IMDb > I Think I Love My Wife (2007) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
I Think I Love My Wife
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
I Think I Love My Wife More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 6:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [Next]
Index 53 reviews in total 

54 out of 74 people found the following review useful:

A typical middle class man faces a relatable crisis

8/10
Author: heartandsoul from United States
22 March 2007

I wasn't going to comment until I saw all the negative and I thought unfair comments about this movie. I've always said that movies reviews often show what's going on inside us as much as what's went on on the screen. I for one was at first reluctant to see this movie because I thought Chris Rock's other movie attempts were juvenile. But when I read his announcement that this was his first "adult" movie, I became interested. I appreciated that this was a slice of life movie. I heard a complaint that there was no plot but since when does life present a neatly contrived plot? The movie represented a period out a man's life, a particularly rough patch in his marriage. It was exaggerated where it needed to be for comic effect, which for me, I'm happy to say was very successful, since most attempts at comedy leave me stone faced. In general both my boyfriend and I have discriminating tastes in movies. It's tough to surprise us, please us, make us laugh, while at the same time presenting a realistic life issue that makes one think. This movie did that. It wasn't strictly formula. My suggestion is to not automatically believe the negative reviews. Don't even take my review as gospel. But I think any movie that creates such divergent reactions deserves a look. I would suggest you definitely check it out and decide for yourself.

Was the above review useful to you?

30 out of 38 people found the following review useful:

This sometimes funny but uneven film would make a great pre-marital counseling movie!

6/10
Author: Amy Adler from Toledo, Ohio
6 April 2007

Richard (Chris Rock) appears to have it all. He is a successful banking executive in New York City, lives in a posh home in the suburbs, and has the proverbial gorgeous wife and two kids. However, when a beautiful female acquaintance from former years crosses his path again, he begins to wonder if he is indeed missing something. Nikki is lovely beyond words and makes a big play for him, promising a supercharged sexual liaison. Richard toys with the idea, because it's true that his sex life at home has waned, what with the ongoing decisions about the children and the wall sconces for the living room. Should he risk an affair? This is an occasionally funny film with very attractive performers. Rock is a talented actor and he makes the most of the script's humorous situations. Just watch him cave into smoking a weed at a party or have a semi-serious encounter with a Viagra pill and you will be very mirthful. The trouble is, of course, that the film's comic moments are not in overabundance. The rest of the cast is very fine, with Steve Buscemi giving a nice little performance as a scummy colleague of Richard's. The two main female leads are colossally beautiful and arresting individuals, adding greatly to the movie's enjoyment. Costumes, sets, and production values are high. Beware, however, of some strong language from time to time, as the F-bomb is tossed around on occasion. All in all, this movie is not without humor or good messages yet can not be declared an outright winner. Nevertheless, it will do for an evening's entertainment or, more importantly, it would make a great counseling tool for those considering marriage in the near future. It's ultimate stance on marital commitment and the perils of infidelity are admirable indeed.

Was the above review useful to you?

39 out of 63 people found the following review useful:

Enjoyable Comedy!...Absolutely LOVED It!

9/10
Author: kiacheri from United States
26 March 2007

This romantic comedy was different. For once, I was not able to predict the outcome of the situation nor the ending. I really enjoyed the movie. The character of Richard Cooper is believable and the issue that is presented is realistic, esp. in America. It deals with the temptation to cheat. And even focuses on the ancient issue of whether or not men and women can have a platonic relationship. As well as the question: Is this marriage going to work or stand the test of time or temptation? It definitely is a movie for adults esp. couples. I laughed the entire time. I give Chris Rock two thumbs WAY UP & mad KUDOS...I Absolutely LOVED It!

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 34 people found the following review useful:

certainly not as revelatory or grounded as Chloe in the Afternoon, but filtering through Rock's sensibilities it's not bad

6/10
Author: MisterWhiplash from United States
17 March 2007

Chloe in the Afternoon, Eric Rohmer's much acclaimed 1972 film, will remain as a fine little pillar of the old story of a male character in infidelity and morality with living a life with a significant other, long after I Think I Love My Wife sits in the video stores and gets mass replays on TV. Chris Rock's film, as co-writer/director, is never one to really go down the path of dangerous contrivances or of the annoyances with the quirks in characterizations. This is mostly due to it being a comedy, and with Rock's own brand of sensibilities sort of filtering into this otherwise very straightforward examination of truth and desire in marriage, which is also very easy in some ways.

