Halloween Night (Video 2006) Poster

(2006 Video)

User Reviews

Add a Review
20 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
5/10
Burn Victim = Zombie???
FrightMeter15 November 2006
Clearly an attempt to cash in on the success of other Halloween-themed slashers, "Halloween Night" offers nothing new to the genre. However, new offerings does not equate to entertainment, and this movie certainly entertains. For a low-budget DTV, it certainly isn't terrible...I have seen much worse.

The BAD: A weak script, and sub-par acting are this films main faults. Many have posted opinions of the guy who plays David's acting--honestly, I didn't have a big problem with him. That is probably because NOBODY was good in this movie, even Rebekah Kochon who gave a good performance in "When A Killer Calls." None of the actors seem to be really into the film, which is problematic. The script is laughable in parts on the dialogue really consists of nothing but high school hallway banter. The films looks like it was filmed all in one day, and yes, the killer resembles a zombie much more than he does a burn victim! Have the filmmakers ever even seen a burn victim???? I'm pretty sure they don't like they just climbed out of a coffin after decaying for 15 years. I also felt extremely let down by the ending....it was pretty predictable and by-the-book, but also very rushed. There wasn't a big chase scene and really no suspense as to who was gonna live/die.

The GOOD: Some pretty decent death scenes are about all this has going for it, and they aren't even THAT great. Also, the killer here is pretty ruthless and viscous, which some genre fans might find refreshing. But mainly, this entertains because of the old "it's so bad it's good" cliché, and sometimes, like on Halloween eve, that's all I really need out of horror flick--entertainment, no matter what its source. Still die-hard and picky slasher fans should probably just stick to watching the original "Halloween" for the 30th time.

My Grade: D-
13 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
What the hell was that
Horrorible_Horror_Films4 November 2006
This is an entertaingly bad b-horror movie, but like all movies like this the bottom line is its just horrible. I really really hated Derek Osedach who played David Baxter, he really really sucks. I'm not sure what they hell he was trying to do for his 'performance' in this film. Its so laughable, I guess he was trying to improvise and ad lib, but he kept stumbling, and sounded so ridiclous, one of the worst acting jobs ever, honestly he gives the guy from El Chupacabra, Eric Alegria, a run for his money for the worst performance ever given in one of the worst movies ever made. Where was the director on this dumbass' acting? Well I guess this may not be one of the worst movies ever made. It does has satisfying killings. You end up hating the characters and are happy when they get brutally killed. That is the halmark of a true b-horror movie - characters so annoying you root for the killer.

However, the greatest thing about this movie is the hot girl-on-girl action! And I'm not kidding, there are a couple of hot chicks that get naked and get it on a couple times during the movie. most excellent. The nudity in this movie is one of its few good points. The music was really really well done too, but the one string melody was interesting but overused. But the script, acting, directing, camera work, etc all sucked big time.
14 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Halloween Night acting)
stephaniemosley12 November 2006
I have to agree. The guy who plays "David" in this movie is one of the worse actors I have ever seen. The effects were good, the storyline was OK, but the acting really sucked for this guy. Even the killer, Chris Vale, did a better acting job than this David character and he didn't even have any dialog in the movie. Shows how bad of an actor this David character really was. I have noticed that the guy who plays David has directed a few B-movies. I think this guy should just stick to directing and leave the acting to the professionals because he totally get a thumbs down for me. The other characters in the movie did an OK job. Now, the woman who plays David's girlfriend, Shannon, her acting was OK, up to the part where she gets tied up and starts squealing like a pig. That was the annoying part of the movie. But everyone else in this movie did pretty fair as actors.
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
medley of slasher movies
wrlang11 November 2006
Halloween Night is about the psychotic adventures of a child who grows up in a mental institution after witnessing his mother's death and also getting severely burned and disfigured. He runs around in a costume on Halloween slashing the heck out of everyone he sees, mostly young scream queens. Some lesbian scenes and a modicum of nudity add to the offensive nature of this film. A few really well scripted scenes make it watchable. Some good musical scores and some bad cinematography. But overall it is a take off on many previous slasher films. If you're looking for some naked girls and a lot of screaming and slashing, this is for you.
8 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Halloween rip-off from The Asylum, surprisingly not as bad as much of their output...
Paul Andrews17 August 2008
Warning: Spoilers
Halloween Night starts as a young boy named Chris Vale (Sam Stone) witnesses his mum (Jan Anderson) get raped & then murdered before being horribly burnt by a jet of steam from a pipe. Jump forward 'Ten Years Later' on 'Halloween Night' where Chris (Scot Nery) is now locked up inside a mental asylum with a face that looks like a McDonald's hamburger, he escapes & kills teenager Todd (Nicholas Day Clark) & his girlfriend who were on their way to a Halloween party organised by their friend David (Derek Osedach). It just so happens that David is organising this Halloween party in the house where Chris used to live & he heads there dressed in Todd's Halloween costume & everyone mistakes Chris for Todd which lets him move about freely killing everyone he meets for no apparent reason...

