IMDb > The Avengers (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Avengers
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Avengers More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 11 of 172: [Prev][6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [Next]
Index 1718 reviews in total 

5 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

We've All Seen This Film Before...

6/10
Author: luminous-luciano from Sofia, Bulgaria
10 May 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Only in excess of 1,400 reviews of this so far - what could possibly be added at this point? It is obvious that the comic-book readers (and nostalgics, of which I could have still been, maybe ten years ago) were more than elated to see all of their favorite four-color heroes in live action together, all at once, sharing the big screen as if a Marvel comic came to life and had, very nearly, no budget restrictions whatsoever.

But seriously - Loki? In the 1960's Thor comics, maybe, he was still a villain one could love to loathe. But nowadays? Neither the character nor the actor portraying him (poor guy) were remotely interesting.

The army at his disposal was made up of some sort of third-rate alien race that, ironically enough, evoked some of rival DC's aliens from their INVASION crossover event back in the 90's (because they couldn't use the Skrulls - right? If those show up anywhere, it will be in a Fantastic Four movie! How amusing to see the Marvel universe split up that way - due to their overzealous ambition to expand their properties' share of the movie industry! It is truly priceless! And more so with the odd choice for replacements here...)

Much has been said about turning Nick Fury into Ebony Fury: personally, I think it improved the rather bland, James Bond wannabe type that the character was for several decades following his introduction in the comic-bookies... However, Samuel L. Jackson is not half the actor Lawrence Fishburne is: the latter could pull off Morpheus but the former is simply not convincing as Shaft, Mace Windu, Agent Augustus in the XxX movies (which naturally prepared him for this one here) and, truth be told, he must be taking this part about as seriously as his role in Snakes On A Plane...

And as for the Avengers themselves - aside from the extremely convincing Hulk (and customized too, in order to look more like human thespian counterpart Mark Ruffalo - I am sure Edward Norton and Eric Bana were so green with envy - not.) and the ever-solid Robert Downey Jr as Iron Man (he truly made this character his own) the rest is somewhat disappointing as Thor has still not grown on me, Captain America seems ill-served by Chris Evans' acting range and Hawkeye... Well, anyone could have played Hawkeye.

The single most disappointing character has to be Scarlett's Black Widow: I mean, wow, that line-delivery and lack of expressiveness is worthy of a Razzie or two - come on! Especially that line amidst the big battle in New York - ''I don't see how that can be a party'' was it? (I paraphrase!) Even Kristen Stewart could not have been this bad!

S.H.I.E.L.D. leaves me uninterested flat out, as well it should. It had ''future TV series spin-off'' written all over it; that must be why!

Now, it took me only a few seconds to figure out why all of this looked so damn familiar, as if I'd seen this movie before: and I sure did! The gathering of characters everyone knows, their peril aboard a ship and then the big battle with a common foe - the exact same plot was seen a few years ago in... LXG! That's right: the League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, the movie Warner Bros. approved because it was cheaper to produce than a full-fledged (JUSTICE) LEAGUE movie! And these Avengers were still a long way from assembling, back then...!

So, why was the LXG so poorly received - and the Avengers praised? The LXG had a better, more iconic ship than the S.H.I.E.L.D.'s whatever it's called - it was the NAUTILUS! The LXG had a better action gal too in Peta Wilson! The LXG had one of the original action stars - Sean Connery himself! I'm sorry but, no matter how much I appreciate him, Robert Downey Jr. doesn't quite measure up to the original James Bond! And it only stands to reason too as the LXG gathered up classic literature characters rather than super-heroes who all have, collectively or individually, less than 100 years of history and yet the need to constantly revamp their mystique is already felt. Perhaps it is due to the fact that they lack originality? The Hulk is, after all, nothing but a rip-off of Mister Hyde. Thor was borrowed from Norse mythology - and modified. Hawkeye wants to be Robin Hood with an attitude. Need I go on?

The Avengers were only more anticipated and (considerably) more well- received because the target audience was primed and ready for it: they read these heroes' stories in their childhood and had wanted this for so long. That simply wasn't the case for the LXG; the kids who read those and viewed them in the same light are all dead of old age already.

For my money, the LXG had the better script - and more believable action. The Avengers' lone long action sequence is truly the only lasting impression one is left with with this over-hyped production - and I had seen it on YouTube before I got to see the film in its entirety! That doesn't say much for the rest of this Marvelfest - does it?

