IMDb > The Collector (2009/I) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Collector
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Collector More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 6 of 19: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [Next]
Index 190 reviews in total 

The Collector

2/10
Author: a_baron from United Kingdom
7 April 2016

This is a familiar theme, bad guy in the house doing bad things and the damsel doing her best to outfox him. There is a slight twist here because rather than just a damsel there is another bad guy turned hero. Well, he isn't such a bad guy, he's burglarising the place out of necessity - his wife is in deep debt to the mob, and he needs the money for her. Clearly he's done this sort of thing before, burglarising, not saving the day, and when he effects entry he stumbles onto a bloodbath. Obviously it's a big house, the damsel is the youngest daughter of the man he has just been working for. Got that? Good, because the rest of it is too silly for words.

Okay, if you are into special effects, you might get something out of seeing fingers chopped off and the like, and if you are into pure sadism, better to live it vicariously than do it for real, but the house is boobytrapped to such an extent you'd have to ask if a dozen people could have done this in the time allotted rather than just one. There is no real plot, the masked villain has either superpowers or supernatural powers, and the ending is too silly for words.

Was the above review useful to you?

Relentless violence which gets boring very soon .....

4/10
Author: PimpinAinttEasy from India
31 March 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Dear Marcus Dunstan,

jeez man! I do not understand this sort of mindless gore fest without any character development or other interesting cinematic elements. It was almost as if you couldn't wait to introduce the characters and get that part out of the way so that you could start with the violence. You ought to watch some Rob Zombie movies or something.

The film did start off quite well. Josh Stewart is a reasonably good actor. His interaction with the family whose house he works at and his wife were at least mildly engaging.

I guess your film is not without merit. You do have your own unique style. The atmosphere cultivated by screaming and breathing of the psycho and loud background score. The staged violence as a result of many traps set in the house. But it is all pretty over the top and relentless and gets boring very soon.

Best Regards, Pimpin.

Was the above review useful to you?

I feel the tense

9/10
Author: Nadia Safarah from Indonesia
16 February 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

When the Chase family moves to an isolated house in the middle of nowhere in Detroit, Arkin is hired to fix the windows and the doors. Later he meets his daughter and his wife that has a debt with dangerous sharks and needs money, but his week payment is not enough to pay her debts. Arkin plots to heist the safe of Michael Chase during the night to raise the necessary money. However, when he arrives in the house, he finds that a sadistic criminal has imprisoned the family and planted traps everywhere. Arkin seeks a way out of the deadly house to save his life.

"Surprised to see the rating, I loved this movie! and I think it need a better rating. The plot is quite simple, but I can feel the tension when I watched this, It's way even better than 'Saw'. Even this movie is the only slash movie that I love. What's makes this movie good because of the tension that this movie can bring when the victims were avoiding the collector."

Was the above review useful to you?

Surprisingly good

8/10
Author: sorinapha from GeneCo
23 November 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

As with most contemporary horror, I've been hearing mixed reviews of this one, but wow! I'm honestly very surprised, this film far surpassed my expectations. I watched The Collection (2012? maybe 2011?) on Netflix a few months ago not knowing it was a sequel and it was good, just not mind-blowing. However, after seeing this one, I may have to re-watch it and re-evaluate my opinion of it.

This movie gave me something the horror genre hasn't shown me in a while-- a villain that isn't presented alongside some kind of a sympathetic back story. To some, that may take away from the power, but to me, it's so much more chilling that way. Even we, the audience members, don't know why this man goes to the lengths that he does to torture and kill. We are just as in the dark about this man and his intentions as his victims, which makes this film all the more thrilling. Its gore sequences are pulled off with poise and even grace-- well, if you could call gore scenes graceful, anyway.

It's also interesting to me, being a particular fan of the Saw series, to watch this film with the knowledge in mind that it was written to be a Saw prequel. With this knowledge in mind, being able to compare and contrast the films, in order to see what passages the writers meant as a homage to the 2004 hit, and what attempts they were making to steer the series and its themes into a different direction. However, in the end, I'm glad it wasn't incorporated into the Saw series: both Saw and the Collector do well on their own, but to connect the two even in name would have implied too drastic a change of Jigsaw's MO, and would have felt a smidge inauthentic.

Basically, if you are a horror fan and have any doubts, watch it. Even if you don't like it, it's gory enough that you'll at least find one scene to admire. And be sure to wait through the credits! There's a few seconds of footage which foreshadow the sequel nicely.

Was the above review useful to you?

He Chose The Wrong House To Rob

6/10
Author: Poptart_Psycho from United Kingdom
9 November 2015

Marcus Dunstan did a really good job in bringing back a good old killing for killing horror. There was the suspense thriller aspect, gore to the torture porn levels in the right places and also a believable story with good characters. I don't understand how people have slated this, no its not the best horror but all parts of the movie are done greatly.

At the beginning we see a older man and his wife open what looks like a trunk with movement then the film begins.

The main character is Arkin a former thief who owes his wife some money for the debt they both owe due that night. Arkin plans to rob a safe from the new mansion he is working on.

The Chase family have just moved into a suburban Detroit mansion, Dad Michael his wife Victoria and their 2 children Jill and Hannah. planning to go on holiday they hire a group of builders and help to upkeep the house Arkin being one of those hired.