Directed by Mark Atkins I settled down to watch Halloween Night yesterday & I feared the worst, being made by those folk at The Asylum who specialise in ripping-off big budget well known Hollywood blockbusters (affectionately known as Mockbusters) with the vast majority of their product being amongst the worst films you could ever have the misfortune to see but rather surprisingly I though Halloween Night was a fairly reasonably watch & not a too bad little Halloween (1978, 2007) rip-off that does what it sets out to do. The script by Michael Gringold will feel very familiar who has watched any sort of 70's or 80's teen slasher, although the title is obviously taken from Halloween there are elements of Friday the 13th (1980) with the killers mask resembling Jason's more than Michael's & the basic idea of a horribly burnt maniac killer is taken from The Buring (1981). To give it some credit at least there's a steady stream of dead bodies & killings, there's a nice amount of sex & nudity including a bit of lesbianism & a deliriously awful double barrelled twist ending that doesn't make any sense. The ending claims that Chris' father placed some wood effect sticky strips over a door, shut him self in the small room & committed suicide & no-one found him in the ten years since! Wouldn't the door handle or the door frame give away that there was a room there? Do you know the smell that a dead decomposing body would have given off? All the fly's & maggots would have been hard to ignore! Then in the final twist David is accidentally killed by his girlfriend after he is mistaken for the killer & placed in a body bag! What? Wouldn't the police & medical examiners actually have checked his face? I mean Chris is so burnt I really doubt anyone could have got the two mixed up. Then the final scene show's Chris being picked up at the side of the road with a paper plate placed over his face with two eye-holes cut out, would you stop to give someone wearing a paper plate over their face a lift? It's just a totally insane ending that makes zero sense & that sums up films from The Asylum quite well in that when they go for simple blood, guts & nudity their films are OK in a crappy sort of way but when they try to write twist endings or good scripts & plots then they fall completely on their face & look stupid.

As usual for an The Asylum film Halloween Night looks like it was shot on a camcorder although the special effects are better than their usual output. Out goes the horrible CGI & wisely the makers went with proper on set prosthetic make-up effects, there's various stabbings & impalement's, some effective burn make-up, a slit throat & a ripped out throat, some guts, a rotten corpse, a fair amount of blood splatter & Halloween Night is maybe the only slasher to feature death by clothes hanger! There's nothing scary here but if all your looking for is some cheap gore effects & naked chicks then I suppose it delivers.

This isn't as badly made as many films from The Asylum but that's not saying much as there really isn't anything to it & when a bit of film-making is required when the twist endings come along it all falls apart & becomes hilariously bad & inept. There's not even any reason given why Chris would want to kill anyone anyway, is there? The acting isn't anything special & I am sure the actors used were cast for their looks rather than their acting ability.

