IMDb > Ten Dead Men (2008) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Ten Dead Men
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Ten Dead Men More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 28 reviews in total 

22 out of 25 people found the following review useful:

BDSM, Homo-Erotica, MMA and lots of Bad Acting

4/10
Author: Ryan Hunter from United States
17 December 2008

I was hoping that "10 Dead Men" was going to be as good as "Rise of the Foot Soldier." The premise/plot is a decent yet typical tale of revenge while the fight choreographing is superb. The acting, dialog, cinematography and editing are horrible (i.e. terrible directing).

The small budget excuses the poor cinematography and editing however it doesn't excuse the bad acting, dialog and overall horrible directing.

The film seems more a vehicle for sadistic homo-erotica than serious story-telling with lots of violent BDSM, torture, transvestites, and big burly men.

As a Mixed Martial Arts (MMA) fan I was offended by the film's portrayal of MMA competitors as brutal, blood-thirsty, mindless goons.

The entire film is summed up in one scene halfway though the movie. Two of the main characters are mindlessly watching TV on the couch. The supporting actor channel surfs past an MMA fight to a porn channel which bores and annoys Ryan (the main character). Ryan then takes the remote and returns to watching the MMA fight and is visibly excited by the action.

If you're looking for a film featuring homo-erotica, BDSM and MMA to watch with your guy buddies then this is the flick for you. However if you are looking for a good action film like "Rise of the Foot Soldier" look somewhere else.

Don't be fooled by a high IMDb rating of this film. I watched it as it had an IMDb rating of 8.1/10 with 156 votes. After watching the film I am very certain that the entire cast and everyone they know voted a 10 for this movie.

I rated it a 4/10 as the fight choreographing is superb.

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

Proper Tripe.

1/10
Author: joker_greenhouse from United Kingdom
27 January 2009

I never give up on a film, but I jacked this one in after only 20 Min's just now. Bad camera shots, equally bad editing and sound post production. The score is one of the worst I've ever heard. I really could knock up up better one right now (even the instruments/sounds used are cheap ass midi tacky rubbish).

And to cap it all, (bearing in mind this is meant to be a hard bloke sorta film), it's only got Lee Latchford-Evans from a crappy British Village People-esquire pop band called 'Steps' that destroyed the airwaves for a good ten years or so.. trying to act hard/gangster. Even if your not British and don't know who he is, it's still not gonna sit right.

I get the feeling the whole thing is devised and made by inexperienced, retired cage fighters still high on after show testosterone fuelled steroid binges.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Brilliantly Awful

1/10
Author: M_R_G from Northern England
10 May 2009

Ross Boyask & Phil Hobden have created, in this movie, a work so awful that it is utterly compelling.

If you remember the dreadful photo stories from the girly teen comics of the 80's, (so brilliantly parodied in UK adult comic Viz) then imagine a moving picture version with violence, and you will be most of the way toward understanding the feel and presentation of this film.

The storyline itself, is a poor version of The Crow, without all the coolness of course, and without the exceptional feeling of empathy for the main character. Where The Crow had dark, brooding, Gothic brilliance, with a classic and memorable score, this movie failed at everything... except at being bad, that is. If revenge story lines were drinks, The Crow would be a fine vintage Champagne, whereas 10 Dead Men would be p*ss flavoured water.

Where it fails in the storyline department, it fails equally as spectacularly in the action genre department. The fight scenes are patently contrived and badly executed, and the gore effects brilliantly poor.

The acting itself is so appallingly bad, that the viewer is forced to consider the possibility that Boyask abandoned the traditional auditioning route, and instead opted for the less orthodox method of approaching likely looking characters in bars, and asking them if they wanted to be in his movie. Seriously, the acting is so bad, that at times even the walking looks strained and put-on.

Doug Bradley's narration seals the deal. It comes across as a badly written afterthought; an addition to the moving picture storyboard. It's almost as if the director realised that the acting talent within the cast pool was utterly incapable of putting the rather tired storyline across, and threw it in as a necessary evil. The movie is however, all the better for it.

And therein lies the brilliance in this movie. It is so unintentionally bad, that it compels you to keep watching, right up to the rather predictable and clichéd ending. One needs to look to the deliberately awful genius of Peter Jackson's 1987 movie "Bad Taste" to see this sort of dreadful. Where movies deliberately made this bad miss the mark of awful by the very act of trying to be such, this movie succeeds in spades entirely by accident... It is that which makes this movie worth watching.

I would have loved to have given this movie a 10 vote, if for no other reason than the maker's sheer lack of shame for releasing it. In the end, I gave it one star, because awful REALLY IS the best description for it... and that's why you should watch it.

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

Stop calling this a film please

4/10
Author: crazynorweegian from United States
14 February 2009

I could only get about 3 minutes into this video. Most of the reason for this is because it is, in fact, a video and not a film. This is an important distinguishing feature, because the use of a video camera here has made the piece look amateurish despite some decent camera work and far above average editing. Everything is there to make this a mediocre film... except the film. A better camera and an actual professional sound crew would have made this video something worthy of the video rental vending machine I got it from. Unless you are a film student and want to view this from the point of view of a director/ editor, then I strongly recommend that you avoid spending any money on this at all.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Not the worst film....but not far off!!

