IMDb > Extreme Movie (2008) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Extreme Movie
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Extreme Movie More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]
Index 33 reviews in total 

31 out of 43 people found the following review useful:

One of the better "Movie" films - if that sounds like faint praise, it's because it is!

5/10
Author: churchofsunshine from United Kingdom
23 March 2009

There seems to be a general rule of thumb now that a "Movie" franchise film is only really half-decent if Aaron Seltzer & Jason Friedberg aren't involved with the production. The good news then, is that in this case, they weren't. The people behind "Extreme Movie" are the same people who brought you "Not Another Teen Movie" which is one of the better spoof movies of recent years.

This is not the kind of movie you'd let grandma watch. It's not really the kind of movie you'd want your parents to catch you watching either, but it is perhaps the sort of thing teenagers would watch as a 'Date Movie'. It's juvenile and full of sex and fart jokes, not to mention a fair bit of nudity, so its not really for the easily offended. A film about teenagers and sex is by its very definition going to be a bit raunchy. At the grand old age of 35, maybe I'm getting a bit long in the tooth for these kind of teen 'High School' movies, but I do like comedy and spoof films so am always prepared to give stuff like this a chance, and I did find a couple of parts of this film quite funny and I did laugh. Also for once, I was disappointed that the film came to an end after just over seventy minutes - unlike with the 'Epic' and 'Disaster' movies, my brain cells weren't starting to fry and I could easily have sat through more of the same.

This is not a movie in the normal sense of the word but a series of skits with the common theme of teenage sex. Personally, I liked the guy who went to the wrong apartment by mistake dressed in a mask to act out a kidnap fantasy with a girl he met online - "Did anyone order a rape?" - it just cracked me up for some reason - not sophisticated by any means, but funny. This is definitely a film for the Lads rather than the ladies though.

Was the above review useful to you?

43 out of 70 people found the following review useful:

One Of The Worst Excuses For A Movie

1/10
Author: Matt_Layden from Canada
15 March 2009

I caught this flick before it was released and had no idea what it was about. The title instantly gives you a bad feeling all over. Is it really one of those franchise " ______ Movie". Is it really as bad as those films? The answer is no.

It is incredibly worse.

Ladies and gentlemen this flick has cracked my top ten on the list of the worst movies ever made. It is truly that terrible.

The film, if you can even call it that, has no virtually no story or plot. It is honest to god, a bunch of sketches. Something off of SNL or Mad TV, but for raunchy. There is one character that runs throughout the entire film and he tries to get the girl. Nothing new, original or funny there.

The "film" for some reason has recognizable names. Stars like Jamie Kennedy, Matthew Lillard, Frankie Muniz and Michael Cera. This "film" is an embarrassment for all involved and should be locked away with films like Belly or Carnivore.

Non of the sketches are funny. We've seen all these things before. It tries to be edgy, but comes off as juvenile. A woman gets her cellphone stuck in her vagina and it constantly goes off, pleasuring her at the most inappropriate times. A kid buys a sex toy, a life like vagina and the entire skit is his relationship with it, it becomes jealous and kills itself. Matthew Lillard some unknown reason inter cuts the sketches with unoriginal jokes that your father probably knows.

The only tolerable bit was Cera, and it's only because he sells it, not the writing.

For the love of god and all that is good, never watch this trash.

Was the above review useful to you?

36 out of 61 people found the following review useful:

Even the Razzies spat this crud out.

1/10
Author: Lemon_Stick from London, UK
24 February 2009

From the offset this film tries so hard to pull off a 1999 teen comedy spoof, though it fails cringefully. The movie is just one incoherent skit to another - all involving different characters, with flashes to an awful 'Street confessions' mock TV show and film editing transitions of white noise, how windows 95. Also talent wise Frankie Muniz headlines the movie, which for an out of work child actor doesn't say a lot. Big name Michael Cera looks embarrassed through trying to bounce off other wooden 'actors' (I doubt they were even that) involved a small role in an equally unfunny scenario. And the porn scene... I think it's safe to say SAG have no idea where those artistes were hired from. The writers also embarrassed themselves implementing poor, poor imitation scenes from Weird Science, Girl Next Door and Not Another Teen Movie, so much it ruins the original.

Overall I felt hurt I had wasted my time watching this film, the very least they could have done was edit it so it all stories were linked and thus gave somewhat correlated chronology of events, instead of mind wobbling mess of themes. There was a main plot of the film nestled inbetween the separate dire toilet humour gags, though it was underdeveloped and poor.

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 32 people found the following review useful:

Adequate to entertain but nothing very funny

Author: Gordon-11 from Earth
1 March 2009

This film is about a bunch of teenagers' encounter with sex in their school and outside school.

"Extreme Movie" is delivered in several segments, each unrelated to another. Hence, there is no coherent storyline, but just episodes of events that filmmakers think are fun to film. The film is adequate to slightly entertain, but do not expect anything very funny. The jokes do not really work either. It is quite a disappointment considering the number of big name actors in this film.

