The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor (2008) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
511 Reviews
Sort by:
1/10
Digging his own hole
stormhawk201811 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
If you've a) Never seen the other Mummy films, but are aware of what they are. b) Like dumb special effects pictures with quick-cutty action (cause God knows people seem to enjoy that crap) or c) Have no high expectations for entertainment, then you'll probably like this film. If you're smarter and have seen the other two Mummy films, going to this one is a major shift. If you thought 2 was different from 1, get a hold of this one. Especially when watching all the films in a row it is much more jarring than I remember it to be. I saw this on TV thinking it would be okay like the previous ones, but when it ended, I said "It's AWFUL"!

The main change in plot is focused on China instead of Egypt. You've seen Egypt twice before, why not a another change? But the execution was poor. Everything is tonally different. The way its shot and the editing is hardly consistent with the last two pictures, favoring a lot of cuts and congested camera framing, making action set pieces that seem potentially fun and silly turn incomprehensible and joyless. This film falls into CG syndrome and favors a lot of CGI effects that looks like a video game. Clearly, handing the film off to a director who's had a mediocre-bad track record was bad: this is Rob Cohen ("Fast and Furious", "xXx"); and a bad script written by Alfred Gough and Miles Millar ("Smalville"). Even the characters aren't as fun here. Brendan Fraser seems tired and has lost his comic touch (maybe cause he's ironically older in this film, taking place 13 years after the second). For Evy's role, Rachel Weisz (British) did a phenomenal job portraying a cute, smart and feisty librarian ready for anything in the previous ones; but this time, she is replaced by Maria Bello (American), who turns her character into a soft and fluffy bunny of woman, who is anything and less strong. She looks like Rick's mother than his wife, and her English accent was unconvincing too. The chemistry between Rick and this new "Evy" was poor. Even the brother Jonathan is reduced to bad comic relief, and a grown-up Alex, is played by a big-bottomed guy (Luke Ford) who looks like older than his dad; the saddest thing about both characters, was is that they speak with a fluid American accent when they are supposed to be British. The villain of this sequel is lame, while the previous mummy portrayed by Arnold Vosloo was terrifying, this new "mummy", portrayed by Jet Li isn't intimidating and he had an only ONE fight scene. The only actress who does her best was Michelle Yeoh, whom character serves as a Chinese version of Ardeth Bay.

Something good...a pack of yetis kicking the baddies' butts and celebrating like American football players; and comes the Dragon Emperor, who is really Toho's King Ghidorah. Godzilla didn't come because he is Japanese, although of course, that to America doesn't matter, for this, China and Japan it is the same. What is it trying to be? Fantasy? History? Myth? It ends up being a cloudy haze of a mess.

For the end, after defeating the Emperor, everything is happiness and fortune cookies, and Jonathan says "I wanna go to a place without mummies...Peru, for example". The movie ends with a postscript for a fourth movie that says that years after, mummies were discovered in Peru. Maybe would be Inca mummies.

If we could've just waited for Stephen Sommers, a better script, and have convinced Weisz to actually join the film with the better script (she declined this film because she disagreed with the script used), we could've had a nice return for the characters. Unfortunately, this big, dull, joyless bland return for the franchise may be the last we ever see, and its a bad way to go. Surely isn't terrible? Maybe average, right? I'm surprised to say it really is terrible. Unwatchable? Yes, it is painful to watch as you certainly feel heartbroken and insulted to see that a chance for a return for these likable characters was wasted off on a poorly executed effort like this, and to know there's likely no chance in hell we'll get another attempt to do so ever again.

P.S.: For all the reviewers who said that Maria Bello is a better replacement for Rachel Weisz for Evy's role (especially by that Rachel, who is Weisz's namesake); yeah sure, maybe you say it because Bello is blonde. Folks, when "The Mummy 4" (in my country, Peru) appears, don't wait for Rachel Weisz refusing once more to play Evy, and instead put the all-American Reese Witherspoon (learning Inca culture, martial arts and guns expert, speaking with an unconvincing English accent and voila!) to see if you like her (especially that Rachel, who sure was born in 1976). Bon appetit. But I warn you that if you sin of being open-minded, just go see Power Rangers.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Could have been more entertaining than the second one, if not for
rushmoras24 December 2017
Warning: Spoilers
A couple of things, which bothered me:

1) The Dragon Emperor's CGI. Would have been really impossible for the film-makers to just simply constantly make him look like a decaying mummy, instead of being encased in a bronze statue? Because the former was just bad CGI, and the latter would have been a question for a good make-up artist;

2) The ability of the Dragon Emperor to shape-shift. Sorry, but those scenes were just quirky. I understand that the film-makers wanted to show the audience "lo, and behold the might of this villain", but keep the dragons and stuff to the fairy-tale movies. Not Indiana Jones esque movies;

2.1) The same could be said about the Yetis in the movie;

3) So, during the end, The Dragon Emperor finally understood English? Another one of his supernatural traits or just an overlook from the guys responsible for the scenario?

