IMDb > She's Out of My League (2010) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
She's Out of My League
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
She's Out of My League More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 13:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 129 reviews in total 

86 out of 123 people found the following review useful:

Hilarious with a bit of romance... FANTASTIC!

8/10
Author: worldofjohnboy from Syracuse, NY
5 March 2010

I saw this at a sneak preview showing knowing very little about the film other than one preview.

This film is along the same lines as "Knocked Up" or "Superbad" in that it is rather funny, but at the same time makes you relate to the characters in a way that also tugs at your heart. There were many times when the theater full of people burst into laughter, and I even found myself crying at some points I was laughing so hard! The actors all do a fantastic job with their parts, and you can easily identify with most of them. (No "over the top" characters ever do a hostile takeover of the plot.) This movie is probably a notch below movies like "The Hangover," "The 40 Year Old Virgin" and "Wedding Crashers," but it definitely holds it own and you will most definitely find yourself laughing hard more than once. Well worth the $$ to see it in the theater!

Was the above review useful to you?

52 out of 64 people found the following review useful:

Surprisingly convincing

7/10
Author: C-Younkin from United States
12 March 2010

"She's out of My League" is a solid 7, a romantic comedy that scores a few good laughs and does a nice job of being convincing. Jay Baruchel (Tropic Thunder) stars as Kirk, a pathetic dork with the build of Woody Allen who works a menial job in airport security. Through a cell-phone mishap, he winds up at a party being thrown by Molly (Alice Eve), a 10 on the very attractive scale. He knows she's way more attractive than him and she knows he's normally not the guy she would usually date but Molly looks deep down and sees Kirk for the nice, unthreatening guy he is and they hit it off. There are some funny moments here. Kirk's family is especially demeaning to him (they even embrace his bitchy ex-girlfriend as one of their own) and his friends are clueless match-makers, which leads to a very funny man-scaping scene between Kirk and one of them. What works best in "League" is just listening to people talk though. Kirk's friends (played by Mike Vogel, Nate Torrance, and T.J Miller) are identifiable idiots, too wrapped up in over-thinking things like the rating scale (both their number and womens) and Disney fairy-tales to really understand women. Their scenes with Kirk are enjoyably like a crude, vulgar, sexual "Breakfast Club". The way the scrawny, nervous, and unconfident Baruchel interacts with the beautiful and engaging Eve is also very likable and they do a nice job of handling the ups and downs of forming an honest, meaningful relationship (an almost foreign concept in today's star-packaged romantic comedies). The way they finally handle the elephant in the room is also very effective. This is feel-good stuff, but it works.

Was the above review useful to you?

62 out of 88 people found the following review useful:

You can fulfill your dream and go for the gold

7/10
Author: Douglas Young (the-movie-guy) from Memphis, Tennessee
10 March 2010

(Synopsis) Molly (Alice Eve) is a sexy event planner who is delayed by a sleazy airport security guard. Another security guard, Kirk (Jay Baruchel) comes to her rescue, and passes her through to catch her plane. Luckily, Kirk finds Molly's phone that she left behind, and from the plane, Molly calls her phone and invites Kirk to a party to return her phone when she returns. Kirk is smitten by Molly, but his friends point out to him that he doesn't have a chance, because he is only rated as a "5" and Molly is definitely a "10". And as everybody knows, you can only date a girl who is only "2" above your score, so that means Kirk can only successfully date a "7". However, Molly has something else in mind, because she has found that Kirk is sweet, amusing, honest, and different from the men she has been dating. Kirk, on the other hand, has one big insecurity problem; Kirk believes Molly will dump him as soon as she realizes her mistake. Under these circumstances, and everything working against Kirk and Molly, is it possible for them to build a relationship that will bloom and flourish?

(My Comment) This is an unlikely love story that is a really sweet romantic comedy. You would think that it is a women's movie, but it actually is a guy's movie, because it gives the "5s" of the world the belief that they have a chance to catch and have a relationship with a "10". The trailers portray that there are a lot of raunchy sex scenes in the movie, but actually, it is more your imagination then the real thing. The story does show and prove that a person with low self esteem will have a hard time in life fulfilling his dream. Hopefully, people who saw this movie will take this lesson of life to heart and go for the gold, or in this case a "10". Jay Baruchel's performance as the quirky geek was right on target, and Alice Eve's portrayal of Molly made her very likable. Both actors characterization of the low self-image problem was very believable. This is one of those hilariously funny love stories that could be a sleeper hit. I laughed throughout the whole movie, and left the movie in a happy mood. (Paramount, Run Time 1:44, Rated R)(7/10)

Was the above review useful to you?

87 out of 138 people found the following review useful:

Good Date Movie, But That's It

Author: MannyCastro from Miami, FL USA
21 February 2010

Sometimes ads can be misleading. It's like when you see an attractive person from far away and the closer they get the less attractive they become. The ads are selling a raunchy sex comedy where the hot lead actress is going to take her top off. That isn't the case, however. Yes, there is a make-out scene between the two stars where the male lead...has an accident. And there's also a shaving scene that will rival the one from the third American Pie. Aside from those two scenes and a few others, the movie is actually a really sweet romantic comedy.