Halloween Night is a Halloween rip-off with a bit of Friday the 13th in their as well & a modern Scream (1996) style twist ending which is just plain stupid. For what it is I thought it was OK, at least it actually delivers what it promises with a fair amount of blood & boobs & it's short.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
'The Asylum' flat out HATES horror movie fans
movieman_kev27 February 2007
Christopher Vale witnesses his mother brutally raped and killed before being hideously burned and being sent to a mental asylum. Years later some local dweebs get together and throw a party in a nearby cabin. But good old Chris has escaped from the nut-hut to terrorize them. This 'Asylum' outfit has produced 50 some movies, you'd think one of this would be actually watchable, right??? Well you'd be wrong as this film's as awful as all the other films under their banner. It doesn't help that Micheal Gingold's story is hopelessly contrived, dreadfully acted, and deathly dull. I don't mean to single out Gingold exclusively (I'm still sore from suffering through "Leeches"). Oh no, the blame can be spread liberally from the director who has yet to make a decent film on down to the atrocious acting and further down to the sloppy editing and mediocre special effects. Awful with a resounding capital A.

My Grade: D-

Eye Candy: Jan Anderson, Alicia Klein, Stephanie Medina, Erica Roby,and Amanda Ward all got topless. (but you can see Stephanie's twin talents in the MUCH, MUCH better low-budget film "the Janitor")
7 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
A Nice Throwback to Slashers,Monsters,and a studio caring...
Chris Mackey (guestar57)19 October 2006
HALLOWEEN NIGHT theasylum.cc Written By Michael Gingold, Directed by Mark Atkins. Starring Derek Osedach, Rebekah Kochan and Scot Nery. So,There are tributes to Psycho,Halloween and Friday the 13th…The Badguy very much resembles JASON© as original boyish self from the lake.I really liked this film from theasylum,It has a look and flavor that will make rentals happen.The make-up is good and use of blades more than guns look fresher.Derek Osedach(see interview) does a different acting style,That we wonder if rest could keep up with.Rebekah Kochan reminded me of REGINA CARROL (Al Adamson's wife who co-starred in most of his films),That Scream Queen who is too well liked to get killed.Scot Nery does a wonderful job as monster,Was hoping it was Eric Spudic inside,Size was right.Erica Roby STEALS the film as The Strong Lesbian,She did a great fight scene with Scot Nery and Saved wardrobe, So Much money .The downside would be all the red herring points and cops that didn't ring true, in character.So,What have we learned …This is a Theasylum flick of a different color,Based On David Michael Latt memories.
8 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
A Halloween with rubbish treats.
morrison-dylan-fan1 June 2010
Warning: Spoilers
When a friend of mine recently asked me to look round for some fun looking horror films,i,spotted a pretty good looking DVD cover to this film.Though now i have seen the film,i feel that it does not live up to what i was hoping to see from the cover.This is partly due to some of the worst shot slasher/killing scenes that i have seen in a while.

The plot:

A guy who has been held in a maximum-security prison for ten years,kills two guards and,decides to go back to his old house.Where as a kid,he saw his mum get brutally raped and murdered.But,unknowingly to him,in the ten years that he has been in jail for,the house has been turned into a place for students to have Halloween parties!.

For this years party,one of the students is planning to scare everyone at the party,by having him and a few of his friends pretend that there is an insane killer on the loose in the area.When the real killer returns to his old house,the prank starts to go very,very wrong...

View on the film:

The first thing i have to highlight is the guy that played the troll,who blocks the entrance for the party goers,that injects some really good comedy moments into the film,with a fun performance.To my pleasant surprise,i actually enjoyed seeing the section of the film where the prank is played out.With the gun standoff being pretty entertaining.Sadly,the rest of the film seems to try every thing it can to crush any good horror moments out of the film,by having all the murder scenes,including the two creative ones (one involving a clothes hanger,and another with a seat belt.)being cut in a very badly done way,with the all the killings looking like they were filmed on a budget of 20p.The main thing that i was shocked about with the film,was how badly the story lines had been written,with parts of the plot making no sense at all (such as the "killer" being held in prison,even though everyone knows that he did not kill his mum,and there being no sense at all in the flashbacks of him killing anyone at all!!)

