Inside (2007) Poster

(2007)

User Reviews

Add a Review
249 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
4/10
stopped in its tracks by unbelievable characters and behavior
GnarlyBark30 June 2009
Warning: Spoilers
if you are going to make a horror/suspense/gore flick that wants to be taken seriously, like this one obviously does, first of all you need believable characters that the viewers can take seriously. unfortunately "À l'intérieur" sets a new standard for ridiculous and inexplicable character behavior.

*SPOILER* the supposedly "scary" antagonist is a fairly skinny woman who manages to kill 4 grown men including 3 armed police officers, one male teenager and 2 other women...with scissors and knitting needles. this is mostly possible because the officers in question obviously never received any kind of training in how to manage potentially dangerous situations and suspects and pretty much everybody except for the main protagonist fails to put up any kind of resistance whatsoever. little wonder really. since the killer-woman is obviously super-human, any resistance would be futile. she can enter a locked and barred house without making any kind of sound, she can see perfectly in the dark where others need flashlights, she can somehow grab a knitting-needle hidden in her sleeve while a fairly strong looking police officer has one of her arms locked behind her back and she obviously has some kind of hypnotic powers that force everybody to turn their backs to her even though she's highly suspicious and hold perfectly still while she takes her sweet time to stick them with super-human strength. *SPOILER END*

it's really sad too because technically the movie is fairly well executed. the camera and lighting work nicely, the gore effects are fairly convincing, the sound effects are juicy and the music brings some fresh ideas to the table. best conditions for a suspenseful scary gore-flick...if only it wouldn't be lacking so much in substance and believability.

4/10 for the technical aspect but i would only recommend this movie to someone who's seen EVERY gore flick there is and just HAS to see one more.
42 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Useless Trash
pearl182 May 2010
Warning: Spoilers
I can only blame myself for having watched this ludicrous film to the end. After all, it was on cable and all I had to do was change the channel. But I didn't and now I'll have hideous images burned into my memory for a long time to come. The plot is so unbelievable that it is humorous.

A pregnant woman who is about to give birth at any minute is allowed (and chooses) to stay home alone on Christmas eve in a remote area. Her best friend, mother and doctor all oblige, of course. Yeah, right. After a psycho woman in black (who knows her name and personal situation) knocks on her door asking to use the phone, the pregnant woman calls the police who later reassure her that "she won't come back" and she hence decides to spend the rest of the night alone anyway. Yeah, right. Oh yes, I forgot to mention that she is a seasoned photo journalist hardened from the trenches at the ripe old age of what, 25?

It only gets worse. The psycho woman manages to magically appear in the house, terrorize the pregnant woman with scissors, buckets of blood and gore follow. A squad car comes by later to check on the pregnant heroine, the two cops realize something is up (perhaps it was the two slashed bodies in the stairway or the girl with her hand pinned on the wall with scissors?) and manage to be killed by psycho woman before even calling in for backup? Yeah, I can buy that. Then the remaining two people from the squad car, a cop who has leashed himself to a perp they arrested, decide to go investigate only after hearing shots, again without calling for backup. Psycho woman takes them down too all alone. Did I mention that the perp was a north African teen they arrested due to riots going on in the presumably nearby projects that night? There must have been a social message there but I was too nauseated to notice.

The worst part of this film, aside from the silly plot, shallow characters and senseless gore, is undoubtedly Beatrice Dalle. Why on earth she chose to accept such a ridiculous role is beyond me. Although perhaps it's because she hasn't had much work since the cult classic Betty Blue in 1986? She is unattractive, unbelievable and frankly annoying. How she has remained even on the fringes of the scene for so long baffles me. But now I'm getting personal.

My only reason for taking the time to write this is to purge my self-loathing for having watched such trash. People will undoubtedly watch the film despite anything they read here, and judging from the glowing reviews on this site, there must be something that I missed. Actually, that's quite a relief.
56 out of 76 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
gore, gore, gore... and then some more gore
translator1 October 2008
Warning: Spoilers
The only shocking thing about this slasher is its rating - 7.0?! Obviously, some people are REALLY easy to please/shock.