And, quite frankly, Thanos looks ridiculous too. But they have time to improve him a bit for Avengers 2 (Although with Batista as Drax The Destroyer, how hokey will the overall finished product get to be...?)

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Very average action film

6/10
Author: phsta89 from Canada
7 January 2013

All I can say is that I am very unimpressed with this film.

The action is not too satisfying and very predictable, the acting is passable, the dialogue is at a strict minimum and the story is pretty much non-existent. In short, it's a whole bunch of CGI and explosions put together. Similar to Michael Bay's Transformers movies. The only strong point of this movie is the cast, but in my opinion this goes to waste because none of them are really given any interesting material/context to work with.

I suggest you avoid it unless you're a die-hard comic fan or if you really want to see Chris Evans, Chris Hemsworth and RDJ together on screen and fantasize about them.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Joss Whedon is a human tank, like Thor.

9/10
Author: KoreanPenguin from United States
19 December 2012

The Avengers was the first movie I saw in theaters three times, and for darn good reason. It sets the bar so high for comic book movies. DC is (was) seriously in a lot of trouble after The Avengers came out. If you have seen each of our hero's individual films, you will easily enjoy The Avengers ten times more. You will be also ten times more excited to see everything played out.

I also feel like I need to say that I was very, very nervous when I heard The Avengers was announced. In film, we like to focus on one character, and we like to see that one person change over the course of the movie. It's hard to keep track of multiple characters, which is why the single-hero format works so well. Otherwise we end up with meathead city, like The Expendables. Gross. Luckily, we have The Avengers instead.

So our unlikely heroes team up together to defeat Thor's brother, Loki. Luckily, all of these overpowered world savers are used to having each other as company, PSYCHNOTREALLY. They all have pretty big egos, let's be honest, but we don't see just how big their egos are until they all share one movie together. Jump ahead, they have to learn how to cope with one another, and just barely tolerate each other in order to stop the world-destroying threat.

There is some absolutely wonderful cinematography, put together by Seamus McGarvey. Did I mention how clever the script is? Joss Whedon poured his fricking essence into the pages of writing, and it pays off so very nicely. I don't feel like The Avengers was missing anything that ticked me off. I also have never been so excited for a sequel before in my life. My only hope is that Disney can buy out Spiderman from Fox, and we can get some Spiderman action in there… But I digress.

The Avengers flat out rocked my socks off. 9/10.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

It was a typical good versus evil movie

5/10
Author: felipeogando from United States
12 November 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The "Avengers" was an action packed movie from start to finish. It was fun and entertaining to watch. To be honest, I didn't know the background of each of the superheroes, because I rarely get a chance to sit down and watch an entire movie. But, the plot was kept pretty simple. So, it was pretty easy to follow (even for someone like me).

I thought that this movie was absolutely hilarious! There was a steady amount of humor throughout the entire movie that just keeps you rolling and makes it just about impossible not to laugh. The scene where the Hulk grabbed a hold of Loki and was pounding him into the floor mid sentence was just the hilarious. I was rolling out of my seat. The Iron Man really had quite a few good lines too that gave the movie just enough seasoning to entice you.

In my opinion though, I thought this movie was just OK. I felt like there were too many scenes that were impossible and not clearly laid out, and it dragged down the movie's quality. For example, when Captain America was waiting on Iron Man to queue him to pull the lever when they were fixing the engine, an enemy came and started shooting at him continually. Captain America had no protection or safe haven for quite some time, but he still was never injured. Or another example was at the end when Iron Man fell from the sky after taking the atom bomb up into space. To be honest, I thought it was absolutely ridiculous that he walked away from that unharmed. I guess I'm too realistic for fairy tales.

There were some parts that I couldn't understand either. Such as, how things ended up with Loki's brother. It seemed to me at first, that he was not on the superheroes side, and then, he ended up being a good guy? And also while in the plane after Loki was captured, he said he's worried about what will happen after his brother shows up, and then later he turns completely cocky and is not intimidated by his brother at all. Maybe it's just me, but I thought because of these things, this movie's quality wasn't that great. So in my opinion, this movie was pretty predictable and lacked any kind of twists in it. It was a typical good versus evil movie, and I've seen lots of them.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Predictable story, visual masterpiece

6/10
Author: Fizgig777 from United States
30 September 2012

I was drawn into watching this movie by the promising graphics more than anything else. I'm not a comic book aficionado in the least, so I went into the movie without any of that background knowledge. Nor did I need it, as I soon found out. There's enough back story inserted to get folks through & the back story of the characters isn't really integral to the story, I thought.