Final view on the film:

A film with some very badly made slasher scenes,and a poorly written plot.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Plot Holes Galore!
Garp02323 January 2007
Warning: Spoilers
It's too bad that the makers of "Halloween Night" didn't submit the cover art to their DVD to IMDb. It's awesome: an evil looking jack-o-lantern has a hand gripping a butcher knife coming out of the top of it. The hand is covered with pumpkin guts which, if you look closely, has the bodies of the killer's victims blended into it. It is far and away the best thing about the movie.

But now, if you will, consider the rest of the DVD box. It claims to be based on a true story. The plot has a young boy see his mom raped and murdered in 1982. He is horribly burned in the attack, but ten years later he escapes from an asylum and returns to his home, where a huge Halloween party is going on, steals a costume from a victim, and infiltrates the party. Because the party involves a huge prank, no one realizes he's actually a killer, even as he goes around murdering partygoers.

So...based on a true story, huh? Apparently one of the producers used to throw Halloween parties involving pranks, and once someone escaped from an asylum while one of his parties was going on. But the escapee never came it to the party and no one was actually killed, making the 'based on a true story' claim even more meaningless than usual. It's kind of like me making a movie where I marry Sarah Michelle Gellar and say it's based on a true story because we were both alive at the same time. Sub-moronic.

The cover art also says, "In 1982, Christopher Vail was sent away after his family was brutally murdered...10 years later, on Halloween night, he returned". The back cover elaborates: "Based on the terrifying true story that started it all! Based on the actual events on Halloween night, 1982, an inmate of a maximum security medical facility escapes after brutally murdering two guards. Upon returning to the house when he was born, he goes on a killing spree that will make him Southern California's greatest mass murderer".

And let's break it down. The true story that started what all, exactly? If the events occurred in 1982 or 1992, that's still years after such films as "Halloween" or "Friday The 13th" used similar story lines, so I doubt it inspired them. And again, nothing like this ever actually happened, so how is he Southern California's greatest mass murderer? And why limit it just to Southern Cali; why not just say California since the whole thing is a lie anyway?

Most confusing is the fact that the film, according to everything the cover art claims, takes place in 1992. Yet everyone drives modern cars and uses cell phones and laptops of models which were not around in 1992. There's a lame reference to Melissa Etheridge when two lesbians take the screen; the singer didn't actually come out until after the release of 1993's 'Yes I Am' album.

Some other things:

  • The killer (supposedly burned, clearly wearing a bad mask) stuffs a rag into a girl's mouth but doesn't tape over it, yet the girl is unable to easily push it out with her tongue.


  • A body is hidden in a closet; someone then boards over the door frame and covers it with what appears to be contact paper. Despite the fact it doesn't match the pattern of the rest of the wall, sticks out a good three inches from the rest of the wall, and has a smelly, decomposing corpse in it, no one notices it for ten years. I would assume, since two people were murdered there, a cop might have noticed it at some point.


  • When a girl taking a bath has her throat slit, blood dribbles out of a make-up appliance on her neck which doesn't even match her natural skin tone. Yet two seconds later, the tub is filled with blood.


  • A blonde bimbo is somehow able to disarm a cop and shoot at someone over his shoulder before he can react. In addition, most of the gunshots leave exit wounds that splatter the walls but have no entry wounds.


  • The cops set up roadblocks and have photos of the escaped killer, but never think to check his old house to see if he might be there.


