IMDb > Forgetting Sarah Marshall (2008) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Forgetting Sarah Marshall
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Forgetting Sarah Marshall More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 18 of 33: [Prev][13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26] [27] [28] [Next]
Index 326 reviews in total 

13 out of 27 people found the following review useful:

waste of time

1/10
Author: huren from Argentina
16 June 2008

i only write this to make sure that those brainless sheeple who will like everything if they are told to do so aren't the only ones commenting on this. this movie is pure Hollywood crap. jokes are predictable, quite pointless, don't help the plot and usually circle around the usual: sex, nudity, violence and unbelievable stupidity. and... they are NOT FUNNY.

i sat there, thinking: how much of my IQ do i have to waste with alcohol to be able to enjoy this? i didn't learn anything, did not laugh or was entertained in any way. I kept feeling insulted that the director/author thinks I'm stupid enough to like this.

actors were OK, nothing special though. and you cant really go wrong playing some dumb chick if you are one.

Was the above review useful to you?

48 out of 97 people found the following review useful:

Forgetting Sarah Marshall is the best comedy of the year so far, and maybe the best movie, period.

9/10
Author: ReleaseTheClarken from United States
13 April 2008

I just went to an advance screening of Forgetting Sarah Marshall and it is just as funny as 40 Year Old Virgin, Knocked Up, and Superbad. Jason Segel has crafted a screenplay that could have easily disintegrated into an over-the-top, unbelievable, and lowbrow comedy. Instead, all of its characters are believable and, more importantly, we really care about them and their feelings.

If you cant tell from the other Apatow & Crew movies, these guys can act with the best of them. If there has ever been a time for the Academy Awards to start acknowledging comedies as just as good as Dramas, it is now, in the time of Apatow. Yes the comedy is as filthy as ever, but the acting is just as good as almost any drama out there. I would even say that comedy is harder than Drama in that it is incredibly hard to craft characters that you feel for and believe while still being funny. Apatow and his friends are the kings of it. It was evident in "Freaks and Geeks" and it has only gotten better now.

Jason Segel is great and you feel for his character immensely. Kristen Bell plays her part as the heartbreaker ex-girlfriend pitch perfectly. At times her character, without giving too much away, is semi-tragic. Mila Kunis completely makes us forget about her days as the dumb hottie on "That 70's Show" and makes us fall in love with her character along with Peter. Russell Brand has the toughest job playing the ridiculous parody of a British rocker. At times he is a bit over-the-top but he gets some of the biggest laughs in the movie while retaining a bit of believability.

The supporting characters are just as good as they have been in every other Apatow movie. Bill Hader, while I liked him more in Superbad, gets some big laughs as the brother who wants Peter to get over Sarah. Jonah Hill gets some huge laughs as the hotel employee who has a man crush on the British rocker. Paul Rudd is one of the best comic minds of our time and he is as funny as ever as Chuck/Kunu the hotel's surf instructor.

The writing and directing are both top-notch as well.

If there is anything bad I can say about it, is that some of the editing jumps around suddenly and sometimes some scenes seem a bit out of place. Also there is a scene where a boom gets in the shot. There are a few continuity issues (towels on shoulders disappearing and drinks in and out of peoples hands) but those are to be expected.

Do not miss this movie it is the best movie so far this year!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

10/10 best movie i've seen in literally years

10/10
Author: trapaholics420
13 July 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Forgetting Sarah Marshall is hands down one of the best movies I have seen in my lifetime that some may consider short, but to me feels never ending, but i digress. Jason Segell's character is extremely likable, particularly after his hilarious yet heart wrenching nude break up scene. It really feels like the viewer them self grows with Peter as the plot develops. Mila Kunis is a mega babe as well don't even get me started. I literally have no issues with this film I absolutely loved it. Definitely would not recommend watching this movie with your kids or your mother-in-law though! Some humor may be a tad crude for some people's tastes, but other than that this film is a must watch for any fan of romantic comedies.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

