IMDb > Ace Ventura: Pet Detective Jr. (2009) (TV) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Ace Ventura: Pet Detective Jr.
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Ace Ventura: Pet Detective Jr. (TV) More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 21 reviews in total 

36 out of 38 people found the following review useful:

I say these words as a HUGE 'Ace Ventura' fan...

1/10
Author: crazydrummer01
15 October 2009

What the f*ck! Seriously, i am probably the biggest Ace Ventura fan and when i heard the news about a 3rd movie some years ago i was very excited. And from following the updates of this film from beginning to end, my expectations slowly started to decrease...and when the trailer hit the internet i was speechless... literally.

And that was just the beginning, the film came out on DVD and as curious as i am, i went and got it... and that was most likely the biggest mistake of my life.

From beginning to end, i felt like i was being tortured yet i couldn't look away... i couldn't believe my eyes... i couldn't believe what the f*ck they just did to Ace Ventura!

Was the above review useful to you?

48 out of 62 people found the following review useful:

This is not Ace, it's a Looser!

1/10
Author: eJay17 from Poland
7 March 2009

This is how good brand could turn into rubbish...

This movie is bad. The director used the well-known brand and adapted it to a kiddy audience. The main actor is trying to imitate Jim Carrey but it is just boring and flat (definetely untalented).

In addition, this film does not introduce anything new. Everything has been enriched by the typical patterns (family problems ble ble ble). It is highly ridiculous, almost at all. Unfortunately, I do not recommend it to anyone.If you saw the previous parts, then stay with them. Ace's son adventures are completely colorless, unfunny. This is one of the most unnecessary sequels ever.

I'll give it 1/10, because I watched earlier "Zack and Miri make a porno" which is awesome.

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Why ask why?

1/10
Author: Newsense from United States
2 March 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Why was this even attempted? Why did someone think this was a good idea? Why did Art Lafleur waste his time by being in this fluffy kiddie dross? Why is it that the same director that gave us the fantastic The Sandlot couldn't give us a better movie than this? Why is it that the screenwriters for this unfunny cornball dreck think that humor that wouldn't appeal to kids that have heard those same jokes 100 times before would appeal to them now? Why is the main star of the movie(Josh Flitter) only goal is to ape Jim Carrey's character of the original Ace Ventura movies? Why are all of Josh Flitter's screen-mugging antics in vain? Why did they think that him being the son of Ace Ventura was supposed to make us care about his character? Why couldn't the writers of this movie come up with better plot than one that involves the title star trying to free his mom from jail from a case involving a missing panda? Why does all the slapstick and lame gags(farting animals and stupid pratfalls) fall flatter than Suge Knight after one punch? Why is it that the only people that would find this stale movie funny and good are the same deranged people that though that Superbabies, Ed, Master Of Disguise and Baby Geniuses were good movies? Why cant a movie of this type appeal to all ages(like better family movies in the past have done)instead of just kids? Why cant money be spent on better movie ideas than laugh-free bile like this? Why ask why?

You get the drift. Canned acting by all and corny brain-rotting jokes and gags written by morons that assume that all kids must be morons. Here's a joke: What do you get when you cross a rhesus monkey with Reese's Pieces? A Rhesus Pieces monkey! That stupid and cheesy joke best describes the humor in this movie. So if you found that joke funny you'll love this film. If not then stay far away. Do not let these greedy Follywood executives have the last laugh or the jokes on you... literally. HEE HEE HEE, HAW HAW HAW, HARDY HAR HAR!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Not Alrightey Then

1/10
Author: David Brailsford from United States
2 January 2010

This movie is to be avoided if you like the other Ace Ventura Movies, heck avoid it if you liked the cartoon. This movie is almost painful to watch. The kid is a terrible choice for the role being as how he did not look anything like Jim Carrey. The humor also is not on par with the other 2 movies and this movie misleads consumers to capabilities of iPods. This movie should be titled as "Ace Ventura wouldn't come anywhere near this script with a 100 foot pole cause it just stinks that much". I couldn't even make it through the whole thing since Knight Rider was on opposite of it when I was watching it and I chose that show to watch instead.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Ace Ventura: Pet Detective Jr. (2009)

1/10
Author: SnakesOnAnAfricanPlain from United Kingdom
22 January 2012

Somewhere in Hollywood lives an evil genius and his grand plan is to make sequels to every Jim Carrey movie...WITHOUT Jim Carrey. If that wasn't bad enough this film replaces Jim with some fat, irritating child AND suggests Ace died. The best thing would have been to make this a prequel with Ace as a child. Not give him a stupid ugly kid."Respectful" is not a word in this film's vocabulary. It also has some old guy, playing Ace's dad, whom repeats all of Carrey's signature lines in a fashion akin to your own grandfather, embarrassing you at your birthday party. This is really horrible, verging on disgusting. I'm not the biggest Ace Ventura fan, but this is just ghastly. I hope all involved have a suicide pact.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 24 people found the following review useful:

is there a rating lower the 1(awful)

1/10
Author: freakout_15 from United States
18 July 2009

they have ruined the Ace Ventura movies with the horrible crap. the actors and actresses in the movie probably lost half their fans by making of this movie, i mean why would they do this to Jim Carrey. look this is the first movie the has made me mad cause i love the original Ventura movies and i am glad they are still popular. no thanks to David M. Evans Morgan Creek Productions created this crap so don't blame the creators of the REAL ACE VENTURA MOVIES. the warner brothers are good people for not suing them for this crap just let them lose there money all on there own. but really Evans Morgan creek productions shut down after the creation of this Jim Carrey demon hating movie. but one can only hope... by the way did i mention the movie sucked!

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Boring and uncreative.

1/10
Author: AchillesRWP from Australia
29 June 2010

I don't normally write reviews for movies but after seeing this movie, I took the time to create an account and voice my disgust / deter other people from wasting their time watching this film.

Watching the first Ace Ventura films, it's easy to say they were at least decent films and hence entitled to the mid-ratings they received. Watching the third installment makes it easy to say it was worth of not only less then what it has (2/10) but the negatives if only it were possible.

The storyline is a watery carbon copy of the other two films (i.e missing animal needs to be found) with nothing new added to it besides a goofy child actor who's performance was abysmal and mindless, childish jokes. The writers seem to have directed the movie only at toddlers. It uses potty humor very heavily and no-one (not even toddlers) would find it appealing. A big mistake by the producers and executives who even approved this waste of money. It's a big disappointment to the Ace Ventura franchise.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

This film should come with a health warning

1/10
Author: phantasmda from United Kingdom
16 January 2012

((((Violently tries to yank the rating button into a minus))) GRRR

OMG! How could they? How dare they? Is it a crime to want to viciously murder a youth?

This has to be THE SINGLE WORST movie ever made, how do you turn a classic thing like Ace Ventura into this monstrosity of a film? The kid ((Blood boils just thinking about him)) Who in their right minds thought the kid could act? He needs putting down, who thought this eye gougingly terrible script held even one bit of mirth? Who even thought that this film was a good idea to start with?

I need to go see a shrink as watching this film has completely destroyed my faith in humanity, it has taken my will to live. Please heed my warning, if you see this film in the bargain bins at your local video store, buy every copy you can, take them outside, stamp them into tiny pieces and then burn the crumbs, it really is THAT bad :0(

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

A good bad movie?

4/10
Author: djelvis2 from United States
26 December 2010

I'm an MST3K fan, so my perspective might be a bit skewed. But you remember Eddie Murphy's stand-up routine about what his stand-up was like when he was a kid? Trying to be raunchy before he could say cuss words or talk about sex?

That's what "Ace Jr" felt like to me, like an unsophisticated Max Fischer stage play about his favorite Jim Carrey creation. It's a very derivative film that can't decide if it's for kids or not. The writing has the quality of a typical Disney channel sitcom, and brings back all the lines and bits from the original in the most awkward and cringe-inducing ways. I'm not sure if anyone that ends up liking "Ace Jr" would even like the original films; certainly, original fans would grit their teeth through a screening of this.