First off: if the events take place on Christmas (totally irrelevant for the plot, by the way), why is all the foliage GREEN (as in late-summer green)?! And this is not Australia, mind you, this is France. Call me pedantic, but such "oversights" are inexcusable and foreshadow all the bad that is to come.

Secondly: the occasional in utero CGI shots of the baby (besides being completely unnecessary) are so laughably cheap that I can't fathom how come MORE people didn't find them tragically detrimental, especially since more often than not they appear when the "tension" is at its highest and totally destroy it.

Thirdly: comparing this flick to "High Tension" (another French slasher over-hyped by patriots and the easily shocked) might mislead those who've seen it into believing "Inside" has some "psychological" undertones (i.e. that the killer is a projection of the protagonist's alter ego, like in "High Tension"). But it does not. This is as physical as it gets.

A basic rundown of the plot (SPOILERS AHEAD!!!): A pregnant couple has a car crash in which the guy dies. Sometime after, the grief-stricken pregnant widow Sarah gets attacked at her home by a "mysterious" woman, who apparently wants to harm her and/or the baby. Is she real or is she a figment of a conscience burdened by the "survivor's guilt"? Is Sarah symbolically fighting some inner demons? Is she another Rosemary from "Rosemary's Baby"? Nope. Turns out, the attacker is very much real: she was also in that car crash and lost her own baby. And now wants to take Sarah's as her own, killing everyone in her path.

Boo! It's like all interesting movie premises have already been beaten to death and sucked dry, so what you get is one-dimensional, improbable nonsense like this.

What unfolds in between is some of the most unlikely string of events you're ever going to encounter on celluloid, all heftily slopped with buckets of gore. Logical behavior goes out the window, as "plot development" only serves to string two ridiculous gory scenes together, and with it any chance of this movie rising above the slasher level. Now, that may be fine if that's your cup of tea. But "Inside" wants to be so much more.

The problem as I see it is two-fold. Firstly, most people have grown numb to blood and violence. I've spend my childhood in a war zone in Yugoslavia and can blissfully slurp a tomato soup while watching even the most goriest scenes around. Others have grown numb through news, internet and an overabundance of movie violence. Now, that may be unfortunate psychologically speaking, but for aspiring horror directors it means they must try harder to scare and scar us than by drowning their flicks in self-serving, senseless gore.

Secondly, even those faint of heart will grown numb if you beat them over the head with non-stop pointless violence. It gets to a point where it starts being comical. Like in the last "Rambo".

Back to the plot. If your viewer is perplexed by the illogical behavior of your characters and is constantly going "Why?", how do you expect him to be shocked? For instance, Sarah never attempts to escape through the bathroom window (or any other windows, for that matter). The woman (a regular citizen up until then) manages to outmaneuver and kill three (THREE!) armed police officers, because police is, naturally, incompetent. When Sarah comes in the room looking for a weapon to defend herself, instead of any of THEIR weapons (including a grenade launcher), she goes for a POKER! Logic? Anyone? And then, later on, possibly exhausted by all the gore, she goes to bed mid-action and falls asleep like a baby, only (of course) to be attacked by the ever-awake killer woman. She even manages to inadvertently kill her own visiting mother, mistaking her for the killer: an implausible event which serves no other purpose then to give us a nice shot of a squirting jugular and up the ante on the "sickness" with some unnecessary matricide.

To a similar end, you also get a scene in which one of the officers (previously shot pointblank in the head) magically resurrects and proceeds to beat SARAH (not the killer woman, mind you) with a truncheon across her pregnant belly (why? WHY?!), causing Sarah to spurt buckets of blood from her vagina. Sick? Would have been, if the scene made ANY sense at all. And if it wasn't interspersed with yet another laughable shot of the pathetically computer-rendered baby inside her.

And the score? Sudden, loud, cacophonous sounds during "scary" scenes. Yaaawwwn.

I could go on and on about all that is wrong about this movie, but anyone still reading this has already wasted enough time on it, so do yourself a favor and don't go watch it too (a benevolent advice that far too often goes ignored around here - myself being guilty as charged too).