3.1) The same could be said about the Chinese witch in the end. Do the fallen enemy solders understood English (because there was no English at that time) well enough for them to rise from their graves and avenge themselves against the Emperor?

Anyway, would have been looking forward for the fourth Mummy set in Peru (Jonathan's words), but, ah, well, you win some, you loose sum. All in all, not a bad movie, but some mistakes take the score away.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Unnecessary
elgichuhi25 November 2017
The Mummy Returns lacks what made the previous entries enjoyable.Director Stephen Sommers who reminded you nit to take the movie too seriously.Rob Cohen's direction is too serious for a movie about an ancient mummy that comes to life and wrecks havoc for a really vague purpose

Rachel Weisz,she was the heart of these movies and had great chemistry with Fraser that made you root for them in whatever silly situation they were in. Her Presence is really noticeable. There's a scene where her replacement tries to seduce Fraser's character and he falls asleep.You get the feeling she is trying too hard

The thing that makes this sequel is because its trying too hard to be so many things.It tries too borrow the father son dynamic from Indiana Jones 3 without understanding what made work.It rehashes the plot if the previous entries without improving on it and lacking their charm but HEY its better than the misfire that was (MUMMY 2017)
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Still a better Mummy Movie than the Tom Cruise one..
adonis98-743-18650328 September 2017
Warning: Spoilers
In the Far East, Alex O'Connell, the son of famed mummy fighters Rick and Evy O'Connell, unearths the mummy of the first Emperor of Qin -- a shape-shifting entity cursed by a witch centuries ago. The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor is the only Mummy film that i haven't watched since the time that it was actually released which is 2008 now 9 years later i can tell you that this movie has aged better in my opinion sure it's over the top and all that but it's still a fun action film with Brendan Fraser and Jet Li steal the show for the most part, speaking of Li i loved his look as the Mummy it was something different, cool looking and above all badass. Rachel Weisz not returning as Evelyn did bug me but Maria Bello is a great actress as well and she does try her best with the material that she was given, the action is indeed a bit more over the top than the previous 2 films with many strange creatures and battles happening, the movie is also a bit way to fast paced and i would have liked a bit more if it explained some stuff and just like with The Mummy and The Mummy Returns the cgi at times are a bit lackluster. In the end The Mummy 3 is a much better sequel that it gets credit for it has Brendan Fraser as Rick O'Connell for one last time and it continues and also updates the mythology of the Mummy Trilogy and let's all admit it it's far better than Tom Cruise's crappy remake. (8.5/10)
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
this is my favorite mummy sequel
zizin6 August 2017
This is probably my favorite movie and it has so much adventure beautiful locations and good humor,and Brendan Fraser still makes a good job in thismovie and the new characters are interesting and this reminds of Indiana Jones temple of doom between army of darkness and I was not disappointed about this movie plot it has good actresses and yeah this movie for me never gets old
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Cheap, Dumb, Reasonably Entertaining Schlock, Drained Of The Series' Signature Energy
jaredpahl5 August 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I should get this out of the way right away; The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor is stupid. The plot is goofy, the dialogue is banal, the actors are going through the motions, and the direction is ordinary. The thing is, nobody going to a movie called 'The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor' is expecting anything from these traditional pillars of cinema. This movie is made for 12-year-olds looking for something cool to daydream about and inner 12-year-olds who want a diverting two hours of adventure. On that front, how does this third Brendan Fraser led Mummy film hold up? Well, let's call it an admirable disappointment. From the perspective of a huge 'Mummy' fan, Tomb of the Dragon Emperor is a clear step down from the first two Stephen Sommers blockbusters. Mummy 3 lacks the energy, scale, and humor of The Mummy and The Mummy Returns, not to mention their director and star. With Rachel Weisz gone and Stephen Sommers relegated to producer, Tomb of the Dragon Emperor is clearly a lesser caliber popcorn blockbuster. For late summer entertainment, it gets by. The sets and costumes are pretty, the characters are likable, and the action is fun, but there is no escaping that old familiar feeling of franchise fatigue.

