IMDb > Definitely, Maybe (2008) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Definitely, Maybe
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Definitely, Maybe More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 10 of 17: [Prev][5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [Next]
Index 165 reviews in total 

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Only liked it because of Ryan Reynolds.

7/10
Author: Sirus_the_Virus from United States
2 August 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I only really like Definitely, Maybe because of Ryan Reynolds. I liked the other people in the cast but Ryan Reynolds was the best. I like Elizebeth Banks, Isla Fisher and others, but Ryan Reynolds is one of my favorite actors. Like Hugh Grant, i'm willing to see anything he is in. If it's The Amityville horror remake or X-men Origins: Wolverine, I will definitely see it. He is the reason why I gave Definitely, Maybe a chance. I didn't exactly love the film. I found some of it uninteresting and I thought the ending was very predictable. Even a baby could've predicted it(Depends if the baby knew what was going on. Even so, it could've figured it out very easily). I still liked the film for a couple of reasons. It really goes deep into Will's(Ryan Reynold) past. It goes in depth through every relationship. It doesn't go too much into the relationship with Rachael Weiz's relationship. Thogh the film isn't as good as other romantic comedies, it's not a bad film.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Definitely, not maybe-Positively! ***1/2

8/10
Author: edwagreen from United States
1 August 2009

A wonderful story of 3 loves.

A recently divorced father tells his daughter, the wonderful, precocious Abigail Breslin, the basic story of his love-life. The viewer is left to determine which is the woman he ultimately divorced and what is become of him.

What makes this film so good is that it is told during the Clinton Administration, where we saw so many young people working feverishly for their candidate in 1992. We tried to mature during the Clinton Presidency so do our characters in this very delightful film.

This is basically the story of a guy who can't seem to fulfill 3 love relationships that he has made during the course of the years gone by.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Surprisingly Good

7/10
Author: Matt_Layden from Canada
20 July 2009

I was surprised by this one and I enjoyed it. Ryan Reynolds can hold a film, yet he hasn't really seem to have found his niche yet. He's an upcoming star I want to keep my eye on and ditto to everyone else in this movie.

Isla Fisher is cute and funny, she was my favourite of the three possible mothers in this film. Her story is also the most heartbreaking, I didn't tear up, but my girlfriend did. (She hates the fact that I never cry and calls me a robot).

Elizabeth Banks is someone who has peaked my interest. I loved her small part in The 40 Year Old Virgin and thought she rocked the house in Slither. Her latest film Zac and Miri Make A Porno, she was not only beautiful, but hilariously funny. She is quickly becoming a favourite of mine. She doesn't have a heck of a lot here, but the little screen time she does have works.

The last lovely lady is Rachel Weisz, who may seem like the odd one out. She was my least favourite of the three, but that's not because I didn't like her. I thought she was great here, it's just that I had a better connection with the other two. When we first she see, she is with Kevin Kline, who plays an alcoholic writer.

The story is told in the present by Reynolds to his daughter. We jump into the past, via the story, and we the audience have to guess who the mother is, just like the daughter. There are no real clues because we have no idea what relationship the mother has with the daughter, all we know is that it is ending in a divorce. She figures it out and appears to be happy, I have no idea why because the way he told the story, it makes no sense for her to be happy as to who the mother is. Oh well.

There is no real indication of what year it is, other then his job. Which was campaigning for Clinton as president. Which means everything looks exactly the same. I don't know why, but that part bugged me a bit.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Cute movie for people who love Ryan Reynolds.. :)

9/10
Author: unsiahussain from United Arab Emirates
13 July 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Well..

I must say, this was a great movie, though not perfect. The story is quite simple : A dad, (Ryan Reynolds) trying to explain his 3 relationships to his 11 year old daughter, Maya ( Abigail Breslin). She is very curious about who her real mother is, so they make a deal to change the names around of his girlfriends, so its harder to guess.

You watch Ryan Reynolds' whole life, his struggles with work, and with relationships. The 3 girlfriends of Ryan Reynolds were very charming and convincing, but I liked Isla Fisher the best.