A shallow, illogical mess of a movie for the faintest of heart and undemanding. Pulls nothing but cheap gory punches. Go revisit "Rosemary's Baby" for the 100th time if necessary.
96 out of 141 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
This crap gets a 7.1?!?
guy2826 May 2009
Warning: Spoilers
I have to say I'm a pretty big horror buff and it's been quite a long time since I saw a film as offensive and irritatingly stupid as Inside. The story concerns a young pregnant woman who is menaced in her home by another woman who wants to steal her baby. One wonders why the villainess doesn't wait until the baby is born to sneak in and snatch it (the story reveals she's waited 4 months already and the baby is due to be delivered the next day), considering the incredible ease that she sneaks into the house undetected. Things might have gone better for her. Of course, this would cheat the hack filmmakers from the money shot they can barely contain themselves for: the ugly extended shot of a woman being cut open with scissors (love how passively our heroine endures this, by the way). This review could go on and on for pages cataloging the ludicrous behavior of the characters, but I won't bother; rest assured, though, this movie has an extremely high "oh, come on!" quotient. I wonder in what alternate universe a woman the size of Beatrice Dalle, carrying only the aforementioned scissors, could break into a house and kill 6 people, 3 of them armed with guns, and not get caught or killed. Welcome to the world of Inside.
87 out of 133 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Laughable attempt to disturb
Cujo1083 May 2010
A mother-to-be is menaced by a strange woman who traps her inside her own house. What does the stranger want? Why, her unborn baby, of course. This film received a great deal of praise from the horror community, but when I watched it shortly after it's U.S. DVD release, I didn't think it was worthy of any of it. Since I blind bought it back then, I figured I might as well give it another chance. Alas, this film didn't improve at all upon my second viewing. French horror seems to be all the rage among fellow genre fans these days, but where films like Haute Tension and Martyrs succeed at being more than envelope-pushing for the sheer hell of it, Inside fails miserably.

I'm a fan of Béatrice Dalle. She's fantastic in 37°2 le matin, and her menacing performance is easily the best thing about this film. To be frank, it's the only thing this mess has going for it. Alysson Paradis is the victim, but pregnant or not, the film didn't give me much of a reason to invest in her character. Clearly, this kills any potential suspense factor. Another suspense vacuum is the rampant idiocy on display here, most notably from the police. A cop's two partners just disappeared into a dark house where gunshots emanated from. Am I to believe that the moron would head into the house with his latest arrest handcuffed to his wrist, all without calling for backup? Then there's the thing with the circuit breaker, and it's just absurd. I also didn't care for the inside shots of the baby at all. I thought it was an awful idea, made all the more annoying by the obvious CGI and ridiculous expressions the baby would make. Was I supposed to be disturbed whenever this popped up? If anything, it was amusing that the directors thought this would work in any way, shape or form.

Now, onto the film's sole reason for existing... The gore effects are wet and brutal. They're not always convincing, but they're very graphic. And that's all there is to Inside. Honestly, this thing is basically just one big excuse for pushing the envelope with gore effects and attempted shock factor. There is no depth, no suspense, no scares... It's a revolting bore. I'm surprised by how well-liked it is. This belongs at the bottom of the barrel with other French drivel such as Sheitan and Frontière(s). The only true horror that comes from watching this is realizing that something so bad is actually being praised to the heavens.
92 out of 144 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
One of the most shocking and effective horror films I have ever seen.
tonymurphylee7 December 2008
For several many years, the French have been putting out unusual horror movies. Les Diaboliques(1955) was one of the most notable examples. Recently, French horror films have been all about extremities. Calvaire(The Ordeal) dealt with sexual misunderstanding, bodily torture, and dementia and the most extreme cases of disturbed behavior in order to build tension, horror, suspense, and even twisted dark humor. Haute Tension(High Tension) was an homage to the early films of Wes Craven, adapted for the 21st Century. It was initially rated NC-17 by the MPAA and, while I personally didn't care for it and found it silly, it was hailed by fans of horror as a return to the early days of splatter shock cinema. Sheitan(2006) was a return to backwoods horror combined with horrific elements of Satanism. Recently, Frontier(s) was a successful European extreme version of torture porn American films such as sAw and Hostal that catered to the audience's bloodlust by delivering the gore in a way that those films failed to. Now, we have INSIDE. All I can say is that this film proves that it is the French that are making some of the most demented films. After watching this, I truly wondered whether the French people had or had not gone completely insane. This is one of the few horror films I have seen that just does everything right. It deserves to be put with the original Dawn of the Dead, The Texas Chain Saw Massacre, Rosemary's Baby, and The Shining as one of the scariest films ever made. It is also one of the most polarizing and disturbing films I have seen. If I were to describe this film in one word, it would be extreme. This is most definitely one of the most extreme films I have ever come across. It's the first film that has been put on the Dimension Extreme that really deserves to be on there. Dirty Sanchez was basically just an English Jackass:the Movie but with more gore and more shocking acts(big whoop). Broken was a silly B movie. Teeth and Black Sheep were just gore comedies. Inside is where it's really at!

