IMDb > The Brothers Solomon (2007) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Brothers Solomon
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Brothers Solomon More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]
Index 46 reviews in total 

38 out of 48 people found the following review useful:

There's a test to see how much you enjoy this film...

8/10
Author: John Wayne from The Orchestra
9 March 2008

If you find the opening credits funny, then you will love this wonderfully absurd film. Of course, if you're not in touch with your inner idiot, you will be bewildered and ask "Why is this funny?"

Like Charlie says in Charlie And The Chocolate Factory "candy doesn't have to have a point." This is a film that revels in its oddball stupidity.

Will Arnett is funny for me simply by his facial expressions and tone of voice (I often quote "Michael. Selfish, selfish Michael" in my head.) Will Forte (who also wrote) is adept at twisting audience's expectations, the two Solomon brothers completely unaware of their actions. Kirsten Wiig, a superb comedy actress, is in a relatively straighter role here, but still pulls it off well.

In short, if you want wit and sophistication, watch Robert Altman's The Player. If you want depth and moral ambiguity, watch Fight Club or A Clockwork Orange.

If you just want to amuse yourself laughing at idiots, this film will please no end.

Was the above review useful to you?

35 out of 53 people found the following review useful:

I hate everyone who was critical of this movie!!!!!!!

10/10
Author: Lostboysproductions from United States
11 July 2008

The ratings I have seen on this movie have cemented the fact that people on IMDb take movies way to seriously. After laughing my a** off for the second time in a row, I read the reviews for Brothers Solomon on IMDb and was pi**ed at what I saw. Besides the fact that it was ranked 5.0 out of 10.0 when it was one of the funniest movies I have seen in the last five years assures me that either I have a bizarre sense of humor, or that people who are on IMDb take themselves way to f***ing seriously. I've decided both are true.

First off, if you like Wet Hot American Summer, stop reading now and watch brothers Solomon. It's hilarious.

Easily the funniest opening credit sequence I have ever seen. And simple too.

I read people saying that this movie wasn't developed properly, or it was random. What THE F***!!!! That's what's funny about this movie. It's Crazy Absurd!!!!!!!!! It's the two most absurd male characters since Lloyd and Harry from Dumb and Dumber. This movie is not Schindler's List. I'm sorry for whoever thought it would be.

If you want silly ridiculous comedy, watch this movie. I am now sitting in a room with 6 people who are laughing their asses off at random parts of the movie. Honestly, its good. I don't know why it didn't do better.

Will Forte and Will Arentt both RULE!

Was the above review useful to you?

25 out of 40 people found the following review useful:

The Brothers Solomon Movie Review

7/10
Author: GoneWithTheTwins from www.GoneWithTheTwins.com
23 December 2007

The unequivocal epitome of absurdity, The Brothers Solomon is equal parts stunning hilarity and eyebrow-raising ridiculousness. With a mind-bogglingly offbeat sense of "Dumb and Dumber" humor, this film introduces such sustained socially-inept insanity by its unpredictably bizarre lead characters that it is constantly difficult to predict where it's all going. Despite the berserk brothers' insensibilities, this madcap farce manages to be entertaining and different from the recent slew of R-rated comedies.

When their father lapses into a coma and Dean (Will Forte) and John (Will Arnett) Solomon learn that his only regret was not seeing a grandchild, the two brothers determine to acquire one no matter what the cost. After the romantically (and socially) inept twosome fail at wooing a mate to bear their child, they turn to other means of conception… Initially The Brothers Solomon appears to be an even wackier and more ludicrous version of "Dumb and Dumber", with a goofy duo of misfits who lack all cognitive thought processes. Early on, the film even steals a joke from the Farrelly Brothers' comedy, which is a huge mistake considering how widely recognized Harry and Lloyd's dialogue has become. But after the initial letdown, The Brother Solomon redeems itself with a nonstop barrage of hilariously awkward slapstick and unpredictable kookiness.

Like Steve and Doug Butabi from "A Night at the Roxbury", the Solomons never let their spirits down, as if they're completely oblivious to their unwieldy social shortcomings. Their chipper attitude remains constant, even when they disagree, and it casts a bizarre sense of satisfaction straight through to the moronic conclusion. To say that the events in the film are even remotely believable or sensible would be a gross exaggeration, yet one has to appreciate the inane degree of preposterousness the film achieves with its extremely over-the-top comedy.

From picking out a pornographic magazine at a sperm bank (they struggle over a copy of Indigenous Weekly), to a candlelit hallway dinner, to "kickass" parenting training involving hiding and mistreating baby dolls, to stalking children at a playground, the absurd gimmicks and slapstick the brothers employ is surprisingly entertaining. The entire film tests the limits to which imbecilic comedy can be pushed, and once that line is crossed, they continue forward into unknown territories of illogicality. Puppetry-based sex training and friendship-simulation aside, The Brothers Solomon is utterly pointless and largely trivial, and yet somehow the all new lows of intelligence make for an unusually high amount of laughs.

Reaching unforeseen heights in creative absurdity and comedic eccentricity, The Brothers Solomon appears uninhibited by stereotypical comedy output. The humor on display is a seldom seen blend of disturbing mockery and playful stupidity that is ultimately hit or miss. But when it succeeds, it does so with masterful relish creating simultaneous shock and laugh-out-loud silliness. Airplane banners, pedophilia, and infant abuse never looked so funny.

- Mike and Joel Massie

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Surprisingly,fairly funny little comedy. Arnett and Forte,provide a strong Comedy team.

6/10
Author: callanvass
30 December 2009

I don't have much background info,on Will Artnett,or Will Forte. That being said,I managed to laugh quite a bit during this film,it's wonderfully moronic,while being hilarious at the same time. The stupid things they do,like seeing each other naked in the shower,or the way they talk,we all just can't help but laugh at it. The whole idea is absolutely absurd. Having John and Dean learn to be father's,while being completely incompetent,is certainly out there. But they managed to make it quite amusing,so that was pretty impressive. It's quite crude at times,but never too crude,to where it turns the viewer off,like Bruno ,persay. The Brothers Solomon isn't gonna make your world spin,it won't become one of your favorite comedies of all time either,but it will brighten up your day,it will take a load off,and provide you with some much needed laughs.

Performances. Will Arnett&Will Forte are both very funny,very likable. They make an excellent comedy team,that we can all like. Here's hoping,we get to see them again,sometime soon. Chi McBride is a funny character actor,and here is no different. Kristen Wiig does her job well,I quite liked her,even if she was bitchy at some points. Malin Akerman had a snobby written role,but who cares when you look like she does?. Rest of the cast are fine.

Bottom Line. This is a fun little comedy. It has laughs,spirit,and most importantly it's fun to watch. Worth the watch

6/10

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

A Ridiculous yet Funny Movie

7/10
Author: jts0405 from United States
23 August 2008

The Brothers Solomon is one of those movies that is incredibly dumb and ridiculous, yet it turns out to be funny. This movie had it's moments when it was pretty funny and made itself a decent looking comedy, but at other points you were thinking 'why the hell would somebody write that.' The whole point is that John and Dean Solomon want to grant their dad's wish by having a grandchild for him. Will Arnett did a really funny job as always and I continue to like what he does, but this wasn't his best work by far. I think this movie is like a forgotten movie. I mean people won't be talking about The Brothers Solomon for the next twenty. I wouldn't go out on a limb to watch it, but if it was on and nothing else was, then I wouldn't change the channel.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

So funny that I watched it twice in a row

8/10
Author: stratsz28 from Milwaukee, WI
20 January 2009

I had rather low expectations for this movie based on the IMDb rating. I was more than pleasantly surprised. This movie was extremely funny but does require an outside-the-box sense of humor.

I rarely watch a movie twice in a row (I think Finding Nemo or O Brother Where Art Thou was the last time), but I could not help seeing this one a second time. In fact, I'm getting so excited as I write this review that I may go watch it again.

Before you decide to watch this movie, realize that your enjoyment of The Brothers Solomon will hinder on these qualifications: 1. You probably should already appreciate the work of Will Arnett and Will Forte. 2. You don't care at all about the quality of the plot. 3. You are willing to tolerate the fact that many components of the plot are very unrealistic.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Dumb & Dumber revamped for Modern days.

7/10
Author: moselekm from United States
19 April 2009

I usually don't write reviews for comedies, because they usually don't deserve one. These days, we know our actors and can say, "Yea, it's going to contain this sort of comedy, if I liked what he (or they) did last year, I will love this," and that isn't to put down comedies at all, they are made that way and they're hilarious (as most comedians usually write or co-write and produce their films these days). This film, which I never even heard whimpered or scoffed of anywhere, deserves a review, because I don't think many people paid it any mind.

The film was written by Forte (Dean Solomon), a recent SNL personality (I never watch it personally). I never knew his comedy style, but the two brothers, (John Solomon played by Arnett) both have symmetrical characters who play off each other as pretty much two men who were raised in a sheltered home and pretty much see everything in a very positive light.

Their own characters weren't even that annoying, as one might think, and I am easily annoyed by characters. They were straight forward guys who would ball-bust people with a smile on their face. The comedy is situational to them pretty much completing scenes with their personalities (playful 'burning' of each other with wise cracks or situations that happened to them and getting by spotty and racy situations by their pure ignorance to their offenses).

Simply put, if you like comedy, you will like this movie. It has a very good modern plot with a twist and two characters who are hilarious. If you liked Dumb and Dumber you should be reminded of the quaint quirky humor back in the 90's, with this new fresh look at situational comedy.

The plot also keeps moving, unlike some comedies that catch a snag. This movie is continuously in motion with pretty much trial and error scenes that are all a laugh.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Awkwardness as Anxiety

8/10
Author: BroadswordCallinDannyBoy from Boston, MA
13 January 2009

A popular comedy formula is to replace the expected tone of a story with another one. The Monty Python Troupe excelled at this by making everyday mundane situation outrageously ridiculous or vice versa or pretty much any other bizarre switcheroo that you can think of. "The Brothers Solomon" takes anxiety from one of the big steps on life, having a baby, and replaces it with some serious awkwardness.

The titular characters, two brothers who were raised in the North Pole away from civilization and are therefore socially inept try to find a surrogate mother and give their father his last wish: a grandchild. The father is in a coma so the two bumbling brothers, John and Dean, are out in their own. The result is wonderfully... well, awkward. From finding the woman to be their surrogate mother to figuring out how to impregnate her, from arguments at the sperm bank to all the way to baby training and every step in between is hilariously quirky - "Should we put locks on the locks in case the baby learns the combinations?" It is a sense of humor that will not please everyone, since the protagonists are funny not because they snap funny lines and manage to do impossible things (like Bugs Bunny surviving a long fall) but because they can't do anything right. Yet this redundancy of wrong doing is never redundant here, but rather it becomes the movie's very enjoyable quirky theme. And that's what a good comedy needs. --- 8/10

BsCDb Classification: 13+ --- profanity, crude content

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Having a baby

6/10
Author: jotix100 from New York
22 November 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

John and Dean Solomon are two guys that have been away from civilization for too long. After their mother died, their father Ed, decided to take them to the North Pole where the boys wanted to live and gave them a home education. The result of their upbringing created two guys that are misfits in a society such as ours where being cool is the norm. These brothers have no clue as to how to act.

When Ed Solomon collapses into a coma, the boys decide to bring him home together with all the medical paraphernalia that will keep him alive. In one lucid moment John and Dean figure what could be best to get the father out of his condition? They decide it must be a baby that will restore his lost health because of the joy it will give the old man. The only problem is these guys do not know how to create it.

"The Brothers Solomon", directed by Bob Odenkirk, a man that has been among the writers for Saturaday Night Live and has been involved in a lot of television. The comedy was written by one of the stars, Will Forte, who plays Dean Solomon. This is a picture that is obviously not for everybody, and, judging by the negative comments submitted to this forum, has equal amounts of lovers and haters. Some of the gags work better than others. The director gets deadpan acting from the two principals that deliver their lines with a straight face.

Will Arnett and Will Forte play the inane brothers with gusto. To their credit, both actors are never obnoxious. This is a perfect party movie when friends are looking for a few laughs enjoying a cold beer. Kristen Wiig, also of S.N.L., Malin Ackerman, Chi McBride and Lee Majors, who never utters a word, are seen in supporting roles.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Random Comedy is For Me

8/10
Author: jill arms from United States
8 July 2011

This movie is more than watchable, as in, I didn't check my facebook more than 4 times the entire movie. I especially like the part when they try to watch a movie while their father is on the same circuit breaker and the power goes off. Now that's comedy. Man In Motion song is repeated, with dignity, throughout. I almost gave this movie a seven, but then re-though my decision for an eight. I am giving this movie a review after all. Silly, stupid comedy is fab. check 'er out! The review board is saying I must write ten lines of text to submit a review so here we go... Also watch... Wet hot American summer,waking ned devine, drowning mona,and jaws more than seven thousand times in your life and all will be well.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history