The most noticeable change for The Mummy 3 is the ancient history the filmmakers plunder for the story. Gone is ancient Egypt and, ironically, mummies. The background of Tomb of the Dragon Emperor is ancient China, where a ruthless emperor, played by Jet Li, and his army are cursed by Michelle Yeoh's immortal sorceress to become terra cotta statues for the rest of time. Of course the emperor has to be resurrected, so retired adventurers Rick and Evelyn O'Connell, as well as they're grown son Alex, can go through another series of conventional Indiana-Jones-style exploits. This is the type of story where there is a sacred book, curse, or crystal to suit any situation. There are admirable attempts to bring some familial drama to the stock adventuring, but the bottom line is, this is dopey, schlocky stuff. Not that anyone really cares about the plot of a Mummy movie.

What really matters in an action adventure like this is the action and the adventure. This is where Sommers' movies really shined, and The Mummy 3 comes up short. While the sets and locations are attractive (I can never get enough of hidden temples or secret tombs, and the Himalayan/ Chinese ones here are nice) the director, Rob Cohen, just doesn't have the skill or personality to bring the pretty pictures to life. Stephen Sommers is no Martin Scorsese, but when it comes to personality, energy, or even action staging, he is a major leaguer. Cohen is playing Little League by comparison. Still, what Cohen does with the action is satisfactory. The obligatory shootouts, fights, and chases are diverting, sometimes fun, competently helmed popcorn action. Brendan Fraser and John Hannah, two thirds of the charming and good-natured cast from the previous two movies, return, and they do what they can. The exception is Rachel Weisz, replaced by Maria Bello who tries her best, but can't match Weisz' natural enthusiasm. With Bello, everything seems forced. She looks like Weisz and behaves like Weisz, but she just doesn't have the spark that Weisz brought to the character.

In any case, The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor can't quite pass this fan's summer adventure test. The filmmaking is subpar, and there are no surprises to discover. It's a hacky job from Cohen, who fails to make use of the lovely set and costume design, as well as Brendan Fraser's always-welcome manic energy. It's not impossible to enjoy The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor. It's a high-concept popcorn adventure. That alone keeps me interested, but I can't, in good conscience, recommend the movie. For fans it will be a diverting but disappointing step down in quality, for those who never embraced the goofy Mummy franchise, don't bother.

52/100
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Most of the fun and charm offered in the first two films has all but disappeared by this point
jimbo-53-1865111 July 2017
Centuries ago, a witch Zi Yuan (Michelle Yeoh) puts a curse on an evil emperor (Jet Li) for killing the man that she loved. Several hundred years later Alex O'Connell (Luke Ford) discovers the mummified body of the Emperor and unwittingly leads to the Emperor being resurrected after he is stabbed in the back by his close friend Professor Wilson. Alex's parents arrive in China with the Shangri-La (a precious stone) which they intend to hand back to the Chinese. However, General Yang manages to get the stone from the O'Connells and begins the process of resurrecting the Emperor and his army; the consequences of which will have a catastrophic effect on humanity...

The first question that ran through my mind when this film started was where was Rachel Weisz? There are conflicting stories according to IMDb trivia explaining her absence from this film; one being that she didn't want to be away from her son for several months during filming in China or two that she didn't like the script... Hmmm I wonder which was the real reason?

As one other reviewer rightly stated it's hard to believe that Rachel Weisz would be missed from this franchise(until you watch this film). Maria Bello does try her hardest, but she isn't as good an actress as Weisz and her chemistry with Fraser is rather poor. This has a knock-on-effect with Fraser who sadly seems rather ill-at-ease in this film. Whenever I watched him here he looked uncomfortable and rather embarrassed and you're left wondering if he thought to himself "Hell maybe I should have bailed with Rachel". The performances are a big problem here and another issue lies with Luke Ford's portrayal of the O'Connell's son. Rather than just being his own character it felt like he was trying to emulate Brendan Fraser in the first two films, but he has neither the screen presence or the acting ability to carry this off. The Asian members of the cast fare much better with the likes of Yeoh and Leong putting in strong performances and Jet Li was good in the non-CGI aspects of the film.

The only person who seemed to keep in spirit with the original films was John Hannah who managed to make a lot of this film more enjoyable than it has any right to be - although even he has become less funny with each passing film.

I would only recommend this film if you absolutely loved the first two films because in this film the weaker aspects from the first two films are magnified much more. It's not as fun to watch as the first two films, not as charming, and not as entertaining. In fact, the kindest thing I can say about it is that it was, at least, slightly better than The Scorpion King.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
A failure to add another installment to a dead franchise
swilliky11 June 2017
Warning: Spoilers
The third and final installment in this Mummy series takes the adventure to a different part of the world while dipping in quality and recasting major characters. The story begins as all the others with a prologue of forbidden romance narrated by the witch Zi Yuan (Michelle Yeoh) about the evil Dragon Emperor (Jet Li). Centuries later, Rick O'Connell (Brendan Fraser) has settled into a simpler life. The recasting of Evelyn (Maria Bello) is a strange thing and feels very off for this installment. Maria Bello is a fine actress but this role was established in previous films and just felt off for this film.

