IMDb > Deception (2008/I) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Deception
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Deception More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 10 of 10: [Prev][5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10]
Index 98 reviews in total 

3 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Good start bad ending

6/10
Author: ikanboy from United States
25 April 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

For an hour or so the movie is engaging, slick, rife with potential. Hugh Jackman is a suave corporate man who meets and befriends (or rather takes pity on) meek mannered, shy company auditor Ewan McGregor. Jackman shows him the town and they accidentally exchange cell phones. Jackman leaves town for a week or so and McGregor starts to get calls from women saying only: "Are you free tonight?" Curious he follows up on an invitation and finds out that Jackman is part of a sex club for horny executives who don't have time for dating or a relationship.

Eventually he meets one woman (Michelle Williams)he saw briefly weeks before at a Subway station. He is taken with her and they begin to break the rules of the club and become interested in each other. Then she disappears and he is knocked out in a Motel room where they were meeting. He calls the police they see no crime. Then Jackman shows up and the plot switches strides.

Unfortunately the whole thing is telegraphed and predictable. It is too obvious that Jackman is setting poor McGregor up for something. The hook Jackman has is also lame: McGregor is presumed to commit a major crime all because he thinks he's in love with a woman he's met twice.

The two play a brief cat and mouse game, but McGregor is no match for sociopath Jackman, and McGregor commits the crime he has been chosen for as an auditor of large companies with dummy accounts.

The movie which has begun to wobble then falls completely off the tracks with a disappointingly banal ending: love conquers all.

*****************SPOILERS**************************

Major plot flaws: 1. How do 2 guys get fake passports in three days?

2. Why would a smooth ladies man like Jackman want to drag Williams around with him after he's struck it rich?

3. Even a dweeb like McGregor's character would grab the money and run.

4. Who the hell would mistake Jackman in glasses for McGregor in glasses?

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

elegant, interesting, but watch for the holes in the script

8/10
Author: aharmas from United States
26 April 2008

Hugh Jackman and Michelle Williams have always been favourites of mine. Somehow, I don't understand the appeal of McGregor, but he does a decent job whenever he shows up. He is an efficient character actor, somehow who manages to register a blip on the radar but can't leave enough of a mark to put him up there with some of his contemporaries, and there lies some of the problems in this interesting effort to put together a sexy thriller.

Jackman has already shown us he can play this type of character; as a matter of what there is very little he can't play. In "Deception" he shows how people are perfectly capable of misreading your signals if you know how to project them. From the very beginning, we know he is on to a much larger target to just befriending the lonely, boring accountant. Before we know it, we are exposed to a world we suspect exists, and we are offered a tantalizing morsel of what it is like, courtesy of a superb production team that takes us in the rarefied settings of the wealthy. It shows its ugly underbelly, and it manages to keep us hooked for a couple of hours.

Along comes Michelle William's girl, and she is as good as Jackman, playing a role that it is hard to read. Somehow we know there is more to her than just a pretty facade, and eventually we discover she is as multifaceted as some of the other people in the film. The problem lies in the lack of fire projected by McGregor, and this is still questionable, but it could be intentional. After all, it's a ride full of twists and turns, and he might be playing us all along as well.

Eventually, we are taken to a conclusion that is meant to be exotic, satisfying, and that will explain some of the surprises along the way, but it really kind of fizzles, because what at times was a bit threatening and at least entertaining, becomes a bit of a letdown. It's not a ride into the sunset, but it is a strange way to tie things, especially when you look at the way the scene at the park is handled a few minutes before the conclusion.

It is frothy entertainment, well dressed up, and with some decent acting. My last comment is things won't get better as long as the script is not properly put together. There is such as thing as a revision, and maybe sometimes, it takes more than a couple of eyes to do that.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

Good and sexy suspense thriller that's enjoyable and it ends as fair play when the tables are turned!

8/10
Author: Danny Blankenship from Petersburg, Virginia
26 April 2008

Though many might say and find "Deception" as predictable and not all that good of a film as they will say it's your typical suspense thriller that turns about as fair when the tables are turned in the end well maybe so. I for one had a darn good time viewing the film though for the way it was done and the scenes blended well especially the sex scenes and the acting from the characters and the plot for the way it builds up suspense is some of the best I had seen in a good time.

