IMDb > Deception (2008/I) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Deception
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Deception More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 4 of 11: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 104 reviews in total 

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Lazy job

3/10
Author: ttornak
2 May 2010

How can you mess up a paint by the numbers job ? From the introduction onward your left asking yourself questions, like "why are these two talking anyway ?", "Why is an accountant living in a dump ?" and oh dear... does he really have to wear glasses ? You can feel the movie trying to stretch your imagination to make room for it's stereotypes and plot holes.

After this a few scantily dressed women have sex with the accountant but movie refuses to become interesting as all the encounters are flat and after an 45 minutes you are still waiting for something to happen.

Fortunately Jackman comes to rescue by playing the villain for a bit and finally the movie groans onwards. Michelle Williams gets some screen time but plays like 3 different, unrelated plot devices (sorry, characters) and the movie goes nowhere slowly.

In the end, Jackman was good, Ewan was Ewan and the ending scenes reminded me it's beautiful weather outside and I could be sitting outside with some friends having a cold beer. Good advice.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

When an entire movie turns on a 30 second scene...

3/10
Author: Chaz Cone from Atlanta, GA
1 January 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

..then I'm annoyed throughout the whole film.

Others have summarized the plot; I won't do it again. The spoiler alert should warn you not to proceed unless you've already seen this film! Here's my point: Jonathan spots "S" on a subway platform and falls instantly in love. If he hadn't noticed her, or hadn't found her the most appealing woman on the planet -- then there's no film. No plot. Nothing.

The entire plot turns on that setup "viewing" of "S"; not even a chance-encounter, and Jonathan falling head over heels for her. How could Wyatt have known that was going to happen? That insult to my intelligence turned me off right then -- but since I love movies (all movies), I watched it and found the acting quite good (all parties) and the cinematography excellent.

BUT... y'gotta have a plot that I can believe in -- not just a device to get the story going.

Oh, and as others have written, we've seen all of this before.

Someone once said that there are only seven plots and the film community keeps repeating them over and over and ...

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

I'm Ashamed of Everyone Involved

Author: Bolesroor from New York, NY USA
11 December 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

One of the worst major-studio films I have ever seen, "Deception" is about a hip businessman (Hugh Jackman) who befriends a bookish accountant (Ewan McGregor) and then proceeds to blackmail him into committing embezzlement. But this is a movie cobbled together from hundreds of used parts from thousands of predictable films... and it won't take long before you're rolling your eyes or checking your watch or vomiting out of sheer boredom.

Hugh Jackman chews the scenery as our cold-blooded bad guy... he sneers his lip, never blinks, and molests Michele Williams while forcing her to sing him a love song. Can we get the guy a mustache to twirl? Ewan McGregor goes inexplicably out of his way to play his nerdy prude as a bumbling buffoon, so much so that his super-sincere declarations of love to the mystery girl of his dreams seem ridiculous. I have never had strong feelings about the man but the more I see of him the more I think he might be in the wrong business... hasn't he at least made enough money to have some of those moles burned off? (His face is like an ugli fruit!)

Anyway, his character in the movie is a clueless puppet- until, of course, the moment that the strained script dictates he suddenly outsmarts the bad guy and becomes more calculating than the crook controlling him. And Michele Williams' character is the worst kind of poorly-written female hypocrite: A beautiful girl with a heart of gold who fell in with the wrong crowd and manipulates a man into falling for her before killing him but then claims she didn't know he would be killed and seems genuinely bummed but still hops a flight for Europe to meet up with the villain to spend his blood money and live like a princess/whore with a really guilty conscience. Scripts like this waste paper.

And a word here on the script... this is derivative, pointless, already-been-chewed Hollywood hogwash... the worst cliché of backwards studio-thinking ever perpetrated on the page. We get 'surprise' twists that we see coming so far down the line they're marked on the calendar. We get an opening act that has little or nothing to do with the rest of the movie: Would somebody please explain to me WHY Jackman has to trick McGregor into Sex Club when he could have just sent in his gorgeous ringer from Day One? We get faux-noir dialogue, and action bad-guy one-liners... characters so thin you know they only exist to set up the next plot-point... and an ending that's depressing in it's absurdity.

The ONLY thing keeping me from flunking this junk is the cameo appearance of Maggie Q., an actress so beautiful and magnetic in her four minutes of nearly-nude screen time that you almost forget the rest of the movie. Almost. Not even Maggie can save this sinking ship...

Do yourself a favor: avoid this movie at all costs. You're much better off seeing "The Sting," or David Fincher's brilliant "The Game," if you haven't already. I warn you about "Deception" because I care about you.

Where were you when I needed you?

