IMDb > The Darjeeling Limited (2007) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Darjeeling Limited
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Darjeeling Limited More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 8 of 29: [Prev][3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [Next]
Index 286 reviews in total 

A Nice Ride

7/10
Author: mowasteph from United States
24 September 2014

I'm starting to become quite a Wes Anderson fan. Let's start with the most obvious reason - STATIC SHOTS. In these days of hand-held and cameras that bob around endlessly I am eternally grateful there are still a few filmmakers like Anderson who know what a tripod is. I almost don't care about the content of a movie anymore as long as the camera is STILL.

As for the movie, I enjoyed it. It's shallow but the visuals are stunning. This is a major travel-porn movie. Plus, I enjoyed every one of the performances. The cast was stellar, down to the smallest role. Sure it's about rich people who have the means to go "find themselves" while so many people don't, but I approached it in the same way one would approach one of those delightful singing/dancing comedies of the 1930s full of rich people who seemed oblivious to the fact that there was a depression on. Darjeeling is lovely escapism with just a touch of meaning and depth. I enjoyed the ride and was not bored. Ain't that what movies are about?

Was the above review useful to you?

Wry Wit and a Flare for the Undramatic

8/10
Author: LeonLouisRicci from United States
9 September 2014

A Multi-Colored Backdrop of Primary Colors and Colorful Native Indian People Highlight this Droll, Analytical Journey of the Mind and Spirit by way of a Train, the Film's Title, with Detours to Temples. "What should we pray for now.", Says One of the Three Brothers Uniting after the Death of Their Father.

Director Wes Anderson Again Explores Families and Their Dysfunction with a Wry Wit and a Flare for the Undramatic. Things that are Dramatized in an Anderson Film barely seem to Register as Actually Happening, let alone being Dramatic. Even the Most Dramatic of Things like a Baby on the Way with the Father and Mother Teetering on Divorce, the Death of Their Father, or Mother becoming a Nun in India.

The Three Brothers on this Trip (Owen Wilson, Adrian Brody, and Jason Schwartzman) are on Their Way to See Their Mother, who has Gone to a Catholic Convent in India. Is this a Reminder that Colonial England Might have Preferred A Conversion for All of India's Millions of Non-Christians.

The Film is Laced with Wordplay and Phrase-Twists that Provide Much of the Humor. This All Could be Seen as Dull if it wasn't so Vibrantly Filmed, not with Quick Cuts and Extreme Pacing, but with the Framing and the Distinctive Indigenous Palette. A Movie that Looks so Interesting and Different Cannot be Boring. Not if Your are Watching Without Expectations of Conventional Hollywood and Trendy Movie-Making.

Overall, Like All of Wes Anderson Films there will be Loud Dissents and Even Louder Applause from Fans that, just Once in Awhile, just for a Change, Appreciate Things Like this. For Contrast to All of the Movies, that are All of the Time, so Formulaic and Similar. If Nothing Else, the Director Gives Film Fans Something Different for a Diversion from Assembly Line Movie-making.

Was the above review useful to you?

"Prétentieux? Moi?" Rich white boys head for the Himalayas…

6/10
Author: The_late_Buddy_Ryan from UWS, NYC, USA
2 September 2014

If this movie was something Wes Anderson had to get out of his system before he could make his perfect masterpiece ("Moonrise Kingdom"!), then so be it…we just didn't find it all that enjoyable to watch. In some ways, it plays like a road-company version of "Tenenbaums"—three damaged adult children trying to deal with the legacy of their distant, selfish parents (though we don't actually meet Dad this time). The Jason Schwartzman brother obsesses about women, the Adrian Brody brother obsesses about possessions (though he doesn't have much follow-through; he buys a cobra in a bazaar, then puts it in a shoeshine box it's sure to escape from), the Owen Wilson brother obsesses about their parents and the other brothers…

The setups seem like they should be funnier than they are; the train crew gets lost in the desert of Rajasthan, and one of the brothers has to explain why that shouldn't happen if the train is still on the tracks. (If you don't like movies about rich, aimless white boys, then this one isn't for you.) Toward the end, WA tries to get a little character arc going—the bros get thrown off the DL and have to deal with a real-life emergency that isn't about them—but it's really too late for that, at least from the viewer's perspective.

Great performances (I liked the scowling steward and the sultry tea hostess), great vistas (especially the view from the Himalayan mission station where Mom (Anjelica Huston again) has gone to escape from the rest of them), great cinematography, great soundtrack as always —except for that one annoying song JS plays real loud on his Ipod during his tryst with Natalie Portman in the opening scene…

Summing up—if you've seen "Moonrise Kingdom," "Rushmore" (on cable a lot these days) and "Tenenbaums" and you've still got a hankering—then by all means… I still haven't caught up with "Bottle Rocket," "Zissou," "Mr. Fox" or the new one about the hotel, and at this point, I'd have to spend more political capital than I possess to get them into our Netflix queue…

Was the above review useful to you?

A great look at family dynamics with a Wes Anderson flair

7/10
Author: MovieLord23 from San Antonio
3 June 2014

The Darjeeling Limited isn't a movie that a lot of people talk about when it comes to Wes Anderson. I would dare its forgotten most of the time despite it having a big cast. It's a shame because it's definitely his most underrated film in his filmography despite it also having some problems.

Good: The central plot involving the brothers was great. Brody, Wilson, and Schwartzman were great together and really played off each other like siblings. Their dialogue was funny and quick and the scenario brought a lot of insightful drama about family and spirituality. The movie looks gorgeous easily becoming one of Anderson's most deliciously beautiful films he's made thus far taking full advantage of the Indian landscape and culture.

Bad: Like Steve Zissou, I felt the running time a bit seeing how it went on a bit too long. The last fifteen minutes or so I felt were tacked on and wasn't necessary per say in the story. I don't think the comedy really hits as much as his other films as well.

Overall, I feel this is the Wes Anderson film I will like more the more times I watch it. Great acting and visuals with pacing issues, but still worth a watch if you are a Wes Anderson fan.

Was the above review useful to you?

A Delight, But Not the Best of The Famed Director

7/10
Author: MLBisMeMatt from Pittsburgh
7 April 2014

As one of Wes Anderson's slightly earlier films, The Darjeeling Limited (2007) did not exist in the director's now famous, aesthetically perfect, symmetrical style; however, I still found the film to be a delight. The story of three estranged brothers who have been reunited after the death of their father. Comedy ensues, as the three brothers are on The Darjeeling Limited, a train traversing India, to find themselves.

The cast, led by Adrien Brody and Anderson alums: Owen Wilson and Jason Schwartzman, featured many interestingly flawed, hilarious and unforgettable characters. My favorite running joke took the form of a poisonous snake, which was smuggled onto the train and was almost grounds for getting the trio kicked off of their journey. The film had humor and it had heart, but it could have been more interesting. There were dry spells and some of the antics became old quickly. All-in-all I enjoyed the film, but it certainly was not one of Wes Anderson's best.

Was the above review useful to you?

A very Wes Anderson movie

6/10
Author: Robert Thompson (justbob1982) from Manchester, UK
13 January 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Version I saw: UK DVD release

Actors: 6/10

Plot/script: 6/10

Photography/visual style: 7/10

Music/score: 7/10

Overall: 6/10

Wes Anderson has a very wry, arch approach to making films. He uses the techniques of film-making - tracking shots, pans, set-building, choosing and scoring music, plotting and characterization - in a clownish, exaggerated way which is hilarious when done right, and he generally does it right. I have enjoyed his films ever since The Royal Tenenbaums in 2002, and have sought out those he made before that point too.

The Darjeeling Limited is said to be his worst film by fans and skeptics alike, and I can see that point of view, but it's still a Wes Anderson movie, and his hallmarks are all there, making it enjoyable nonetheless.

The film is all about accepting defeat, and learning that distance in relationships is not always a bad thing. Again, a very Wes Anderson, very post-modern message.

In the meantime, The Darjeeling Limited is arguably his prettiest, most artistically photographed film, showcasing the Indian locations nicely. If you don't enjoy it for Wes Anderson's self-conscious quirkiness, you can enjoy it for that.

For my full review, see my independent film blog on Blogspot, Cinema Inferno: http://cinemainferno-blog.blogspot.co.uk

Was the above review useful to you?

Loaded with symbolism and stunning images, Darjeeling Ltd is definitely worth a watch

8/10
Author: jackasstrange from United States
26 December 2013

Obviously i liked it. It has almost everything i seek when i am searching a film: it is smart, funny but with also a serious and even dark tone, is full of symbolism, it has an unique and stunning cinematography, and the acting is really satisfying. It is a flawed film, fact, but is ambitious and successfully delivers it's intended message. message.

The cinematography, as i already said, is stunning and very peculiar: the zooms are very weird, and in lots of scenes the camera changes the focus not by the traditional 'edited' way, but simply by switching the focus using the analogical method. Also, it rarely changes the angle in a scene. The colorful scenario with strong contrasts is also noticeable. The red is arguably the predominant color in the entire film, with all it's variants.

The plot itself has a few flaws i guess, but it's overall very consistent. It is a film about a spiritual journey the three characters pass through. There is lots of symbolism in the objects, so this film definitely requires full attention to be really understood.

And even if you are not used to films like these, you should definitely at least try to watch it. Mostly because it's not boring in any ways and it has a relatively short running time.

So, very solid film. 7.6/10

Was the above review useful to you?

On the Must Watch list.

Author: Meg-823-156938 from United Kingdom
21 October 2013

This is one of Wes Anderson's very best films. Three brothers come together under the characteristic manipulations of the eldest for a cross country journey through the colours, spices and challenges of India. Each at their own life crossroads, their neuroses lock together in an ironic self-perpetuating dance which any set of siblings will readily recognise. Willfully lost and living at once in the past, present and future, their manufactured search for some kind of spirituality leads them to confront the profound and the banal of real life. Poetic, thoughtful, hilariously funny and beautifully realised, it is utterly wonderful. On my Must Watch At Least Once A Year list.

Was the above review useful to you?

a lovable, bittersweet tragedy

Author: gloomydettee from Somewhere
16 March 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Wes Anderson 's (American director, filmography: Fantastic Mr. Fox, The Royal Tenenbaums, The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou etc.) movie: The Darjeeling Limited starring : Owen Wilson- as Francis, Adrien Brody- as Peter and Jason Schwartzman- as Jack. It was released in 2007, and shot in India expect the airport scene (which takes place in the U.S.). The genre is basically comedy-drama, but it also can be an adventure movie. Naturally, the first thing you observe during watching a film is it's spectacle, in here that's awesome, but not because it has been over-edited, but because particular colors (yellow and blue) are recurring themes during the movie( and because of India is beautiful.) Three diverged brothers (Francis, Jack, Peter) 1 year after their father passed away meet again and decide to visit their mother who lives in India. They travel on a luxury train called Darjeeling Limited. Even if it is said that it's a comedy, there aren't as much jokes as we expect, even so as a whole it's an entertaining work. The first main points are the chiselled characters, their fears and conflicts and the amazing acting according to this. The other main point is the music, it doesn't really fit into an Indian ambiance, but after all it really suits the movie. The majority may won't like the film, but I think that it's just because they couldn't reach the deeper message of it. For whom who loves the absurd things this is a must-see. I would recommend it for mature audiences, not because it's cruel or graphic or violent or because of the lot of profanity, but it's a bit hard to understand. It's a lovable, bittersweet tragedy. During the journey we can see through the three brothers' spiritual self-discover. Francis is hyper-optimistic, Jack is melancholic and flirty, and Peter is almost neurotic. The conflict evolves when they have been forced to get off the train because of their uninterrupted arguing. The film also features famous movie stars like Natalie Portman or Bill Murray. It was written by Roman Coppola, Jason Schwartzman and Wes Anderson. The film is supposed to culminate in a reunion with their mother. It's a typical Wes Anderson movie and it deals with his recurring themes such as despair, abandonment, sibling relationships etc. In the soundtrack, we can notice some classical movements ( Debussy, Beethoven).

It's about facing with one-selves and about our self-image, about the search for identity, self-restrain, cascading and in a general way about the importance of the family.

Was the above review useful to you?

Decent watching, despite some glaring issues

7/10
Author: dena-623-962265 from US
3 March 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Despite what many critics say, this movie is worth a watch or two, if only to watch the interactions between the characters (the three brothers).

The acting in this movie was its strongest asset, and I believe Owen Wilson truly captured the role of the leader/controlling older brother. Perhaps people who grew up with 2 of the same gender siblings can relate to this the best. Being the oldest of my two same gender siblings, I could totally see the interactions as believable and relatable.

Thinking about these brothers and the effect their parents had on them gives this movie a strong dimension.

However, critics of this movie succinctly pointed out some problems that cannot be ignored. Suspending disbelief is one thing, but it did seem that the India shown in the movie was uniquely constructed for the benefit of the brothers' growth as characters. I seriously doubt any stewardess in India would have sex with a stranger on a train. Read up on some brutal sexual attacks on female passengers to get an idea of the sexual freedoms there.

As touching and as sad as the funeral for the boy was, it came off as heavily contrived, with an Indian boy matching each white man, and the Indian characters coming off as one dimensional and only to serve as a growth experience for the main actors.

Symbolism is always an asset in this movie, but in this movie the suitcases, the funeral, the feathers, the slow-mo effect seemed very heavy handed and deliberate. There is the unpleasant feeling that you are being manipulated and "improved" as a person by being introduced to this stylishly modern and quirky world view. This detracts from the strong character work by the actors.

However, worth a watch! Owen Wilson does a great job and Adrien Brody is cute as hell in those slouchy dress clothes!

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 8 of 29: [Prev][3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history