IMDb > "Dexter" Born Free (2006) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Dexter: Born Free (#1.12)"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Dexter" Born Free (2006)

« Prev | 12 of 96 Episodes | Next »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 10 reviews in total 

20 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

So Looking Forward To Season Two

9/10
Author: Christopher T. Chase (cchase@onebox.com) from Arlington, VA.
4 February 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I would've been very disappointed if the last episode of Season One failed to measure up to the standards set by the best of the previous episodes, and I'm happy to say that I wasn't let down at all!!! Directed and acted to a fare-thee-well (literally), it was everything I was hoping for and more.

Best of all, it answered a question that has lingered in the background throughout the series: if tempted to stray outside the dictates of "the Code of Harry," would Dexter give into the temptation, or would he still remain a "monster with a set of standards?" I'm not telling what I know, but I can guarantee you this: if you stuck around this long waiting for a satisfying payoff, your patience will be richly rewarded. I just can't wait to see what new challenges and perils he'll have to face in Season Two!

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

Sweet Dreams, Bynie

10/10
Author: Claudio Carvalho from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
5 July 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Dexter finally resolves the puzzles lefts by the Ice Truck Killer and discloses his connection with the killer. Lt. Laguerta is demoted to detective, by the new lieutenant supports her investigation. Rita is contacted by Paul that tells her that he was clean and Dexter is not who she thinks he is.

In the excellent last show of the First Season, Dexter is completely messed up and has to take an important decision to save a person that he cares, using the code that Harry taught him. Rita begins to believe in Paul's words when she accidentally finds his shoe in the yard. The conclusion with the population cheering for Dexter is very cool. I hope the Second Season keeps the excellent level of these twelve shows. My vote is ten.

Title (Brazil): "Nascido Livre" ("Born Free")

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

Season End

10/10
Author: cabramwell from Rainworth, Nottinghamshire
20 August 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

*** MAJOR SPOILER *** Best. Series. Ever? Wow! I've just watched the end of this series and it just blew me away! Brilliant writing, casting, a superb, catchy and disturbing title sequence (yay! for title sequences...thank you Lost, Heroes etc).

Excellent casting all round but especially Michael C Hall. He was great on "Six Feet Under" but with this he just outdoes himself. Do I hear awards beckoning or will he be ignored due to the morally ambiguous nature of his character? Dexter somehow makes you root for him all the way through the series and part of me was saddened at the end, the scene with him and the ITK. I can't remember the last time I was as conflicted over something as I was over that death scene.

Roll on Season 2.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Season 1: Weirdly humorous, violent, moral, engaging and thrilling – a show with a lot of consistent strength

Author: bob the moo from United Kingdom
20 August 2009

When Dexter came out a few years ago I decided not to give it a try. I'm not sure what subscription channel had it in the UK, but that did play a part in my decision as well as the subject matter and the fact that it had not been too long for me since I had just finished Six Feet Under and felt I would struggle seeing Hall play such a different character from David. Recently someone put season 1 in my hands and suggested I try it and, after a few months delay, I did.

I was glad I did. From the very first episode I was hooked by the factors that the show managed to repeat for the remainder of season 1. Although Hall has rightly been picked out for praise, this is not a show that relies on its star to work (in the way Shark, for example, relied on James Woods) but rather one that has strength across the board. It starts with the writing initially. The narrative produces an engaging and quite thrilling season long story which will appeal to those of us who do not like the "case a week" type structures of CSI etc. At the same time though we have cases within this that do lend itself to making each episode enjoyable on its own terms while also moving us along the main thread of the Ice Truck Killer. Not that this is the "big picture" though, because that is the development of Dexter as a character in terms of his struggles, his memories, his "code", his desires etc and in this way the show also engages.

I do not think that Dexter is the most complexly written character as some do, but he is certainly a very interesting creation and he is very well delivered by Hall. His performance is a big part of it working because he manages to be a monster bound by an artificial code so that he can be seen as "good" or "moral" but yet also be a dark character who is no different than those we see as "bad" in the plots. He links in very well in his narration with the overall "weird" air the show has in the tone, shot framing and general "feel" of the show.

