IMDb > "Wizards of Waverly Place" (2007) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Wizards of Waverly Place"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratings
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Wizards of Waverly Place" More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 8 of 8: [Prev][3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8]
Index 78 reviews in total 

4 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Wizards has a repeating formula that was terrible from the start

1/10
Author: marcelputrus from United States
31 May 2010

when i first saw the previews for this shows i thought to myself "this is going to be interesting" in a good way, but the series was off to a BAD start. Then the series worked its way up to be almost as entertaining as " Hannah Montana" or "Even Stevens", but then a horrible "bump in the road" came 'Wizards vs Vampire', thats when the show started to fall apart as it tried to part way with the "Harry Potter" (wizards) vs "Twilight" ( vampires) controversy.

The show than began to suffer with multiple part episodes, ending with the werewolves (again twilight) and had made a STUPID decision in killing a important character and trying to be serious but it had failed.

I have to admit not as bad as "Sonny with a Chance" but not as enduring as "Hannah Montana".

Below is what i give Disney channel now a days:

Wizards of Waverly Place: C-

Hannah Montana: B+ (dont be biased here) Sonny With a Chance: D Jonas: D+ ( i am tuning in for season 2, director of the office!!) Suite Life Of Zack and Cody: B Suite Life On Deck: C

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

What's with the special effects

4/10
Author: jumbolarge1 from United States
17 May 2008

Although the story line isn't creative or original, it is still pretty good. The great story line has nothing to do with the horrible script written out. Every show that comes onto Disney Channel gets less and less funny even though the writers must think it's hilarious. A lot of the dialogs sound like a third grader wrote them and some of the stuff they say is so random. All of the actors are great except for the father and the main character, Alex, which should generally be the other way around. I do like how the actors were previously seen on Disney Channel before, such as the character who plays Justin was Larry on Thats So Raven, Alex was Micaela on Hannah Montana, and Max was also on another Disney Channel Movie.

The worst part of the whole series are the special effects, which should be the other way around being a show about magic. In one episode, when the characters were swinging from a giant chandelier, you can tell that the characters are really just standing there, the chandelier was fake, and the characters, the chandelier, and the background were all filmed in three different places. Along with that, the backgrounds never match what's going on. Nothing about the effects have ever been good.

The rest of the show is really good.

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 42 people found the following review useful:

Everything Is Bad As It Seems

1/10
Author: charazard-1 from Canada
26 April 2008

Sloppy is a good word to describe this show. Sloppy special effects, sloppy acting, sloppy story lines, sloppy scripts, etc,.

Special Effects [1/10] - Cheap. Green flashes of light coming out of someones finger amaze me to no end. Alex's head being inflated looks as if it was done on Microsoft paint.

Acting - [2/10] - The acting on this show is non-believable. The parents do a good job of acting, though mainly the mother. Of the children, surprisingly Jake T. Austin is the best actor. Selena Gomez's character annoys me so much it makes me want to break my TV. Also, comparing her to Hannah Montana every chance you get is immature, and proves that you have nothing good to say about Selena other than "ZOMGZ MILLY SYRIS IZ SUCH A WHOOOOORE LOLZ". David Henrie is also irritating with his supposed to be cute "quirkiness".

Story lines - [1/10] - Unoriginal and bores me to tears. You could've put an ape with a pen and some paper and it would've been better than this cure for insomnia.

Scripts - [1/10] - The scripts have many errors in them, it seemed like the producers dog edited them. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WOWP#Goofs.2FTrivia This show tries way too hard to be funny, but just, no.

WOWP should have the WOW removed from its' name.

Was the above review useful to you?

23 out of 52 people found the following review useful:

Disney... Come On.

1/10
Author: Mr-Gabriel35 from United States
27 February 2008

I like Disney Channel and a lot of its shows, so believe me when I tell you it stinks. Not every part of it, just... The magic part of it. Its funny and stuff but when they use magic it looks 100% fake. I mean honestly, Sabrina The Teenage Witch has better magic graphics. The background changes when magic happens and it looks fake. I thought something in 2008 would be better than something that was made in 2001 (Sabrina The Teenage Witch). In conclusion, its a funny show, but they should work on the magic part, A lot. If they do that they can make the show worth watching. Other than that its funny and gives me a chuckle every now and again.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Not a bad show despite flaws

7/10
Author: departed07 from United States
8 August 2008

Okay, somehow everybody wanted to get in on the Harry Potter franchise regardless if people never read the books, seen all the films or having certain issues to make them not to be part of the wizard's such as being a religious fanatic; but Disney found a way to make magic fun without scaring a few target audiences. (Hell, Disney Channel airs the first two Harry Potter films every year twice, so no big deal) "Wizards of Waverly Place" is about the adventures of three young kids with magic powers they inherited from their dad. And yet, each segment has them misusing their powers where they must find a way to make things normal without having others finding out that they are wizards.

The Good: The young cast that includes Selena Gomez as Alex Russo, David Henrie as Justin Russo and Jake T. Austin as Max Russo work together very well. They show a real connection as if being siblings in real life.