Alex (Luke Ford0 has grown up and is on a dig in China. He invades the Tomb of the Dragon Emperor setting off every trap possible and getting nearly all of his coworkers killed, except the old man Roger Wilson (David Calder). He is attacked by a ninja, Lin (Isabella Leong) but escapes. The O'Connells head to Shanghai transporting an artifact back and to see Evelyn's brother Jonathan (John Hannah) who runs a bar. Rick and Alex have a bad relationship as the O'Connells find themselves navigating Post World War II China and being spied on. At the Shanghai Museum, the artifact egg that they brought to Shanghai is stolen by Roger Wilson, General Yang (Anthony Chau-Sang Wong) and used to wake the Emperor.

Check out more of this review and others at swilliky.com
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
A movie made for the box office and not for the quality.
Filipe Neto20 April 2017
This is the third and last movie of "The Mummy" trilogy. It had a big budget and kept (at least) one of the actors from the previous films (Brendan Fraser) but it cut with everything that had been done before, with a new cast and a story set in China instead of Egypt. The plot has moments of solidity in which it promises good entertainment, but everything falls apart due to the poor development of the story and poor work of the director and the generality of the actors. The best is undoubtedly sets and an excellent cinematography, but this isn't enough to make it good. Jet Li is the best actor here, achieving a very strong performance, but I don't know how much he has benefited with the weak participation of the remaining cast. Even Fraser was far from what we saw in two previous films! The film is loaded with poor quality CGI, too evident to deserve any credibility. Soundtrack is acceptable but doesn't have brilliance and doesn't stay in the ear. The film tries to maintain usual humorous comic strips we've seen in the previous two films, but it's such a weak humor that it's not funny, just stupid.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
The O'Connells must stop an ancient Chinese mummy this time
Tweekums5 February 2017
Warning: Spoilers
In ancient China the warlord Qin Shi Huang conquered the surrounding kingdoms, learnt magical powers and was declared emperor; that wasn't enough though… he wanted immortality. To this end he summons Zi Yuan, a sorceress, who has the power to make him immortal. She casts a spell then he kills his friend and closest ally, who is also Zi Yuan's lover. It then turns out she has cursed him and his army; he burns while his army turns to terracotta.

In 1946 Alex O'Connell, the son of Rick and Evelyn, the protagonists in the original two film, is searching for Qin Shi Huang's tomb. He finds in and, after surviving a number of traps, excavates it. Its contents are then taken to Shanghai. In an apparent coincidence Rick and Evelyn have been asked to transport the 'Eye of Shangri-La' to China. They are reunited with Alex just as they all learn that they have been betrayed; General Yang, a rogue military commander, has plans to use the eye to raise the emperor from the dead so that he can rule not just China but the whole world. The Emperor is brought back to life but is still effected by the curse; if he is to be free of the curse and raise his army the Emperor must travel to Shangri-La… something that the O'Connell's, along with Lin, a beautiful Chinese woman who is charged with guarding the tomb and has the only weapon that can kill the emperor, and Rick's brother in law, Jonathan Carnahan, are determined to stop.