Putting things into perspective, "Extreme Movie" is way better than the recent spoofs such as "Disaster Movie". At least I did not feel bored or waiting for "Extreme Movie" to end.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Dire

1/10
Author: TheLittleSongbird from United Kingdom
2 February 2011

Extreme Movie is not the worst of its genre. When I watched, I was expecting a terrible movie, along the lines of Disaster Movie and Epic Movie. To give this movie credit, it is not as bad as those two. However, it is still a dire movie. The title is a head-scratcher, I wasn't sure what it meant by extreme, if it meant the humour I'll understand but if it was something else, sorry I don't get it. The film is rather cheap to look at, while the direction is decidedly patchy. The acting is pretty terrible, not the worst I've seen, but nobody seems comfortable with their material. Frankie Muniz is bland, Ashley Schneider is all looks no acting talent, Jamie Kennedy is uncharismatic, Michael Cera tries hard- in all honesty he is the only actor seemingly who tries- but struggles with bad material while Matthew Lillard is pointless. The biggest failings of Extreme Movie are in its humour and storytelling, the jokes are unfunny and the script is really lame on the whole, while the story is predictable and almost a non-event. I also hated the irritating characters and the ending, which felt really tacked on. All in all, a dire movie but I have seen worse. 1/10 Bethany Cox

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Basicall a bunch of unfunny skits

1/10
Author: Floated2
4 October 2010

Extreme Movie is very deceiving in its name. Many people have assume that it was a spoof movie such as Epic movie, or disaster movie, but it isn't. Its basically just a bunch of skits of teens in embarrassing situations trying to get the girl. Though there's one main story, involving a kid-Mike (Ryan Pinkston) trying to get a girl from his class. That seems to come around here and there and ends up being there towards the ending. The setup of this movie reminded of the animation series of Robotchicken: a bunch of sketches which are zapped when finished. And the same thing is going on here. Mix Robotchicken with an average teen movie and this is what you get. Also the talented cast was wasted (Frankie Muniz, Michael Cera, Jamie Kennedy), they're only in about one scene which is pretty deceiving considering they get top billings and are on the cover of the poster. Overall this movie was just lame, unfunny and just horrible.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Save yourself

1/10
Author: jennifer626 from United States
30 October 2010

I've read IMDb reviews for years, either to research a movie before I see it, or check out whether others agree with my thoughts after the fact. I hope I've caught you as someone who hasn't yet seen this, because I registered with the site for the sole purpose of warning you. This "movie" is really just a series of moving pictures from the backlot of a fourth-tier porn studio that decided to have its actors get together between takes and try to put something "funny" together. To discount it as offensive and gross would be unfair to offensive and gross movies; it's just...pointless. No acting, no plot, no special effects, no jokes, just the constant repetition of naughty words and breast shots. Though I put this movie on in the background while I was cleaning the house (yes, I am intentionally including that disclaimer to distance myself as much as possible), I still feel that an hour of my life is forever tainted. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

This isn't even a movie

1/10
Author: robertplant19
31 August 2010

The best part about this movie was the credits....

Why is Matt Lillard a star guest playing himself in this movie...u did Scream and Scooby-Doo.

I have never done a review for a movie on IMDb but this movie was so horrible I had to come onto the site and register in order to help save others from wasting an hour and 10 minutes of their life.

This movie doesn't even deserve 4 stars...it doesn't even deserve to be on this website or considered a movie.

I've lost respect for all of the actors that took part in this movie, except for Kyle Gass and Michael Cera but what the hell were they thinking. And poor Will Forte...why did you write this movie. Jesus.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Don't, please don't!

3/10
Author: Wouter de Groot from The Netherlands
5 April 2011

First of all, I love the simple 'you-don't-think-just-watch-and-laugh'-movies. That is exactly what I was going for when I put in this DVD. A mainstream storyline, some basic characters, mediocre acting, stupid jokes etc.; that's all! Now let's see what this movie brings; one or two good actors (can some1 explain to me why Michael Cera wanted to be in this movie; same for the guy from malcolm in the middle) and a few good looking girls! Together with some lame fart and sex jokes, these parts bring in the three stars I gave them.

Now lets have a look at the 7 stars I didn't reward this movie with. First of all, I'm completely missing a storyline. Only sketches! Oke, most sketches continue where the others end, but still...this is not enough for a storyline, not even for these kind of movies. Than we have the jokes; these are probably not as bad as I think right now, but that's due to the acting. Bad actors make bad jokes! The only time I was really laughing was during Michael Cera's sketch.

So we have no storyline, bad actors and bad jokes. Hmmm, you're still thinking about seeing this movie? Don't, please don't! Wout

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

garbage filled with garbage and put in a garbage bin

1/10
Author: hr-boege-546-170392 from Denmark
18 February 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

this is the worst movie of all time. you can even debate if it can be called a movie. all the random sketches, that is supposed to be funny, makes more look like a video tape, that was recorded over and over again. the story is not existing. there are some parts, that i think are supposed to be the story, but they barely have any connection. being a comedy, you would expect some humor and fun. no, instead you get some really really really lame sex jokes, with no connection to the plot. the acting is the worst i have ever seen. its basically a bunch of 13 year olds, trying to play 18 year olds. it looks like a bad school play, that the poor parents would be forced to see, if they didn't want to upset their kid. there is some guest starring, and how they managed to get them is a big question. some of them aren't the greatest actors but i expected them to be to smart to get into s**t like this. they couldn't have done it for the money, seeing how the budget couldn't have been more then some nickels and an egg sandwich. it really hurt my heart, as a tenacious d fan, to see kyle gass in the last part. he was probably wandering around after smoking some marijuana and accidentally got on the set. all in all avoid this movie at all cost. it can only be used to torture people, if its not already forbidden in the Geneva conventions, to use it against human beings. but i have one favor to ask you. please help getting this movie on its rightfully place on the bottom, of the bottom 100.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings External reviews Parents Guide
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history