thousands of workplaces around the globe. Maybe it is therefore best if you know what it is about.

But be warned. If you are easily offended, you will be offended. Majorly.

Was the above review useful to you?

144 out of 236 people found the following review useful:

Watch the trailers, then stay at home

1/10
Author: demeyer-1 from London, UK
13 July 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I watched the trailers and thought they were incredibly funny. But packed into those few minutes you will find all the best scenes from the film, and there's very little worth watching in the remainder.

So yes, the film is shocking and pushes the boundaries (again) quite a bit further. And yes, it ridicules our society's obsession with celebrity status. But that in itself isn't enough to make it a good film. Bad acting and a terrible story line remain bad acting and a terrible storyline, even if it has been done on purpose (of which I am not even certain). In any case, it gives the film the doubtful qualities of a cheap 70s porn film.

So what about the humour? Baron-Cohen has always looked for comedy in breaking the boundaries of social convention, and with Ali G and Borat that was often to great comic effect. But not so much in Bruno: cheap shock effect and trying to heap even more embarrassment on his victims appear to have been the main recipes of the film. It doesn't even work anymore: he's now so ridiculous that everyone storms out within the first minute. Porn scenes with a pygmy flight attendant, overacted dancing, a swinging penis (didn't we see that in EuroTrash yeeeears ago?), lowering your trousers in front of a US presidential candidate... it may be funny to some, to me it just stinks.

By the time it came to scenes that *could* have been funny (like the day-time television talk show) - I had properly tuned out, and much of its potential fun was lost on me.

My advice: watch the trailers, laugh your head off, then just be happy with the idea of a brilliant film that could have been, but wasn't made. If you do go, be prepared for disappointment, lots of cringing and the hohoho-type nervous laughter of embarrassment.

Was the above review useful to you?

108 out of 171 people found the following review useful:

Humor that hurts

2/10
Author: Kristine (kristinedrama14@msn.com) from Chicago, Illinois
13 July 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Now I want to get one thing straight, I really wanted to love this movie, Sacha Baron Cohen is a consistently funny and shocking comedian that takes the most absurd characters putting them into situations that not only make people uncomfortable but react in a way that makes you laugh so hard that it makes your stomach hurt. After seeing the trailer for Brüno, I don't think I even need to say this, everyone wanted to see where Sacha would go after Borat and Brüno looked like an incredibly funny movie. I consider myself a liberal person, I don't mind the "shock" humor of today, but my problem with this movie is that it's hurting more than harmless humor. I have a few homosexual friends who are struggling to be taken seriously in life and this movie is honestly setting them back. My thing is that if Sacha had a message in the film vs. just mocking not just a country but other people, the film would have worked a lot better.

Gay Austrian fashion reporter Brüno is fired from his show after disrupting a catwalk show during Fashion week. Accompanied by his assistant's assistant Lutz, he travels to the United States to become a superstar. After a pilot of a celebrity interview show bombs with a test audience, he attempts to become famous via various other methods. In an attempt to create a sex tape, he arranges an interview with Ron Paul, and while the two wait for a staged technical problem to be fixed, Brüno starts hitting on Paul. He consults PR consultants to select a world problem he can tackle to maximize his fame with a minimum of effort. He flies to Jerusalem where he interviews former Mossad agent Yossi Alpher and Palestinian politician Ghassan Khatib in which Brüno asks silly questions and gets kicked out of the country. On a TV talk show hosted by Richard Bey, he shows the African American audience a Black baby named O.J., whom he acquired in Africa by swapping him for an iPod. The audience is appalled. Social Services take the boy away from Brüno, driving him into severe depression. After realizing that the biggest names in Hollywood are straight, Brüno consults two Christian gay converters to become heterosexual.

Brüno is Borat with a different character, it seems like Sacha is just relying on shock over actual humor now. Although I'm actually curious what the unrated DVD is going to look like because this might as well have been a porno. For God's sake they have a scene that Brüno goes to a swinger's party and there is just full frontal, back, side, everything you can imagine in a porno is in this scene. Not to mention there's a sex scene in the beginning with Brüno and his boyfriend that is just plain disturbing that involves a bike connected to a dildo that pleasures Brüno while his boyfriend exercises and it's a bit much for most to handle. Then Brüno speaks to a "gay converter" to become straight that was just over the top offensive not just from Brüno's lines but also the leader of this group who clearly is hiding behind God's skirt. Now if this is your kind of humor, honestly, I'm not sure if I'd want to know you because this is the humor that is more stupid and hurts people vs. just having fun. I wouldn't really recommend for people to run out and watch this trash, I hate to say it, Brüno was too offensive and that's saying a lot from me considering that I thought Borat was hilarious.

2/10

Was the above review useful to you?

83 out of 131 people found the following review useful:

Brilliant satire

9/10
Author: Howard Schumann from Vancouver, B.C.
26 July 2009

Satire has been defined as stretching a position to its logical conclusion in order to expose its absurdity, for example, Jonathan Swift suggesting that the starving Irish should show initiative by fattening up their children and selling them to well-to-do families as food. The brilliant satirist Sacha Baron Cohen in Larry Charles' Bruno takes the story of a Gay Austrian fashionista seeking to become a celebrity in the U.S. and stretches it to its logical conclusion and then extends it - way beyond. It is often hard to tell if the film is an exposé of the debasement of our culture or just another of example of it.

In the film, a sequel to the 2006 mega-hit Borat, Bruno comes to Los Angles to become host of his own A-List Celebrity Max Out after being fired from his job as a TV host of the Austrian show Funkyzeit and being "schwartz-listed". Needless to say, it maxes out after the first viewing thanks to an abortive interview with Paula Abdul and Harrison Ford. Not letting a temporary setback stand in his way, Bruno hires an assistant named Lutz (Gustaf Hammarsten), and travels far and wide in an elusive search for the American Dream known as fame and fortune. In his stunts and misadventures (mostly in the South and Southwest), he exposes the raw prejudices that exist against gays and the sickening cult of celebrity that grips us as a nation.

The funniest scenes are at a swinger's party, on a Dallas talk show, at a gay "deprogramming" session, during a visit to a psychic where Bruno mimes oral sex, and the spectacle of a drunken crowd stirred up by "scared straight" Bruno bashing gays in a fight-club arena. Seeking to become recognized world wide, Bruno travels to the Middle East to try and bring the Arabs and the Israeli's together but confuses Hamas with Hummus and the only thing they can agree on is that it is good with pita bread. In another sequence, he goes to Africa to swap his iPod for a little black child named OJ which he uses to crash American talk shows. Baron Cohen, who wrote the script with Anthony Hines, Dan Mazer and Jeff Schaffer saves his heavy artillery for narrow mindedness of every stripe.

The film ridicules all it comes in contact with, sparing nothing and nobody - from exhibitionist gays to up-tight straights, to families who will starve their children for a modeling gig. Some sequences hit their targets, others do not. If you are looking for good taste, you will not find it here. While satire in film is not supposed to be a comfortable experience and is supposed to make you squirm and even at times hide your eyes, it is not supposed to make you want to walk out.

Bruno travels a thin line between what's merely outlandish and what is revolting and its in your face shamelessness comes awfully close to defeating its own purpose. The fact that the Cambridge-educated Cohen is ultimately able to pull it off, however, and make it entertaining is a tribute to his courage and originality. While Bruno can be shocking and very disturbing, it is also a mirror for us to look at ourselves. Like the est training of the 1970s that was often confrontational, we may not like what we see but we can use it to grow from the experience.

Was the above review useful to you?

64 out of 97 people found the following review useful:

Loved Borat, Hated Bruno

1/10
Author: chucknorrisfacts
18 July 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

In 2006, I went to see a movie called "Borat" and found myself completely caught off guard for the hilarity that ensued. I thought it was easily one of the funniest movies I had ever seen, and I still think that.

However, it left high expectations for whatever Sacha Baron Cohen would do next. When I first learned of the premise of "Bruno" I thought the concept was likely to be very humorous, but I was surprised when it wasn't.

Amongst theatergoers (myself included) there was only scattered, uncomfortable laughter. Not like "Borat", where the audience was practically in stitches the whole time.

The plot was pretty thin. In fact, I'd say they just threw something together to hang the "gags" on. I was left supremely disappointed, and won't be recommending "Bruno" to anyone.

Skip it!

Was the above review useful to you?

90 out of 157 people found the following review useful:

Oh Bruno, Bruno...

8/10
Author: marcosaguado from Los Angeles, USA
11 July 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I laughed until it ached. I was exhausted after the 80 odd minutes were over but didn't stay with me the way that Borat did. Borat was unquestionably fresher - if you can call it that - the horrible surprise was a one off situation. Bruno is a priceless creation but somehow the pranks are already part of the audience's expectation. A talking penis or Ron Paul trapped in a sex film are things we're not about to see anywhere else anytime soon and that's were the power of this new Sacha Baron Cohen shocking, hilarious opus resides. He is an irresistible, shameless, fearless genius. He knows exactly where the corpses are buried and he digs them up in the most unexpected way. The charity girls, the army guys, Paula Abdul sitting on a Mexican worker. Awful and very funny, very funny indeed.

Was the above review useful to you?

28 out of 43 people found the following review useful:

Be Warned!

4/10
Author: Cecil-B from Philadelphia, PA
11 July 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

It's hard to imagine "spoiling" a film like Bruno: there's really no story, and the jokes are all about how they're executed, so whatever you've heard in advance surely won't ruin your fun. I mean, telling you that in one scene Bruno is undergoing "anal bleaching" while talking to his agent in Hollywood will subtract nothing from the shock and possible hilarity of what you're going to see on screen.

No, there's no way anything outside of the film can ruin it. The problem lies entirely within its frames. Think of Limburger Cheese. That pungent flavor and stunning odor are its normal properties. And few people choose to eat it.

When my wife and I saw it yesterday our reaction was "mixed" to say the least. I found myself alternately cringing and laughing; my wife alternately cringed and asked me if I was ready to leave yet. For me, the film's flaws were not so serious that I felt that if I ate one more piece of it I'd refund my popcorn, but my wife's gag reflex was stronger, and so we left the theater before the film ended.

For us the most offensive aspects of Bruno did not involve the over-generous displays of backsides and genitalia. Even when Bruno's sizable penis got blown up to an on-screen size of about 3 to 4 feet, our only comment was that we were glad that the movie was not photographed in 3D.

But the conceit of the film is that our society's hypocritical preoccupations with celebrity and other-people's sexuality make many of us fair game for gotcha exposure. "Look at these fools who'll do anything to get themselves or their kids on camera!" "And look at these benighted dolts--both the bible-thumping red-necks from the rural South and the pseudo-sophisticates in the coastal big cities; don't they deserve to have a big man-butt wagged in their faces so we can laugh at them when they get mad?" Those are the questions Bruno poses. His lack of cleverness actually made me feel sympathy for people who usually burn me up. I'm no Ron Paul fan. I find his brand of Libertarian-Republicanism to be far too conservative, frankly. But Bruno's vulgar mock interview with him seemed undeserved. Dr. Paul is a decent, pretty broad-minded fellow. Bruno came off looking like an ignorant fool.

Similarly, his excruciating farcical peace-making session with an Israeli hard-liner and a representative of Hamas did nothing to point out the shortcomings of the two intransigent enemies. If it did anything it made me feel sorry for two aging politicians whose jobs require spending endless hours in boring, frustrating, fruitless meetings. Mr. Baron-Cohen seems to believe that by adding a few hours of mortification to their lives he is somehow adding something to someone's understanding of the slaughter-factory known as the Middle East.

The people responsible for this film are very talented. I have enjoyed some of their other efforts. In spite of the amount of derrière shown in this movie it struck me as half-assed. You can do better, guys. Use some of that other big organ you've got, Sascha, your BRAIN!

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 39:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards Newsgroup reviews External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history