IMDb > Ace Ventura: Pet Detective Jr. (2009) (TV) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Ace Ventura: Pet Detective Jr.
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Ace Ventura: Pet Detective Jr. (TV) More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 23 reviews in total 

42 out of 45 people found the following review useful:

I say these words as a HUGE 'Ace Ventura' fan...

1/10
Author: GMFinneyProductions
15 October 2009

What the f*ck! Seriously, i am probably the biggest Ace Ventura fan and when i heard the news about a 3rd movie some years ago i was very excited. And from following the updates of this film from beginning to end, my expectations slowly started to decrease...and when the trailer hit the internet i was speechless... literally.

And that was just the beginning, the film came out on DVD and as curious as i am, i went and got it... and that was most likely the biggest mistake of my life.

From beginning to end, i felt like i was being tortured yet i couldn't look away... i couldn't believe my eyes... i couldn't believe what the f*ck they just did to Ace Ventura!

Was the above review useful to you?

52 out of 68 people found the following review useful:

This is not Ace, it's a Looser!

1/10
Author: eJay17 from Poland
7 March 2009

This is how good brand could turn into rubbish...

This movie is bad. The director used the well-known brand and adapted it to a kiddy audience. The main actor is trying to imitate Jim Carrey but it is just boring and flat (definetely untalented).

In addition, this film does not introduce anything new. Everything has been enriched by the typical patterns (family problems ble ble ble). It is highly ridiculous, almost at all. Unfortunately, I do not recommend it to anyone.If you saw the previous parts, then stay with them. Ace's son adventures are completely colorless, unfunny. This is one of the most unnecessary sequels ever.

I'll give it 1/10, because I watched earlier "Zack and Miri make a porno" which is awesome.

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

Ace Ventura: Pet Detective Jr. (2009)

1/10
Author: SnakesOnAnAfricanPlain from United Kingdom
22 January 2012

Somewhere in Hollywood lives an evil genius and his grand plan is to make sequels to every Jim Carrey movie...WITHOUT Jim Carrey. If that wasn't bad enough this film replaces Jim with some fat, irritating child AND suggests Ace died. The best thing would have been to make this a prequel with Ace as a child. Not give him a stupid ugly kid."Respectful" is not a word in this film's vocabulary. It also has some old guy, playing Ace's dad, whom repeats all of Carrey's signature lines in a fashion akin to your own grandfather, embarrassing you at your birthday party. This is really horrible, verging on disgusting. I'm not the biggest Ace Ventura fan, but this is just ghastly. I hope all involved have a suicide pact.

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

Why ask why?

1/10
Author: Newsense from United States
2 March 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Why was this even attempted? Why did someone think this was a good idea? Why did Art Lafleur waste his time by being in this fluffy kiddie dross? Why is it that the same director that gave us the fantastic The Sandlot couldn't give us a better movie than this? Why is it that the screenwriters for this unfunny cornball dreck think that humor that wouldn't appeal to kids that have heard those same jokes 100 times before would appeal to them now? Why is the main star of the movie(Josh Flitter) only goal is to ape Jim Carrey's character of the original Ace Ventura movies? Why are all of Josh Flitter's screen-mugging antics in vain? Why did they think that him being the son of Ace Ventura was supposed to make us care about his character? Why couldn't the writers of this movie come up with better plot than one that involves the title star trying to free his mom from jail from a case involving a missing panda? Why does all the slapstick and lame gags(farting animals and stupid pratfalls) fall flatter than Suge Knight after one punch? Why is it that the only people that would find this stale movie funny and good are the same deranged people that though that Superbabies, Ed, Master Of Disguise and Baby Geniuses were good movies? Why cant a movie of this type appeal to all ages(like better family movies in the past have done)instead of just kids? Why cant money be spent on better movie ideas than laugh-free bile like this? Why ask why?

You get the drift. Canned acting by all and corny brain-rotting jokes and gags written by morons that assume that all kids must be morons. Here's a joke: What do you get when you cross a rhesus monkey with Reese's Pieces? A Rhesus Pieces monkey! That stupid and cheesy joke best describes the humor in this movie. So if you found that joke funny you'll love this film. If not then stay far away. Do not let these greedy Follywood executives have the last laugh or the jokes on you... literally. HEE HEE HEE, HAW HAW HAW, HARDY HAR HAR!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

Not Alrightey Then

1/10
Author: David Brailsford from United States
2 January 2010

This movie is to be avoided if you like the other Ace Ventura Movies, heck avoid it if you liked the cartoon. This movie is almost painful to watch. The kid is a terrible choice for the role being as how he did not look anything like Jim Carrey. The humor also is not on par with the other 2 movies and this movie misleads consumers to capabilities of iPods. This movie should be titled as "Ace Ventura wouldn't come anywhere near this script with a 100 foot pole cause it just stinks that much". I couldn't even make it through the whole thing since Knight Rider was on opposite of it when I was watching it and I chose that show to watch instead.

