Wild West Comedy Show: 30 Days & 30 Nights - Hollywood to the Heartland
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 12 reviews in total 

12 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

Wild West Comedy Rocks!

10/10
Author: Inde from United States
12 November 2006

This documentary took me by surprise because it not only made me laugh, but it showed me the struggle comedians have to go through to perform their material in different environments, and how their personal lives shape their material. The thing I liked about the movie was that it actually took me on a journey with these guys and I felt like I got to know them instead of just the same format most stand-up documentaries offer of strictly on stage performances. Again, Vince is pushing the envelope by doing things his way...resulting in a heartfelt, honest and hilarious journey on film. Great job, and keep doing things your way...it works!

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

A Wild West Gig Full of Heart

7/10
Author: Karen Divorty (karendivorty@gmail.com) from Toronto, Canada
23 October 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Wildly entertaining, Vince Vaughn's Wild West Comedy Tour 30 Days & 30 Nights - Hollywood to the Heartland, a documentary that tears through the stand up circuit with 4 comedians who perform 30 shows in 30 consecutive nights in cities across the US.

The "Stand-up Comic" hasn't been in our consciousness for awhile. They have become a dying breed, a career that starves the mind and body. This film goes beyond itself, allowing the fatigue and exhilaration of comedy, seep through the screen. Through off stage interviews with each of these comics, you feel their emotional intensity and yearning for inspiration from their lives.

This is a Vince Vaughn movie that just entertains it has all the right factors. There is Vince center stage doing his usual fast talking persona that I dare say has plagued most of his recent films. He is the name and the host of every show. He invites guest Justin Long, who hams it up as a waiter to him and Jon Favreau, but Justin goes on to do an unforgettable impression of Vince Vaughn in a scene from Swingers. He does same type of act with Keir O'Donnell ("the gay dude from Wedding Crashers" as an audience member and survivor of a hurricane Katrina calls him) draws pictures based on title recommendations from the audience. "Our First Date" is particularly hilarious; as it features Keir in a tree holding grapes out to a bobble headed Vince Vaughn. Still Vince reveals himself to be more that just a movie star, a thoughtful reflective and supporter of stand up. He gives the spotlight to the 4 comics, Ahmed Ahmed, John Caparulo, Bret Ernst and Sebastian Maniscalco who he pulled from the Comedy Store in Los Angeles.

Ahmed Ahmed shows perhaps the most natural on-stage presence, his comedy is a pure reflection of his life - he was arrested at a Las Vegas airport for being middle-eastern. John Caparulo is a standout, with his fowl mouth, Bob Goldthwaitesque voice and his yappy dog presence, he is the most accessible to audience. When the tour stops in a particular town where they are required to do a clean show, John has to restrain himself on stage and is forced to change his brand of comedy in an altogether negative way. There is also something to be said about Sebastian Maniscalco, he is by far quirkiest of the group, he takes long, full cleansing showers and dry cleans his socks and underwear, but his genius is he embraces himself and uses it in his routines. It is his reflections after his performances and his life as a stand up that really pull at the heart strings and outlines the heart of what this film really is truly about, the often heart stopping truth of comedy. In the end it was the always hard working Sebastian that seemed the most altered by the tour. The final sequence of the film, a wrap party that has him caught up in a tearful goodbye, as he come to terms with the tour experience. It is clear he is altered forever.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Must See

8/10
Author: closeupman from California
19 October 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I went to a preview screening yesterday and I must saw I was presently surprised. There was a negative review here and I thought it wouldn't be that good.

It was a great movie, and the serious side (as short as it was), made it even better. They give free tickets to Katrina survivors(although I'm disappointed that Vince didn't go out there with the other comedians and help hand out that tickets, he just took a photo after the show with some of the survivors), I think it was a poignant moment and helped to not make the movie just one continuous cavalcade of laughs. It's trying to show not only the human side of the comedians but of the audience as well.

