IMDb > Return to Halloweentown (2006) (TV) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Return to Halloweentown
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Return to Halloweentown (TV) More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 2 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]
Index 48 reviews in total 

Annoyance

Author: Kandiiohuhmkthx from United States
6 April 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

"Piper" is Marnie's last name from her father. Cromwell is Aggie's last name and Gwen's maiden name. First off, yeah Kimberly J. Brown wasn't in the movie. What the heck was Disney thinking?! Obviously they weren't. And I agree with everyone else here. Kimberly J. Brown played Marnie with amazing talent. She brought life to the character that obviously many people loved. She was tough, brave, and not too worried about breaking the rules when she needs to (like in the second movie with the portal.) Sara Paxton played Marnje as some stupid, dimwitted, scaredy cat. What a disappointment. If the issue with Kimberly J. Brown was just scheduling issues, then postpone the making of the movie. It has a crappy plot anyways, and we could've all been spared instead of wasting our time that we'll never get back. Thanks Disney for making yet another terrible movie. The first three were good. The fourth one would probably have been better if there weren't so many things and characters taken out and the special effects weren't so cheesy. Disney, if you must insist on making sequels and crap, here's a couple tips: keep the original characters, stop using crappy special effects, write a better storyline, or just don't make them. I would love to see more Halloweentown movies, as long as the main characters are still played by the originals!!!! -.-

Was the above review useful to you?

return to halloweentown

2/10
Author: paulao77 from United States
2 November 2009

The last name Piper comes from Marnie's father, her mother was a cromwell and thats why her name is different. Sophie was getting her training from Grandma Aggie, it explains that is why they are both absent, it mentions that sophie is having difficulty with time travel or between dimensions. ALthough I agree the relationship interest for marnie was awful, no Luke. I think the presence of kimberly j brown would have GREATLY improved any plot, even a weak one. THEY REALLY SHOULD HAVE WAITED FOR KIMBERLY, wish they would bring her back, I would probably give them another chance if they did. If they brought original cast back, mom and grams could have to overcome their petty bickering to save the kids while the kids have been kidnapped to steal the cromwell power.

Was the above review useful to you?

It was still a good movie but....

8/10
Author: tallcat23 from United States
28 October 2009

I've enjoyed all the Halloweentown movies to date. But I was disappointed that Aggie, Sophie, and the real "Marnie" (Kimberly J Brown) did not return. I also did not like that Marnie became a wimp in this one and wasn't her usual self who would defy the rules. Not only the actor changed but her character changed too. Other than that the story was fine. I enjoyed the movie. Just don't say the characters are going to be there and then not have them there. Sara Paxton would have been suited to have played another character in the movie, but not the part of Marnie. I look forward to seeing the characters return, with each new installment.

Was the above review useful to you?

It was pretty good.

8/10
Author: zactac from United States
19 October 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

So far the Halloweentown movies are actually going along very well with me. This was quite a big step from the last Halloweentown movie. Return to Halloweentown opens whole new doors for the franchise. For a fifth movie they could bring back some of the characters from the last few movies. For example they could bring Kale from Halloweentown 2 back to wreak more havoc. They could also bring back the Gift that Marnie gave to Dylan (you know the power of absolute control over all) and see how he's handling this great responsibility. And they could also include the mortal world in some way (espically now that mortals know about Halloweentown). So there are still many concepts that could be used for another Halloweentown movie. Maybe they can find some way to end the franchise with these concepts. Still the plot was nice along with the special effects. So this is a good movie to watch on Halloween when your not quite ready for a scare. Also its a really good movie for kids to watch on Halloween.

Was the above review useful to you?

Unfaithful tripe

4/10
Author: Floymin1 from United States
15 April 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I gave this movie a score above 1 simply because of the visuals and acting. Loyalty to a fan base seems to only apply to the Science Fiction genre since fantasy serials always seem to fall victim to dramatic character shifts with no premise. Where Kimberley J. Brown's character was mature and analytical for her age, Sara Paxton's character is reduced to an analogy of a beauty school dropout.

I saw Marnie's relationship with Ethan in Halloweentown High as rather adversarial, so where did this love interest come from? I was concerned about the use of both Cromwell and Piper as Marnie's last name until I read the Wiki about the series. It seems that Cromwell is her hereditary witch line, and Piper is her mom's married last name.

Was the above review useful to you?

Trick and Treat! A great Halloweentown film!