The plot is very simple. It is about a pregnant widow and the events that transpire on Christmas Eve one night in which a mad woman invades her home. This may not sound that bad to read, but trust me when I say that things go from bad to worse. The film is 80 minutes of increasingly shocking and inhuman acts of cruelty, extreme horror, and a very high amount of suspense. It just gets worse and worse. This film makes every torture porn movie look completely quaint. Imagine Halloween but pumped up on steroids.

This film starts out incredibly bleak and depressing in the first 20 minutes. Then it turns shocking really quickly. Then it goes from shocking to cruel, to immoral, to extreme, to nearly unwatchable, and then finally completely unwatchable. About 30 minutes in, I had to pause it and collect my thoughts. I couldn't believe what I was watching. I had no idea that this film was as shocking as it was. However, if I had known that the film would only get ten times worse in just 2 minutes, I probably would have been too scared to watch. This film doesn't mess around. It is an uncommonly effective piece of film-making. It is one of the most depraved films I have ever watched.

So why should people see this? If it's so disgusting and horrible, why should people bother getting these images imprinted in their mind? I think this film deserves to be watched because it is simply the best of it's kind. Not only that, but it is one of the few horror movies that shows women being in power rather than men. It is, in it's own twisted way, the ultimate chick flick. The two women in this film that battle it out are two of the greatest female characters I have seen in a horror film. The main female character, in particular, is kind of like a woman from a Russ Meyer movie! There are parts of this film where she TRULY kicks a lot of ass. I watched this wanting to cheer for her. Add to that a great twist that leads up to an ending that is one of the creepiest endings ever, a couple of very emotional moments that are tear jerking, a great musical score, haunting and gorgeous cinematography, and some brilliantly done gore, and you have one of the greatest French horror movies ever made.
122 out of 205 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
This is not a horror movie.
mihaitza_000010 April 2008
Warning: Spoilers
Firstly I got this movie because everybody said it is great.But a was very disappointed because i didn't get scared at all.It makes me puke when i see those stupid scenes but it is not scary!!!!!I don't think u know what a horror movie is if u gave this 7.1.but for those that like blood,blood,blood and only that it is a good movie.

I still don't understand why were the characters so stupid!Why didn't Sarah run when she had the chance??Why didn't the police call for reinforcements???Why did the police send Sarah in a room while she was bleeding to death and not take her to the hospital??How could Sarah stay in bed bleeding and knowing that a murderer who wanted to butcher her was in the house??That is so unbelievable...

And what is whit the zombie?????Wasn't he supposed to be dead?

This movie has no sense,no original idea,nothing frightening,it is just a bloodbath.It is more an action movie than a horror.This is what i think..
61 out of 99 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Eat a Turd burger you will enjoy that more.
tapatriarca20 April 2008
Warning: Spoilers
just finished watchin this dross and im here to tell you it was the worst shite I've seen in many years. I am a fan of horror even cheesy slashers, but man this was just so awful. stupid plot, worse acting un sympathetic characters and unbelievable all the way. (yeah,officer take that perp into the house you just heard gunshots from whilst having him tied to you on a leash) oh yeah and did i mention a zombie? cop that needs to fix circuit breakers?? Think im kidding? I am not! Yeah there is a fair amount of blood letting in this film but an exploding head is just that if it has no empathy behind it. anyway i don't generally comment on films to much but i just thought i should warn you all because it has such a high rating on IMDb and it was watched based on that.
78 out of 131 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Not impressed
p-stepien21 October 2009
Warning: Spoilers
Mother-to-be Sarah (Allysson Paradis) and her husband are participants of a morbid car crash, which takes his life leaving her and her baby relatively unharmed. Life is not all that great afterwards and as can be foreseen she becomes depressed and not much of a people's person. Four months later Christmas is here and she is still expectant with child. Long overdue a forced labour is planned the following day.