It's about Molly (Alice Eve), a sexy event planner who gets harassed at the airport by a sleazy employee. Luckily, Kirk (Jay Baruchel), another employee, comes to her rescue. Kirk is dopey-looking, skinny, and a bit of a push-over. He's a 5, according to his friends. Yet, Molly, whose a hard 10, finds him amusing and a perfect gentlemen. Soon, to the surprise of many, they start dating. They like each other and get along fine, but their friends keep questioning the relationship and giving them self-doubt. Kirk is constantly reminded that he's a 5 and she's a 10. It goes against all logic. Molly is constantly reminded that she only went out with him in the first place because he is safe. Her previous boyfriend, also a 10, broke her heart and now she's with someone whose in no position to do that. So, does she really like (or love) him? If there's one flaw to this film it's that the filmmakers (or studio) went for the R-rating just for the sake of appearing edgy during the marketing. Anyone expecting The 40-Year-Old Virgin is going to be disappointed. Although the raunchy scenes are funny. They just stick out and disrupt the tone. In a way, this movie is like The Girl Next Door. Elisha Cuthbert played a porn star that needs to be rescued by her nerdy next door neighbor (Emile Hirsch). Yet, she's not naked and doesn't do any wild sex scenes. It's a waste of a concept. A regular PG-13 comedy about two teenagers from opposite worlds that fall in love would have been just fine. It wouldn't have sold any tickets, but it would have been honest. So, remember, if you decide to see this film it's pretty tame and a lot more girly than the ads are willing to admit. It's a really good date movie, but not one you want to see only with your friends.

Was the above review useful to you?

44 out of 54 people found the following review useful:

A surprising winner.

7/10
Author: Troy_Campbell from Sydney, Australia
31 March 2010

Expectations weren't exactly through the roof for SOOML. No big name actors, a director with no feature film experience and a screenplay by the same guys who brought us Sex Drive. It is with great delight then, that what we get is 100 minutes of laughter and light-hearted entertainment. Is it clichéd? Sure is. We've seen the 'underdog gets the girl' story repetitively since the dawn of cinema, but at least scripters John Morris and Sean Anders inject it with humorous variations to ensure we forgive their shortcomings in originality.

Jay Baruchel was another unknown quantity. His supporting turns in Knocked Up, Fanboys, Tropic Thunder and Million Dollar Baby (remember the weakling who frequented the boxing hall despite his complete lack of talent – that was Baruchel) have provided laughs galore, but being the main star is different altogether. His geeky exterior and small frame isn't exactly leading man material however Baruchel's great comic timing and willingness to make a fool of himself if required makes him a likable headliner.

On the opposite end of the gender pole is the drop-dead gorgeous Alice Eve who, like Molly, is a hard ten. It's not just her looks that makes her popular with the men though, she's genuinely cool and doesn't have a whiff of ego. Elsewhere in the cast you'll find the previously unknown T.J. Miller as Kirk's best mate Stainer – a character who resembles Napoleon Dynamite if he were on crack cocaine – who delivers a handful of memorable one-liners and plenty of laugh-out-loud moments.

A charismatic cast and some hilarious jokes makes this a surprising winner.

3.5 out of 5 (1 - Rubbish, 2 - Ordinary, 3 - Good, 4 - Excellent, 5 - Classic)

Was the above review useful to you?

60 out of 88 people found the following review useful:

I don't care about what the critics think, She's Out of My League was a lot of fun.

9/10
Author: DarkVulcan29 (DarkVulcan29@aol.com) from United States
15 March 2010

I mean She's Out of My League is right up there with The 40 year old Virgin(2005), and I Love You, Man(2009), a raunchy vulgar comedy that manages to have a heart to it. I mean Role Models(2008), hardly had anybody likable in it, and it was a big hit, and i'm still trying to figure that one out. But this film had two likable leads that you wanna route for.

Kirk(Jay Baruchel from Knocked Up), works at at an airport, he's a nice guy, but painfully shy and insecure. His buddies that he works with say thats because women don't consider him boyfriend material, cause he is too safe. But all that changes one day when the ever so enchantingly beautiful Molly(Alice Eve) forgets her cell phone, while boarding a plane, she uses her friends cell phone to call her cell phone, and Kirk finds it and answers it, she asks him can he hold it for her. Kirk brings it back to her, Alice soon wants to spend more time with Kirk. But will Kirk insecurities ruin it?

The critics are quick to bash this movie, but give Role Models a thumbs up, go figure. I liked Jay Baruchel and Alice Eve they where characters to route for, and where very enjoyable to watch, although Baruchel was more funnier then Eve, the comedy just happened around her. Lindsay Sloane(Big Red from Bring It On) is also good has Marnie, Kirks ex. Krysten Ritter is also amusing as Patty, Mollys friend. But the real scene stealer IS T.J. Miller has Kirks friend Stainer, who steals almost every moment when every scene he is in, he's like Jason Segal and Seth Rogen mixed together.