This the third of the Mummy movies was entertaining for the most part; I liked how the action had moved to a new location… even if it was probably motivated by a desire to make money in China. The action is almost non-stop and for the most pert it is pretty exciting. Introducing Rick's son added a sense of danger as at one point it looked as though Rick was going to die and pass the baton as series protagonist to Alex. The cast did a solid enough job although I missed Rachel Weisz, in the role of Evelyn; Maria Bello wasn't bad in the role but I think it would have been better if she had been an entirely different character. Luke Ford was a good addition as Alex and I enjoyed Isabella Leong's performance as Lin. Michelle Yeoh impressed as Lin and Jet Li was okay as the Emperor… sadly most of the time he was hidden behind CGI so felt somewhat underused. As well as action there was plenty to laugh out; some of the gags were more groan inducing than laugh out loud funny but that didn't matter. Overall this isn't a must see film but it is solid enough and while there is a lot of action it is of the type that can be enjoyed by most ages.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
The very definition of meh
YourFamilyExpert17 January 2017
New director. New locale (China). Jet Li as the villain. Michelle Yeoh helping the heroes. New actress playing Brendan Fraser's wife. Abominable snowman. And yet, this all feels so familiar. We've seen it done before (and better) in the first two Mummy movies. This isn't terrible, it's just…meh. Fraser is good. The actor playing his son annoys the crap out of me (or maybe it's just how the character is written). The effects are great. The swordfight between Li and Yeoh (which could have been worth the price of admission alone) is neutered by up-close camera-work, poor editing, and un-inventive choreography. The jokes, which were "tongue-in cheek" bad before are now just bad. Meh. ** (out of five). PG-13 for violence and mild married innuendo.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Yetis Kicking Field Goals?
Griff551610 January 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Now let's just begin by saying this movie is bad... Yetis kicking field goals at the gate to Shangri-la, Ricochet Rick playing golf with mummy soldier heads, a shape-shifting Chinese Emperor, throwing chunks of your clay face as a weapon... I could go on. The point is, this movie was incredibly off the wall. While I understand that this goofy craziness was probably the plan all along, the reason why I did not enjoy this film as it was meant to be was because it was supposed to be a continuation of the Mummy movie franchise. For that reason, I think there was a certain line of craziness that was made by the previous two movies that needed to be stood behind to keep that element of continuity. Instead, this film takes it to a level that never should have been reached! Yes I laughed out loud at some of the silliness, and at times found myself enjoying certain action scenes / movie moments, but overall I am giving this a 4/10. It deserves some credit, but did I enjoy it? No. Was it a good way to end the O'Connell Mummy trilogy? Definitely not. Sorry guys, this one can rule in hell with the cursed Emperor Qin...
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
The Evil Hollywood Money Machine Rises From the Tomb...
paradux9 December 2016
I don't just like movies, I love them. Which is why I do reviews here and try to be "useful." Yet no matter how many movies I watch, I am always aware that the people who make these movies -- even the good ones -- are not themselves heroes or geniuses, they are merely regular folk trying to make a living. In other words -- the huge secret of the movie industry -- it is a business. And it needs to make a profit. And it needs to continually churn out product to feed the pipeline.

Never is this point more obvious than in films like this, films that reveal, if only briefly, the underbelly of Hollywood run by accountants and number crunchers.

This is a film where, after reading the script, Rachel Weisz, one of the main attractions of the earlier entries, suddenly developed a headache and turned down a few million dollars in order (I think) to avoid the embarrassment.

But Hollywood does not embarrass easily.

How did this film get made? Easy. Someone said "The earlier films in the franchise made us XX million and were seen by XXX people. The boys in the backroom tell me that if we do one more sequel, even if it is not very good, even we save money by having one of the teenage interns do the script between exams, then 32.8% of the audience who saw the last one is guaranteed to show up. And that puts us into breakeven. Once it goes to cable and digital, we will be into profit."

And those -- trust me -- are the people you, kind viewer, trust to bring you good entertainment.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
An Honest Review
generationofswine26 November 2016
Where did Rachel Weisz go? I'm sorry but it doesn't seem like a Mummy movie without her. I mean, they should have known, rarely do franchises or TV series survive when a key character is replaced by a new actor.

James Bond and Bewitched are the only two examples I can really think of. Other than than the quality sort of plummets. Audiences don't except it.

It would have been better just to write her character out.

But then again, it doesn't seem like a Mummy movie without Egypt, or even the Mummy.

So here you have a film with one of the main cast members replaced, another removed entirely, and the familiar setting totally removed. Of course people aren't going to like it.

And they didn't. It totally killed the series.

So now they are rebooting it and too soon. We can only hope they redo it entirely and shoot for a totally different Mummy movie, maybe a return to horror. just to distance from the reboot/remake" feel...but we already know they won't.

The action and the humor are still there, but the changes make you feel like it's a cheap copy. It feels like an after-market Mummy film.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Watchable ...Just
nicholls_les21 November 2016
I don't consider this movie quite as bad as some have made out. it isn't brilliant but fairly entertaining in places. The special effects were pretty good and the action for the most part not too bad. I don't get others problem with Rachel Wiesz being replaced as her character, played this time by Maria Bello didn't have very much to do.

However the movie could have been so much better. It had Jet Li in it, it was set in China, it had some pretty good Martial arts. It had the incredibly good Michelle Yeoh, Russell Wong and Isabella Leong so it had all the ingredients of a great movie, but it just didn't quite get there.

I think it hammed it up a bit to much and some of the cgi was silly. It seemed as if the director wasn't sure if he was making a spoof of Mummy/Martial arts films or an action movie, but he didn't do either very well.

