IMDb > Walking Tall: Lone Justice (2007) (V) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Walking Tall: Lone Justice
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Walking Tall: Lone Justice (V) More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 19 reviews in total 

21 out of 27 people found the following review useful:

Ex military/cop takes on a drug-lord in order to protect his wife who's a key witness

4/10
Author: mthijs from Netherlands
14 September 2007

Good movies are original, some leave a message or touch you in a certain way, but sometimes you're not in the mood for that.

I wanted something simple, no thinking just plain action when I watched this one. It started of good and was quite entertaining, so why a bad review. Well in the end the movie lost it's credibility. The storyline wasn't that cheesy at all, the action was not too special but overall good, acting was OK, so more than enough to satisfy my needs. But all got ruined because things happened that were over the top, and it left me with a bad feeling. They should have put a little more effort in making everything credible and would have gotten a 7 in the "no thinking just plain action" category. So in conclusion if you know you'll get irritated because things are happening that seem completely illogical: don't watch! otherwise I'd say go ahead...

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Flawed but Watchable and Forgettable

5/10
Author: Claudio Carvalho from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
23 April 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

In Dallas, when the two prime witnesses against the drug-lord Octavio Perez (Rodrigo De la Rosa) are murdered by his gangsters in a safe-house, the testimony of the FBI agent Kate Jensen (Yvette Nipar) and three other agents become the only chance to keep the criminal in prison. They are lodged in another safe-house to wait for the trial, but the place is invaded by the criminals and the agents are executed. However, Kate is only wounded and her boyfriend Nick (Kevin Sorbo) believes there is a traitor in the agency and decides to bring her to his ranch in the country to protect her life with his reliable local friends.

"Walking Tall: Lone Justice" is a watchable and forgettable movie. Unfortunately the screenplay has many flaws, like for example how Kate could survive the attack of a cold blood hit-man (wouldn't he check whether she had died or not?); or the battle in the ranch without the arrival of the FBI (does it mean that Nick left Agent Marcia Tunney wounded with two severed fingers without calling for any help?); or the annoying Samantha that is not able to run from a fat guy with an injured leg but can use martial arts skill to fall him down. The fate of the injured agents and deputies are also never disclosed in the end. The frantic camera work and the edition are also awful, with a sort of "flashed images" of video-clip that irritated me. My vote is five.

Title (Brazil): "Com as Próprias Mãos 3: Vingança Solitária" ("With the Own Hands 3: Lone Revenge")

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

By far the most disappointing action flick..

2/10
Author: winnie christofer from India
30 September 2007

Went to watch this movie expecting a 'nothing really much' action flick, still got very disappointed. The opening scene promised a little action with a tinge of comedy. It keeps you hooked for the first half coz till then you are expecting that now its time for the action to kick in. Well, nothing of that sort happens. The movie drags and the ending just thumps you down to a point that you get annoyed.Wonder what was the director thinking. Made no sense watsoever. The movie lacked in all aspects, had no real storyline and it seemed very hollow, even if "Rambo" was in it, I don't think he could have helped the rating at all. There is simply no logic to the movie. A perfect way to waste your time and money. By far the most irritating movie i have ever seen and i am sure there will b others who'll have the same viewpoint after enduring it. Definitely not for people who have a little movie sense left in them.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Didn't expect much, didn't get much either

4/10
Author: Bob Moony from Australia
3 October 2007

This movie is just another average action flick, but it could have been so much better. When the guns come out they really needed some choreography help. Someone like Andy McNabb - who made that brilliant action sequence in Heat as they move up the street from the robbery - would have turned the dull action sequences into something special. Because the rest of the film was alright - predictable but watchable - better than you would expect from this type of movie. Then came the final scene, the show-down, the one we had been waiting for, but was like watching something from the A-Team in the 80s. They shoot wildly, nothing hits, and they run around a house trying to kill each other - same old, same old.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

its good enough to kill an hour and a half

6/10
Author: dahighone from Netherlands
3 October 2007

Woke up this morning with a little headache from the night before.. had a free day and wasn't planning on doing anything worthwhile. So i started watching this film. This is just one of those movies that you watch on an off-day. It doesn't pretend to be much and it isn't.. still i enjoyed it.. sure the acting isn't topnotch, but when i looked at the cast i didn't expect it to be. The story is something you'll have probably seen a thousand times before and probably in better versions as well, but its got a nice pace.. i never once got that "get on with it" feeling. The action is quite enjoyable.. nothing special.. just enjoyable.. so in the end i think its good enough to kill an hour and a half.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

One guy? One f*cking redneck? That's it?

6/10
Author: lastliberal from United States
15 March 2009

The action starts earlier as witnesses are gunned down by gangsters while watching a stunning show by Ramona (Christina Hearn in her only movie. More!) going on in the apartment across the street.

Kevin Sorbo follows up a long career as Hercules with a follow-up to Walking Tall: The Payback. He has a new girlfriend (Yvette Nipar) who is a federal agent that is to testify against the kingpin (Rodrigo De la Rosa) after the death of the witnesses. She has a smart 12-year-old daughter (Haley Ramm) that makes things interesting.