I think that Ryan Reynolds has acted very well, and so has Abigail Breslin and Isla Fisher.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

better than average romantic comedy

6/10
Author: Roland E. Zwick (magneteach@aol.com) from United States
31 May 2009

In "Definitely, Maybe," Will Hayes (Ryan Reynolds) is a single dad whose young daughter (Abigail Breslin) insists that he make like Sheherazade and relate the tales of his former lovers so she can decide which of them is most likely to be her mother (think of it as a "Mamma Mia" in reverse). The potential candidates include Emily (Elizabeth Banks), his longtime girlfriend when he lived in Wisconsin; April (Isla Fisher), an apolitical Kurt Cobain and "Jane Eyre" freak; and Summer (Rachel Weisz), a magazine writer and friend of Emily. Thus, after an intro set in the present, the movie turns back the clock to 1992 when Hayes, then an aspiring politician, moved from Wisconsin to New York City to work on the first Clinton presidential campaign. It is there that he meets April and Summer (though May and Autumn fail to make an appearance).

Although the "Who's my mommy?" premise makes absolutely no sense whatsoever in the context of the story, "Definitely, Maybe" is still a cut or two above your average romantic comedy thanks to a screenplay by director Adam Brooks that generally respects the intelligence of its audience and to an appealing performance by Reynolds who carries the film with his easygoing demeanor and charm. The actresses all turn in fine performances as well, although Breslin occasionally sets the teeth on edge with her precocity and calculated cuteness (luckily, she's not on screen all that much). And as an extra added bonus, the movie offers up one of the snazziest and jazziest title sequences in recent memory.

The movie does get the year wrong on the Monica Lewinsky scandal (identifying it as 1997 instead of 1998), but the references to the politics of the '90s that continuously play out in the background are fun for those who look back with fondness and nostalgia on what now seems to be a more halcyon era.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

One of the better romantic comedies out there

7/10
Author: rusty6424 from New Jersey
15 February 2009

When I rented this movie, I wasn't expecting much. I was actually surprised by the difference this movie has compared to other romantic comedies. The actors weren't so bad. Isla Fischer is absolutely adorable, and Ryan Reynolds' skills really surprised me, since I haven't seen very many movies that he actually looks sincere when delivering his lines. I liked the twist that he was explaining this story to his daughter, rather than just watching him live in life in the present. It was something I hadn't seen in other movies, and I love originality. If you're looking for a feel-good movie, or something to watch on a Saturday night, this is your pick. But if you never get around to watching it, it's not going to change your life if you don't.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

I liked this movie

8/10
Author: 77pickles from United States
11 February 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I would likely have never seen this film if it hadn't been on cable. So for me it was a bit of serendipity to find it. The short description in the guide said "Divorcing dad Ryan Reynolds tells his daughter of his romantic past". Since I am a divorced dad with a daughter I thought I'd give it a shot. No, there aren't parallels between the events in this film and my own life. But it is a good story and I liked trying to figure out which of the women was the girls mother. I got it wrong of course which made it that much more enjoyable. The little girl is precocious which makes it enjoyable. And she is at that age where daddy can do no wrong. I don't know if eleven is the right age to tell a young daughter all that he told her. But, the time to tell children what they want to know is often when they ask.

At some point I was hoping that her father and mother would get back together but of course that wasn't going to happen. In modern films that is never the case. But it is nice that the girl is a romantic at heart and really loves her dad and wants him to be happy.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Couldn't help myself from loving it.

8/10
Author: The-Kissable-Writer (thekissablewriter@gmail.com) from Belgium
7 February 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Yes, it's dangerously close to sappy and yes, it's fairly predictable but in a way you want it to be. From an artistic point of view it'd be great if after ninety minutes he suddenly gets hit by a bus or less dramatic if he just stayed alone and relatively happy. In some ways the bittersweet ending would've been more classy but for the sake of the warm fuzziness it'd be a disaster. 'Definitely, Maybe' will never be a great work of art simply because of the room for improvement still is too large. I bumping into these sort of scripts over and over again, why didn't the writers go that extra mile? A darn shame, it's not like you have to rewrite half a script to make it much better, just some minor imperfections needed to be worked out (well, some big ones too but I'll keep it positive).

'Definitely, Maybe' is a romantic comedy about Will Hayes (Ryan Reynolds) and how he fell in love. It all starts when the ambitious fresh out of college Will decides to move to the Big Apple causing him and long time girlfriend 'Emily' ( Elizabeth Banks) to drift apart, leading them to a painful and inevitable moment where 'Emily' drops the bombshell that she cheated on him and wants to 'set him free for his own good' (quote), all this shortly after Will's wedding proposal. (It's getting wonderfully complicated already isn't it?) At that moment, Will realizes that life is not the happy fun roller-coaster ride he thought it'd be and that his search for true love may never find a happy ending. We follow him through the highs and lows of his relationships with 3 different women, as he narrates the story to his ten year old daughter. Every time when Will meets one his big loves, he's sure it's the ever enduring love great novels were made of, but destiny may have something else in store for him. Love throws more than a few curve-balls and it seems our cheerful fairytale may not get a happy ending...