They just can't make us laugh

2/10
Author: StakkaDakka from Australia
6 January 2013

Proper comedians can make us laugh by being funny completely on-the-spot, such as interviews, podcasts etc I'm talking about the likes of Louis CK, Ricky Gervais, Larry David, Bill Burr, Adam Carolla, Patton Oswalt etc. If you ever hear these guys they are completely hilarious with zero effort and zero preparation. Then at the other end of the spectrum you have this rubbish. Give a guy 30 million dollars budget and god knows how many man-hours to make a funny movie and he succeeds in making me laugh a total of about 3 times. It is absolutely pathetic. What is worse is that these movies are cash-cows, is this really the standard of comedy in the year 2013? Crude sexual references and scenes every 2 minutes, none of them funny. The bulk of the script dedicated to couples having bitchy arguments and fake dramatic (teary-eyed) speeches about love. I cannot believe a man actually wrote this, clearly at some point in the process somebody made sure it was loaded up with this female melodrama so it could sell more tickets. Does anyone in the world seriously want to see a couple argue? Christ, give me 1 minute of Bill Burr's podcast over 2 hours of this carp. LAME

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

One of the best modern comedies

10/10
Author: haider khan from Canada
28 February 2012

Forgetting Sarah Marshall is a great movie with excellent acting, dialogue and a mixture of both crude and subtle humor. The movie for me was much better than such comedies as "The 40 Year old Virgin" and "The Wedding Crashers". The characters are well developed and the plot is very "smooth". There are lot of sex jokes but the comedy is smart and sophisticated. There's a wit in Segel's writing that I would never have guessed and my respect for him has increased after watching this movie, both as a writer and as a actor. Aldous Snow is hilarious in the movie and I hope he makes more of such movies,

All in all, a must watch movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Jason Segal Shines As A Star

10/10
Author: Paul Miller (paulpdm) from United States
6 April 2011

The movie Forgetting Sarah Marshall is a sleeper in a class of many great romantic comedies. As a film the movie flowed well, and had a seemingly flawless view of the life and struggles of the main character. Whether it be a comedic flashback or a small gesture you barely catch, Forgetting Sarah Marshall has a humorous moment for everyone. I can promise that even if you are not a fan of Judd Apatow this film will make you laugh, and you will forever remember parts of this film. I personally am not a huge Apatow fan myself, however this film was intriguing to me at first because of the actor Jason Segal. You may recognize Segal from the hit comedy show How I Met Your Mother as the character Marshall Erickson. I knew prior to seeing this film that Segal was a funny man, and he seemed like a good enough actor to star in a movie. So this got me to the theater.

Segal's performance in the movie was stellar, and as a fan of his acting prior to the film, this just backed up my beliefs of his skills. His acting led to the viewer wanting to know more about this character, and the struggles he now faces. He makes you feel his heart ache and sorrow, and does a good job of making you somehow relate to this man. As a viewer he immediately grabbed your attention with his goofiness, and from the first five minutes on you view him as almost a friend. Segal brought the best acting to the table in the movie, but he was backed up by a surprisingly strong cast. Not only was the cast newer to film at the time, but most of the names were a pleasant surprise to me as a viewer, and now if I see them in other movies I immediately connect them to this film. I enjoyed Forgetting Sarah Marshall, and if you are a fan of goofy, R-rated, Romantic Comedies then this movie is a perfect fit. See It! This movie also led to somewhat of a sequel in the movie "Get Him To The Greek".

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

One of the most disappointing movies ever...

4/10
Author: kodadimet from Turkey
15 November 2010

In fact, i had high expectations before watching this movie. Really i had... I read lot's of good commends about it ( It has 7.4 points over 10 on IMDb! You gotta be kidding me! ). And in addition, Jason Segel's performance in How I Met Your Mother was really good. He seems far more talented in that show compared with this movie. Keeping all of them in mind, i prepared myself for a good and enjoying survey. But unfortunately what i got is bad acting, unnecessary nudity (how come a person could think that watching a crying fat completely nude guy is funny anyway? or Was it necessary to show Mina Kunis's breasts on a picture on the wall of a toilet? ), bad dialogs and waste of 2 hours in my precious life. Sorry to say that but don't even bother watching it...