One of the funniest moments is when one of the Katrina survivors, a young teen, recognizes Keir by saying,"You're the gay guy!" The audience was laughing so hard at that! I think too that Ahmed Ahmed didn't get enough time. The irritating comedian got way too much screen time...how much of his 'swearing' do we need to hear.

I think though that the short 'montages' without audio need to go, either have the audio of the stick or cut it out, it's no fun to just watch the comedians do something and not hear it.

8/10

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Funny but.....

7/10
Author: TODude from Canada
9 September 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I just saw this last night at the Toronto Film Festival. Whereas some of the comedy bits by all 4 comedians were hysterically funny (Bret Ernst and John Caparulo both outstanding), the film itself was too long to constantly maintain interest. This doc still needs some major editing. Vince Vaughn should be commended for instigating this project and giving the 4 guys major exposure, but perhaps he should tone down the Tom Hanks mannerisms. I found that very disconcerting. But many in the audience cheered wildly throughout the film, and when all appeared on stage afterward for a Q&A, they were all witty and gracious. I would like to see more of Bret Ernst in the future. I was also a little disappointed at the amount of screen time given to Ahmed Ahmed. He was almost lost in the shuffle. One small spoiler, so be warned. Sebastian finally quit his day job!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

uneven material in an affable film

6/10
Author: Roland E. Zwick (magneteach@aol.com) from United States
22 October 2008

In 2005, actor Vince Vaughn gathered together a handful of comedians from The Comedy Store in Hollywood - Ahmed Ahmed, John Caparulo, Bret Ernst and Sebastian Maniscalco - built an extended stand-up show around their acts, then took it on the road for a 30-city-in-30-day whirlwind tour across the United States, starting in Los Angeles and ending in Chicago, with 28 stops in between. Vaughn also brought a few documentary filmmakers along for the ride, the result being "Vince Vaughn's Wild West Comedy Show," an at best fair-to-middling account of that event.

Some of the backstage stuff is of moderate interest - particularly the comics offering a free show to some Hurricane Katrina refugees and Ernst's touching reflections on his older brother who died of AIDS. But one can only hope that we're not being treated to the best of the on-stage material here. For if truth be told, there aren't nearly as many laughs to be gleaned from these performances as one might expect given the caliber of talent involved. At best, the routines elicit a few hearty chuckles, along with a surprising number of humor-deprived dead spots. The behind-the-scenes activities are marginally more entertaining (the interviews with the boys' families are sometimes quite informative and amusing), but the movie doesn't provide nearly the depth of insight into the world of standup comedy that, say, Jerry Seinfeld's "Comedian" did a few years back.

Still the guys in the group are likable enough and their camaraderie ultimately becomes infectious, earning the movie at least a lukewarm recommendation, especially for devotees of the subject.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

"V" for Comedic Victory for Vince and Company!

9/10
Author: meeza (themeezaman@hotmail.com) from Miami, Fl
27 August 2008

Vince Vaughn please (with my sincere apologies to Ray Charles): "Hit the road jack, and do please come back for more for more, hit the road jack and do please come back for more". Why? Because "Vince Vaughn's Wild West Comedy Show" was a comedic trip a la crop from the Hollywood to the Heartland. In this delightful documentary, Vince recruits four extremely talented but inexperienced comedians in his comedic posse for a Comedy Tour: the Arab jokester Ahmed Ahmed, the chunky foul-mouthed John Caparulo, the Italian man's man storyteller Sebastian Maniscalco, and the charismatic charmer Bret Ernst. The Vaughn Gang also includes best friend and producer partner Peter Billingsley, and the always fluid Justin Long. However, the comedic shows in the tour primarily feature the comedic performances of the aforementioned Funny Fearsome Foursome. This gang of laugh providers hit the road on a tour bus for 30 days and implausibly enough did 30 shows within that time span; even overcoming hurricane warnings in a few cities. Being an obsessed fan of the cult classic film "Swingers", the most money part of the "Vaughnumentary" for me is when Vaughn reunites with Swingers pal Jon Favreau and they both have Justin Long take a swing on reciting Vaughn's infamous money lines in the film. Not to say I did not enjoy the laugh-out-loud comedic routines from Ahmed, Caparulo, Maniscalco, and Ernst; the capping edge going to Caparulo's hilarious ruthless sets. These are four genuine (or in second thought maybe not too genuine) comedians; but whatever they case, I do stand up for them and vouch that they will have bright stand-up comedic futures ahead of them. Nevertheless, the charismatic laugh ringmaster of the "Wild West Comedy Show" is Vince Vaughn himself who is the V-Great King that orchestrated this dandy documentary that had all our funny juices flowing! You are still money, Mr. Vaughn! ***** Excellent

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

I'll ask you in December . . .

Author: John DeSando (jdesando@columbus.rr.com) from Columbus, Ohio
29 January 2008

In Vince Vaughn's Wild West Comedy Show: 30 Days & 30 Nights—Hollywood to the Heartland, if the four relatively unknown comics (a "Guido," an Ohio rube, an Arab, and a non-descript guy) accompanying Vaughn on a 30 day tour of 30 cities had been better, the documentary would have been better as well. Sadly this tepid montage of the trip is rarely funny, rarely imaginative, although the infectious good will of Vaughn saves it from total banality.

Jerry Seinfeld's Comedian (2002) and the arch Aristocrats (2005) have far more humorous moments while also revealing the humanity of the performers. Vaughn tries with limited success to show the heart of the comics between acts, but, alas, not one is interesting enough to have more than a beer with.

As with most of these documentaries, there are only snippets of the acts and then cutting to another performer or a personal note. Thus, we can never understand fully why a comedian will or will not make the big time. One thing I do know, this January graveyard toss off will not make it big time. I'll ask you in December if you think it should be nominated for best documentary; you'll haveto research it on IMDb to remember.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Awesome show with heart behind it.

9/10
Author: jr1985 from United States
5 February 2008

I just got back from a free preview of this movie at school and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I was laughing almost the whole time. Listening to them talk about themselves and each other helped to gain an insight to the tour. Also, being able to hear their back stories helped to understand where their material came from. After the viewing, Bret Ernst came out for a Q&A with the audience and he's a great guy. He's very humble about this movie and what it's doing for not only his career, but for the career of the rest of the guys on the tour. I would highly recommend this movie to anyone who wants to laugh. This isn't a straight up comedy movie, but a documentary about the tour with parts of the tour mixed in. It's a funny movie with heart that shows what these guys go through to entertain us to make us laugh.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

For Smart Funny People, Not Stupid Funny People

10/10
Author: lustyvita from Los Angeles, CA United States
14 July 2008

It seems as though a lot of people were expecting a comedy show, as opposed to a documentary on a comedy show. Its a shame they have to pan the film for not dazzling them with humor, when it has so much more to offer. I find the filmmaker's choices and the honesty of those on camera riveting (i.e. insecurity, heckling, bad jokes, good jokes, grateful to ungracious and back again) Maybe I wouldn't have enjoyed the show in person (on an off night), but I truly enjoyed the evolution of the show from Vince's eyes. I want to make love to him. A similar film is THE COMEDIAN, being in show business I find the material incredibly compelling, those of you who like sports or Larry the Cable Guy obviously, it wouldn't be for you. Interestingly there were no women on the crew or in the show . . . hmmmmm

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

This has to be BY FAR the unfunniest comedy tour film released to date

2/10
Author: shotdowninflames
6 August 2010

Although I tried to forget it, I remember actually paying to see this when it was first released. I also remember thinking to myself..."Maybe Vince actually got his hands on some pretty funny talent. THis looks like it could be fun!" Absolutely not. Worst assumption I could've possibly made was thinking this was actually going to be a "funny" experience for me. I hardly remembered the dragged out jokes that were in this film until i tried viewing it again the other night. I figured that maybe, just maybe i missed something the first time and since i was in the comfort of home it'd be a little better the next go around, but yet again...with another bad assumption I was WRONG. Save your time...save your money...because this film represents and is all that is wrong with the words: NOT FUNNY.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Newsgroup reviews
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history