Hugh Jackman enters as top notch and big time lawyer Wyatt Bose who befriends an auditor for the firm by the name of Johnathan McQuarry(Ewan McGregor). The characterization is shown from the start the differences between personalities as Bose a clear sneaky party animal and McQuarry a laid back social misfit. Only Bose introduces McQuarry to an underground sex club in New York City, and when Bose later departs the two accidentally or purposely exchange cell phones. And in Bose's phone now in the possession of McQuarry these strange phone numbers of lovely and attractive ladies appear and the call ups come from them for the meeting of pleasure and passion in fine hotel rooms. So one by one with some very hot and steamy sex scenes McQuarry enjoys his fun and pleasure with these call girls types. Only upon one encounter a strange and crazy setup happens with a unique blond just called S(Michelle Williams).

The film from this point on takes twist and turns as some may see for themselves while others may have to think harder and see the scheme and what is behind all of this. As Wyatt returns one can see his intentions from the start with Jonathan as the nights with beautiful women prove only to be decoys. As you will see I don't want to spoil it when the tables turn identity wise then finally some fairness has come into the game.

Overall "Deception" may be a little predictable and easy for some veteran movie people to figure out yet still it's suspenseful enough to enjoy and mostly it's carried by it's sexy scenes as the performances from Jackman was wicked and Williams is innocently likable. Cleary so far for this year a good underrated movie to watch.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Great filmography, great soundtrack.

7/10
Author: Sawed-Off Runt from United States
26 April 2008

I loved the soundtrack in this, first and foremost, and I hope they'll release it in CD format so I can purchase it.

A lot of the angles of the film were very "artsy" and "colorful," while maintaining a sort of "film noir" look to it with silhouettes and lighting. I liked that. I don't see nearly enough of it in films these days.

The plot line was interesting. Unfortunately, in the later half of the movie, it became rather easy to guess the "twists" of the film, which is why I didn't give it an eight or a nine. The acting was great; Ewan McGregor made a great nerdy mouse boy that almost reminded me of Matt Damon in The Talented Mr. Ripley (which is where I thought the plot line was headed from the trailer. Don't be fooled!)

Overall, I really enjoyed the film. Worth my $6.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

I would say it is good, but.... very similar to 'Bad Influence'

9/10
Author: anthonymclaughlin86 from United Kingdom
29 April 2008

I like being generous when it comes to making Hollywood films, and not being too harsh, as Directing is supposed to be a difficult job.

Anyway, to cut a long story short, this is a good film, though fairly predictable for a lot of Movie Lovers, it was still entertaining enough for me.

Perhaps Ewan has been a little out of acting practice because of his long bike rides, because it took a while for me to adapt to his performance in this, though Hugh Jackman and Michelle Williams were fine.

I would be generous enough to give this a perfect 10 (because I'm a nice guy), but what stops it getting that extra 1 from 10 is the face that it is so similar to Bad Influence from the early 90s with Rob Lowe and James Spader, so ..... minus (only) 1 mark for slight lack of originality.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Didn't believe it, I'm afraid

7/10
Author: Neil Welch from United Kingdom
28 March 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Lonely accountant/auditor Jonathan (Ewan McGregor) is befriended by charismatic lawyer Wyatt (Hugh Jackman). After accidentally swapping phones with Wyatt, Jonathan finds himself swept up in the List, a network of contacts for having frequent beautiful anonymous sex. And then, through the List, he meets (and falls for) S (Michelle Williams), and she for him. Then he finds that Wyatt has kidnapped S and proposes to kill her unless he siphons off a large amount of money from a client.

Well, I'm an accountant too and, during my years as an auditor, I never got to have frequent beautiful anonymous sex with the likes of Natasha Henstridge, Charlotte Rampling, Paz de la Huerta, Maggie Q, or Michelle Williams. And that's not the only area where this film isn't realistic.

This is a fairly formulaic paranoia thriller, with a number of twists which are mostly pretty predictable. There are a lot of questions which remain unanswered (why did Wyatt kill Natasha Henstridge?). There are a number of plot points which are introduced and then never pursued (Jonathan discovering who Charlotte Rampling is). Much of the plot depends on assumptions which there are no reasonable grounds for making.

But, worst of all, the central strand (on which much of your ability to believe what happens stands) is Jonathan falling instantly in love with S, someone he knows nothing about. With the best will in the world, and despite the best efforts of McGregor and Williams, I never believed this for an instant.

The cast all do well, there is a pleasing look to the movie, but a) it is a bit too relaxed - tightening it up in the edit would give you less time to dwell on the weaknesses, and b) it has this central flaw at its emotional heart.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Where's the love?