As for the rest of the film? It was filmed pretty well and had a couple of decent effects shots. But there is zero suspense, the acting is simply atrocious (I'm talking sub-porn level here, which makes sense because I'm guessing most of the actresses came straight from that industry), and the film's tone veers between boring and improbable (my favorite scene has one the lesbians, while naked, kicking the killer's ass). Asylum Home Entertainment is quickly becoming to go-to company for really bad, cheap rip-offs of better movies, and "Halloween Night" shows why.
5 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
What a horrible film
sirian33314 November 2006
As I cruised thought the video store seeking entertainment on a dull night I happened upon Halloween Night. Not being a big fan of b movies I almost passed it by(and now wished I did) after reading it's plot summary and thought how similar it sounded to the plot of Halloween. But it's sell point to me was that it was based on true events. Well after seeing the documentary of what those "true events" were a party a prank and an escaped mental patient who actually never was a guest at the party. That being the case most movies should use the caption of based on true events for example sitting down or talking with friends or renting a bad (and I use this term loosely for this "film") horror film to make a film. The makers of this film must have known it was bad to use that term to try and sell the film. The acting bad. The girlfriend looked like a reject from a bad porn flick. Appenently a prank was pulled on anyone who watched this. I felt cheated. Maybe Asylum should go into making lesbian porn flicks which seems to be what they are dare I say good at.
7 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
One of Asylum's better movies
nodoubt-712 March 2007
Well, I gotta say that this was the best Asylum movie I've seen so far. All the others were spin offs of blockbuster movies ("The Da Vinci Treasure," "Snakes on A Train," "Pirates of Treasure Island"...) which honestly sucked. Even though this storyline is old, the plot was understandable and smooth for a change. The killing scenes were pretty decent, although the blood seemed fake in a couple of cases. The only thing that bothered me was David's fidgety speech. I couldn't understand what he was saying half the time. I think Asylum should stick to making horror films (I believe it's what they first started off doing), which seems to be what they're better at.
4 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
not bad at some points for a Asylum production
trashgang8 January 2015
I have seen so many flicks coming out the hands of The Asylum and the latest were full of cheap CGI. Luckily, this one doesn't has any CGI. The effects used are done on-camera. So far so good, but there are still some problems.

The story itself is a pure rip-off of Halloween (1978). A killer returns to town to do some killings on Halloween night. But just have a look toward the killer. He's a mixture between, Jason (Friday the 13th) and Michael (Halloween). But it's so easy to see that the burned face is just a mask. So on part of the make-up it's rather ridiculous. But what did surprise me for a Asylum flick is that it do has some gory shots with intestines being teared out and throats being sliced on-camera. Not only that, there is also a bit of juggs to see here and there and some lesbian love scenes.

Some parts are boring and doesn't add a thing, others are word picking up. Not that bad at all for an Asylum flick.

Gore 1/5 Nudity 1/5 Effects 2/5 Story 2/5 Comedy 0/5
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
The "terrifying story" of Chris Vale...
TheLittleSongbird14 November 2013
For The Asylum Halloween Night is not too bad, they have certainly done much worse. Even with that taken into account, Halloween Night is still not a good movie. There are some things that are done reasonably, some of the daylight scenes are shot nicely, the music is a good mix of jaunty and eerie, Scot Nery does bravely as the one character that we come close to rooting for and there are some gory and imaginative slasher death scenes(honourable mention must go to the hanger death which is just hilarious). There have been worse-looking movies from The Asylum, but the special effects are poorly rendered, the editing is sloppy for much of the movie and some scenes especially the first 10-15 minutes are really amateurishly shot. Chris Vale's make-up is appropriately hideous considering what happens to him, but he looks too much of a zombie and some have already said. The acting is pretty dire from almost everybody, Nery is the best of the lot but then we have Rebekah Kochan overacts her rather shallow character and Derek Osedach mumbles his way through his lines and not much else. The characters are exceedingly annoying and shallow with non-existent character development, the one exception is Chris Vale but he is not much different from similar characters from similar movies. The dialogue is dumb and just painful to listen to, making something like the worst Disney Channel movie seem like Casablanca comparatively. The story is even more of a problem, that it's mind-numbingly ridiculous, painfully predictable and deathly dull is one thing but we also have a complete lack of tension, thrills sense of horror/terror(mainly because of the characters' interactions and expressions being so blank) and suspense, situations and interactions are really contrived and implausible, and there is a heavy reliance on drawn-out done-to-death clichés that are marred even further by being played far too straight. The ending is inept in every way, and if you're finding it difficult to buy or swallow don't blame yourself, you won't be the only one. In conclusion, could have been worse but rather mediocre, not the terrifying story that the cover advertised. 4/10 Bethany Cox
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Deranged, disfigured, psychotic killer joins Halloween party.
suite9227 October 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Chris Vale witnesses a rape-murder as a child. He is disfigured at the time, and he's a bit unbalanced mentally as well.

