IMDb > Kickin' It Old Skool (2007) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Kickin' It Old Skool
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Kickin' It Old Skool More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]
Index 35 reviews in total 

70 out of 118 people found the following review useful:

Great movie for anyone who grew up in the 80's

8/10
Author: swimguard from United States
10 August 2006

i saw this movie last night at a sneak preview. i wasn't expecting a whole lot from this movie except maybe some cheesy one liners that would get a laugh. the movie actually had me laughing the whole time. the sound track is excellent! the movie has so many references to the 80's! it was great. the basis of the movie is a kid has a break dancing accident and goes into a coma for 20 years. this concept of the kid having to grow up in a hurry reminded me of movies like 13 going on 30 or Big but what separated this movie from others like it is he didn't grow up because of some wish or magic Gennie. the circumstance of him being in a coma and waking up 20 years later was much more realistic.

i definitely recommend seeing this movie if you grew up in the 80's!

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

I actually laughed a lot

5/10
Author: B. Caesar Cubillos (CubeJack@aol.com) from El Paso, TX
2 May 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I didn't go into this movie expecting to see the 2nd coming of the Shawshank Redemption or Casablanca as far as film-making. I just wanted to see something lighthearted enough to get some cheap laughs with my family. In that sense, this movie succeeded. No, it wasn't a "good" movie by any stretch of the imagination, but I did enjoy the time I spent watching this flick. The first half hour or so stuck in some corny jokes and I was beginning to think "Uh oh... this is going to be lame." Then the movie seemed to take a turn and STOP trying to be witty. Instead it then focused on silly sight gags and cheap laughs. Yes, it was juvenile and cheap... but it was also FUNNY. I'm of the minority who finds Jamie Kennedy funny and did like his old television show.

It seemed that very much of the plot and storyline borrowed from other movies, namely Big and Dodgeball. While this wasn't as funny as either of those movies it still had me laughing on many occasions. I particularly liked the individual jokes involving the roach, the date-preparation and the crude vomit scene. I've seen too many "comedy" movies that try to take themselves seriously and they get annoying. People like me who were teens in the 80s will probably like this more than the pre-teen to mid-20s audience of today. We lived most of the references, so we'll get a few more of the jokes.

You really have to be a fan of silly and braindead type of comedies to enjoy this. I won't say that it's worth buying on DVD or anything, but if you want some simple laughs without worrying about any overly obscene language or scenes you might enjoy this. It won't challenge you mentally or have you raving about it to your friends, but you might enjoy turning your brain off for awhile for a few laughs.

If your kids don't get embarrassed by you laughing about something they don't get, then take them along. It's actually fun explaining the references to them.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

i really enjoyed this...but then i don't support the academy.

6/10
Author: Gimetzco from nashville tenn.
28 April 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Kickin' It Old Skool...

it's a lot more all-encompasing (80s references) than i expected...and i knew every song in the film...because i'm old.

but it is very much a silly love letter to bad 80s hiphop cinema: Breakin' & Breakin' 2: electric boogaloo, beat street, body rock, krush groove.

the movie is VERY stupid...but so is every one of the aforementioned films that i listed (except maybe BEAT STREET, hokey, but NOT stupid). In it's core the film is "cute" but it's really meant for a specific audience.

my very favorite scene has to do with K.I.T.T. backing up and mumbling "i'm gonna back up and go somewhere else" while Justin and Jenn are on their first date. the joke is in K.I.T.T.'s voice.

the break battles were mostly impressive as well (thanks to Adolfo Quinones aka SHABBADO! aka OZONE!) and this little Canadian b-boy named Jesse Brown aka CASPER...that kid is fresh. can't act, but didn't need to.

it's a crap film, but crap in the best ways...like a bad 80s movie. i love it.

really though.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 28 people found the following review useful:

oh so bad

3/10
Author: bondjamesbond from United States
26 April 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This thing makes Malibu's Most Wanted look like American Beauty. I'm being generous in giving it a 3, but only because I chuckled a few times at some of the 80's references. This movie has one thing going for it, Michael Rosenbaum. He is incredibly funny in it, and I'm sure most of his stuff was improvised, because it's the only bright spot in a badly directed, badly lit, badly everything turkey that should've been released in January or February. Rosenbaum has fun with his role, and he even manages to reference Oliver Stone's 'The Doors' if you can believe it. Skip it and put it on your Netflix list if you're really bored.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

