IMDb > Killer Pad (2008) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Killer Pad
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Killer Pad More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 27 reviews in total 

11 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Not very good, not very bad

6/10
Author: SleepKills from Netherlands
26 February 2008

Idle Hands meets Dude, Where's My Car. Sure Killerpad isn't as fun as Englund's directorial debut 976-EVIL, but still he did a pretty good job making a simple teenage horror comedy. Sure it's predictable, sure it's everything but subtle and of course it's just allot of nonsense thrown together. But what did you expect to see? Especially when you put Killerpad next to recent comedy's like Epic Movie, Date Movie or Little Man, it's pretty nice to see a teenage comedy that cán actually make you smile once and a while. The film has some pretty funny moments, especially when Joey Lawrence pops up and makes fun of himself. The three main characters act pretty over-the-top, but in stead of being really annoying, they are funny from time to time.

To make a long story short, Killerpad is nowhere near a great movie, but it certainly has its charm. No hilarious comedy or great fun horror flick, but pretty entertaining here and there. That's it. Can't wait to see Englund's next directing job, The Viy.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Mr. Englund could have done so much more

3/10
Author: Anthony Pittore III (Shattered_Wake) from Los Angeles, CA
15 June 2009

With only his second directorial showing in feature films to date, Robert Englund (best known as Freddy Krueger) brings us 'Killer Pad': the story of three loser friends (Doug, Craig, and Brody) who take up residence in a haunted house (address: 666 Perdition Road) in Hollywood. The house is wicked. Seriously. Coyotes and portals to Hell are included in the price.

The movie includes a couple small cameos (Lin Shaye and Andy Milonakis included), and features a whole host of odd characters (possessed Mexicans, S&M midgets, Joey Lawrence?). If you haven't noticed yet, and I pity you if you haven't, this is a comedy. Is it funny? Eh. There are some good one liners and stupid-funny jokes. But it's pretty much all the same sarcastic humour we've been seeing from better movies with better actors and higher production value over the past few years. I'm actually getting a little bit tired of the unattractive male-centered movies. They're fun on occasion (Knocked Up, Superbad), but they're flooding the comedy market and it only takes one like this to ruin the streak.

There's plenty of hot (and not-so) women, alcohol, partying, and crude humour, but that's about as far as your interest will stretch. It's not UNenjoyable. . . but it's just not very good.

Final verdict: A pathetic 3.5/10.

-AP3-

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

A better than average horror comedy

6/10
Author: JoeB131 from United States
9 March 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This was actually a pretty funny movie.

The plot is that three slackers move to California, and are given a house rental of a small mansion in the hills. There is only one catch. The house is a gateway to Hell. This does nothing to deter the slackers, who proceed to plan a killer party, assisted by a sexy woman named Lucy (as in Lucifer) and her two friends, Jezabel and Delilah. They also invite their hard partying friend, who is about to become a Catholic priest.

Well, as you can pretty much guess, the party commences and the demons proceed to start killing the guests in gruesome ways, including Joey Lawrence, who was on his way to Toby McGuire's house on his way to oblivion.

Some of the jokes are truly gross, such as the butch female bodybuilder getting sucked into a toilet, or the hapless Mexican gardener whose attempts to warn the slackers is hindered by his inability to speak English. Very politically incorrect jokes, to be sure, but maybe we need some political incorrectness.

If you are looking for a true horror film, this isn't for you. If you are looking for some cheap laughs, this movie works.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Killer Pad is a killer time!

10/10
Author: the_headless_cross from United States
2 April 2008

I don't get why this movie is getting bashed so hardcore. Were you people expecting something like No Country For Old Men when picking up a movie directed by Robert Englund about some 20 something guys getting out from living their moms and moving to house and partying to get laid? Sometimes people expect too much.

Frankly I was surprised this was directed by Englund. I haven't seen his directorial debut 976- Evil, but the thought of Freddy himself directing a comedy in the vein of Dude Where's My Car is kinda strange. But he pulls it off pretty well, creating many laughable situations. And c'mon, this has Joey Lawrence in it! That's just too awesome!

Any nitpicks with this? Well, for a teen sex comedy/horror, there isn't any good nudity. The closest is a guy's butt (in one of the grossest scenes). But let that slide. If you are a fan of movies like Dude Where's My Car and horror movies, this is one for you!

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

'Killer Pad' is a killer comedy

Author: shoesncandles from United States
3 November 2011

Let me start out by saying that nothing will ever, ever, and I do mean EVER top 'Lesbian Vampire Killers' for hysterical horror satire. But 'Killer Pad' just beat out 'Shaun of the Dead' for second place.

The humor in American horror satire is usually limited to slapstick, sight gags and pop-culture banter. Consequently it quickly becomes dated, and the humor loses its edge, leaving its audience to wander off in search of the next fix. 'Killer Pad' actually bothers with a script. The situational comedy is deftly arranged, so that the running jokes STAY funny, popping up in unexpected ways, and often the excuse to bring the gag up again is a gag in itself. The jokes don't need to be propped up by a backstory only one generation will really get; they're funny on their own. And likely to remain so!

The actors deserve equal credit for the comic success of the film. It's difficult to keep a character consistently, genuinely, believably oblivious for more than an hour, and to make the audience genuinely laugh at their idiocy instead of just rolling their eyes and getting bored. They achieve it, though. It's my favorite thing about this movie.

Those who come to 'Killer Pad' looking for shallow, cheap humor and obvious jokes will be disappointed, but for anyone seeking a fresh, fun spin on the "evil house" theme: you've found it. So sit back and enjoy!

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Surprisingly Very Enjoyable - frame expectations

7/10
Author: TheTaoofNetflix from DC
11 January 2009

I have to say that I really enjoyed this movie. It is absolutely a comedy/horror hybrid, with the clear emphasis on comedy. The production values are surprisingly high, and the acting works, particularly when considered in light of the script and characterization. Just go in with the right expectations and you may enjoy.

This movie may apply to a niche crowd, but if you're inclined toward comedic horrors, give it a try. Movies that are somewhat similar that I also enjoy in a similar vein: Tequila Body Shots, Hatchet, Dead and Breakfast, Sean of the Dead. I particularly enjoyed the main guy characters; their characters were distinctly well defined and amusing; their acting was on point to the story, and not over the top; also not bad acting either.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Directed by Freddy Kruger, Starring one of the kids from Mean Girls, Joey Lawrence and Andy Milonakis - How can you go wrong?

3/10
Author: Horrorible_Horror_Films from Outer Mongolia
7 May 2008

Wow, uh, yeah. What the hell was this. It looks like maybe the people who made this move had fun making it, but this sure was, wow just bad.

The over-the-top acting and stupidity was obviously intentional, which isn't as bad as some movies who don't even realize how bad they are, but it was just as stupid.

There were also lots of weird sexual-homoerotic things going on here. I don't really know what the hell the deal was, maybe Freddy Kruger (Robert Englund, who played Freddy Kruger, directed this masterpiece) is into that. Also, as mentioned by some other reviewers Daniel Franzese, who was in Mean Girls, has his stomach wrapped in cellophane in a hot tub scene. There is no explanation or rhyme or reason to it, its just that the lower half of his torso is wrapped in cellophane for whatever reason. Yea.

The one positive thing this movie has going for it is the death of Joey Lawrence. ANY film the kills Joey Lawrence earns at least a couple stars. But there really isn't anything else positive to say. Andy Milonakis is also in this movie, I think just a handful of people in LA who didn't happen to be working just got together to make this weird movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Hellishly bad

2/10
Author: shinsrevenge from Germany
23 July 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Now, how should I describe it? Trash-Comedy may be fitting enough for this production of doubtfull and very limited entertainment value. It's one of those "don't trust the cover"-Movies, which promise more, than they can offer. The story is somewhat ridiculous, the dialogues aren't funny at all and the special effects are some of the worst I've ever seen. This might be the fist time, that I actually have pretty much the same opinion as the rating. If you have absolutely nothing better to do and watch, try starring at the sun. Let's hope that this movie returns to where it came from: The pits of hell.

I give it 2 stars out of 10, because there were at least some nice women and some very few funny scenes, which of course can't make up for the rest.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Loved it!

8/10
Author: Allan Brunke from Canada
26 July 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I agree with the comment I just read about this in saying, I don't see why this movie got a bad wrap, I thought it was great.

The only problem I really had was the intense over-acting of Brody, but at the same time, it made it a tad bit funnier. I think Englund did an amazing job with this film, probably one of the best horror-comedy films I have seen in a while.

The only other thing I could have changed in this movie was the really lame "lets dress up a dead body to make it look alive again." Weekend at Bernies could do it and make it funny, this movie didn't.

I liked the cameo by Bobby Lee, he made the movie just that much more funny. But then again, you could put Bobby Lee in anything and it would make it funny.

Midgits, Pornstars and Satan, what more could you ask for?

Was the above review useful to you?

29 out of 57 people found the following review useful:

Do not waste your time on this

2/10
Author: dj_stv from Romania
6 February 2008

To be franc, this has been one of the most unpleasant experience I've been through as a movie enthusiast. "Killer Pad" seems to be summing all worst parts in cinematography: from poor newbie actor and awful lines to dull a script (three good friends move into a new house which seems to be the dwelling of the devil, wow, how original). To top that, this film also includes a lot of grouse and pathetic scenes which, of course, the directors thought would be very funny.

Don't mean to be uptight or something, but this movie is really crap.. In fact, it's more than that, it's an insult to the whole independent film making industry. To sum it up, don't waste your time...

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history