Fast forward to the present. There's a Halloween party being setup...at the house where the rape-murder occurred. There are intricate costumes, and authentic looking weapons. A young man and woman drive there. When they stop for petrol, the man goes to the rest room. Chris Vale (now a man, escaped from an insane asylum) overpowers him, kills him, puts on a leather mask, then goes to the car. The young woman does not figure it out, but his bad driving tells her there is something wrong. The killer hacks her up.

Chris Vale gets to the party alone with a backseat full of steel weapons.

What could possibly go wrong?

Quite a lot. The film is high on slasher deaths, splatter, screams, and psychotic behavior.

-----Scores-----

Cinematography: 8/10 Excellent for daylight exteriors. A bit jerky on some of the darker interiors.

Sound: 6/10 Did not expect the lag of lips versus voice, which makes it look like a bad Eastern European production made by/for the SyFy network.

Acting: 4/10 Lots of non-actors in this one.

Screenplay: 4/10 The dialog is terrible. I would have preferred a English subtitles and the spoken word in the first language of the screenwriter. As it is, the lines are stilted, and just not what one would expect from English speakers.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
A film that sharing a similar title to John Carpenter's Halloween and almost clear cut story can scare you yet.
Today I was scrolling through Netflix and just simply just strolling through the categories when I finally came across this movie. I had read the description and though to myself "this is very similar to Halloween", but due to my curiosity I watched it and my prediction was right. The film takes a small kid who had watched his family be killed right in front of him and is later framed for doing so. Then years later we see Chris Vane (the kid) grown up in an insane asylum, and for some reason burnt up to a crisp looking like Sam Raimi's Darkman, he soon escapes and heads back to his home to kid a series of kids who are trying to throw a party. The film on its own is okay, it takes a story that has been done a thousand times (I have been guilty of doing so myself) and just puts in a new killer. Basically it Friday the 13th but you put Michael Myers in that series. The film has some creative kills and some scenes that could be stuck in your head for a while, but I feel that it just does a few scenes to clique and some shots that aren't exactly... Necessary (you know what I mean) and puts them into I have to say alright film. In my opinion its not bad and you should check it out.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Christopher Vale: Michael Myers fan boy??
Terminal Madness24 November 2006
Warning: Spoilers
It's a blatant rip-off of "Halloween," that's obvious, but what's inside is a stock slasher flick that's terrible on its own merits. Immediately the desperation from the director and writer to keep the audiences attention is shown, as they feature a lesbian sex scene not ten minutes in for no reason whatsoever. But with Asylum this is basically par for the course. Even in a "serious" film like "9/11 Commission Report," they featured an obligatory sex scene. But that's only one problem with "Halloween Night." Invariably, you'll be left with a plethora of questions that will never really be answered. Why is Christopher on a killing spree? Why did he escape and where was he going? Why would he kill if he saw his mom brutally murdered? "Duh… he's insane." Nah, I don't buy it.

Not to mention Gingold rips elements from previous slashers. Christopher doesn't kill a girl because she reminds him of his mom, his mask looks similar to Jason's, and the whole mental patient angle is very derivative of a certain film that drops on the same holiday. Gingold pads the film with plodding characterization, terrible dialogue, especially from the lead actor who performs the worst ad-libbing I've ever seen anywhere, and characters that I could give two shits about. It's as hard to list the endless flaws as it was to sit through this, but in the end "Halloween Night" is the result of monkeys on a typewriter who finished off "Halloween" hours before. Boo.