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

a personal encounter: funny, crude, yet tugs at the heart strings

9/10
Author: snarby1 from United States
18 October 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This movie is a lot like Knocked Up or Zach and Mirri Make a Porno in that it can be funny, crude, yet also a little bit romantic. But IMHO it exceeded these two films by far.

I first watched this while I was going through a difficult period with my girlfriend at the time. I had never heard about the film until my friend mentioned it, and judging by the title alone I thought that it was a chick flick or something. But he assured me that it wasn't, popped in the DVD, and off we went.

This movie not only entertained the hell out of me but also brought me a great deal of catharsis. The focus of the movie is the painful and confusing period a person goes through following a breakup. A variety of characters and situations all served to help the main character resolve this pain in hilarious, honest ways.

I watched this the next day with my girlfriend at the time; i guess trying to express to her through film some of the feelings I had been going through. Apparently she didn't get it, and we broke up about six months later. I watched the film a third time a couple of months after that and got teary-eyed at a few parts, some of it because of laughter, some of it because of sadness.

Every character has a message: Russell Brand's character seems initially shallow, but then comes off as being stoic and honest; really telling it like it is and cutting through the BS; which is something I admire. His supporting role was hilarious and moving.

The surfer dude is all about blissful ignorance and living Buddhist; in the moment, Samadhi, whatever you wanna call it.

The bartender has a short piece of dialogue where he talks about how it was his dream to come to Hawaii, and now he can name over 400 fish. A lesson in not putting any boundaries on your dreams.

The newlywed couple represent young love and how difficult it can be, and how important it is to communicate honestly.

Sarah Marshall represents the insanity in trying to date an unhealthy person. One minute they will be crying in your arms telling you they want to make it work, the next they will be screwing someone else and then trying to make you feel guilty for it.

This movie hits very close to home for me, but even if it didn't I probably still would have still enjoyed it. Comedy for the sake of comedy can be entertaining (Happy Gilmore), but honest films like these are great. Perfect blend of comedy and honesty, which is hard to do (for an example of a failed honest comedy, watch Funny People).

I know this wasn't a very well-written review, and I don't give a crap. I just hope that if you're hurting like I was, you can watch this movie and gain some insight -- or at least a few laughs.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

A funny comedy with well developed characters

9/10
Author: ComedyFan2010 from Canada
10 July 2010

We all have been dumped and we all have dumped someone. This makes it already easier to understand the main characters. But what helps it even more is the fact that the characters are very well done.

Jason Segel is great in his part. He is sweet and vulnerable. Sarah's character is great as well because she is not done as a "monster". Even though we feel for Peter we still can understand her. This is what makes me like this movie so much, the characters are human and not just "good vs. evil".

Not only the main characters but the supporting ones are great as well. It is full of awesome and funny actors. A special mention deserves Paul Rudd. Whenever I see him in a new movie he plays a different kind of character and always with a great success.

I like also that the movie has a great balance of comedy and romance. It is not too sentimental and one gets too laugh a lot. Aldous's music video and song lyrics as well as scenes from Sarah's TV show were in my opinion especially funny.

My only problem with the movie is that the ending was too long. It went on and on and on. The last few scenes could have been done much faster, it actually feels longer than it was

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

A wonderful break-up comedy.

9/10
Author: lewiskendell from United States
6 April 2010

A HUGE step up from the overrated Knocked Up. These are the kinds of movies that guys and women both can enjoy and laugh their asses off together. Jason Segel, Kristen Bell, Bill Hader, Paul Rudd, Russell Brand...Forgetting Sarah Marshall essentially has my comedy dream team in it.

You feel nothing but pity and horror for Jason's character as the movie starts, but he never comes off as so pathetic that you don't root for him. This is one of the more "realistic" comedies that I've seen, even though there are tons of outlandish scenes. The next time you want to watch a date movie with your significant other, try this for a sure- fire hit. It's flat-out hilarious, and that doesn't change with repeated viewings. Forgetting Sarah Marshall is one of my favorite comedies, ever.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 18 of 33: [Prev][13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26] [27] [28] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history