7/10
Author: eYeDEF from United States
25 December 2008

I know there are a lot of professional geeks out there in today's world that would identify perfectly with the persona of Jonathan McQuarry (Ewan McGregar), a top flight accountant that excels on his talent of attention to detail and love of numbers, but being socially awkward and shy, as geeks sometimes are, and choosing a career that's not sexy enough to attract a social life just on its own, experience life in a shell of absolute isolation; yearning desperately for human interaction and intimacy but too trapped in his own world of insecurities to barely make eye contact much less ask a girl out on a date. So he returns to immersion in his world behind a computer screen as an only solace, perpetuating a frustrating cycle of feeling always that life is just passing him by.

Such circumstances can change, but it usually requires some external catalyst to make that happen. So when Jonathan strikes up a friendship with hotshot lawyer and ladies man Wyatt Bose (Hugh Jackman) at one of the firms he's auditing, he's suddenly introduced to a whole new world as Wyatt takes him under his wing. They share a common interest in tennis, and Wyatt takes him to a sex club one night and tries to convince him to start living life. He's soon introduced to The List, an exclusive swinger's service where one call to their call exchange will route you to a willing partner where the only negotiation involves which high class hotel to rendezvous for a night of strictly anonymous, no strings attached, gratuitous sex. No names can be spoken with no exceptions.

This provides the ultimate fantasy appeal to the millions of geeks that suffer through their daily ennui, as Jonathan has just gone from one extreme to the other in a matter of weeks. But then he starts yearning for that intimacy beyond just impersonal physical liaisons and becomes attached to a girl he meets through The List that he figured out has a first name that starts with an S (Michelle Williams) he recalled her asking him directions in the subway some weeks prior. She, however, refuses to break with the code and tell him her name. As he keeps pressing, asking more questions, to which he is constantly rebuffed, it's then that the plot, of course, thickens.

This movie has been trashed by critics, some of them even listing it as one of the 10 worst of the year with descriptions like 'over the top', 'uncanny', and 'irresponsible'. I suppose if you're a film critic that has seen every sex thriller movie under the sun, you might be able to anticipate some things. For myself, I think that if the last scene had been removed it would have enhanced my vision of it, as I prefer walking that fine line between triumphant and tragic. But isn't that why we see movies, to live vicariously through over the top, uncanny, and irresponsible characters in an idealized version of life that piques our imaginations and keeps us entertained?

Although for the average movie viewer where the subject matters of sexy and sleek thrillers appeal to them, this movie is not THAT bad, especially when you have such an all-star lineup. The gender demographic that liked this movie tend to be split fairly equally, with the real breakdown coming in age. The under 18 crowd graded this movie an average 7.6 and 7.5 for male and female respectively. I think I know the reason. If you're in this crowd you will not be disappointed since between the numerous List hookups there's plenty of flesh to go around. Michelle Williams is HOT, McGregor's portrayal as uber-geek had me not even realizing it was McGregor (not having checked credits beforehand) until his metamorphosis. Hugh Jackman does exude the requisite darkness for his role, although I can't help but think there might have been someone better for this part.

But the older you are, the less likely you are to like this film. So unless you're a specific connoisseur of the sex thriller genre as I am (I even saw Basic Instinct TWO) or you're an Ewan McGregor fanatic, you might find it somewhat too predictable (although it had me still putting pieces together towards the end) you might prefer instead to take a pass.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

Im a teenage guy and I found this very enjoyable

9/10
Author: robertallenandersonjr from United States
26 April 2008

deception was such a great movie with a good story. It was very fun to see what people can really get themselves into. This movie took many twits and turns. every scene that you try to predict it goes a different way. It was very unpredictable which is a good thing. It kept you guessing the whole movie through. I think that it is worth your money to go see. I liked this movie and I am only a teenage guy. So if I can like this movie im sure that an adult would enjoy it just as much as I did. It was pretty slow moving in the beginning but then really picked up the last half hour. The talk about how dirty this movie being isn't true. It did have some sex but there wasn't much nudity. It isn't a movie I recommend to a younger kid but it wasn't that bad. It was very fun to watch. It isn't really something I would see again and again but definitely once. It was very unique, smart, and original. The messages were good about learning from your mistakes. Every one in this movie does learn from their mistakes for the most part. The acting was very good and believable. Overall this was very fun and good movie. Go see it you wont be disappointed.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 10 of 10: [Prev][5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history