The plot was VERY predictable. There was nothing new or original about it. Can easily see where the story is heading and pretty easy to guess how it will end. So, in that regard, I'd give the movie a 1 out of 10.

Where this film shines -- and is downright amazing -- are the majority of the graphics. Fantastically intricate CGI work! From that aspect, I'd give the movie a 9 out of 10.

So, basically, this is a great one if you're looking for mindless entertainment as the story line isn't a challenge to follow. Definitely a feast for the eyes!

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Ten stars **********

10/10
Author: Ciprian Ghita from Romania
20 August 2012

It's one of the few movies that worths a Ten star ********** a perfect 10+ or an A+, i can feel the actor.s feeling and interaction, very well realized and a flawless subject, simply splendid ! Things are getting very well with the Hollywood movies with this part, the action part, like Battleship, Wrath of the titans, Clash of the titans etc. Some things which I don't agree is the soap movies and the blondes, yes the blondes, i hate blondes, they should be natural blond at least. The horror movies sux, too much violence and child implication. Anyways, I adore this movie and I can watch it over and over again, that's what they say that a good movie you watch it over and over again.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

A fantastic Marvel adventure

10/10
Author: glen2010 from United Kingdom
12 August 2012

I've always watched Marvel films but I've never been the greatest fan of them. I find them entertaining but they are often similar and rarely deliver quite such the memorable and action-packed experience that 'Avengers Assemble' offers. Seriously, whether you are a Marvel fan or not, give this film a chance, it may very well surprise you.

I can't think of any particularly large faults to this movie that are worth mentioning, the plot isn't exactly unique but that's not what I saw as the purpose of the film. The film's plot tied together the previous Marvel films featuring heroes such as Iron Man and Captain America very well, it then went on to set up and deliver a roller coaster ride of sci-fi action unlike anything I've ever seen before in a Marvel film.

'Avengers Assemble' certainly beats the previous films in terms of CGI, action, characters and memorability. From the opinions of friends, I know that the film has even appealed to those that aren't directly a fan of sci-fi action. There is certainly something about the film that simply stuns the viewer and impresses them with up-to-date visuals and a fast-paced storyline.

A fact worth mentioning is that, unlike previous films, 'Avengers Assemble' doesn't take itself too seriously. It's not a comedy, or a parody, but it does allow for humorous moments that actually made me smile more than some actual comedies have. This allows you to enjoy the film further I feel, rather than taking away the more serious elements.

If you haven't seen the film already, make sure to find the time to watch it, it will entertain you in some way or another and is definitely worth at least one viewing. Truly one of the better movies of the past decade.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

one hell of a movie!!!!!!

Author: Vismay Harani from Vadodara, India
15 July 2012

I AM HULK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The Powerhouse, the boiling bed, the grizzly, machismo and the Ultimate hammer-head, he knows how to pump up your very source of adrenaline.

I regret that I watched this movie late- but it was due to my exams that I wasn't able to do so. But if you still haven't seen it yet, I tell you bluntly, you are a fool!

'Avengers' is the best super-action movie I have ever seen!!!

It's not due to the story, not due to the theme, not due to the super- star cast. The real hero of this movie was the awesome special effects and of course, that includes Hulk.

The arena is all set. We have Ironman, Hawkeye, Thor, Hulk, CaptainAmericaand Black Widow to set the stage on fire. And what are they facing? Gargantuan, bulk bio-mechanical aliens with a centralized connection system, they lay down the New York City to dust, smoke and metallic rubble.

There wasn't a single moment that you actually feel bored or out of place. This movie kept me glued to the screen throughout.

Now, for the characters…..

Hawkeye: He is a good guy, turned bad guy, then once again into a good guy. Don't let his metamorphosis confuse you. Because his explosive arrow (for those who understand 'brahmasthra'!) indeed made me reminiscent of the good old fight between Hindu Gods and Demons. He is good, but still, just a little bit less than the others.

Black Widow: Don't even dare take her at her face value. She is never what she appears to be. She is docile and meek when she wants to leech out information from you, but ruthless and super daring when she stomps down the aliens to their gory end. Best scene- The way she takes control of the alien ship. She may soon stump down Emma Watson as my favourite heroine.

Thor: He is a force to reckon with, literally. The power to wield thunderbolts never ever ceases to amaze me. And it didn't in this movie. There was an awesome fight sequence between Ironman and Thor. Best Scene: The way he makes the entire skyscraper an electric conductor and focuses the electricity on the warp hole, blowing the bulky, snaky aliens to smithereens.