I say don't listen to the critics, see this movie and form your own opinion.

Was the above review useful to you?

70 out of 111 people found the following review useful:

A whole lot better than I expected!

8/10
Author: hottiehawke from United States
12 March 2010

I just got back from seeing this movie, and I have to admit that I really enjoyed it. Possibly because I wasn't expecting to, but I also wasn't against giving it a chance. To me, the commercials did not look very promising, and when it was compared to the hangover in one ad, I really wasn't expecting much. First of all, when I went to see the hangover, I was ready to laugh like crazy due to how funny everyone said it was. Personally, I didn't find it very funny at all and I always felt the writers/actors were trying too hard make a joke out of everything. The only thing that kept my attention was the semi-interesting plot.

I found the ads for She's Out of My League to be promising a "hangover clone" (in terms of the type of humor). Thankfully this movie is not what it appears to be. Many will disagree, but I felt that there is more reason for watching this than for a constant need to be funny and outrageous. I also liked the character in this movie, and found they added a lot to the story.

Although this movie offers nothing we haven't seen before, I found it at least to be enjoyable. Another reason I liked this movie is because I felt there was a storyline that made up for most of the jokes I didn't find funny.

I know that most will find it to be a pointless movie (and I guess it is to an extent), but I found it to be entertaining and worth seeing. I'm glad I wasn't expecting to be laughing throughout the whole movie, because I didn't, and because I found it to be a little more than what I was expecting from the plot.

Was the above review useful to you?

48 out of 78 people found the following review useful:

Much better than I expected!

8/10
Author: Nicole (AuroraGoryAlice) from Austin, Texas
17 February 2010

I went into the early screening of this movie tonight with low expectations, having not heard much about the movie, nor seen any trailers. I was floored! The cast is great in their parts and the script is hilarious. If you like any of the Judd Apatow films (I don't think he was a part of this movie, but it is the same kind of humor) then you will like this one. Fans of Knocked Up will recognize Jay BarucheI who plays the awkward lead with weak self esteem, and he is as cute as ever. I also had a chance to meet the lovely Alice Eve, who attended the screening and she was very nice and very beautiful. I hope to see more of her in the future. While this wasn't Shakespeare, it was a great laugh and very fun to see with friends.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

Nice Little Surprise

8/10
Author: dukevega from United States
23 May 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

In all honesty, I have no idea why I went to see this movie. It clearly falls in one of the most clichéd of all film genres and stars only one person I have ever heard of. But I went to see it anyway and I was glad I did.

I think I liked it mostly because of the leads. I liked the guy because he never tried to impress the girl, he was just himself, even when it was painful and difficult to do so, and I liked the girl because once you got past her looks, you found an interesting person underneath.

The other big reason I liked it was because it managed to take one of the oldest romantic clichés ever--racing to the airport to declare your love before that Perfect Someone leaves--and put a nice twist on it. Kudos to the writers on that one, that alone was worth several points on this scale.

This is actually one of the better movies I've seen this year, I highly recommend it.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

I am Still Laughing and Delighted with the Beauty of Alice Eve

7/10
Author: Claudio Carvalho from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
6 January 2012

In Pittsburgh, the clumsy and average Kirk (Jay Baruchel) works as a TSA security agent at the airport. Kirk is out of shape, uncoordinated, not college graduate, has never been in Europe and drives a shitbox Neon. His friends are a bunch of losers that also work at the airport and use to rank themselves and women. His family does not support him and his father used his college money to build a large swimming pool in the backyard of their house. Kirk dreams on becoming an airplane pilot, but he is insecure and without self-esteem. He also misses his former girlfriend Marnie (Lindsay Sloane), who is a bitch that humiliate him all the time.

One day, the gorgeous Molly McCleish (Alice Eve) is helped by him in the check-in to a flight to New York, but she forgets her iphone and Kirk holds it for her. On the next day, Molly invites Kirk to go to a party at the Andy Warhol Museum and he delivers her iphone to her. Sooner they date and he learns that she is a successful promoter of events that lives in a fancy apartment and drives a nice car. However, the lack of confidence of Kirk does not let him see that Molly loves him since she is totally out of his league.

The delightful "She's Out of My League" is one of the funniest comedies I have recently seen. Jay Baruchel is hilarious in the role of a man that has no self-esteem and self-confidence to be happy with one of the most beautiful women I have ever seen, Alice Eve, who is really a pretty woman.

Alice Eve was ranked #7 in 2010 in the "Beautiful Famous Faces" by "The Annual Independent Critics List of the 100 Most Beautiful Famous Faces From Around the World." My vote is seven.

Title (Brazil): "Ela é Demais para Mim" ("She is Out of My League")

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 13:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history