This is where the movie starts to intensify. Arkin breaks in and heads for the safe, hearing a few noises he continues and manages away with some cash and a ruby. He hears footsteps slightly puzzled as he thinks the family are away he heads to leave but narrowly misses a deathly booby trap. Arkin quickly realises he is not alone in he house and its rigged with traps. Soon enough he comes across the tortured mother and father who begs him to save their children.

Its thief verses serial killer The movie would appeal to all types of horror fans its watchable, a mini gore fest and has good character development

Was the above review useful to you?

About The Sound & Volume!

6/10
Author: Habee Shirzad
1 August 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Will the whole movie was not bad. The Collector Character was suppose to scary, it was a little bit scary but was more like a intelligent psychopath.

The Collector Should had a better Motive to Collect or to do what ever he does.

There is a problem with Sound volume of the movie. When there is Music & Sound Backgrounds volume is very high, and when the guys talk you can't even hear.

If you want to make the scene or the whole movie scary the sound is not the best option.

Was the above review useful to you?

Home Alone for gorehounds

5/10
Author: Leofwine_draca from United Kingdom
22 June 2015

THE COLLECTOR is a middling torture porn-based horror flick with an absolutely ridiculous story. The premise is just as nonsensical as in BURNING BRIGHT - you know, the film about a girl and her little brother trapped in a house with a TIGER - but even more so due to its complexity. The story sees a burglar entering the house of a rich family in the middle of the night, only to discover a crazed killer has set up home and filled the house with deadly traps.

It makes no sense and there's no attempt to try to rationalise or explain things. Instead we embark on a horror-themed journey in which death and bodily mutilation are the order of the day. The plotting is very slim and the characters even slimmer, with the supporting cast merely set up as cannon fodder for the admittedly creepy villain.

What I disliked about this film was the dark blue filter which gives it a boring, uniform look, and the lack of lighting means that you'll be straining your eyes throughout. Given this was made by people coming off the SAW franchise, the icky effects are very much along those lines; I'm indifferent to them. THE COLLECTOR has a fast pace going for it but there are too many contrivances to make it a truly effective horror piece.

Was the above review useful to you?

Extreme

6/10
Author: reallyevilboy from Melbourne
3 September 2014

As I have said before I rate horror movies a little higher than I should. Mainly because I am overly forgiving on a genre I am desperate to love as well as the grading curve being lower. A lot more average and below average movies means, in my view a higher rating for the better ones as they are compared to each other rather than movies of other genres.

After reading the many sparkling reviews for this film I was eager to see it. I must also admit that as I get older my enthusiasm for violence and gore on the screen diminishes. Things that I would eagerly watch when I was 20 I would now need to turn away or close my eyes while making small squeaking sounds.

The violence in this movie was extreme and I found myself unable to watch fragments. It's saving grace is the intelligence behind some of the scenarios.

In the end I found myself disappointed, regarding this movie as nothing special that stood out from the crowd.

Was the above review useful to you?

Think "Saw" without a plot... ***MAY CONTAIN SPOILER***

2/10
Author: Steve Shubert from United States
30 July 2014

I watched the entire "Saw" franchise, and while the final five (of seven) films were pretty much useless, at least the first couple had a plot...a REASON for all the carnage. "The Collector" was - in a nutshell - "Saw" without a reason for the madness.

The lighting was terrible during the most important parts of the movie; the "traps" - which is what the movie was supposed to be centered on - were, for the most part, so poorly lit, and ill-timed that it was almost impossible to tell what was actually going on, and/or what was supposed to happen if/when the trap got sprung. But for me, what really ruined this was the loss of ANY storyline whatsoever. No reason was ever given for why. One scene described the TITLE of the movie, but again, there was never a reason given as to what drove the collector to do the things he does.

In a similar vein, I got the feeling through the entire film that the producers weren't exactly sure how far they should go with the gore. There are several scenes where I expected to be totally repulsed (and let's face it: that's why we watch these things, isn't it?) but was left surprised and almost disappointed that they stopped short of showing the actual carnage. Super-fast clips, blurred shots, rapid camera movement...and you're left to wonder, "Wait...what did I just see? Was that gross, or did I just imagine it?"

The ending was almost predictable, especially if you've watched ANY slasher/gore franchises, such as the "Friday the 13th" franchise or the above-mentioned "Saw" franchise.

While this movie had almost everything needed for a great horror flick, it lacked a real storyline, and it lacked any sort of real "fear factor"...no suspense whatsoever, just like in the "Friday the 13th" movies. You knew going in what was going to happen; the only guessing was WHEN. It's difficult, even, to really judge the acting - there was very little real acting simply because there was very little NEED for it, and I say that without malice. It's just that the movie was that shallow.

My understanding is that this movie was part of a series. (It certainly had that feeling.) I haven't seen any others, and probably won't waste my time. This was disappointing enough.

Was the above review useful to you?

The collector is better than the collection

6/10
Author: daez888 from Philippines
3 December 2013

The movie is like saw the movie. But the difference is saw has a rule while this movie the killer only puts the traps in the unknown houses. The killer is collecting survivor from his/her trap The movie has a thrill but some scenes are easily expected what's next. Even this movie is a low budget film, they make the audience scared. Like insidious. The uniqueness part of the story is the antagonist. The antagonist is a thief. and he is going to save the family that he will mug.

The weakness of the film is the plot and the sounds. The sounds makes me sleepy. the sound effect is not so catchy in my ears. And Frankly the camera angle is not very good.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 6 of 19: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history