GRADE: D-

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

barely agreeable but with a ludicrous ending

6/10
Author: antoniotierno from Italy
25 September 2008

The thing is that the plot takes too many turns, so many that the movie ties itself in knots and must resort to a lot of silliness to develop a finale and get out of the whole mess. The early moments are quite involving, showing the nerd-player friendship taking to something scary. Nevertheless, in spite of the good beginning, I figure the two leads have never the chemistry that would explain why they got drawn to one - another, so moments where the viewer would say "OK, everything seems to work" are very rare. The story gets then ridiculous in the end due to many plot twist that poop a film otherwise decent. There's also a cameo of Charlotte Rampling.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Why So Bad?

5/10
Author: samkan from Poconos, Pennsylvania
29 November 2008

I watched this having not heard of any reviews or history. I enjoyed DECEPTION despite immediately recognizing the set-up. I didn't think it tried to hide the fact that it was trading off a zillion other thrillers, all of which trade off Alfred Hitchcock's great work. I was somewhat annoyed with the ending; i.e., after already straining credibility it descended to silliness.

Yet I was surprised that it got so thoroughly trashed! ROTTEN TOMATOES had it as 12% favorable!

I've watched films that shamelessly borrow hackneyed premises, devices, tools, etc.yet didn't have the acting and style of DECEPTION. Take THE BRAVE ONE and SERAPHIN FALLS, for example. Such were also shameless rip-offs of older standards, contained a lot of fluff melodrama yet lacked performances the quality of Jackman and McGregor herein.

Again, DECEPTION was nothing new and had plenty of faults. It doesn't deserve "bomb" status however. I'm guessing the movie was in a genre where a lot of film snobs cut their critical teeth and are protecting their exclusive expertise. Wouldn't want to offend Albert now, would we?

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Hmm.

6/10
Author: the_last_galerian from Canada
25 April 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Well, this movie certainly has its moments. Sometimes you're sitting there praying for it to freaking end, and other times you're completely absorbed into the movie. Now, in Canada, this movie is rated 14A. Considering that the first, oh, forty five minutes to an hour of the movie is basically porn, I can't help but disagree. If you're not prepared to see McGregor's fluffy chest, don't see this. So, after awhile of squirming uncomfortably, the movie finally begins to draw you in. I'm not going into details of what the movie is about, but there are plot holes abound. Many things make negative sense. For example, how can someone shoot someone else in the middle of a street in Madrid not only without anyone noticing but from a straight angle when they are standing at a far diagonal? How did the passports get made up so quickly? HOW did McGregor not die in that one scene? That made no sense at all.

Overall, it's an all right movie when you're watching it, it's amazing when you're pulled into the story, but reflecting on it later and realizing all its flaws makes my personal rating of it drop. It takes WAY too long to get into the actual story, McGregor goes through hell and back to get this girl who he met twice, there is way too much porn stuff, the ending is atrocious...but my word, the middle of the movie is just fantastic. If you're a fan of McGregor and/or Jackman, go rent it or something because they both do a good job in it. If you're not a fan of either of them, what is wrong with you, McGregor is fantastic.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

awful film with big stars

1/10
Author: whiteroom from Taiwan
3 September 2008

I didn't expect too much before watching this film, I mean it's a typical Hollywood film with the sex,love.money...subjects. You know, the same boring factors with boring script. You can't asked for much,can you? However, I was expecting an entertaining movie.This film can't even do the job well.

They have some big stars in it,even invite Charlotte Rampling,the great actress and Maggie Q from Hong Kong for guest starring. I have no idea why they can't use a better script? Perhaps they just paid too much for the three main characters, and little budget for the screen writer.:P Thanks God I didn't spend a penny to watch this.It's not worth.

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 30 people found the following review useful:

Pretty much exactly what you would expect

7/10
Author: Lando_Hass from The Thuderdome, b**ch!!
24 April 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I just watched Deception, and again, I really wasn't expecting that much from it. In fact, I really wasn't expecting anything in particular; I had absolutely no expectations for this movie. I didn't think it looked terrible, good, or average. I just thought it'd be worth a watch. And, overall, I thought it was worth a watch, but not much else. It's a good movie to see if you're bored one night and decide to just see whatever.

One reason I was kind of intrigued by it was because I had this weird feeling that it might be an interesting movie kind of like The Prestige, even though the only connection these movies have is that they both star Hugh Jackman, and they both involve Hugh Jackman and another guy going up against each other. Obviously, it's nothing like that, but whatever. I figured the movie would at least be really thrilling and I thought it would have some really unpredictable twists and turns along the way. Honestly though, there's not really a single thing in this movie thats surprising. Not once did I say to myself as I was watching it, "Wow, I didn't expect that." Because I pretty much did expect everything. That's not to say it's a bad movie. It's pretty entertaining, but it's just not as good as it could have been.

Ewan McGregor plays kind of a nerdy, shy accountant who one night meets Hugh Jackman's character (Wyatt Bose), a suave, kind of wild Wall Street-type guy who's pretty much the complete opposite of McGregor. Through a series of events, McGregor's character ends up with Jackman's cellphone, and he receives a call from a woman who asks him if he's free for the night. He meets the woman, and through another series of events, he gets caught up in this sex club where he calls random women in Bose's phone, getting together with them to screw them. The rule is that there's not supposed to really be any conversation, not getting-to-know-each other, and they're not supposed to know each other's names. They just get together for one reason only: To screw each other.

Of course, Bose is not who he seems to be. There's something about him, and you already know that right off the bat. Eventually, McGregor's character meets up with a woman (her name's never given, it just starts with an S) that he falls in love with and cares for. Of course, things start to unravel, and Bose reveals that there's more to him than what he puts out.

The sad thing is that you know what every character is going to do. You know what twists the movie is going to take, and you pretty much know how it's going to end. You know every step the movie's going to take, and because of that, it's not exactly thrilling or suspenseful. Bose's motive for doing what he's doing isn't predictable, but it just leaves you with a feeling of "That's it?" You expect there to be much more to the story and to Bose's motives, but there really isn't. It's like, it's not horrible, it's not good, it just leaves you thinking, "That's alright, but that's it?"

Of course, the movie's full of sex...which means it's full of nudity. A bunch of gorgeous, hot women get naked for the camera, and it's pretty damn sexy. Just thought I'd point that out.

The movie was entertaining, and it was made pretty well, but it could've been a lot cooler. It was really well made, the actors were good, Hugh Jackman's character was the villain, but he was really likable, they could've made it more suspenseful and they could've put some better twists in there, but whatever. I enjoyed it enough. But you're pretty much gonna see every single twist and turn a mile away if you go see it. Regardless of that, it's still a nice, solid movie. But eh. Go judge for yourself.

Score: 7 out of 10.

Was the above review useful to you?

28 out of 54 people found the following review useful:

Jackman and McGregor, in the least gripping thriller ever.

2/10
Author: Red_Flag from United States
8 June 2008

Ahh Jackman what have they done to you. It's a wonder how such talented actors were tempted by such a weak and uninteresting plot. Deception manages to combine a novel premise with one of the lousiest executions in history and in that sense only ever manages to succeed in one area. That's its stellar and often unused cast. Brilliant as they might be even the actors cannot excuse this joke of a movie being as bad as it is especially when I had high hopes for it.

Truth is the only thing that is deceiving about this garbage is its sophisticated trailer promising a well crafted and gripping thriller only what we get is completely the opposite. Lacking in potential to make you want to stay until the closing credits and to be perfectly honest I nearly walked out. But surely if it's as poor as I described i would have awarded it a more "unwatchable " review. And yet with all of its flaws and mishaps Deception does get something right, well for 20 minutes at least it manages to capture a minor bit of interest.

A disconnected accountant finds his mundane life injected with a new sense of urgency after striking up a friendship with a charismatic attorney in director Marcel Langenegger's sexually charged action thriller.

Jonathan (Ewan McGregor) is an accountant who has lost his passion in life. When his powerful new lawyer friend, Wyatt (Hugh Jackman), introduces Jonathan to a salacious underground sex club called The List, the the dejected accountant soon believes he has found the woman of his dreams (Michelle Williams). His newfound happiness takes a turn for the worse, however, when Jonathan is named the prime suspect in the woman's disappearance as well as the theft of 20 million dollars.

Early on, there is an element of aspiration lifestyle envy about it all, as if fancy clothes and well-designed surroundings really do make a life, if not at least the making of a good watch commercial. Once the twists start twisting, the film loses any sense of genuine human behavior and becomes a slave to its own chunky plotting. The movie that took a moment to name-check the German artist Gerhard Richter (and even pause to admire one of his paintings) gets left by the wayside.

Once it gets up to speed, the various tricks and complications of the movie, written by Mark Bomback, are so baldly cherry-picked from other films that it half seems as if Deception is meant as some kind of Sexy Movie parody to go in line with the recent Epic, Date and Scary entries.

My Final Verdict? Avoid at all costs. Deception takes its place among the outing of 2008 that were so dull and uninteresting that its almost impossible not to walk out. If you're interested in such erotic thrillers however your best of seeing the massively overrated Original Sin starring Antonio Banderas. As for Deception your best of leaving this one otherwise you'll just be regretting your decision the Moring after.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Implausible, but not impossible.

5/10
Author: Troy Putland from East Sussex
23 November 2015

Deception is a hard one to figure out. Ewan McGregor's socially awkward accountant Jonathan meets Hugh Jackman's Wyatt, a confident co-worker. He introduces Jonathan into a sex ring known only as The List. McGregor becomes animalistic, thinking with his libido, until he meets a beautiful woman (Williams). Jackman abuses McGregor's new emotions by abducting Williams. McGregor acts irrationally, driven by love for someone he's just met. Love at first sight, or acts of stupidity? He's not the most likable of characters. Deception pans out with little feelings for its lead men and their final destinations. At least parts of Europe look nice in the film's dark ambiance. What a shame the story is just as dull as its lighting situation.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 4 of 11: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history