IMDb > Henry May Long (2008) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
Henry May Long More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 8 reviews in total 

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

A dark 19th Century Drama to be Sure, and what a Beauty

10/10
Author: romy-26 from United States
20 February 2008

Henry May Long is a gorgeous work of art, impeccably produced and acted, with a script that for me called to mind some of the great dramas by authors such as Emile Zola and Theodore Dreiser, with all of the classic colors of fear and love and guilt and dread and treachery among people more vivid here than anything I've seen in a long time. I found the sadness of it beautiful, and the dishonesty that played into the friendship between the two men gave the story certain aspects of a thriller for me. I loved the feeling I had while watching it, which stayed with me for a long time after. There was something so true about it that it felt almost like being transported to that time in order to eavesdrop and spy on the characters.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Truly Bad Film.

1/10
Author: TheTomasTake from United States
29 November 2008

The good news for IMDb is that this movie was so very bad that it compelled me to register and make a comment. I should add here that I'm a film buff who rarely passes harsh judgment. But sometimes a movie is so poorly acted, poorly conceived, poorly edited, with a such a poor story line that it begs criticism.

I'm surprised by all the claims of how superb, brilliant, dark, and beautifully shot this movie was. I can only conclude that the cast and crew are active posters here. The acting was extremely thin. The pace of the movie was agonizing. I gave it new chances at every turn (mostly because I didn't want to feel like I was wasting a Saturday morning in NY), but with every new scene, it dragged longer, delivering characters in which I took no interest, with which I could not connect, for whom I could not empathize.

When I see negative reviews on IMDb of small independent films like this, I sometimes wonder if the poster has a personal axe to grind (something like. . he used to date the gaffer, she dumped him, and now he's going to trash everything she ever works on). But here, nope. I know no one who worked on this film. And I wish it would have been great. But the film wasn't dark (as some have mentioned) or depressing (as others have claimed). . . those suggest that I connected with the film . . . nope, Henry May Long was just too long, empty, and tedious.

That's the Tomas Take on this one.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Love an authentic period piece!!!!!

10/10
Author: kassidougherty from United States
25 February 2008

I loved it! I'm a real stickler for detail, and I thought they really pulled it off. The costumes, the sets, the language...great attention to detail. I also appreciated the "on location" feel of it.

Being a New Yorker, I also enjoyed the visit to the seamy underbelly of night life in the bar scenes. All the references to experimental drug use were handled without modern prudishness.

I thought the grayness, the storminess of the sea-side setting reflected the isolation of the main characters nicely.

My favorite things were the sweet songs, and the great and subtle performance of Brian Barnhart.

Check this one out if your a lover of films set in 19th century...you will not be disappointed.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Intriguing film, beautifully shot

9/10
Author: robin_daugherty from United States
22 February 2008

I thoroughly enjoyed this film, and have been recommending it to my friends and colleagues. It is a beautiful period piece, and the costumes, sets, language, and acting style set the mood perfectly. The production values are all top notch. The manner in which the plot unfolds keeps the viewer wanting more. Who are these men? What exactly is their relationship? I am wanting to see more by this director and the wonderful production team. Brian Barnhart is clearly an accomplished actor, and I hope to see him in future productions. His portrayal of Henry Long is one of depth and nuance, a performance that is generally rare in a breakout role such as this one.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Beautiful Period Drama

10/10
Author: Marty Geren from United States
21 February 2008

This beautifully shot and acted period film is definitely one to watch. The characters are vividly brought to life in this somber and moving film by both lead actors as well as an excellent supporting cast. Such a journey as this is not to be taken lightly as both Barnhart and Camargo take the audience down a path of addiction, destruction, and ultimately a redemption of sorts. Set in a time of high society and wayward whalers the cinematography, costumes and score draw the viewer in, and leave them longing to know more about these two emotionally damaged men. Written with a poignant sensitivity by Randall Sharp (as well as directed), Henry May Long is a moving film which serves as a snap-shot of times gone by, yet reminds us how the human condition is everlasting in it's need for love and salvation.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Superb!

9/10
Author: lhildebrand-1 from United States
20 February 2008

This film has rich well developed characters, an absolutely beautiful production design and one of the best and most well suited soundtracks I've ever heard. It's a captivating story that takes place at the turn of the century where the viewer is transported to a time where your place in society dictates the life you lead. You feel the characters' despair at being trapped in a rigid societal hierarchy, unable to break free and following their true desires. It's reminiscent of The Age of Innocence with its precise dialogue and mannerisms. This is a true independent gem of a movie that is well acted, well written and exceptionally directed.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Deeply realized and mature look at love.

10/10
Author: virgilsophia from United States
20 February 2008

This film is astonishing in its original style, which after digesting it, seems as 18th century New York might have been, but in a very unexpected way. The film tenderly reveals an age when the most intimate of feelings were expressed in the most formal terms, when talking about California was like talking about another planet, and when reputation was the axis of a person's life. Every moment is the movie authentic. But what really floored me was the realization the story gave me that love is accepting the other person's lies. And also, in its departure from the nihilism that it the usual moral backdrop of independent film (which BTW is quite mannered at this point); it is refreshing to see a characters tortured by conscience. ** That** is stark realism to me. Henry May Long is a full experience with a film. Hard to look at other movies afterward.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Dark Period Drama - Ugh

4/10
Author: mrkevin (mrkevin@hotmail.com) from Chicago, IL
13 February 2008

This film with fine production values features secrets and how friends use each other. Henry May Long is a very well-acted, dimly lit, depressing turn-of-the-century period piece about a friendship between a fatally ill man and a melancholy, indebted junkie. Talky drawing room dramas are not my cup of tea, and all the crying wears thin. Recommended if you like independent, slyly intellectual, slow-paced Merchant Ivory-type features.

I suspected that the main characters were in love, but their connection was so intimated, it didn't really have the emotional impact of 'Brokeback Mountain.' It features some good writing with a scene discussing how to disappear in life, but it is truly a dark and depressing film.

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history