Silliest part was the Yeti's, there was no point to them and it almost made me turn off (I did watch this on DVD and I did fast forward a lot)

I do think one of the problems with Hollywood, is that they never know when to end a series of films, (are we on Rocky 10 yet?) and the sequels seems to come out almost for the sake of it.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Atrocious
formaggia2 May 2016
I am trying to think if I have ever seen a more awful movie and I can only think of one "Carry on Columbus". To give the cast the title of actors would be a breach of the trade description act. The film has all the wit and humour of a funeral on a gray January. The special effects would have been bad 50 years ago. This has to be one of the most miserable offerings ever made. I had to watch to the end to check that the awfulness was maintained throughout. You know when yo watch a film that is so bad it becomes good? This is not one such film. It is so bad that you will want to go and have your memory erased. Truly atrocious in every way.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Stuipid
annaheartnaylor27 March 2016
This movie made slim to none sense, it was slow paced and the plot was all over the place. This Movie is stupid. Good effects though. You don't have to pay attention after that. I'm just writing random stuff now.. So. Potato, Potato, Potato Shark Cow. What am I writing -.- This is dumb. Yikes. OK. 1287 87878 9789. 7475 643786 9827019 8290831 -0984-9 385-740 1287198 7495871 9487549 8579834 65917346 598 1465894 5691485 61948 56194 -85 6-§9. 871 4865 =4608476 4=059 37509= 741 3098 7340 9856 7473 9501 9485 7109 2752 1097405 874095 7190 8409 374 039 2740 297 403. 8574 8965 8961 8345 -580 4375 12-0 8571 4-54 8037 5103 9745 2948 6723 8968 4935 71- 09238 571 0-9 34750 1972 435 0941 27.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
So Rachel Weisz was not in it. Big deal. Get over it.
jacobjohntaylor17 March 2016
5.2 because of what Rachel Weisz was not it. Real? Come on people it was fun and very scary. The Mummy (1999) is better OK. The Mummy returns it also better. But real is not an awful movie. For from it. This is better then The Mummy (1932). It very scary and has a lot action. Brendan Fraser has real interesting. Jet Li play a guy who come back from the dead and can turn into a three headed dragon. And people are worked because some also other then Rachel Weisz played Evelyn the pretty girl in the movie. Big deal. The actors and writes and director. And every one also in the cast and crew worked real hard and did really good job. Rachel Weisz is good actress. But do you no what so is Maria Bello. Brendan Fraser and Jet Li are also great actors. This is not the first movie made without Rachel Weisz and will not be the last. This one of the best horror movies from 2008.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
I like it! Defending an underrated hateful third Mummy ride!
ivo-cobra85 December 2015
Disclaimer: If you are a viewer that mainly prefers art-house-type movies, then you might as well ignore this review. In addition, if you're not able to take the third solid entry of the trilogy franchise, ignore this review, as well. We'll both be better off.

The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor (2008) is very underrated solid good third entry of the Mummy at least much better than The Scorpion King which that movie was really awful and terrible this one isn't! I prefer The Tomb of the Dragon Emperor over The Scorpion King. I have enjoyed this third movie I thought was a good movie. I am wondering I am the only one who did like this movie and wasn't annoyed with the cast Maria Bello and Luke Ford as the new replacements? It did not annoyed me, this Mummy was still fun to watch despite it went on a different direction. This film wasn't terrible, but if you think is terrible why are always the trilogy so underrated tell me why? Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines a solid flick better than reboot. Jurassic Park III better than the fourth movie, Blade: Trinity, Rambo III, The Godfather Part III and Beverly Hills Cop III. I like them all even tough they aren't so good and they are flawed movies.

Next Year we are getting a reboot of The Mummy with Tom Cruise in it. I don't think the movie will be great been PG-13 rating and ruining a classic film The Mummy including the remake of my favorite franchise. I am choosing this movie over remake simply is that. Another thing I want to say: Maria Bello did a good job been cast as Evelyn Carnahan after Rachel Weisz declined to reprise her role back for the third time. Brendan Fraser and John Hannah did return in this flick. The new director Rob Cohen from (The Fast and the Furious) did a good job, despite Stephen Sommers did not direct the film and almost had nothing to do with the film, except been a producer. Critics on this film were harsh on it despite the film went on a different direction. In this movie are also Jet Li, Michelle Yeoh and Russell Wong./: Jet Li and Russell Wong started together in the movie Rome Must Die (2000) eight years earlier. In my opinion the new cast the director and the writers did good job despite the movie was a flop, it is still good on, it's own way. People get to into the hype and get themselves all excited like a kid at Christmas and then of course no movie can ever live up to those expectations. This is a good action flick in the Mummy world. If you liked the mummy returns, then rest assured you'll like this movie.

