IMDb > The Last Request (2006/I) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Last Request
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Last Request More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 19 reviews in total 

6 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

terrible!!!

2/10
Author: seanprussel from United States
1 November 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I watched about 45 minutes and gave up on it. I am a huge Danny Aiello fan, but he lost it unfortunately with age. He tries too hard to be funny and it doesn't work here. It was interesting seeing an aging Barbara Feldon (in her 70's but still pretty hot)for a couple of scenes, but that's about it.

Starts out with a sexually and nerdy repressed church choir boy, and his stud brother who's dying father's last request is that one of them gets married. So the Stud brother gets married and while on his honeymoon, (I think?) he croaks while getting laid. You see his wife's screams of ecstasy is enough to break glass, so glass shards falling on him from a mirrored ceiling does him in. (Believe it or not,funny,not) So, that leaves the nerdy son, and now I think the father's last request is that he gets laid 1st,and then gets married.(never explained that) Weird premise that gets boring fast.

He goes about trying to meet woman by way of strippers and escorts. One scene is where a stripper gives him a lap dance and the stripper actually goes into convulsions because she has some type of allergic reaction to his cologne.(This is the type of humor we are dealing with here) Then he tries to consult with an escort. The escort appears to be a washed up porn star who imitates a female Godmother to satirize the Godfather's famous Don Corleone. Yup, very dumb and again painfully not funny.

Oh yea, and there is nothing funny about seeing an elderly woman fall down a flight of stairs and then as she lays at the foot of the stairs the whole movie. The family just ignores her and goes about their business cracking jokes with out anyone helping her. I found this to be disturbing even though they were trying for some type of slapstick humor(I think they were going for a naked gun humor here,and it's not even close)

There seemed to be many scenes with old time Italian actors just thrown in there because they are Italian and really do nothing to help this sad movie. When Joe Piscopo came on as the nerdy boy's mentor, I just bagged it, I had enough .(Maybe its just me, but has Joe Piscopo ever made a good movie or even been the slightest bit funny since his old SNL days?)4.3 is well deserved, But I gave this stinker a 2.0!

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Excruciatingly Execrable

1/10
Author: JesTor from United States
3 August 2009

The funniest thing about this movie are the phony glowing reviews written here at IMDb. They have obviously been written by the writer/director (or possibly his mother) of this abortion of a movie. This movie was so bad it inspired me to waste time reading through this drivel and adding my own comments. How embarrassing for the great cast to be associated with this dog of a movie. Is it possible this was written and directed by a couple of 9 year old boys? That would explain a lot of the fear-of-women humor. What's really impressive - or depressing, you choose - is that this woofer raised enough money to get made and attract an amazing cast. It strives for the inspired silliness of Airplane but falls far of its mark. I think the rock bottom was the Siamese twins business.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

A comedy that makes you laugh for a change

10/10
Author: alexandercandy from United States
24 April 2008

This movie was different from the very first scene. Without giving away the gag, the phone TR Knight uses was hysterically blasphemous (I think that's how it's spelled). The Honey moon scene has me on the floor, it was viciously romantic which made it even funnier. It took me a while to realize that the old retired actor in the home, run by Mario Cantone, was Tony Lo Bianco. It was a great makeup job.

It seemed like the movie went from one funny scene to the next, each one getting crazier, none more crazy than the Jiffy Pop birth scene. It had an element of Mel Brook's Young Frankenstien and Woody Allen's inventiveness. Although the story was simple and I knew where it would probably end up I had no idea who it would get there. The casting was great. It was fun seeing Joe Piscopo play such a funny outrageous character without going over the top. There's so many funny scenes I find myself wanting to tell them but I don't want to ruin the fun for you. This is probably one of the more unusual romantic comedies I've seen. It has a sweet story that blends with almost airplane like jokes that fit. It's fun. Rent or buy it, you'll enjoy it.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Could only stomach 15 minutes of this stinker

2/10
Author: sparktom from Okla City, OK, USA
8 July 2008

Danny A. is no comic master and I should have learned that from "Hudson Hawk." No, in a flick like this he's more into yukking it up on his own end, and not the audience. Laughing all the way to the bank would be my guess.

I wasn't kidding, 15 minutes was all I could invest in this crap, and the only other movie I had left to watch was a foreign film that looked riskier. It wasn't, thus, a low-budget horror offering from New Zealand beats Danny A. and company. It wasn't even close.

Danny! Stick with mob movies with lots of blood. There's still time. Avoid comedy, Dan.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Astoundingly, horrifically bad

1/10
Author: seelyoh from United States
13 December 2009

I have seen this movie. It is awful. The only way this thing could possible have 10 star reviews is by the film maker family and friends doing them.

This movie is unwatchable, it is horrible. The acting is okay, but the story itself, and the writing, are unbelievably, excruciatingly bad.