1/10
Author: david-3354 from United Kingdom
4 November 2009

This is absolute tripe!! Terrible acting by most, if not all of the cast. I watched this for about half an hour thinking it couldn't get any worse....but it did. I only watched it because Terry Stone is in it and I thought Rise of the Footsoldier was excellent. Avoid this film....it is 90 minutes of your life you won't be able to get back. BAD BAD BAD BAD. I do wonder what people think of when they are making garbage like this? Do they honestly think this is a good piece of film making? I would love to hear what the director/producer have to say about it. It makes it into my all time worst 5 films. It is years since I saw something as bad as this. I love this type of film but this one falls way short on so many levels. The acting is rubbish, the sound is rubbish, the directing is rubbish.....and did I mention the acting???

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

cheap but fun

3/10
Author: colinhawksby from United Kingdom
28 May 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Ten Dead Men is one of 2 low budget films I watched recently.The other was Jack Says.The 2 have quite a bit in common- they start with someone being tortured by gangsters, girlfriend is murdered,revenge etc.

Whereas Jack Says tries to be cleverer, 10DM just charges in like a Bull in a China Shop and uses the plot as an excuse to shoehorn some brutal fight scenes into the story.

Brendan Carr is the lead..playing a proper psycho he is believable and ( unlike Jack in Jack Says) quite intimidating.All the heavies in this film seem more than capable of damaging someone.

We only see his girlfriend briefly but she seems very sweet..just the type to take him out of his criminal life.

Production values are rubbish..at times this looks like it was filmed on a mobile phone.There is little dialogue and the story is driven forward by a narrator..Pinhead from Hellraiser.( He must need the money badly). He is the wrong choice to play the voice over of the lead character....he is far too posh.

This is not a great film by any means but it is the sort of thing you might enjoy with a few beers

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Yikes! AVOID!

1/10
Author: rjpurves from United Kingdom
22 January 2010

This film is so utterly dreadful that I couldn't finish it. It's obvious that the "actors" were just martial artists plucked from a gym and had no acting ability whatsoever. There's been no story development past whatever gangster films the writer/director and producer decided to use elements of and lastly there's a voice-over ... which made me cringe every time I heard it, and insisted on telegraphing the story.

The story is not so much conveyed to us, but dictated to us which is just sloppy. Didactic films are not the way to go here.

It's at that point I stopped the DVD and checked out the IMDb. Guys, you proudly proclaim that this is your 40th film together. Did you actually bother learning anything from the previous 39? Things that are essential in film-making such as story, character, frame composition, lighting, sound design, music and directing? It's obvious that while you have the talent (or luck) to get projects off the ground, you've no idea about how to execute a film.

In summation, either watch a bunch of really good films and learn to see how they work ... or just stop now and let other people have a go. I really hope this isn't representative of your body of work but i've an odd feeling it is.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Trash. If you want a random laugh watch. If not, KEEP AWAY!!!

1/10
Author: luis691991 from London
12 February 2011

This is by far the worst British film I have ever seen. An absolute disgrace to my eyes, ears and general well being. Its suppose to be a 'action thriller' but turned out to be the unintentional 'Comedy of the year'. Me and my mates had a right good laugh at this tripe. God knows where we stumbled upon this steaming pile of dog toffee but it was soon discarded from my presence. I hate it that much it has a special place in my heart. We watched it several times and even viewed the 'making of', what a top laugh that was. I was tortured with the theme tune, little quotes and reminders of scenes to this day. All in all the term 'hate from the pit of my stomach' is thrown around too much these days but Ten Dead Men really fits the bill. The cast and crew should be ashamed of what they have done and let loose on the unsuspecting public. Ten men took Ryans life way. Ten men had to pay. Including Brendan Carr, Lee Latchford Evans, Terry Stone and that idiot 'the Projects Manager'.

AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

Gory but action packed

8/10
Author: heleng-2 from United Kingdom
10 December 2008

I saw this film by chance a few months ago, and winced in some parts of this film as it is a little gruesome, but it certainly kept my attention right to the end. The film's fast moving, and has been well shot and edited, despite its low budget, and I loved the very dark comic tone, and the gusto with which the anti-hero got his revenge. The story held my attention well, and I particularly liked the performances of the two funny characters Parker and Garrett, who provided some comic relief to the hard-hitting action. There's a good cast of British character actors and there's a twist at the end that's a bit of a shocker, but also left that satisfying redemptive feeling that you get from a well-rounded film. Definitely worth a Saturday night's viewing - would be even better to enjoy on the big screen, but I think like a lot of indie movies it's tough to get cinema distribution, so this film should do well on DVD.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

typical Brit mobster flick but low on brutality

5/10
Author: trashgang from Midian
24 November 2011

This flick was sold at a horror convention due the name Doug Bradley. Horror geeks do know who he is, pinhead from Hellraiser. Naturally, by using his name the producers thought it would sell well. Doug isn't in the flick at all, he's just the narrator.

It even got nothing to do with horror, it is more a mafia flick were one is taking his revenge for killing his girlfriend. 1O people were there so ten men had to die. This is a British production and by doing so you have to dig the accents used. But it's all understandable. The last year I have seen a few revenge flicks coming out of the UK but this one here isn't that brutal. It's rough and merciless but I have seen rougher flicks like for example A Day Of Violence. Still, due the merciless fight scene's it isn't for the easily offended. The red stuff do flows but the torture is done off screen. So it's easy to see that it was a low budget. Personally I expected a little more from it but it fits in the line of British mobster revenge flicks. And there's a bit of relieve of fight scene's due the goofy couple Parker and Garrett.

Gore 1/5 Nudity 0,5/5 Effects 2/5 Story 3/5 Comedy 1/5

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history