Nobody watches any "Ace Ventura" for the plot; these movies live and die by the lead. The kid playing "Ace Jr" reminded me more of Jack Black than Jim Carrey, better when he wasn't trying to do Ace Ventura imitations. There's a better movie in him somewhere...

In the "Ace" franchise, it's about as good as an average episode of that Saturday morning cartoon, but weak sauce compared to the Jim Carrey films. If you thought the Ernest films were funny, you'll probably enjoy this. Actually, if you thought Turkish Superman was funny, you might enjoy this, too...

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Avoid it if you liked Jim Carrey as Ace Ventura

4/10
Author: cdpaladinc0 from United States
2 March 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Saw this movie on TV yesterday, a couple days before it'll be released on DVD. From what I understand it was a straight to DVD release.

Basically it's another one of the many and probably more to come Jim Carrey-less Jim Carrey movie sequels.

This movie wouldn't of been bad if it was it's own title. Like 'Larry Wilkins, Animal Investigator!', but titling this Ace Ventura Jr is gonna bug any Ace Ventura fan. And like most of these movies coming out anymore, Jim Carrey isn't even in this movie. Ace Ventura isn't even in it played by a 3rd rate actor. Instead they fix that by having Ace killed off in a plane accident years before the movie takes place.

Now in this movie, you have Josh Flitter playing Ace Ventura Jr. He's a kid who likes helping animals, like Ace Ventura did. His mother gets onto him constantly through-out the movie for doing this, which she doesn't like and just wants him to be normal. Eventually a panda from the zoo as which his mom works, gets stolen, and his mom get's imprisoned, while Ace Jr tries to solve the mystery and the local authorities not believing anything he says because he's a kid.

Like I said earlier, this would of been an excellent movie for everyone if this wasn't part of the Ace Ventura franchise. Unfortunitly, it is. Through-out the movie, we get Ace Jr spewing forth the original Ace's common caught phrases like 'All Righty then!' all the times this is done, it seems extremely forced. The movie would of been better without any of this. Kid aren't gonna catch the references. Not to mention that anytime someone gets chased or caught by a security guard, they yell out 'DON'T TASE ME BRO!' Kid's won't understand the reference, but the adults who are angry that this movie is part of the Ace Ventura franchise will.

The acting is pretty good, but some of the props and such are terrible. Anyone can tell that the pandas in the movie are fake, especially when someone picks one up and easily carry them away. They look like something right out of a horror film, and could give kids nightmares. Then, in one scene, Laura goes into this lab to copy all the data off a scientist's hard drive, and the animals in the cages are all fake. Matter of fact, you can easily see that these animals are all stuffed and are right out of a hunter's trophy room.

Also the movie is extremely anti-climatic(major spoilers in this section). The movie probably contains only 30 minutes of the main plot. Any other time it's going on about a false lead or bullies at school. At the end you find out that the rich kid's father was behind the famous animal disappearances and the son was behind the student's. Doesn't even end in a semi-decent chase scene. Could of expected a horse chase or bike chase at the end for kids. All that happens is Ace Jr finds these shoes that prove the father is behind everything, Ace Jr calls the cops, cops don't believe him again, then he goes to the stables and frees all the animals, father's arrested, and Ace Jr chases the kid inside to find all the kid's animals and has to pull a koi fish out of an alligator's stomache.

Maybe someday Jim Carrey will make a real Ace Ventura 3, but until then, this isn't a substitute for adults. This is an good movie for kids, but for adults, avoid it cause it'll just make you angry. Maybe in the future they'll stop tacking movies like this onto well established titles (Son of the Mask for example...). This would of been an excellent movie for families if it would of been it's own thing and left the Ace Ventura catch phrases and entire concept out, but no.

4/10 -1 Anti-climatic ending -5 part of the Ace Ventura saga +4 good movie for kids.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot synopsis Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history