I rented this piece of crap due to its 2 5-star reviews in Amazon. Figured it was worth a shot for a Friday movie night with friends. No. It was not. 5 people watched. The reactions to said movie ranged from really stupid and boring to absolutely horrible.

I do not understand how they managed to bet a fairly good cast together for this. Were there blackmail photo's lying around? Were favors owed?

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

A very funny movie

10/10
Author: BILL PITCHER from United States
24 April 2008

It's just plan fun. Nothing deep. Nothing profound. Nothing controversial, well maybe one thing, a sight gag but I won't get into that here.

This is an coming of age story that takes a familiar trail but the the twists and turns in the form of odd ball characters make this enjoyable ride full of strange treats.

TR Knight from Grey's Anatomy plays the lead, which by the look of him was shot before the TV. It's almost like his character George started here and grew into what it has become on the TV show. His death bed ridden father is played by Danny Aiello, who hams it up as an old time comic, who despite his failing health can't stop laughing at his own jokes. Mario Cantone is great as a want to be at one time actor, who runs an actors retirement home and take his job very seriously in a very funny way. The story is about a kid trying to please his father but in don't so he's really pleasing himself. And it seems like he was the last to know. Sabrina Loydd plays his love interest and they seem to fit better than the matches they made for him on Grey's anatomy. If you're looking for a movie to feel good about and laugh at without getting a bombarded by profanity and body functions jokes than this is your baby. Which is what the movie is really all about.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

This film in hysterical

10/10
Author: lastjack from United States
24 April 2008

I was watching this film with a group of friends and we were hysterical. I had first seen this in New York when it won the New York Independent Film and video festival. The audience there was laughing just as hard as my friends.

The humor is off beat with constant surprises. And Danny Aiello is brilliant and the dying dad who was a former comic. The one liners are great and delivered like an old pro. TR Knight is brilliant as the former seminarian. Gilbert Gottfried, one of the familiar cranky voice, was used cleverly. He never said a word. The comedy mixed strangeness with warmth and it worked.

My friends think this could turn out to be a cult film.

I highly recommend it.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Cult film potential and a great cast!

10/10
Author: (sfurer-1) from United States
24 April 2008

This writer/director, John Debellis, reminds me of Woody Allen in the early years. It's hard to believe that this is somebody's first film! And how did he get all the well known actors to do the production as a relatively unknown in the film community? I thought Mario Cantone was perfectly cast and it was wonderful to see T.R Knight on the big screen- and this was before joining Greys Anatomy! I guess the director spotted this talent before the networks ha ha. I loved the Godmother scene- the actress was amazing and it was directed very well...I recently read that the film won best director at a film festival in Italy. The Jiffy Pop birth scene was like vintage Woody- this writer has an incredibly offbeat imagination! Barbara Feldon was wonderful- hysterically neurotic! Great to see one of the Sopranos guys, Vincent Pastore as a priest- one of my favorite scenes!Great story and I thought that the DP did an absolutely incredible job. I look forward to seeing more films by Debellis. I'm shocked that it's not in theatres!

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

The Last Request is one of the funniest films I've ever seen

9/10
Author: johnnydeck from United States
24 April 2008

From the very beginning the film had me laughing and I knew I was in for a very unusual ride. Somehow the writer director managed to blend off beat with even more off beat with a some warmth, especially towards the end of the movie.

Tony Lo Bianco and Mario Cantone shared a scene in the church and they were more like a comedy team than two actors working together in a movie. The biggest name in the movie was Danny Aiello who was brilliant as the over the top dying pop. T.R. Knight was perfectly cast as the nerdy son who has to work through all of of his fears on a quest his dying dad wouldn't take no for an answer. He was also matched perfectly with Sabrina Loydd the girl he doesn't know is the one. It's a simple story but anymore and the outlandish jokes wouldn't have worked. This is charming, funny film that somehow is kind of sick at the same time. I loved it. I'm glad I rented it. I'll have to thank the friend who turned me on to this little gem.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

T.R Knights Film Debut is great!

10/10
Author: garlic03 from United States
26 April 2008

I was looking forward to seeing Greys Anatomy star T.R Knight on the big screen- he was amazing! This director chose well- (this was cast way before Grey Anatomy was even written) Mario Cantone was perfect as the frustrated actor- manager of a senior home for retired actors, and Vincent Pastores scene as a priest was amazing! Barbara Feldon was on point as a neurotic mother in denial of her husbands pending death... Dan Karlock, the Director of Photography has won some Emmy's for his own work and I know the editor Bob Reitano, came from Woddy Allens arsenal- very appropriate because if you've ever seen this director/writer John DeBellis' work, and his stand-up it is very reminiscent of early Woody Allen. John DeBellis- we want more!

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history