That night a dark woman (Beatrice Dalle) arrives at Sarah's door asking for help. Seclusive, anxious and alone Sarah declines to help. Wise decision, as it soon becomes apparent that this woman in black is not here for help, but for Sarah's child.

I guess my main issues are the plot holes plus the unnecessary death count to a movie that promises to be much more subtle and psychological. In the end it almost plays out like a teen slasher movie. I was taken back by the gore and utterly disgusted by some of the scenes... This may suit some viewers, but this just isn't my type of horror movie.

The thing however that killed it for me are the gaping plot holes in a plot that is lets face it... is brutally simple (but at the same time promising).

The culdesac of the movie is when the Police arrive... The mysterious women starts killing left and right firing gunshots and causing general mayhem. This alerts a remaining cop who is waiting in the car outside of the Sarah's house. One would think this is a great time to call for reenforcements. No, the cop decides to enter the house - get this - taking with him an arrested civilian. Fine. He then finds the morbid murders in the house and stumbles upon the beleagered Sarah. One would think this would be the best moment to call for reenforcements... No... several minutes of golden opportunities to call in reenforcements later... yes, you've guessed it... the cop gets killed. And the two protagonists get a chance to go head-to-head once again without any pesky policemen to bother them.

I guess the underlying statement of the movie is: COPS ARE DUMBER THAN A DOORKNOB.

Albeit mothers, chief editors and pregnant ladies aren't much smarter. Situational example: You are stuck behind a door. You have just made a hole in the door knowing that the killer is lurking outside. You know the doorknob that will open the door is to you left. You have two options: a) Reach for the doorknob with your left hand, which means having to wriggle you wrist and arm into unnatural positions, as well as causing you to lose sight of what is outside the door; or b) Reach for the doorknob with you right hand without having to exert yourself and at the same time keeping an eye on what is happening on the other side of the door. Guess which solution is chosen by Sarah? Yep. The retard choice of a).

I understand horror movies don't need to be plot-hole free. But this movie takes itself too seriously for its own good. And such bigger or smaller defects just irk me in the wrong places. It promises something intelligent, but offers stupidity.

The acting however is top-notch and Dalle/Paradis going at it is quite impressive. Hopefully the planned remake of this movie will focus - as promised - more on the psyche and less on the gore. Which without any doubt in my mind was superfluous and distracting. This may go down to the script which was very basic and additional gore scenes were added to make this movie last more than 30 minutes.
23 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Simply awful.
DylanDog277 November 2008
Warning: Spoilers
Too bad the vote scale doesn't include zero. One star is simply too much for this feeble movie making attempt. Gore for gore's sake is simply not enough to bring a horror movie to a quality conclusion. I understand the need for making it as realistic as it can be, but really, does blood really have the color and consistency of intestinal content (as depicted in a scene where skinny psycho pierces guy's head through a pillow)? At first I thought the story would focus at those two women, confined in a house making it psychological as well as physical. But then people start entering the scene where they're being picked one by one like flies. And by a woman weighing 100 pounds no less. I can't say I'm a fan of gore moments, in fact I try to avoid them as much as I can, not because they make me vomit, but because I don't deem them important for an adrenaline rush which is the sole reason all of us love this genre. This movie contains only gore moments. The story is poor, illogical and impossible at the same time. Yes, I understand 'impossible' is a common element in horrors, but this one feigned reality and therefore failed miserably.

Don't waste your time. Watch Japanese horrors and feel 10 pounds lighter after them. Forget about this pretentious piece of ...
47 out of 76 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews