IMDb > Deception (2008/I) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Deception
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Deception More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 6 of 10: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [Next]
Index 96 reviews in total 

9 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

what was that?

2/10
Author: anne07876 from United Kingdom
30 September 2008

OMG! The number of times I actually caught myself rolling my eyes! Not to mention the fact that I actually walked away to order my pet food online. I needed a break that bad! This has got to be one of the worst films I've seen this year. It had a promising cast, but just goes to show you that despite big name actors, doesn't guarantee a good film. The acting was fair, though I didn't sense that any of the actors had to stretch all that much to actually play in this film. Also, they didn't make that much effort as far as the accent lessons went. Ewan McGregor's brogue accent was peeping through, as was Jackson's Australian accent. A bit too sloppy for my liking.

The story was s unrealistic, especially when the girl kept popping up all over the place for no good reason. Hell, if I saw someone around ever corner, I'd think they're stalking me! Skip this one, or if you do watch it you'll finally be able to get all those errands done you've been neglecting.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

just bad

1/10
Author: crt43 from United Kingdom
27 April 2008

I just seen the film and i have to write a review as this film is just a waste of time. A film with 3 big name actors should not be so boring.

The plot what starts out as a good idea, is so easy to see that before the end middle of the film. The plot twist is so easy to see, that there are no surprises in the movie.

The film contains sex scenes and some nudity but their is no erotic sizzle, with the scene being over in a flash. This is not a porno, more like a art movie with good looking people having fake sex together.

The final twist's at the end are, so over the top that they don't make sense, and it left with me the idea that the movie end was changed as it didn't make any sense at all.

Was the above review useful to you?

not bad nothing great, could do better

Author: random4ever from New York City, United State
9 August 2011

its a decent movie and i found it to be a bit to slow and you can see some stuff happening a mile away if your into these types of movies. its about sex, money and black mailing and nothing wrong with Hugh Jackman, Ewan McGregor, and Michelle Williams they all done a great job acting, its the story thats gets slow and boring at times it just needed a slight rewrite for the odd parts with a occasional stupid line from someone. there are a few holes near the end that i would like plugged. besides that its not bad, you can find better for this type of film. watch it have fun and enjoy the show, it could of been better and its not but its not bad.

Was the above review useful to you?

I Thought I Was Watching Another Fight Club

Author: Sam Sloan from Richmond, Virginia
13 May 2009

That's how it started out - a less than cool guy meets another guy much more cooler than him and that much cooler guy takes him beyond the boring, dull humdrum life he is fated to live without that chance encounter. With Fight Club, I didn't know what was going to happen next, but this one did when it took me to where it eventually did, I knew. I didn't want to watch any more. A lot of people are calling this movie boring, but none of them probably thought it was boring into the first thirty minutes or so. But this turned out to be a bummer, using what started out as another Fight Club, degenerating into a plot to pull off a bank heist using computers because this less than cool guy had the passwords. That's when I turned it off. It's a shame the writers of this story couldn't have used the sex angle like the writers of Fight Club used guys beating each others' brains out to make a better point than this one did. They need to try again and this time find a better angle for that sex thing. It was an intriguing idea, but they hit a dead end with a plot to rob a bank or whatever it was he was going to rob. Go back again and keep the first thirty minutes or so and come up with a better idea for the last hour and they might have something here.

Was the above review useful to you?

Yeah, there's a lot of Deception here…

5/10
Author: tv-striker from United States
18 April 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I'm not going to spend a great deal of time reviewing the numerous plot gimmicks and twists used in this film. Sadly, there are a lot of them and they're pretty predictable.

I'm also going to use the performer's names rather than the character names. This is because part of the plotting includes multiple names and the two main characters will eventually switch names towards the end of the film.

You suspend belief very early in this film. You have to believe that Ewan McGregor is a workaholic accountant/auditor who has no personal life whatsoever; no women and not even a cat. That's pretty much of a stretch. Call casting. Get us someone who couldn't get a woman to talk to him even if his life depended upon it. Moreover, this "wallflower" of a guy will suddenly turn "cool" and smoke a joint with someone he's never met before (Hugh Jackman). Then the two of them will start what looks like a "bromance" and become best buddies; going to sex clubs, playing tennis, and having lunch. They're so close they mix up their cell phones so McGregor ends ups with Jackman's phone in a key plot point event.

At first glance, the concept of a sex club catering to busy, high-influence people who simply call each other anonymous sex, sounds somewhat plausible. However, it's kind of ludicrous to imagine anyone meeting someone else for sex, sight unseen. I'm sure such a club would require pictures and the like or there could be a bunch of horny trolls hanging out for sex with the horny-busy people. It just doesn't fly.

Once you get past the McGregor character setup and accept the sex club as legitimate, you can go along for the ride until you reach the final suspension of belief.

The Jackman character manipulates McGregor with Michelle Williams (a sex club partner McGregor REALLY likes). Jackman claims to have kidnapped her and will kill her unless McGregor transfer funds from a company he's about to audit. You have to suspend belief that McGregor, the auditor, has system authority to make such a transfer. That's simply not possible. At best, he gets "view only" rights or has to work off of paper copies. It's also probably a monumental system problem if one person only could transfer $20M out of a company without a secondary (software) approval step. Still you have to suspend this belief to get to the conclusion of the film.

Your final suspension of belief deals with the Williams' character. There's not really a whole lot about her revealed in the film. Yet, you're asked to accept that she really likes, cares for, McGregor (which kind of gets back to the first problems with the McGregor character being a little too attractive).

This film is probably not going to bore you. The performers are appealing and therefore help sustain the picture. However, you're probably not going to be on the edge of your seat and will probably not be overly surprised about the plot twists. You won't walk with a great deal of satisfaction about anything. You probably won't want to view it again.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Deception deceives you into thinking it's good

6/10
Author: Targe from Canada
1 February 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This movie is a classic case of weak story supported by strong actors.

The entire plot is given away by the title, and perhaps the movie should have been more accurately called 'The List', giving it a sinister, secret cult like feel along the lines of Eyes Wide Shut.

What we get instead is an EXTREMELY predictable storyline with few surprises and plodding dialogue.

You can never have a truly awful movie with the likes of Ewan McGregor and Hugh Jackman front and centre, but their talents are wasted on a truly bad script.

Michelle Williams is serviceable as the extremely predictable 'girl for hire' seductress.

You see the ending coming from 50 miles out, as the movie pulls the ridiculous device of playing 'this is the end of the movie' music for the next 20 minutes after you think the main hero is dead.

To top it all off, after realizing his personality is essentially dead, by placing his forged passport on the body of the villain, and having no future to return to in the US, the hero walks away from 20 million CASH with the pretty call girl in tow, RIDICULOUS.

The movie could have been far superior if he had instead transferred another 50 million to another bank in the same city that night, walked there with the girl at the end of the movie after killing the villain, and withdrawn the larger sum under the false identity he was travelling under! NOW they can walk off into the sunset! Maybe some playful dialogue, like "How do you feel about a really big boat???" "Response: Looks like my ship has come in!" There! BOOM!!! MUCH BETTER MOVIE!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Entertaining at best

7/10
Author: Raul Faust from Joinville, Brazil
20 January 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Deception: an unusual kind of movie that involves sexuality, mystery, pleasure and urban life. The idea of having a sex (and anonymous) list has already passed through everyones head I suppose. For big urban cities it should work perfectly.

Despite that, the movie is entertaining and mysterious. We don't know what to expect from the characters and what is gonna happen. I doubt anyone here before watching already knew that Wyatt Bose was gonna be a bounder like that. I thought he was a McQuarry's illusion. Also, this kind of remembered me of "Perfect Stranger" - a bad movie, unlike "Deception".

You guys may not believe, but when the "S" girl asked him to guess her name, I instantly thought in my head "Simone". I swear, I have no witness but in my head I know I'm speaking the truth.

Summing it up, this film is truly entertaining and the sex list may had caused some problems to the religious audience. To me, it was nothing but an excellent idea.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Nicely done suspense thriller.

8/10
Author: Lucien Lessard from Canada
22 September 2010

An quiet, lonely and shy accountant by the name of Jonathan Quarry (Ewan McGregor) only lives for his work. When he meets an mysterious corporate lawyer (Hugh Jackman) by the name of Wyatt Bose has it all. Wyatt has good looks, confidant and if slightly sleazy sense of humour. When Wyatt introduces Jonathan to "The List", an mysterious group of beautiful woman, who meets him for sex. Which sets Jonathan into a decadent journey of sexuality and discovers more of himself. Although he falls for one of the woman on "The List". An beautiful young woman (Michelle Williams), who only calls herself "S". When Jonathan and "S" starts having an relationship, Jonathan finds himself knocked up by a person, "S" is kidnapped. When Jonathan tells his story to the police, no one believes him but soon, he also discovers that Wyatt is not what he seems to be.

Directed by Marcel Langenegger made an good-looking thriller with an fine performance by McGregor. Jackman has some fun as the villain (He is also one of the film's producers). The best thing about "Deception" is Dante Spinotti's (Blink, Heat, Manhunter) excellent Widescreen cinematography and Williams' minor role as the femme fatale of the movie.

DVD has an sharp anamorphic Widescreen (2.35:1) transfer and an good Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound. DVD has an fairly interesting commentary track by the director, two featurettes, deleted scenes/alternate ending with optional commentary by the director and trailers. "Deception" does have some clever ideals, some good sequences (The highlight is Charlotte Rampling in her lively cameo, an sequence she shares with McGregor) and some nice surprise (Although some are predictable). "Deception" was an box office flop, when it was release in the spring of 2008. The movie certainly plays better watching at home than seeing it in a movie theater. Don't miss it. Written by Mark Bomback (Live Free or Die Hard, Godsend, Race to Witch Mountain). Super 35. (****/*****).

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

ALL Style ,NO substance

2/10
Author: healingsmile from United States
23 February 2010

I wanted to like this movie. I really did. It had all the ingredients; the potential of really good actors, great locations, sleek and stylish. I am a huge Jackman fan and McGregor is always a solid performer, but it fails. The plot was neither very interesting nor believable. On one hand Jackman plays a con artist with the foresight to lay the foundation to pull of a huge con, yet makes the most freshman mistakes taught in" Introduction to a con 101." There are more plot holes than swiss cheese, and less twist then a ruler. The writer lacked the substance and character development in his/her screenplay, and it shows. Generally, scenes are in a movie for a reason: to define a character, or maybe propel us to the next part of the story. There were too many unnecessary scenes that added nothing to the story. This movie had the the style and actors to make it work but lacked the substance in the story to make it worthwhile or entertaining.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Interesting with good performances

6/10
Author: jim-yarnold from United States
12 January 2010

Based on the story and the good acting by all involved this film is entertaining and will keep your interest if you've had enough sleep the night before.

Jackman is excellent and Ewan does a great job doing something he's not typically cast for. Michelle Williams, despite the really bad hair job, is also adequate but ambiguous, never really know when she's sincere. Overall I enjoyed the film if only for the performances and the off kilter sexy story. You won't remember this film in a year but your opinions of the main actors will not suffer too much.

I especially enjoyed the filming predominantly done it the evening which was suitable for the context. The dreary light emphasized the story line and left me wanting to see the characters in the daylight which finally happens in the end.

This film fails however in convincing the viewer that true love exists between 'S' and Jonathon but I don't feel as if that was the intent. Jonathon's infatuation with 'S' may have worked with a more defined conclusion but after 107 minutes you're left guessing as to why the film ended the way it did.

Despite the somewhat random story, seemingly evolving while the file was being shot I did enjoy the overall sensation the film imparted but would only recommend it to fans of the stars working the show or those who simply enjoy curling up to a impromptu movie pulled down at home without any significant effort. Meaning, don't go out of your way to see this film but if it pops up enjoy it for what it's worth – interesting performances…

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 6 of 10: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history