8/10
Author: bigyella919 from Brooklyn, New York
30 October 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

What the gosh-darned heck is the matter with these critics who don't like this Halloweentown movie? Did actress Sara Paxton say or do something that cheesed them off before seeing this Disney Channel movie? These nay-sayers should be banned from IMDb! Booo! Booo! They are all off my Christmas list! Return to Halloweentown is a fine movie, not as cool as Halloweentown High or the original Halloweentown, but it has great movements. Halloweentown alumni J. Paul Zimmerman, Judith Hoag and Debbie Reynolds are back, although Debbie has a brief appearance. Keone Young and Kristy Yu are totally SINISTER as the chief villains in this film. Their goal is to use Marnie Piper as a tool to use an ancient relic to rule Halloweentown forever. Oh, yes, Marnie goes to Witch University, too. Lucas Grabeel is great in this film, as he was in Halloweentown High. He doesn't wear a hat like he does in another set of DCOMs he's more popular in, but who's gonna sue him? The only faults in this film are the lack of Kimberly J. Brown and the short scene with Debbie. Sara Paxton makes a decent Marnie, but I WANNA SEE KIMBERLY!! Now that the evil Dominion are in jail, I'm gonna go to Halloweentown and mingle with Benny the Skeleton Taxi driver and that troll with the unpronounceable name. Trick or Treat!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

I thought it was pretty good.

Author: bjc66 from United States
20 October 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

It wasn't exactly wow good but it was OK.The end was kid of short but in the beginning they kinda got straight to the point. I wish Disney would make there movies a little longer and people might be more interested.The acting was good and so was the special effects.

This movie is good probably for 10 11 or 12 year old. If you are much older than that I'll advise you not to waste your time and turn to MTV. This might because little kids want to see something with witchcraft magic and slobbering monsters.

I think most of you would rather watch High School Musical and I know why, the singing was good and so was the acting but, I'd rather watch this movie.After this movie you might want to watch more Disney movies or just give up after watching this movie.

Well this movie was about a freshman college student who finds there are secrets behind her school and the amulet her grandmother had locked in a box one-thousand years before. The amulet can make people do anything...........including turn the town into slaves!

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

An acceptable movie

7/10
Author: pINKiPod from Canada
21 October 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Personnaly i loved this movie. It had a good plot, interesting characters, mystery, romance, must i continue. Of course it had its down sides, yes Sara was a little to peppy to be Marnie, but did an OK job, and it shouldn't have told you about the teachers being evil so soon, it would've made it more intense if they kept you guessing longer. Yes it was no where near as good as 1 and 2, so if you hated 1 or 2 i recommend you don't waste ur time. But hey if u still want to give it a try i admire u 4 that. Now I must say that to like this movie you have to keep an open mind while watching it, if your not the open mind kind of person don't even try watching it, i wont admire you if you do.Another hing if your the kind of person who 1.hates movies with fiction 2.hates halloween movies with no scary parts 3.hates romance 4.hates sequels then i suggest you don't watch this movie, but again i admire you if you give it a chance. Overalll i think this movie deserves a seven out of ten!! sincerely:nancy_lavignasse

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

Surprisingly Good

8/10
Author: xxximpishguyxxx from United States
22 October 2006

This movie is the 4th movie in the Halloween Town movies. For this movie the main character wasn't played by her regular actress "Kimberly J. Brown," it was Played by "Sara Paxten." I thought this movie would suck after seeing the commercial for it (nobody could replace a main actor of a movie). Well, I believe it was surprisingly good. It didn't seem to matter what actor was playing whom. It was an okay movie. I didn't watch it to see how much more it would suck. I watched it because, it explains things the previous movie didn't explain. The plot was understandable but not completely predictable. Overall it was Surprisingly good.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

A Halloween movie with truly NO spirit!

1/10
Author: neerdowell from Southern California
17 October 2013

What a huge letdown from such a wonderful series! In keeping with the Halloween theme, this movie had no spirit and no soul. It's been said before and I'll say it again: Sara Paxton is a wonderful person I'm sure, but she is NO Marnie! And don't let some of the online stories mislead you that Kimberly was busy with something else when it was made. It has come straight from Kimberly's mouth (see her video blog on Youtube) that she was totally available and totally bummed when Disney "went another direction." They went another direction all right - from quality movies in the Halloweentown series to this just-making-another-dollar entry. The plot line was convoluted, even for a kids' Halloween movie. Yes, Debbie Reynolds is great whenever she's on screen, and I'll always have a thing for Judith Hoag since she played April O'Neil in Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. (Speaking of inexcusable actress replacements, Paige Turco as April in TMNT 2? I DON'T THINK SO!) But the rest of the cast seems to be castoffs from the Disney audition process. Maybe it's just that the Halloweentown series simply couldn't survive past high school; maybe the characters got too old and we simply couldn't make that leap with them to college. I don't know. But Return to Halloweentown started off by going off the rails, and never found its way. Watch the first three and forget this one ever happened.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 2 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history