As you probably already figured out, the story is told in retrospect, which opens up a wide array of possibilities for the scriptwriters. Big time leaps become easy to insert, romanticizing of details is allowed - seeing that we are told a memory, not a fact - and the fact alone that the narrative is so unusual makes the story all the more intriguing and exciting for the audience. Not all of those possibilities are used as effectively or fully as they could've been. Just make the comparison with the TV-show with an almost identical premise namely How I Met Your Mother. One of the things that makes that show in question the highest quality comedy sitcom of the moment, is the cleverness put into the writing. In that show, the main character Ted tells his kids the story of how he met their mother, the audience gets to guess which one the mother will be. Of course, we get sidetracked in other unrelated events concerning the other characters, but still the main theme remains Ted's quest for love. To give you an example of the creative use of the narrative perspective, there's an episode where - seeing that Ted can't give a bad example for his kids - he keeps saying 'fudge' instead of the actual f-word and 'gringe' instead of...well that's kept up to the audience's imagination :-). Other examples include him telling one thing, meanwhile we get to see the exact opposite thing, this concerns almost always sexual - and thus inappropriate - events. I can go on and on but I don't want you to think I'm writing a promo for the show, I just want to show you how the writing could've been improved for comedy's sake or romance sake all the same, which was were the emphasis was in this film.

I'm a guy, in case you didn't know, and not a big fan of romantic comedies are all. They're usually - I'm gonna lose big points for this in the typical reader's opinion of me - excruciatingly bad. They give an unrealistic image of contemporary men and never give a man's point of view, plus I'm always having trouble locating the alleged comedy bits :-). But as James Rocchi beautifully observes, 'Definitely, Maybe' has an edge on almost all others in it's genre: 'where most modern romantic comedies are obsessed with the champagne fizz of chance introductions and initial attraction, Definitely, Maybe sticks around to see what happens when the bubbles burst. Every romantic comedy has the 'meet cute' where boy first connects with girl; Definitely, Maybe has the 'meet cute,' but it also has all the things that can come after -- the awkward moments, the scary possibility of hope, the comforts of sadness, the tough talks, the ugly partings, the hard-won reconciliations.' Amen.

I do like 'The Notebook', seeing that if you see the best of the best of any genre, it's enjoyable for anyone and I did like In The Mood For Love, High Fidelity and a couple of others. 'Definitely, Maybe' gets added to that list, and that's a huge compliment. In the end, I just couldn't help myself from loving it.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

good one

7/10
Author: nikhil-bopanna from India
5 October 2008

I just cant resist Rachel Weisz. She is good in this movie along with Ryan Retnolds. Elizabeth Banks and Isla Fisher are really good. Abigail Breslin has great future. The storytelling is perfect and direction is really good, the main thing which kept me going through this movie is " character development". The chemistry between Will and April is a treat. Its a story of life and how you tell it to your kids about meeting their mother. And finding yourself whom you loved the most of all of them.

Ryan has come long way in his acting from Van Wilder to Chaos Theory to Definitely, maybe. music should have been better. Overall a fun movie to watch with friends, parents, grandparents etc etc.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Beautiful on the outside I guess...

6/10
Author: André Dawood from Portugal
4 September 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

So... I'm a guy. Not a lover of romcoms but not a hater either (if you put it in that category, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind is one of my all-time faves).

I looked at the cast and I figured it'd be worth spending a couple of hours looking at this. I mean, all three of the contenders are lookers and Ryan Reynolds is usually entertaining enough. Last but not least, sweet Abigail from Little Miss Sunshine is back.

So good cast. Also, there were some nice and friendly tunes during the movie that really kept me from looking away and that did a great job in preventing the silence (even though i thought the whole nirvana thing was a tad bit overused).

The plot was not bad at all, and the filmmakers obviously know what they're doing by using clever little tricks to draw you and they do succeed, at a certain level.

However, and apart from a few good scenes (specially in Will's birthday, when he "comes out" to beautiful April), I can't really say I took much from this movie. The whole book-keeping-because-it-was-the-only-part-of-you-I-had-left excuse was very much expected (and I found myself wishing he wouldn't say that) and, in the end, this movie was not so captivating as it could have been.

Still, a lot of pretty faces, gentle humor, decent acting and a simple and inviting score that will aim to please.

6/10

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 10 of 17: [Prev][5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards Newsgroup reviews External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history