IMDb > Take Me Home Tonight (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Take Me Home Tonight
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Take Me Home Tonight More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 8:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [Next]
Index 78 reviews in total 

48 out of 61 people found the following review useful:

from 70s to 80s

8/10
Author: arupananda-yash from Pennsylvania, US
17 February 2011

There was an attempt to follow up That 70s Show with a disastrous and thankfully short lived That 80s Show. This should have been it.

Fast Times at Ridgemont High is the first name that comes to mind when one thinks of the 80s movies about kids in high school/college. Take Me Home Tonight takes it a step forward going for 'what next?'. And it succeeds, while not going too serious and keeping it feel-good in the lines of the aforesaid movies. Topher Grace, one of the co-writers of the story, naturally fits into the character drawing from the perfection with which he fitted Eric Foreman of That 70s Show. You can't help feel this i exactly Eric in the 80s (apart from the fact that the character's apparently an MIT grad). One can't help notice the resemblance of Teressa Palmer to Kristen Stewart, but thankfully, she can act a bit. Rest of the cast fit their roles perfectly, with a huge cry to Chris Pratt and Dan Fogler.

Saw this movie at a free screening (woot!) followed by a Q&A session with Topher and Teressa where Topher said the first thing they did was make a mix-tape of 80s classics and then set on doing the story and henceforth. You totally get that, with some pretty rad soundtrack which brings a smile to all 80s fans.

All in all, went in expecting a no-brainer to get a good relief from the lab-work, got out pretty satisfied and rejuvenated. Sure it still is a no-brainer, but seeing it once in a while will bring a smile to the face. And I'm always up for reruns on headcramped days.

Was the above review useful to you?

50 out of 72 people found the following review useful:

Enjoyable, good entertainment, with a message!

7/10
Author: davetrek-966-664246 from United States
2 February 2011

I saw this at a screening today and I enjoyed the movie.

I thought that all the leads did a good job, especially Topher Grace and Teresa Palmer.

They had some good chemistry, and Topher does a good job of playing an uncomfortable guy at times in the movie... Its fun and engaging, so you don't notice the time passing.

Also, it has an excellent 80s soundtrack, and even a message, which I won't give away so nothing is spoiled.

All in all, a good time will be had by all who go who like these kinds of movies!

Was the above review useful to you?

41 out of 59 people found the following review useful:

Much Better Then Expected

8/10
Author: aejaneczek from United States
6 March 2011

Take Me Home Tonight was much better then I thought it was going to be, now don't get me wrong, from seeing the trailers I wanted to see this film and was excited to. The film itself has much the same feel as Superbad, two friends on an epic one night quest and one focusing on "the girl". The film has a great, tight script that stays focused throughout. Topher Grace gives an awesome performance, I really enjoy him as an actor and think he's kind of overlooked. Dan Fogler also gives an awesome performance as the crazy friend. This also has a good amount of heart, especially right when it needs, Anna Faris and Topher Grace give great performances as twins, and the ending won't disappoint, it leaves a very John Hughes feeling at the end, which I think is what they were going for. Now the reason I gave the film an 8 is because it's not an instant classic, for instance American Gangster or The Departed gets a 10/10 for me. Also you might think from the commercials that this is going to be a parody of the 80's. Yeah, everyone wears their crazy 80's clothes and there's ton's of 80's references and a kick ass soundtrack, however if 5 years from now someone were to sit down and not know when the film was released and not recognize any of the actors as being from the late 90's/00's they would definitely think that this was made in the 80's. If they had tried to make this a parody of the 80's it would have been terrible, it would have had more of Wedding Singer feel to it, and I'm glad that that's not what they went for. The fact that it's set in the 80's and everyone is wearing the cloths and their hair like that, it's almost more like a they're saying "this is how people dressed", not "THIS, is how people dressed", that said this was a pretty good movie, if you enjoyed any 80's movie made by John Hughes and more recent films like Superbad, you'll really enjoy "Take Me Home Tonight"

Was the above review useful to you?

23 out of 33 people found the following review useful:

Formulaic but follows the formula well.