She survives and they try to hit her again in the hospital. Sorbo takes her to his ranch to protect her. Things get ugly ala Rambo II, and Ramona shows her torture-porn side, but then Sorbo shows his toughness.

Naturally, we have the big showdown at the ranch.

I have to get Walking Tall: The Payback.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Walking Tall:Lone Justice

5/10
Author: Scarecrow-88 from United States
16 March 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Kevin Sorbo is an ex-sheriff who must protect his cop girlfriend, Kate(Yvette Nipar)and her daughter Samantha(Haley Ramm)from drug-dealers she is set to testify against. What Kate or other federal agents will have to contend with is a dirty cop, Doug Maxwell(Mark W Johnson)on Latino gangster Perez'(Rodrigo De la Rosa)payroll. When the hoods almost kill Kate after their safehouse is invaded because of Maxwell's betrayal, Sorbo's Nick Prescott will hide her and Sam at his Boone County, Texas farmhouse, awaiting the next possible attack, prepared to do whatever he can to protect them from harm. While I think Sorbo is actually more appropriate in a Walking Tall movie than The Rock, this action movie suffers from an epileptic camera and badly angled shootouts. Too many movies have adopted the "24" approach to shooting action sequences, or simple dialogue scenes where the camera can not stay still or even contain characters in focus without moving constantly. It all becomes more than a bit aggravating. Still, I liked Sorbo in the lead, but there's nothing he can do when his director isn't able to control an impulse to shoot every single scene with an erratic camera. The villains would seem to be lifted from a Walker-Texas Ranger episode.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Terrible

2/10
Author: stansz from Canada
28 December 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

One of the worst movies I've seen shoddy camera work, crappy filter usage, film was grainy, script was terrible, i mean come on, how predictable was the big battle at the end.....

some of the fight scenes were okay i guess....

some scenes were so bad it was comical ...like Sorbo getting the horse and riding at the end...LOL i mean really ..a horse? Oh cant forget how the bad assassins roll around in the same vehicle throughout the entire movie..one would think that after killling key witness and federal agents, they woulda been tracked down..ETC, ETC really don't bother watching it...

Was the above review useful to you?

More action, but less story...

5/10
Author: Paul Magne Haakonsen from Denmark
9 January 2016

Having watched "Walking Tall: The Payback" and "Walking Tall: Lone Justice" back to back, I can say that they are both equally good. Where "Walking Tall: The Payback" was more story-driven, "Walking Tall: Lone Justice" is more action-driven. Good or bad, up to the individual viewer, of course.

The story in "Walking Tall: Lone Justice" is about Nick (played by Kevin Sorbo) who has moved from Dallas to start a new life with FBI agent Kate (played by Yvette Nipar) and her daughter Samantha (played by Haley Ramm). But Nick soon finds himself fighting to protect those who he love against ruthless drug cartel gang members as Kate is involved in a trial against them.

Less thorough storyline compared to the "Walking Tall: The Payback" movie, but more action. So this trade off will of course appeal to some in the audience.

The acting was good for a movie of this type, just don't expect anything extraordinary. Kevin Sorbo was without a doubt the driving talent carrying the movie.

"Walking Tall: Lone Justice" is a mediocre action movie, but is still worth watching if you got an hour and a half to pass and just need a mindless action movie for entertainment.

Was the above review useful to you?

Passable action flick spoilt by poor direction

5/10
Author: Leofwine_draca from United Kingdom
27 November 2012

A second straight-to-DVD sequel following on from WALKING TALL, a remake of a '70s action flick starring Dwayne Johnson. Kevin Sorbo had already appeared in a first sequel, which I haven't seen, but this one has a stand-alone storyline which is unconnected to the previous movies.

In essence, it's a typical low budget action movie, very similar to the kind of stuff that Steven Seagal is making these days. Kevin Sorbo is the just, upright hero who falls foul of a sinister drug lord and his gang of ruthless dealers. People are killed, Sorbo kicks a little ass (including during one of those ultra-predictable scenes in which he stumbles upon a convenience store robbery) and it all builds to a showdown between the good guys and bad.

In terms of quality, it's very much par for the course. I like Sorbo, have liked him since the days of HERCULES: THE LEGENDARY JOURNEYS, although it's not something I regularly watched. He seems like a genuinely nice guy, and that counts for a lot in my book. Of the supporting players, nobody really stands out, but the pace is good and there are some set-pieces that work, like the lengthy hospital interlude or a surprisingly nasty bit of torture.

A big detraction from the film is the direction, which is absolutely horrible. Director Tripp Reed seems to equate style with shaking his camera all over the place, doing frenzied editing at all stages to boot. It doesn't work, it's an unnecessary detraction and really the only thing wrong with this movie; I can overlook the clichéd plot and characters, but not that direction. I cringe just thinking about it!

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history