In spite of my best attempted enthusiasm, I just couldn't muster the excitement in watching what I can safely consider one of the worst slasher movies ever made. Only from Asylum could that be accomplished.
2 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Don't Waste Your Time With This One
whitewingedove178 May 2008
I thought this movie was a lame attempt at re-creating another Halloween movie...and after Rob Zombie screwed that up, we don't need another. I can't say that this movie was all THAT bad in its entirety, but it definitely doesn't stack up against any of the classic horror movies. The bloody affects weren't even realistic. And I could never understand why directors think that the key to a great horror/scary movie is to show as much blood and gore as possible. I love horror movies but I'm not into those that are so gory that they take all the focus away from the thrilling part of it. I gave this movie four stars because after it was all over, that's about what I felt it was worth. I wouldn't watch it again. Tho I must say the blonde who played Shannon is a pretty good actress...she was great in the Eating Out movies. She was about the only talented one in this movie...
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Slasher film missing key elements
HEFILM28 October 2006
What do Slasher films need to be good? Pretty simple. Cool looking slasher. No, rubber mask covered by dorky knight helmet. Nudity. Yes lots of that in this one. Real breasts too. Cute enough girls mostly, but hey at least even the not so cute ones look better naked. Acting. Well no, slasher films don't need it, but the best ones usually have at least one good actor to prove good acting still exists. No, no acting here. Scream Queen who can scream. No no good screamers here. You don't expect actors but ones who can at least look scared and girls who can scream. But that is beyond the ability of this movie to achieve. Seems like lots of improvising from one guy lots of mutter profanity. Blood, cool killings. Well, fair amount of blood, killings aren't too convincing or cool. A few moments about two actually but no spoilers here. Excitement. No none here however you define excitement, other than the nudity, oh there's a lesbian scene if you're still awake by then. Style. No no style here. Style over substance is a key element to these films. No style here to speak of. Logic, no slasher films don't need that and this one doesn't have any. 3 people get killed at a large party right in the doorway. The police arrive a bit after that and there is one kind of mild plot twist. Plot twist, well slasher films don't need those, this one has one, but that can't be counted in its favor. Anyway 3 people die and disappear from the story so the story can go on and on. Short running time. Yes this film is short but you sure won't know it unless you constantly look at your watch, which you will be doing especially if your DVD player is too far away to read those little numbers. Cool music either scary or hip or both. No almost no music here and it's all lousy.

To wrap things up if you've seen Asylum movies in the past you probably have a lot of pent up rage at them. If you watched them all you've seen that about one in 5 is pretty good. This is not a pretty good one, nor is it their worst. Though you can't call it a near miss. I guess the final element is good direction that you need in a slasher film and this film definitely doesn't have that. Listless, there is not a memorable shot in the whole film and many unconvincing moments that ruin anything that might build to something. Mostly it has some degree of professionalism to it, until the end credits. The roll starts in a way that the credits vanish half way up the screen and then suddenly they all fill the screen. I Guess they couldn't be bothered to fix that, though they do bother to make them run real slow so they reach that shortest possible length a feature can be, well they actually come up a few seconds short. But it is 85 dullish minutes. But this approach to producing is like those things on the side of a cereal box that says "contents measured by weight" so you can't complain when the mashed to dust cereal only fills the bottom third of a large empty sealed plastic bag. That is too often the approach to movies from THE ASYLUM and it hampers the hell out of a possibly decent by the numbers script by Fangoria's Michael Gingold. The production left out most of the numbers as I've tried to spell out above.
1 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Seriously, Fangoria?
gavin694226 October 2012
From Michael Gingold, the editor of Fangoria...

You would think that Gingold, after viewing thousands of horror films, would know how to make a good movie. Now, granted, he did not direct it, he just wrote it... and granted, it does have a fair amount of gore. But he seems to have the same problem Rob Zombie does: he has seen so many films that he no longer has the ability to be original and can only steal from other (better) films.

And why is the audio not synced up? Nothing makes a picture even worse than when lips do not match the words they speak. The visuals are alright, though, so I guess it is not a complete loss.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews