IMDb > The Kids Are All Right (2010) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Kids Are All Right
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Kids Are All Right More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 9 of 30: [Prev][4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [Next]
Index 294 reviews in total 

12 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

Enjoyable and visually stunning Hollywood entertainment

10/10
Author: Bollywood_Stoolsoftener (bollywoodstoolsoftener@live.com) from New Delhi
10 September 2010

The Kids Are All Right is one of the lightest and boldest Non-Hindi entertainers in recent years. It is on par with any well-made Hollywood comedy. The film addresses two very controversial issues in India: live-in relationships and premarital pregnancy, yet does not try to emphasise them or take them too seriously. It is brilliantly shot, with great production values, great cinematography, light and beautiful songs, and well-cast actors. The film is entirely shot in North America, and the various locations of Canada, the sets and the beautiful landscapes are extremely pleasing to the eye. While it is a modern comedy, it never forgets that it is actually an American film, and in the second part gently becomes loyal to its Hollywood standards. By the same token, while it turns into a dramatic feature, it never forgets to remain modern. The emotions of the film are reserved and not overly cheap. They are natural and flavoured with great comedy.

Mark Ruffalo and Juliette Bending are irreplaceable and their chemistry is fantastic. They are sensitive, talented, cool and modern actors who understand this foreign lifestyle. Hutcherson's character is quite unsympathetic, as he is portrayed as someone who does not want to take responsibility for his acts. Yet, he displays the expected transformation into someone who finally understands his mistakes very well. Mia Wasikowska is quite the owner of the film though. She is convincing, charming and very attractive as the decisive, moody and lively prankster. Her vivacity in the first half and her pain and hilarious hysterics in the second are excellent.

There are many memorable scenes in this film. First, the kissing and love scenes between the leading actors are surprising and must be noted. I really liked the "My Dil Goes Hmmm..." song. The scenes when people are bickering intensively are funny and well-acted. The scene when they meet at their friends' house and the subsequent "Tu Jahaan" actions are moving. The entire birth scene is exciting and funny. But my favourite scene is the "Ben and Jerry's Dark Belgian Chocolate ice cream" one. This is one of the greatest acts of the film, spontaneous and wholly entertaining. I recommend The Kids Are All Right to everyone. It's not an extraordinary film, but it's a spectacular and visually stunning romantic comedy for the entire family.

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 29 people found the following review useful:

New word...coming to a dictionary near you

1/10
Author: eddiecougar from United States
16 December 2010

Lezploitation

lez•ploi•ta•tion--- lèz-ploy-táy-sh'n

noun

1. Unfair treatment or use: The practice of taking selfish or unfair advantage of lesbians or lesbianism, usually for personal gain.

2. Development of lesbians for benefit: The use or development of a faux lesbian identity in order to gain a benefit.

•Example: In an interview, writer/director Lisa "Sellout" Cholodenco said her movie (The Kids are Alright) was "meant to appeal to male audiences, not lesbians" … which obviously categorized it as a lezploitation movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

54 out of 107 people found the following review useful:

Mothers

8/10
Author: Will Thomas (willandthomas.picturehouse@gmail.com) from Hollywood, CA
14 July 2010

It's unavoidable to compare. We're at the beginning of the world our grandchildren are going to take for granted. But now, we compare and realize that family is by choice or design a place, a state of mind, in which love does or must flourish. Beautifully told with a sensational performance by Annette Bening. Without preaching or candy coating the story we realize that the future has a chance. Two women, one sperm donor and two children. Why not? We see the results on the children's faces. Mia Wasikowska is the daughter. Smart, compassionate, mature beyond her years. Josh Hutcherson is the son and, although he is the least developed character, I loved him, with his lopsided smile and his healthy curiosity. Mark Ruffalo, wonderful, showing us, as the sperm donor, another face of a character he has a monopoly in, the lovable loser. He is terrific! Julianne Moore is still an actress I find very hard to surrender to. Her acting is so much upfront that it takes you out of the truth she's trying to convey. However I loved the film and I only hope Hillary Swank is not nominated next year so Annette Bening finally gets what she so richly deserves.

Was the above review useful to you?

There Is So Much Love and Delight In This Picture.

10/10
Author: powermandan from Canada
1 March 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The Kids Are All Right is one of those films that makes me want hug myself. There is so much love and happiness in everything that went into the making of this. It successfully rubbed off onto me.

This takes a more risqué look at modern American families by taking a look at loving family with two children and two mothers. But homosexuality is pretty common these days and the movie doesn't try to force-feed anything into the viewer. It just wants to take a look at a different kind of family.

Nic and Jules (both fantastically played by Annette Bening and Julianne Moore) live in suburban Los Angeles with their two teenage kids Joni and Laser (Mia Wasikowska and Josh Hutcherson). Joni is about to go off to college and Laser is getting involved in weird jazz that typical teenage boys try out. Nic is a doctor and the breadwinner of the family, while Jules tried architecture but agreed to be the stay-at-home-mom. The family may be unorthodox, but that doesn't matter.

One day, Laser talks Joni into tracking down their sperm father. He turns out to be a care-free hippie. Mark Ruffalo was nominated for an Oscar for his fun performance as loose-cannon Paul. When Paul enters the picture, it complicates everything for the family. But for everything bad that happens, we all know something good must happens in return. They love Paul's spirit. He knows that he's immature and he doesn't want to break the family apart, but he still wants to keep in touch and be a part of their lives.

The only person that doesn't like Paul is Nic. She is the most uptight parent as well as the most successful. Jules likes him though. As she starts her own gardening business, Paul helps out finds the love that she's been missing. Is she now straight? Questions like this are asked numerous times and there is never an easy explanation. But they must get in touch with their personal feelings. I often see people bashing the ending for being too feminist and whatnot, but I disagree. The rejection of Paul to the very last frame is very powerful in showing the love and endurance in the family. So strong, that they really have nothing to worry about as a whole soon after. Do they keep in touch with Paul? Of course. The power of love in the family is too strong to let anybody stand in their way. And Paul is such a significant part of their lives. Nothing had to be spelled out for me.

One thing that I love about this film that I hardy ever see people praise is the general look. The cloudless blue skies with the beautiful sun beating down on the gardening and the Los Angeles area are all so gorgeous.

But of course, the characters are all to thank. They are all so well-developed and so well- performed. I felt so much greatness behind everything that happened. Here is a film that knows and likes the characters, exactly the way they are. So we end up loving them too.

Was the above review useful to you?

The kids are, indeed, alright.

7/10
Author: Spinners1961 from Port Talbot, Wales, United Kingdom
11 December 2016

Bening and Moore play Nic and Jules a loving west coast lesbian couple with two children, a level-headed 18-year old daughter called Joni (after Joni Mitchell) and a slightly confused and wayward 15-year old son called Lazer (for reasons not explained). The children are half- siblings with Joni conceived by the slightly more butch Nic and Lazer conceived by the slightly more feminine Jules with both having the same sperm donor father - revealed very early on to be the laid-back Paul (Ruffalo), a moderately successful co-op farmer and restaurant owner who I would tag as being 'hippy'.

Lazer has an overwhelming urge to know more about his sperm donor father but, because of his age, he needs his sister's help. Joni contacts the clinic who contacts Paul for permission and the resultant meeting of the children with the father they know nothing about and then the meeting of the mothers with their previously unknown sperm donor sends the dynamic between all five in different and difficult directions as they discover more and more about each other...

7/10. Definitely worth a watch.

Was the above review useful to you?

This film is TOXIC to our relationships with straight society: "Lesbians" after "penis"

1/10
Author: contemplatingit
11 March 2015

When it comes to lesbians, the message is so often, that we like to sleep with men also & need penis oriented things to get off. In the early 90's the gay women often met a tragic end and died and slept with men. ie. chasing Amy. What Hollywood likes are bisexuals, and lesbians identity is washed away. Even porn shows us happily adding a man to the mix. Perhaps we die of an overdose or falling off a cliff (actual examples seen similar to ones we've seen over and over). The overall message conveyed: Stick to women only and you will die or be miserable. Think of Brokeback Mountain - death and misery for gay men. Other films in Hollywood give gay men HIV.

Message repeated to men constantly: gay/lesbian women are actually bisexual and like having sex with men. Effectively Hollywood is eradicating the lesbian identity (which is: women who do not have sex with men) by having characters self-identify as "lesbian" but behave as bisexual. It made gay marriage look sad, sexless, undesirable and full of conflict.

This is turn has an affect on how gay women are treated in society. numerous people have has asked me whether lesbians sleep with men after seeing this film. Why? For the reason that the character said she is a lesbian, but has has sex with men. My girlfriend's boss actually asked her to go to a hotel with him after seeing this movie even though she identifies as lesbian. I had to explain to my whole family that this is not how lesbians are. Thanks Julianne Moore for making lesbians fight even harder to not have their identity eradicated by straight people. This film was TOXIC to our relationships with straight society.

When we have so LITTLE representation in Hollywood, each representation impacts us A LOT. Sleep with men? You are bisexual, not a lesbian. period. If a straight man slept with another man and then said he was straight to his wife, no one would accept his self-proclaimed straight identity and this would not have nominated this for best comedy.

This film was lame to begin with with crappy writing, dumb story, virtually every actor in this is now a complete sell out compromising all artistic integrity. These actors say they are gay positive, but contribute to gay oppression and homophobia.

If Julianne Moore said: I am bisexual and the film portrayed her as having hot sex with her "female" partner "also", without any penis present, MAYBE it would have been less offensive. Message: without male penis sex is lame.

People supporting this film don't understand that Hollowood is wiping out lesbian identity, along with black people, Beigians, south indians, Chinese, etc. You are probably straight f you like this film and any self-respecting gay/lesbian person, which excludes bisexuals here, would not like this film. I do think that educated bisexuals will also see this as offensive.

film=garbage. More like HATE propaganda.

Was the above review useful to you?

Perfect drama on marriage and family values

9/10
Author: douglasvidalltrs from Brazil
21 January 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

PERFECT DRAMA ON MARRIAGE AND FAMILY VALUES The Kids Are All Right Review, by Douglas Vidal Original title: The Kids Are All Right Title in Portuguese: Minhas Mães e Meu Pai Country: USA Genre: Comedy / Drama Year of release: 2010 Director: Lisa Cholodenko Cast: Annette Bening, Julianne Moore, Mark Ruffalo, Mia Wasikowska, Josh Hutcherson Length: 106 min

The Kids Are All Right is an outstanding, smart, funny and nice comedy about a lesbian couple, their children and the sperm donor. In spite of being a comedy, the movie portraits a postmodern family life and its emotional difficulty in a very easygoing way.

Nic (Annette Bening) and Jules (Julianne Moore) are a perfect gay couple that got artificial insemination in the 90's to raise a family. Their kids, Joni (Mia Wasikowska), 18, and Laser (Josh Hutcherson), 15, are quite different; the former is just waiting for the fall to go to college in another state, and the latter is more into sports than school-work. Their family home is joyful in general, but suddenly Laser wants to meet their sperm donor named Paul (Mark Ruffalo). Then, Laser gets his sister to help him contacting their father before she goes to college. And so Paul enters the story and starts messing things up.

The sperm donor first meets "his kids" and then their mothers. Afterwards,he begins to have a great relationship with both siblings, which makes Nic jealous of. After that, Paul hires Jules to work in his garden, since she is an architect. Paul and Jules, the unsatisfied homemaker, start having an affair behind Nic's back and it follows the plot up to the outcome.

The Kids Are All Right is an excellent movie about the story of a ready-made biological step family. It shows an incredible message about family values and its importance. We don't feel like judging their choices, but left to reflect about them and how sometimes it is necessary to make mistakes, learn from them, and make the right decision. We're shown real life problems in a fictional story that gives us real life solutions example. The movie carries the subject in a such sensitive, witty and warm manner that we cannot watch it just once to feel delight.

Was the above review useful to you?

Taut Domestic Drama

7/10
Author: l_rawjalaurence from London
15 November 2013

Described as "brave" in some quarters on account of its depiction of a lesbian relationship, THE KIDS ARE ALL RIGHT is actually a sharply observed domestic drama centering on the relationship between Jules and Nic (Julianne Moore, Annette Bening), their children (Mia Wasikowska, Josh Hutcherson), and their sperm donor Paul (Mark Ruffalo). The film takes a long hard look at Paul's relationship to the family he never knew about - not until the children decide to get in touch with him - and how his desire to obtain a ready-made family is ultimately frustrated. He turns out to be too self-centered to understand how others feel. Likewise Nic finds out to her cost that, despite her privileged existence as a doctor, her loved ones need a little more time and space in which to grow than she is prepared to allow them. Lisa Cholodenko's film never allows viewers any respite; her camera focuses in detail on each character's reaction to one another, as well as giving us an insight into their inner thoughts. The cast are utterly convincing in their various roles, creating a taut drama whose sheer raw energy compensates for a rather anticlimactic ending.

Was the above review useful to you?

No justice for Ruffalo

7/10
Author: lucausita2008 from Australia
15 September 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Now, I would like to establish that I am no stickler for the happy ending, however the summary dismissal of Ruffalo's character was a disappointment that did detract from the quality of the film. The writing was impressive, magnificent performances from Ruffalo and Benning consolidated by strong performing cast, particularly Wasikowska, who maintained the conventional teenage attitude but refrained from melodrama. Story arc involving Laser (interesting selection of character name) and Clay consuming drugs was perhaps a tad bit unnecessary. Ruffalo's performance was indisputably the most impressive; he managed to develop a relatable character whilst refraining from the conventional womaniser character. Generally and engaging and amusing feature, however some areas required some improvement.

Was the above review useful to you?

It left me feeling misjudged ...

7/10
Author: Rob Broekhof from Netherlands
26 August 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This review is more of an opinion ... and it really contains spoilers! Up to the moment that Nic discovers that Paul and Jules have an affair, I really loved this movie. A family that already was way beyond "the average families" in developing other ways of making a family, was becoming even more progressive! Both the story and the dialogs were brilliant, balanced, subtle and very funny. It was a comedy/drama that I would have recommended as "really one to watch"; as an example of how families could be. Alas ... it became a story that showed how families really are ... extremely protective and scared. May be this even applies more to families that seem progressive. I identified the most with Paul in this movie (or at least I would like to live like him). BUT, he became the outcast in a way that it made me feel totally misjudged myself. Although Paul was a bit of a libertine as it came to relations, he was very sincere. Especially Jules was the least sincere of them all. Actually this became already apparent when she fired Luis. Later she says: "I shouldn't have fired Luis like that. That was so wrong", But, she made no effort or any attempt at all to make it right again! This actually was kinda like a prediction of how the story would degenerate further ... where it wasn't at all funny anymore. The most afflictive to me was when Joni said to Paul: "I wish that you could've been ... better". Joni couldn't help that and I don't blame her. At that moment she was still under care and major influence of her mothers. Those mothers could have prevented such an awfully painful misjudgment. If all of them would have been living "happily ever after" in the end, it would have been a disappointing end. BUT these women (as such the filmmakers) could have done a better job in teaching their kids (as such the audience) the basics of fearless forgiveness ...

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 9 of 30: [Prev][4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history