Normally with TV shows, we get the supporting characters opened out and utilised in the second and third seasons as the show tries to grow and keep things varied, however here we have the supporting characters very well used in terms of narrative and performances. Although we never move far from Dexter as the focus, there is plenty of interest in the threads involving Rita and her ex, Dexter's sister, Debra and the other characters in the squad room. Again I'm not suggesting they are the most engaging or well-written characters ever, but their stories and characters do create more of interest within the show and when they are the focus it never feels like the show "dips" or is filling time with them. The supporting cast are all very good aside from the distraction of having so many Oz actors in there (or even HBO generally) – at one point I counted four in one episode. To their credit this is only distracting for a minute or two but then you forget who they played before and focus on who they are. Carpenter was initially a bit annoying but she grew on me as a character as I accepted her for who she was playing. Vélez started out as an obvious turn but got more interesting as her material did while King is engagingly tough and Zayas adds a comic air to things without undermining his character. Remar is impressive considering what he manages to do with limited time and flashbacks only.

Season 1 of Dexter is great television. The subject matter will put some off and that is fine but it is not unnecessarily unpleasant and it doesn't revel in the violence and the blood in the way some other shows would. The season long narrative threads are engaging and thrilling, while the more episodic material adds layers and feeds the main flow well. I wasn't sure I would like it but I really did and, while the US may be about to start season 4, I am very much looking forward to borrowing season 2 later this year.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Perfect Season Finale!

10/10
Author: g-bodyl from United States
5 January 2014

The twelfth and final episode of the first season of Dexter is about perfect in every way. The events leading to this episode is all worth the waiting because this is one final epic showdown. We learn many surprising things here including a connection between Rudy and Dexter that I certainly did not see coming. From start to finish, this episode is just amazing and will truly hold your attention like no other.

In this episode, "Born Free," Debra has been kidnapped by Rudy, whose identity has been known now as he truly is. Dexter races against the clock to find Debra. Meanwhile, his feud with Sgt. Doakes becomes physical. Also, Paul calls Rita saying that Dexter framed him and that's why he is in jail.

Overall, this is such an amazing episode. It took eleven episodes of build-up, but we have come to the utmost satisfying conclusion there could be. I'll be eagerly awaiting the second season of this fantastic series. I rate this episode 10/10.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

As of the end of season 5, this is Dexter's best episode

10/10
Author: chillwill92
21 February 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

"Born Free" is the best episode of Dexter. This is not a hyperbole by any means, as the Ice Truck Killer's true motives are far more shocking than anything that could've been imagined. SPOILER ALERT: Rudy Cooper (Christian Camargo) is, in fact, not Rudy Cooper. He is Brian Moser, the son of Laura Moser, and the BIOLOGICAL BROTHER OF DEXTER!!!!!!! This is such a major and inspired plot twist, and elevates this episode far beyond the season finale that would've otherwise been. Brian envisioned a world where him and Dexter were a serial killer team of sorts, pulling together to survive in a world designed to reject them. And Dexter (Michael C. Hall), liked the idea, as shocked as he was to Brian's true identity. Brian had only three conditions: kill Debra, renounce the Code of Harry, and leave his adopted family and identity behind forever. However, Dexter realized that he cared for Debra, and that he could not kill her. Dexter chose his surrogate sister who could never know who he is, and gave up his one chance to feel like he belonged. It was great that Dexter imagined what it would be like if people knew about him, though it will never come to pass. Best episode of the season, and the series.

Was the above review useful to you?

Quite possibly my favorite episode of Dexter, ever. It's a tough one, but man was this awesome!