The Okay: Some episodes have fun plots while others aren't interesting. What do you expect? It's a kid's show.

The Bad: Despite trying to draw an ethnic audience, the creators didn't have to portray many stereotypes regardless of the characters' heritage or the extra characters (such as the History teacher and his love of western). The special effects themselves are cheesy where most TV shows had better effects than this. Plus the Harry Potter references are obvious.

Overall: Not a bad show; love the young trio, but the show should avoid the usage of Harry Potter references and stereotypes.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Not A G Rated Street In Real Life

6/10
Author: bkoganbing from Buffalo, New York
25 May 2008

It's sometimes is interesting how many varieties of half hour comedy shows aimed for the juvenile trade that the Walt Disney Studios can come up with. It's seems like when one dies, another is just ready to roll.

In this case the Magic Kingdom is really dealing with magic. The Wizards of Waverly Place is a combination of Bewitched and the Partridge Family. Imagine magic and not music in Shirley Jones household back in the day.

The premise is David DeLuise and Maria Canals-Barrera are the parents of three children. They own a restaurant and live on Waverly Place in Manhattan and they are also wizards. They're trying to teach their kids, David Henrie, Selena Gomez, and Jake T. Austin magic, but the idea is learn it gradually. Magic like everything else must be done in moderation. Of course the kid's misuse of the powers is the basis for all the episodes I've seen and am likely to.

The oldest boy David Henrie is like David Cassidy, good looking, but dorky. Selena Gomez is like Susan Dey, pretty as a picture, but smart too. And Jake T. Austin is Danny Bonaduce although they need to develop that a little more.

It's a cute show and could be a breakout for both Henrie and Gomez. She's apparently in the Disney bullpen and if Miley Cyrus keeps getting bad publicity to stain her good girl image, Gomez is ready to roll as Disney's next teen idol. I hope not for Miley's case because she is a good singer.

Waverly Place is a small street, not even a regulation city block long located in Greenwich Village in Manhattan. It's certainly colorful enough, but I have this lingering image of some tourists in New York who might want to visit the place, no doubt being pestered by their kids who are fans of the show.

When they get there it will be quite a surprise. The street unlike the show is not G rated.

Did they know that when they chose a title at the Magic Kingdom?

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 47 people found the following review useful:

Chock full of ham

2/10
Author: matrix29 from Michigan, USA
6 April 2008

Each actor and actress seems to have gone to the acting school of, "MY HANDS! LOOK AT ME! I'M TALKING LOUDER THAN EVERYONE ELSE!" I am annoyed just watching these over-gesturing spotlight-hogging spastic people. None of the acting cast seems to comprehend that they are not the single star of the show and each person is trying to out-ham-act each other, every single second of the show. That would be fine if they were all in the proper clown makeup with props, but as a show cast, is repellent.

The set design looks well thought out with almost every set looking visually interesting, but the breakfast nook is way too visually busy. The special effects are not too obnoxious. The sound is not well managed as the laugh track is an over-bearing over-eager spastic grating on every single hint of a comedic pause. The sound editor fails to clip off the shrieking edge on the character's voices. The film editors seem to have filmed more "establishing shots" than 30-minute show with a 20-second clip of nothing interesting being shown every 3 minute stretch. The camera work is pretty well done despite all of the other flaws of the series. The lighting is great and compliments the set design very well.

The writers are not so horrible as the direction is incompetent and the cast is obnoxious to the level of acting like corny cartoony imitations of human beings. I would like to slap their acting coach if given the opportunity. The sad thing is that using the timeless question of "if this character died, would I miss them" the result is "no, not a single one of these characters would be missed if they died." The only actors and actresses that can act properly in a comedic series are the secondary characters who are able to "tone it down" properly for a scene and are properly not trying to hog the spotlight like a retarded hyper-spastic version of Jim Carrey.

I would normally review a show in regards to the characters, plot, and highlights. This show is so blaring in over-the-top incompetence in direction and acting that nothing else about the show is really noticeable unless a person is forcing themselves to see past the screaming obnoxious flaws.

I will note that the set for the opening school hallway of the show is same one from Howard Hessman's "Head of the Class" (1986-1990)series.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 53 people found the following review useful:

Bland Unoriginality

2/10
Author: trevorfonvergne from United States
17 February 2008

Why is it that every company is trying to cash in on Harry Potter? Some of them were pretty good, (Spiderwick, Chronicles of Narnia) but others were awful. (Eragon, Seeker, Wizards of Waverly Place) I'm surprised it took Disney so long to pick this up, and what surprised me more was the acting. They hired people who had done brief acting jobs in previous Disney Channel shows/movies (Buffalo something, Raven, Hannah Montana) and assumed that the audience loved them. This is pretty unoriginal, and it sticks out like a sore thumb, i.e, the main character's actress's name is Selena Gomez. Watch This: Sabrina, The Teenage Witch/Selena, The Teenage Witch. Also, if Harry Potter started religious controversies, this will do that tenfold, because, not only is it inspiring witchcraft, but it's also inspiring sibling rivalry. Shame, shame.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 8 of 8: [Prev][3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history