What Should Be a Waste of Time Mysteriously Holds My Attention

6/10
Author: gavin6942 from United States
9 September 2007

Justin was a break-dancing child of the 1980s. At least, until he flipped off the stage and sent himself into a coma. Waking up twenty years later, he's a child trapped in a man's body and still has the urge to break dance. So what does he do? What anyone would do -- form the team together again to win the local break dancing contest and pay his parents back for all his medical bills.

This film comes from first-time director Harvey Glazer. For most people, this gives hi ma clean slate. For me, I look at his past endeavors as a producer and cringe. From 2006 through 2007, he produced a variety of awful straight-to-video horror films, which I've actually seen simply because Anchor Bay sends me copies for free. "The Mad", "Ultimate Killing Machine" and "Bottom Feeder" are not films you should necessarily be proud to have on your resume. This one, however, is an exception.

I was at a party, and a Blockbuster employee named Jared brought it over, more or less as a joke to have something playing in the background. And I was like "Jamie Kennedy? Straight to video? Oh no!" But before long, I found myself distracted from my Pabst Blue Ribbon and game of cards and actively watching this one. The 1980s references were cleverly woven in, and the style of humor was low-brow without being tasteless. It was right up my alley.

I'm not sure who this film is catering to, besides me. I suppose people in their mid-20s to mid-30s. The bulk of the humor relies on understanding a lot of the references and quotations used, which the younger crowd might not get. Some of them are very subtle. The rest of the humor might turn off the older crowd, because it has a youth focus. Urination, juvenile behavior and the like. Hey, I liked it... but would my mom? Probably not.

So if you're in your twenties and want a flashback, this might be something for you. Rubik's cubes, DJ Tanner, He-Man and Rockem Sockem robots are the name of the game here. If this sounds like something you'll appreciate, dig in. And, if that doesn't sell you: there's a special appearance by David Hasselhoff and KITT. What more do you want?

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Oh My God....!

1/10
Author: SANFRANFILMFAN from United States
25 March 2008

I wasn't going to write a review but I had to do something when I discovered IMDb has nothing lower than 1 star.

I am absolutely floored by the fact that 455 people gave this movie 10 stars. I can only assume that they were investors who are trying to salvage whatever they can by tricking naive readers into going to see this total disaster. I caught this on cable (nothing else on) and my jaw dropped minutes after it started and I kept watching because I truly could not believe it could get worse. Man, was I wrong! I had seen the previews, thought it had potential and considered seeing in a theater. Pfffew.

The scenes with Maria Menounos are priceless. She absolutely deserves some kind of award for that performance. In the same way IMDb needs to add a zero rating for this specific movie, the Oscars need a brand new category for the role of Jennifer in Kicking It Old Skool. In fact, I've just decided to coin the acronym KIOS and use it whenever I see someone who is acting the way Maria acts in this movie.

I feel sorry for anyone who spent any money watching this movie. And to the 455 investors, your 10 star ratings were totally KIOS.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

Positively painful watching

Author: thomas-hoenen from Canada
29 April 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

When I read the synopsis to "Kickin' it old skool", I expected a funny, and maybe even witty homage to the 80's, the time of my childhood. This movie is anything but. Instead, it is a series of scenes making fun of mentally handicapped people, fat people, homeless people, Jewish people, black people, and of course the main character, a guy who fell into a coma as a kid twenty years ago, and now behaves like one stuck in the body of a 30 year old. All of that is hold together by a story that might have made sense, but is totally ruined by an implausible script with stereotype characters who are played by mostly mediocre actors (the only exception being Debra Jo Rupp who manages despite the script to give her character some credibility). IMHO, watching a homeless person peeing first himself and later others is not humorous; neither is seeing a guy who just woke up from a coma falling repeatedly flat on his face because his atrophic muscles can not support him. Judging by their giggling, the 6 year old girls sitting in the row behind me felt different and enjoyed these as well as the other equally crude jokes; they were the only ones in the theater. And even if you are a parent looking for a funny movie for your kids, this one is a bad choice because of the tons of crude sexual humor; unless you think that internet porn is an adequate learning tool about sexuality or want them watching for example a grown-up practicing how to make out with a girl by playing with the man-boobs of his overweight friend, while his other friends comment that you have to twist the nipples like a violin knob... So maybe at least the break-dancing scenes make it worth watching this movie? Not really, although some of the scenes are impressive, they sum up to maybe 2 minutes in this 108 minute disaster, and do not even remotely make up for the rest of the movie. Save yourself the money, the time and a painful experience and go see something else.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