Was the above review useful to you?

19 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

is there a rating lower the 1(awful)

1/10
Author: freakout_15 from United States
18 July 2009

they have ruined the Ace Ventura movies with the horrible crap. the actors and actresses in the movie probably lost half their fans by making of this movie, i mean why would they do this to Jim Carrey. look this is the first movie the has made me mad cause i love the original Ventura movies and i am glad they are still popular. no thanks to David M. Evans Morgan Creek Productions created this crap so don't blame the creators of the REAL ACE VENTURA MOVIES. the warner brothers are good people for not suing them for this crap just let them lose there money all on there own. but really Evans Morgan creek productions shut down after the creation of this Jim Carrey demon hating movie. but one can only hope... by the way did i mention the movie sucked!

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

This film should come with a health warning

1/10
Author: phantasmda from United Kingdom
16 January 2012

((((Violently tries to yank the rating button into a minus))) GRRR

OMG! How could they? How dare they? Is it a crime to want to viciously murder a youth?

This has to be THE SINGLE WORST movie ever made, how do you turn a classic thing like Ace Ventura into this monstrosity of a film? The kid ((Blood boils just thinking about him)) Who in their right minds thought the kid could act? He needs putting down, who thought this eye gougingly terrible script held even one bit of mirth? Who even thought that this film was a good idea to start with?

I need to go see a shrink as watching this film has completely destroyed my faith in humanity, it has taken my will to live. Please heed my warning, if you see this film in the bargain bins at your local video store, buy every copy you can, take them outside, stamp them into tiny pieces and then burn the crumbs, it really is THAT bad :0(

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Boring and uncreative.

1/10
Author: AchillesRWP from Australia
29 June 2010

I don't normally write reviews for movies but after seeing this movie, I took the time to create an account and voice my disgust / deter other people from wasting their time watching this film.

Watching the first Ace Ventura films, it's easy to say they were at least decent films and hence entitled to the mid-ratings they received. Watching the third installment makes it easy to say it was worth of not only less then what it has (2/10) but the negatives if only it were possible.

The storyline is a watery carbon copy of the other two films (i.e missing animal needs to be found) with nothing new added to it besides a goofy child actor who's performance was abysmal and mindless, childish jokes. The writers seem to have directed the movie only at toddlers. It uses potty humor very heavily and no-one (not even toddlers) would find it appealing. A big mistake by the producers and executives who even approved this waste of money. It's a big disappointment to the Ace Ventura franchise.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

please stay away

1/10
Author: jackrod893 from United States
20 December 2012

starting off i was a huge fan of the first 2.

me and my friends watch bad movies for fun. we've seen it all birdemic,the room,manos the hands of fate,spy kids 3 and 4 etc. never have i been so annoyed so disgusted so.....lets put it this way i wanted to stop seeing movies after this good bad i was done with movies after this. from reed Alexander's annoying small role as the "villain" to josh flitter's horrendous role as the "hero" honestly every single thing about this movie is dreadful and unwatchable. bad joke after bad joke(this is Sparta!)a tired bland story etc. annoying is the best word to describe this movie so do yourself a favor and don't watch it it's to late for me but you can still live your life without seeing this. this movie ruined the first 2 for me and for those saying this is a kids movie i ask you why did they make a kids movie out of a movie that wasn't a kids movie? and also kids movies don't have to be stupid and insult their intelligence this film was like a college course in how to be stupid and treat kids like they are stupid. i hope i never see another movie like this again and i hope none of you do either.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

A little ventura.....no

1/10
Author: Paul Celano (chelano) from Howell, MI USA
14 October 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Oh yes nothing like taking a classic and making a huge dump on it. Now I will never rate anything a zero. You just can't because in some strange magical way, they got money and a camera to put it together. Maybe they have a fund raiser or sold their soul, I don't know. But nothing about this movie was good. You get to see Ace Ventura's son and his father. Played by two horrible actors. There is even a story about why Jim Carrey was not in this one. Get ready for a spoiler. He dies; in a plane crash; helping birds; over the Bermuda Triangle. Oh man! I bet the writers really thought hard on that one. Josh Flitter would probably be a good actor in another movie, but not this one. He tried to act like the original Ace Ventura, but it just didn't work. This movie was more of a made for TV special than an amazing film. Sorry this movie just did not do it for me. Please PLEASE stop ruining classics. It isn't nice.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot synopsis Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history