When a 2,000-year-old curse is broken, a ruthless dragon emperor (Li) comes back to life with a diabolical plan to enslave the world. Mankind's only hope against him and his legions of undead warriors lies with the courageous O'Connell family, who chase him from the dangerous catacombs of China, to the icy Himalayas and beyond. Featuring intense battle sequences, breathtaking visual effects and extraordinary creatures, it's a thrilling journey that Roger Ebert of the Chicago Sun-Times calls "the best in the series!"

The only one problem with the film I have the mummies are in China, there are no Mummies in China!! The story was really lame even tough they made a different version of the trilogy, that is the main problem.

I am a hardcore fan of the Mummy trilogy and I do agree this movie has more flaws than The Mummy Returns has and It is lame, but is not that bad people. If you liked the first two movies why not liking this one? Geesh! You love Indiana Jones and The Last Crusade but you hate The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor that is lame for me! I am giving a 6/10 I don't care what you haters say or are you with me or not, I thought on it's own way was a good film and Brendan Fraser did a good job in this movie. Stop bashing it! If you don't like it than don't watch it I have enjoy it. The action sequences were good and the villains did a perfect job.

Brendan Fraser and Jet Li star in the action-packed adventure The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor! When a 2,000-year-old curse is broken, a ruthless dragon emperor (Li) comes back to life with a diabolical plan to enslave the world. Mankind's only hope against him and his legions of undead warriors lies with the courageous O'Connell family, who chase him from the dangerous catacombs of China, to the icy Himalayas and beyond. Featuring intense battle sequences, breathtaking visual effects and extraordinary creatures, it's a thrilling journey that Roger Ebert of the Chicago Sun-Times calls "the best in the series!"

The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor is a 2008 American action adventure horror film and is the third and final installment in the Mummy trilogy. The film stars Brendan Fraser, Jet Li, Maria Bello, John Hannah, and Luke Ford.

6/10 Grade: B Studio: Universal Pictures Alphaville Films, Relativity Media Starring: Brendan Fraser, Jet Li, Maria Bello, John Hannah, Russell Wong, Liam Cunningham, Luke Ford, Isabella Leong, Michelle Yeoh Director: Rob Cohen Producers: Sean Daniel, Bob Ducsay, James Jacks, Stephen Sommers Screenplay: Alfred Gough, Miles Millar Rated: PG-13 Running Time: 1 Hr. 51 Mins. Budget: $145.000.000 Box Office: $401,128,639
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Bury This Junk in a Tomb.
Python Hyena11 August 2015
Warning: Spoilers
The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor (2008): Dir: Rob Cohen / Cast: Brendan Fraser, Maria Bello, Jet Li, Michelle Yeoh, John Hannah: Not exactly an improvement on the successful franchise fueled by special effects and complete nonsense. The Dragon Emperor is revived after a curse placed on him by a woman whose lover he murdered. He wishes to become immortal but is stopped by those who hadn't the opportunity to employ their talent to a better film. Director Rob Cohen loses control quickly. He is responsible for bringing the world Dragonheart and The Fast and the Furious. Brendan Fraser is back and his irritating son is grown up and rising Dragon Emperors. Fraser is no Harrison Ford and here he seems to be running the same stupid drill. Maria Bello plays his wife because Rachel Weisz probably realized just how stupid the script is. Jet Li plays the ill tempered Dragon Emperor who can shape shift. Li can do these types of roles and here he goes from being slain, to being revived to wage war. His defeat is one of those dim explanation bits leaving us wondering why the weapon actually works. Michelle Yeoh plays the woman who cursed him due too the death of her lover. Or perhaps she was so angry about being cast in this junk that she decided that she needed to take it out on someone and Li seemed fit. This pointless visual fantasy should be vanquished down that tomb called the toilet. Score: 1 / 10
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
The Yak yacked!!!
FlashCallahan17 July 2015
Warning: Spoilers
It's 1946 and Rick has retired and Evie has changed into Maria Bello, who is also now an author. After a bit of espionage during World War II they decided it's now the easy life for them.

The only problem is that they are becoming bored ,so they jump at the chance to deliver a precious gem which the UK government is returning to China.

Jonathan is now running a nightclub in Shanghai, and they are surprised to also find their son Alex, who is supposed to be at university, is on an archaeological dig with an old friend, Professor Roger Wilson.

They soon find themselves involved, as a corrupt Chinese General needs the gem to resurrect Emperor Han and his army who have been dead for thousands of years......

The first two Mummy movies weren't the best thing in the world, but Sommers and Fraser gave the movies the desperate edge that they needed. Unfortunately, despite the sound plot, and the flowing narrative, the film just feels desperate.