10/10
Author: renofhate
26 September 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

In terms of seasons, the first season of Dexter is my joint-favorite along with season 4. I'd say it goes: 1/4, 7, 2, 8, 3, 6, and then 5. 5 is still good, but it's just my least favorite of the series. Now, with the first season, one of the reasons as to why it was so damn good was because of its villain - Rudy, the Ice Truck Killer. Possibly my all time favorite villain of any TV show ever. He was absolutely fantastic. At first, very mysterious, dark, cryptic, and of course evil. And also very intricate and hard to follow. I loved the first season a lot and the finale was everything I had hoped for, first time I saw it. It was damn awesome. I loved everything about the last episode and its massive climax was extremely well-written. Revealing Rudy to be Brian Moser, Dexter's biological brother, was such a shock. I was stunned to learn that he was related to Dexter. After watching 12 full episodes and finding out who he was, it was damn awesome. It was a terrific way to end the first season, which to me is unbeatable apart from season four. Four had Lithgow as the villain, who was as good as the Ice Truck Killer. But yeah, Dexter season one is awesome and this is one of the single best episodes of any show in all of TV history.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Doakes: Lab geek my ass.

9/10
Author: antisocial1
28 December 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

As free as the wind blows, as free as the grass grows.

Don't like the new lieutenant but it's funny watching Laguerta annoyed and Captain Matthews smirking for that brief moment.

Dex monologues; "Something nameless was born here. Something in the deep dark hole that is Dexter". I don't buy these lines, Dex is a good guy, even if he does chop people up.

It's unlike Deb to not have looked around Rudy's place, considering she was the one saying that the killer probably isn't doing the killings in a factory and it's probably in their home.

Rudy and Dex together is a bit weird, brothers don't act this way, all the touchy feely crap, especially Dex, very much out of character. Rudy: takes the breathe away doesn't it" ??? the f*ck? This is ain't a goddamn love story.

Lol Deb always saves Dex's ass. Doakes wants him immediately suspended and Deb swoops in "Back the f*ck down! he just saved my life, he is a f*cking hero, I want you to treat him like one goddammit. Love Deb!

The plan of the fake Deb worked a little to well for me. Also banking on the fact Rudy would come after Deb that night and with no cops around.

Rita: Deb must be a mess. I mean falling for a serial killer? Dexter: What are the odds? ;]

Terrific gripping episode, with a few flaws. Love the fake celebration ending.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 32 people found the following review useful:

A bit inconsistent in relation to previous episodes

7/10
Author: chrichtonsworld from Netherlands
18 December 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This last episode of the season had some good moments,but at the same time it failed to surprise me like the previous episodes did! I am not going to give a summary of this episode,because for this episode it wil spoil your fun if you know the plot! It seems that Dexter has lost a lot of respect for his foster father,but at the same time he maintains the code he has learned from his foster father! This is a bit strange in relation to the icetruck killer! This is a person who understands him and doesn't judge him and is truly a friend and even more than that,but even then DEXTER sees this person as a killer. Which leads to Dexter doing what he does best!

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 54 people found the following review useful:

Morally conflicted Dexter is forced to make difficult choices

9/10
Author: Xerces88 from Australia
10 January 2008

Firstly Dexter is an examination of the human condition using a morally disjointed protagonist.

The Sopranos deals with this theme in much greater depth and detail. Dexter doesn't hold a candle to it.

The ice-truck killer was everything I expected and more. I was somewhat disappointed in the unveiling of said individual, and the way the story unfolded after the revelation.

The way the ice-truck killer impacted and conflicted Dexter was excellent - just as any good villain should - but the episodes didn't examine these psychological conflicts the way I thought they should have.

Dexter took it's time revealing and unfolding the story of the ice-truck killer, but the moral conflicts of Dexter were dealt with quickly (that's not to say his moral conflicts are resolved) and could have used longer study time.

The show has somewhat worked as a plot-driven character study. But I want less plot and more character.

I have disliked the narration in Dexter except for a few comedic lines. So much of the narration is repeated information in the form of something much easier to understand.

Naturally the nature and plot of this show will generate fan-boy praise. I just hope people never see this show as something as good or better than The Sopranos. But, hey - it's only the first season.

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history