8/10
Author: Justin Brown
3 March 2011

A classic tale of unrequited love and a second shot at that love ala John Hughes complete with a hero that lies to get his foot in the door then has to make a complete jackass of himself after being honest blows up in his face, a goofy misguided sidekick, and a fantastic 80's soundtrack. Like I said, the format is not original but the content was well done. The painful awkward moments were very painful and awkward, the funny bits were very funny, you felt there was a connection there (albeit a one way connection at first since it's that kind of a movie), and it didn't seem forced (even the over the top redemption seemed to fit well). People that don't enjoy slightly grown up teen comedies may not enjoy this film but I for one had a blast.

Was the above review useful to you?

28 out of 43 people found the following review useful:

Great movie, never went over the top

8/10
Author: jakek924 from United States
10 March 2011

This movie started out slowly, but about 20 minutes in really started to kick off.

To start, the plot was way better than what the commercials revealed, and it was just a feel good fun movie.

Although it wasn't non stop laughter through the whole movie, it was great humor and the right times.

We've been spoiled by some comedies lately that have you laughing when you enter til you leave, and the newest movies that are coming out are trying to replicate that and usually fail by going way over the top. For example, the other guys, get him to the Greek.

Take Me Home Tonight went back to just being a simple good comedy that NEVER went over the top. Topher Grace does an awesome job, and Dan Fogler is absolutely hilarious in it. It only gets an 8 because nothing ever gets a 10 and 9's are impossible. I would give it an 8.5 if I could though. Very pleased. Go see it!

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

In the 80's it probably wouldn't have been much of a standout but it could have been a mildly loved looked over gem (much like it is now)!

7/10
Author: Hellmant from United States
14 July 2011

'TAKE ME HOME TONIGHT': Three and a Half Stars (Out of Five)

This 80's movie homage actually is just that: a tribute to the youth films of the 80's and it does a pretty good job. It actually feels like a film from that decade (like something John Hughes might have produced) and not just a send-up or satire of it (like the advertisements sort of implied). Topher Grace stars in the film as well as executive produced and co-wrote it (with Gordon Kaywin and Jackie and Jeff Filgo). Michael Dowse (who also directed the popular 'headbanger' film 'FUBAR' and it's sequel) directed. Teresa Palmer, Dan Fogler, Anna Faris, Chris Pratt and Michael Biehn (one of my all time favorite actors) co-star in the flick.

The film is set in the summer of 1988 after Matt Franklin (Grace) just graduated from MIT. Instead of pursuing a high paying career like his education entitles him to he takes a part time job as a video store clerk at the local Suncoast Video store in the mall, much to the disappointment of his father Bill (Biehn) who's also a local police officer. Matt is scared and completely unsure of what he wants to do with his life, all until his old high school crush, Tori Fredreking (Palmer), comes back into town and into the store where he works. Matt lies to Tori and tells her he works for Goldman Sachs. Tori is impressed and invites him to a Labor Day party hosted by his twin sister Wendy's (Faris) boyfriend Kyle Masterson (Pratt). Matt goes to the party with Wendy and his best friend Barry (Fogler) and all hell breaks loose when Barry steals a car from the dealership he was fired from the same day.

The movie really does have a classic 80's nostalgic feel to it and like I said it feels like a movie out of that time period rather than just a comedic reference to it. The script is somewhat smart and emotional and the characters are really well developed. Topher Grace is very fitting as the film's lead, Palmer looks beautiful and is equally fitting and Fogler is actually good for a change (he's still not really that funny but he gives a decent performance). Faris isn't bad as well and Pratt and Biehn (who's the perfect 80's icon touch, with nerds) give nice supporting performances. The soundtrack adds a nice touch as well. The film does a good job of pulling off a classic 80's throwback feel and definitely accomplishes what it set out to do. If it had actually came out in that decade though it probably wouldn't have been much of a standout but it could have been a mildly loved looked over gem (much like it is now).

Watch our movie review show 'MOVIE TALK' at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qVg96qKy2R0

Was the above review useful to you?

31 out of 51 people found the following review useful:

A new feel good movie.

10/10
Author: AkiraKyoShi from United States
21 June 2011

I really enjoyed this movie.

First Im a huge fan of Topher Grace since That 70s Show and In Good Company. (BTW In Good Company). He gives an excellent performance and along with the rest of the quality cast, the acting is just incredible.