For those, who grow up in the 1980's will have some fun with this silly movie.

8/10
Author: Lucien Lessard from Canada
19 February 2009

As a young boy, Justin (Alexander Calvert) felt down hard on the floor trying to do some fancy break dancing for a talent show at school. Twenty years has passed, Justin (Jamie Kennedy) woke up from his coma. Although he still has the mind of a twelve year old trapped in a 32 year old body. He finds out that his parents (Christopher McDonald and Debra Jo Rapp) might lose their home, after trying to pay off Justin's medical bills. He decides to get back his old dance crew (Miguel A. Nunez, Jr., Bobby Lee and Avis Alvarado) to help him win back his parents house. Justin discovers that his long time crush (Maria Menounos) is marring the bully (Michael Rosenbaum), he truly hated. But Justn hasn't realized yet that music has changed and a whole new generation of fancy foot-steppers are far superior. Since he missed two decades, it is time to grow up... a little.

Directed by Harv Glazer (Bitten) made an silly comedy that has some goofy laughs. Kennedy offers more charm that he did in "Malibu's Most Wanted". But the differences between the two, his early starring role had a much slicker look. It will certainly remind you of the film "Big" and other break dancing movies of the 1980's. The movie has a cool retro 80's soundtrack and some of the dance moves are good. "Kickin It Old Skool" is not a great comedy but it's not boring either and acting or the quality of the feature looks truly average. But it does offers some laughs and probably fans of Kennedy will enjoy this one best. Some amusing cameos as well. Super 35. (*** 1/2 out of *****).

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Michael Rosenbaum is the real Lex Luthor.

7/10
Author: freakfire-1 from Texas, United States
29 March 2008

Strange, this movie was funnier than I thought it would be. For a movie filled with 80s clichés, this wasn't bad. Of course, it brought out a lot of 80s style things, but some were out of place.

To begin with, there were a few things that came out in the 80s that were post-1986 that somehow Kennedy's character (Justin) was familiar with. In the deleted scenes, the extended night club scene uses some anachronisms.

Despite those flaws, its funny to see Jamie Kennedy act like a 12 year old in a 32 year old body. Especially when Kennedy discovers women and the internet. He becomes confused about the issue and tries to emulate the beginning of an adult movie in completely wrong situations.

Of course, Kennedy learning how to please a woman via Hector was disturbing. I don't want to see that again. But it was for comedy.

Overall, its a good movie. It has its goofs and problems, but it is quite funny at times. So have at it, unless you born after the 80s. If that is the case, you might not understand the movie. "B"

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Great Fun

Author: O-skoo from United States
28 April 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This movie was a fun look at the way it was back in the day (which is the 80's for me). Will this movie win an Oscar? Probably not, but it was a humorous, well done presentation into the things that we were into back then. I was impressed with great 80's references like the "we can get through anything by doing it to a music montage" moments, leg warmers, dance (a number of girls that I remember wanted to be professional dancers when they grew up), the boom box and cardboard on the sidewalk for kicking it freestyle, and the whole we settle scores and "battle by dancing" concept.

If back in the day for you is the 90's, and you think a high quality movie is something with Alicia Silverstone, Eliza Dushku, or Ashton Kutcher, then you might not "get the movie". Consider this: future generations will think what's considered cool by you today will just plain suck then.

Thanks to Jamie Kennedy for "Keepin it Real" and "Kickin'it Old-Skool!"

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot synopsis Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history