Captain America: Though low on actual power, he can still wield his shield and send Thor flying away distances. He is the Captain Cool, one who likes to plan out things and do accordingly. A tad old-fashioned (of course he is old-fashioned- he is old, the scientists literally thawed him back to life!!) but he more than makes up with his patriotism and his iron-will to see it through the end.

Ironman: A billionaire, genius and a philanthropist. Ironman is indeed the superhero with panache. He can be the style icon for all the superheroes- the way he undoes his suit is awesome, uber cool gadgetry, superb dialogues and a sexy iron suit that can do cool different tricks. Oh Man! He was simply superb. Of course he takes away the cake, when he directs the nuclear missile through the warp hole and into the heart of the alien stronghold.

Hulk: No comparison. He, according to me, was the life and soul of this movie. Well, I must complain- that these Hollywood blockbusters always show India in poor light, even though that part does not represent India as a whole. Maybe they have the 'Great Indian Poverty Fetish' or the 'Dharavi Syndrome'. Well, but this feeling of being disparaged does not last long as we soon see the Doctor 'awakening the green bulky giant within' and being transformed into Hulk. There are actually three 'City Moment of Success' related to him. 1) The way he pounds the great snaky alien to dust. 2) The way he punches Thor. 3) Now this was the best scene of the move- he thrashes up Loci in the very Chota Bheem style- that was awesome. I can still remember the reaction that Loci gave…..

Maybe it doesn't have much of a story. But alien invasion movies are not meant to have one. What they are meant to have is spectacular fireworks, and this had those aplenty.

Every time, I see a movie like this- my heart pumps faster, my whole body gets filled with tout electrical energy. It is as if, I were a character inside the movie. I loved the feeling, I loved the movie.

Miss it at your own peril…

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

One Of The Best Superhero Movies I've Ever Seen!

10/10
Author: Sammy Wayne
25 June 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The Avengers was a fantastic movie. Yes its been out for a while and I saw it a while ago. But if you have not yet seen it i definitely recommend that you do. The movie's dialogue was fantastic and often hilarious (In a good way). The special effects were also great and fit the film well. Personally though what I loved most about the film was seeing the Avengers learn to work together as a team. In the beginning there was fighting between them as different people they wanted to do things differently. Near the end when the big battle ensues, you really see them start to care for each other. That care also translates to you as you will also start to care for these characters as the film goes along. I loved the movie and I think it's very much worth a watch if you have not already.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Unbelievably over-hyped!

7/10
Author: Total Hurry from United Kingdom
7 June 2012

I don't believe anyone wouldn't enjoy it and so I would recommend it, but at the same time, I felt the urge to write a cautionary review to try and add to the expulsion of some of the 9/10 star hype (and the ridiculous 1 star reviews).

I felt a little tired the night I went to watch this film, but since I'd booked tickets I went anyway. I think this might be why I came out feeling it wasn't awe-inspiring. My tiredness stopped me from enjoying the non-stop 'conceptual interfaces', the flash and the CGI, when you are less aware of these aspects what is underneath is not as high-concept as is made out. What I found was a slightly bumbling first half and an action-packed second half. I believe if you got this home when it comes out and watch it on an average TV on DVD you wouldn't be as impressed.

With so many stories to include there isn't much exploration of any particular area, we have a fair bit of time dedicated to learning a little about each character but given it does nothing more than glance across the surface, why bother at all? Why not give us more in-depth insight into the 'mechanics' of the how and why, a creative discussion on, well, something - anything and let the audience infer the rest by showing us in character reactions etc. Then let the second half let-rip.

I'm no film buff but it seems to me that when you stop and actually compare films of IMDb's claim to be equal in calibre - we have The Avengers being better than Taxi Driver, Alien and only 0.2 behind Empire Strikes Back - obviously you can't really compare the films because they're so different but it's a point about the ratings.

In the characters we see half interesting and half one-dimensional, with a strange amount of time, relatively speaking, being given to aspects that don't really push the film forward. Sorry for the lack of pro-critique - like I said, I'm not a film buff.

I didn't know this was a Joss Whedon film until after I watched it and this makes sense - a lot of his stuff is amazing and deep, subtle and telling, yet then you get other work like Dollhouse which falls down by picking the wrong kind of area to focus on.

It's worth a watch though, and if you like comic book films like Iron Man (obviously) you're going to enjoy this. For those less interested in that stuff, don't expect 9 or 10 stars.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 11 of 172: [Prev][6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history