Also Im not going to get into the movie itself but its your classic feel good movie similarly to Breakfast Club, 16 Candles etc.

If I had to describe it its Superbad but a lot more mature and tactful. It deals with a situation all of us have had. We all get to a point and go wtf am I going to do with my life. At the end of the day, it doesn't matter. Just focus on good friends, good family and the sheer enjoyment of life.

Enjoy the watch.

Was the above review useful to you?

19 out of 28 people found the following review useful:

Take Me Home Tonight is like reliving your favorite 80s film

8/10
Author: FanPerspective from United States
6 March 2011

If you didn't know any better, you'd actually think you were watching an 80s movie with Take Me Home Tonight. While not delivering the strong emotional depth of a John Hughes film, it still possesses the same qualities in its zany humor, incredible retro soundtrack and at its heart as Matt Franklin (Topher Grace) leaves his position at a lab and much to his father's disapproval begins working at a video store where Matt's young life crisis takes a bigger turn when his twin sister (Anna Faris) gets engaged, his best friend (Dan Fogler) gets fired from his job and Matt's high school crush, Tori Frederking (Teresa Palmer), comes back into his life. In true, hilarious 80s fashion, the ensemble is thrust into a crazy night of partying, mischief and self-discovery. It is a simple, unoriginal story that seems almost contained, but yet is this great adventure with characters you feel a connection to. With what seems like the perfect cast, it is only a movie of this styling (a homage to the great films of the 80s) that can have absolutely no point and still be enjoyable. From the awkward moments to those that are more sentimental, this film is just a fun time that is more or less forgettable but you have a great time with it!

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Entertaining Feel Good Comedy

6/10
Author: Claudio Carvalho from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
28 May 2014

In the 80's, in Los Angeles, the video store clerk Matt Franklin (Topher Grace) is graduated in MIT but is kind of lost and does not know what he wants to be for the great deception of his father, the police officer Bill Franklin (Michael Biehn), who has invested one quarter of his savings to pay the MIT. Matt has a crush on the gorgeous Tori Frederking (Teresa Palmer) since the elementary school but he has never invited her to date and she moved to Europe. His twin sister Wendy Franklin (Anna Faris) has made an application to the master's degree in Cambridge but she is engaged of the brainless Kyle Masterson (Chris Pratt) and afraid to open the Cambridge's letter with the answer. Matt's best friend is the salesman Barry Nathan (Dan Fogler) has just been fired from his job at a car dealer. Out of the blue, Tori comes to the mall and stops at the video store to rent a video and Matt poses of banker to impress her. Tori invites him to go to a party in Kyle's house and Matt, who does not have a good relationship with Wendy's boyfriend, decides to go with Barry. However, he is decided to impress Tori and they rob a Mercedes Benz from Barry's former firm, in the beginning of a very crazy night.

"Take Me Home Tonight" is an entertaining feel good comedy that works mainly because of the chemistry between Topher Grace and Teresa Palmer. There are funny, but also silly situations and the surprising conclusion when Tori gives her phone number in her business card makes the viewer think whether it was normal, for this generation in the USA, pretend to be more than they really are or it is just a story. The talented Teresa Palmer is very gorgeous and Anna Faris is more restrained than usual. My vote is six.

Title (Brazil): "Uma Noite Mais Que Louca" ("One More than Crazy Night")

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

Reminiscing with Budds

8/10
Author: rawvibes from United States
11 March 2011

3 grads from 1984. The best friend, Barry Nathan (Dan Fogler) is a car salesman straight out of high school. The twins, Matt Franklin (Topher Grace) and Wendy Franklin (Anna Faris). Matt is a graduate from MIT and the best employee at Suncoast Video. Wendy wanted to go to Cambridge only to get stuck to her High School boyfriend Kyle (Chris Pratt). The three, met by Matt's high school crush Tori Frederking (Teresa Palmer), who by the way hates her job and her boss wants to get a look at her goods. After graduation things didn't go the way they planned but tonight is Kyle's party and the crossroads for all of them to remember this night forever. It's 1988 a night where everything is the way it should be. A Journey back to old friends and 80's music. Well worth the watch. Some of you will say its corny of a movie but hey it's the 80's it was a corny era. Wait till they do a movie about the 90's. :(( 4 out of 5 stars.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 8:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history