Like the same years Indiana Jones movie, this three-quel feels like its trying to pass the torch to Alex, in order to restart the franchise for a new audience, and it just tries too hard. Fraser is as good as ever, Bello is a wonderful replacement for Wiesz, but the chemistry is lacking between the leads.

Hannah goes full bonkers as Jonathan, cranking up the hilarious sidekick knob to eleven, and spoiling the charm he had in the previous entries, and the biggest mistake is that Li is totally wasted in his role. Had he not been CGI for the majority, it could have been a lot more tense, but it's a special effects movie, so what can you do.

But it's still fun, it's just missing a the chemistry between the cast that the first two had.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Better on a second viewing
bowmanblue14 January 2015
I'm writing this review after sitting through the third instalment of the popular 'Mummy' franchise. Basically, on my first viewing I didn't really like it. In fact... I couldn't really tell you anything that had happened up until I'd watched it through for the second time, so it was basically like watching it fresh. However, I am glad I gave it a second chance.

Let's get this out the way first... No, it's definitely not as good as the first and not even as good as the second, but it is watchable.

I loved the first 'Mummy' film. Granted it will never be remembered as a 'cinema classic,' but it was the perfect blend of fun and silliness that all the family could enjoy on a Saturday afternoon. The second outing was okay, not as good – a little formulaic, but okay. Here, the cracks to show, but it does pick up enough in the second half to warrant at least being talked about alongside its two predecessors.

The most noticeable thing about 'Part III' is that Rachel Weisz is absent. Her role has gone to Maria Bello. And, sadly, Bello doesn't seem that comfortable stepping into someone else's – well established – shoes. Therefore, the chemistry between she and Brendan Fraser does suffer. As does their combined chemistry with their (now grown up) son, Alex. Instead of our old Mummy (now finally dead, obviously) we have Jet Li – who is sort of a martial arts expert mummy who also just so happens to want to take over the world.

Perhaps its major drawback is the plot. It's basically the same as the previous two, only with some of the cast missing and the ones who remain looking tired. John Hannah is a welcome return, he still maintains his natural banter with Brendan Fraser which is a nice respite from the similarities.

However, for all its – many – faults, I couldn't help but enjoy the second half. Yes, it's a rehash, but it's a fun rehash. The yetis are cool and the final battle is probably the best out of the three films. So, as long as you know what you're letting yourself in for, i.e. that it's not as good as the first two, you should find it an okay little distraction. If you've never seen any of the Mummy's offerings, it's probably best to start with the first and see if you enjoy it before dabbling with parts II and III.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Popcorn fluff cash-in
Adam Peters4 October 2014
(46%) A second sequel made for the benefit of the money men, rather than the audience, as this ticks boxes like a grocery list. There's the same shooting based action of the other two, the near indestructible mummy bad guy, and a chase through a built up city that feels cut and pasted. Brendan Fraser is largely the same as he was in the other movies, which is both a good and bad thing; although losing Rachel Weisz is the stuff of TV sitcoms. Jet Li is hardly in the movie as himself, rather than a CG monster, and he's maybe one of the blandest bad guys ever. On a plus side though there is a lot of action, even if it is too shakily shot, and there is some fun to be had; but is is a very forgettable, overly hectic watch.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Good
Harriet Deltubbo5 September 2014
I find it impossible that anyone associated with this film expected the audience to buy this. This is one of the worst movies ever, and that's why you must see it. It is more unintentionally funny than most actual comedies, and it provides as much entertainment value by accident as many movies do on purpose. Here is what I think happened: the producers decided that they wanted to cash in on the franchise one more time. The scriptwriters cooked up another story. So what do we get? We get sludge. You can tell that everybody in this movie knew that it was a stinker, so why try? Maybe the worst thing about this movie is that deep down, beneath the bad acting and the awful script, there were some okay ideas. This one shows up on satellite somewhere every once in a while, and if you can catch it, I recommend it.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Entertaining Popcorn Flick
two-cents-worth7 July 2014
In a media currently jam packed with assembly line comic book movies, The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor, thankfully, stands out and apart.

A quibble I do have with the movie is the absence of Rachel Weisz. Her charm, engaging smile, quirky presence and chemistry with Brendan Fraser in the previous instalments of the Mummy series, is sorely missed. Maria Bello was not up to the task of playing Evelyn.

Apart from that, The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor is a highly entertaining popcorn adventure despite some flaws.

The negatroids really jumped on this film. If you want to find flaws in this movie, there are opportunities to do so. But, if you are looking for an entertaining story well presented rather than nits to pick, then you may well enjoy this movie as I did.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews