Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 8 reviews in total 

7 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

A Must-See For Firefly Fans

10/10
Author: fithelere from United States
10 April 2007

When I first heard that some fans would be making a documentary about Firefly fandom, I thought it would be an amateur effort that I would tolerate only because I am myself a fan of Firefly and Serenity. I mean, who doesn't like a documentary about himself, right? Boy, was I wrong! Done the Impossible might be fan-created, but it was no amateur effort! The DTI team created a slick, high-quality, well-paced product that lays out the story of how the fans of the "best show ever canceled" banded together and would not let the dream die, of how creator Joss Whedon and his crew of actors drew inspiration from those fans to keep going, and of how Universal Pictures saw the enthusiasm and greenlighted a movie based on the show.

This tale of the little fandom that could is narrated by actor Adam Baldwin ("Jayne Cobb" on Firefly) and presented in interviews with hundreds of fans, as well as the luminaries from the cast, crew, writing team, producers, and of course Joss Whedon himself. Original music is provided by a slew of professional musicians who are themselves fans of the show. (BTW, the soundtrack is available on CD.) A poignant fact that comes through in these interviews is that the show was not just another TV show, for the fans or for those who created it. It was a chance to put something truly excellent and inventive in front of the American people, and like too many great efforts, it was squashed by the forces of corporate myopia.

But back to Done the Impossible. Besides the excellent main feature, the disc also includes an astounding number of special features, such as an interactive time line and a trivia game hosted by Jewel Staite. Easter eggs abound. The team that made this disc have used DVD technology to its fullest, creating a product that not only documents the love that fans have for Firefly, but demonstrates it fittingly as well.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

A doc for anyone interested in the power of fandom!

10/10
Author: from United States
10 April 2007

This doc belongs on your shelf right next to your "Firefly" set and your copy of "Serenity". Actually, it belongs between them. Because this is really the story of how fan passion helped lead from a canceled show to a movie, and beyond.

This is a fine, polished film on its own merits. But it is an absolute must for Firefly fans or anyone interested in the push a dedicated fandom can give to a beloved sci-fi property.

The film's makers secured cast members for interviews - a big piece of work on its own.

(And the soundtrack is just kick-butt, to boot!)

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Wonderful

8/10
Author: Les Howard from United States
15 April 2007

I am a big fan of Firefly & Serenity and I loved this film. It is very positive and uplifting and it reminds me of how how big an accomplishment the Browncoats accomplished in getting Serenity. I have shown it to people who have never seen Firefly before, and they enjoyed it. It got them curious and interested in finding out what was behind it.

The film itself is beautifully made. Lots of great original music and the soundtrack is well worth having. The DVD has tons of extras and is packed full of details. The filmmakers were open minded enough to release the documentary under a Creative Commons license, so it can be viewed (without the special extra features) for free.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

A wonderful, well-made documentary.

10/10
Author: tfabris from United States
19 April 2007

A wonderful documentary all around, for fans of Firefly, or of SF in general. There are some moments in the cast interviews I especially enjoyed. Of particular interest is the film's soundtrack, which is all original music by fans of the series; there's a great deal of talent in the collection of musicians on this DVD.

Firefly was a very special television show, inspiring more than just a sense of fandom in its viewers. Joss Whedon's work touched many people in very meaningful ways. This documentary shows the special relationship between Joss, the cast, and the fans that came out of this amazing and rare collaboration.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Preaching to the choir

5/10
Author: mutty-mcflea from Lincolnshire, UK
26 August 2013

I love 'Firefly'. It is one of the greatest series of all time and it is depressing that it was cancelled before its time and it is a shame that 'Serenity' didn't spark any sequels or a TV revival.

That said, this fan-made documentary tested my patience. I don't really see the point, at least not as a standalone, feature-length look at the show's fandom and the story of its cancellation and cinematic resurrection. If you're already a fan (and who else in the world would watch this?) then you know the story, and if you're not then you won't be convinced. There are no clips of the series, which would seem to be key in drawing in new viewers and illustrating the great moments mentioned by interviewees, and there's no real insight into what it means to be a fan. It's a compilation of talking heads, which is okay as far as it goes.

Although there are interviews with Joss Whedon, Tim Minear, other crew and most of the cast, for the most part they're too brief to go into any real detail, and I didn't come away with anything I didn't already know going in. The bulk of the movie is comprised of interviews with fans, and hurm. They're passionate and dedicated and sometimes embarrassingly earnest, as fans are, and I'm always happy to see people find each other and express their love for something creatively. But in a documentary I have far more interest in hearing from the people involved in the creation of a show or a movie than from people who love it; I know what that's like, I'm a fan myself. Over an hour of enthusiastic babbling is a little too much. And I couldn't care less what a jackass like Orson Scott Card thinks of anything.

In the end, this sort of thing is fine as a half hour DVD extra but it's stretched pretty thin as an 80-minute feature, labour of love or not.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Boring

3/10
Author: McArty from Spain
1 December 2009

Story of the creation and cancellation of the infamous Firefly, this documentary interviews some of the cast and hardcore fans of the series.

To be honest I only made to the first 45 minutes of this, hopping to find some change in the mechanics of the documentary; I was wrong.

This was a cheap attempt to lure the Firefly/Serenity Fans. The only thing here are interviews poorly edited with some fans and cast.

I was disappointed because I followed with enthusiasm Firefly/Serenity and hoped to find a little gem here.

Boring boring boring...

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

For and by the fans, and all that that implies

5/10
Author: Mr-Fusion from United States
2 July 2015

The best parts of "Done the Impossible" were hearing the cast and crew tell the story of "Firefly"'s life and death. It's nice to hear genuine sentiment from those that worked on the show, and know that it wasn't just a paycheck and a cancellation shrug when Fox pulled it. But this is the story told from an assortment of fans - which is an interesting idea for a documentary, but here its testimony from (seemingly) hundreds or random people, clips thrown together with little flow. Bouncing from one Browncoat to another. I don't know these people, and I've never had a religious experience with something like this (like they have), so the fandom was a turn-off. I know that's just me, but it's also why I didn't take to this.

Although it did make me want to watch the show again.

5/10

Was the above review useful to you?

25 out of 51 people found the following review useful:

Only watch it if you really really love Firefly

6/10
Author: Sven Delarivière from Belgium
11 August 2006

I read this on IGN, and when I saw the documentary, I understood why. "Only watch it if you really really love Firefly" and it's true, because, honestly, I love Firefly. I really do, but I still often go "it's just a TV-show" while watching it. The biggest reason why is mostly because I can't really relate to any people that much. I admit that I'm a nerd, but I'm a different nerd from most people there (who are not all nerds btw, but so different from me).

Although the story behind Firefly is great, I loved the extras on the Firefly and Serenity DVDs more. When I saw those things, and heard of the story behind it, I had never felt so proud owning a box of DVDs. But the story behind it, how they was destined for doom before it even had a chance to show what it's got, and how the fans understood that, and so many did, and many other put so much effort in bringing it back. It's nice, but they go too deep into the details.

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history