In fact, as one who may pay attention to Rock's stand-up, at least ten to fifteen minutes of material in the film- from the line near the start "married and bored out of my f***ing mind", to the scene where the married couples have finner- can be found in the 2004 stand-up special Never Scared. This isn't a bad thing, though, and there's even a hilarious wink to moments that come unexpected, either from past Rock bits like the table-dance song in the club or the unfortunate, ecstatically tasteless scene in the ambulance van.

But more than anything it's Rock, as star and filmmaker, an attempt at making a vehicle that knows it's being a little silly at times, and still reaching truths that are worthwhile. The joist of the plot concerns Richard Coopper, Rock, as an investment banker in New York city, married with two kids and quite successful, tempted by the suddenness of Niki Tru (Kerry Washington, almost a 180 of the bland 'good girl' type of woman in Ray), who as Steve Buscemi's character describes to Richard: "she's f***ing you, you just don't know it." At the core of the film there is some momentum in the fact that Richard doesn't go on to cheat, even as one might think this is the 'safe' route.

There is more of a safe turn that happens, which is to be sort of expected, where Richard has a change of mind after letting go of the temptation, and this part loses its credibility in relation to the rest of the picture. But this isn't too much of a hindrance, so much of there being something small, though noticeable, that is even less credible. It reminds one of a similar problem in the Last Kiss, last year's similar romantic-morality tale of tranquility broken by another woman, because on the two sides neither is entirely satisfying. Niki is a cold, tramp kind of girl who actually gets exposition even though, despite Washington's portrayal, is annoying, yet Gina Torres's Brenda, Richard's wife, doesn't get much put into her as a noticeable character, except as a slightly blasé, male portrayal of her being a good mother, yet disengaged in the sexual sense.

Yet there is some good that comes out of Rock's connections to both women that wasn't like the Last Kiss- he's able to garner a successful tone of balance between the drama and comedy, and to the degree that both are neither trying for anything great stay believable up to a point. Buscemi's character is one who's added for a slight change in tone, as at first the straight-laced friend for Richard, but then with his own special idiosyncrasies, really involving Viagra and his own complex with marriage. Meanwhile, Rock goes through his motions of faces in his performance, and it's almost too perfunctory, like his direction. It's definitely amiable and sympathetic, however, so it's not really anything that makes it a bad excursion as a date movie. There's some great songs mixed in, and a fantastic seduction scene towards the end, plus a possible tip of the hat to The 40 Year Old Virgin's end scene.

If you need a good date movie right now, this would surely be one that doesn't offend, and doesn't really make you call everyone you know to see it, but it is smart enough for what it's worth, as opposed to any other lot of romantic comedies where the characters are positively sociopaths. Most you'll find here is a jealous hoodlum who puts a stomping to Richard at one point (which is actually very, very funny, even as a loose end). Not a bad remake, but not one to be put on the same pedestal either.

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

Something to ponder about

Author: ichocolat from i1chocolat.blogspot.com
24 August 2007

For those who want to watch a comedy movie, then this is not what you are looking for. Yeah it has Chris Rock as the main actor, but in this movie he is not the stand up comedian, and he doesn't wish to make you laugh out silly like he usually does in his TV shows.

The story is about a man, who has been married for seven years, and has become a sex-deprived man because he has not make love for a long time. Things got messier when he met his old flame and he suddenly got attracted to her. She was supposed to be a temptress but I think she looked more like a prostitute looking for customers in broad daylight. But heck, he was still attracted to her, mainly because she offered to give him the thing that his wife wouldn't want to give him anymore. Catch my drift? So the story goes that he began to lose focus in his life, particularly with his family and his job in a bank. All because of the temptress and his stupidity to fall for her charm (and partly due to his other head too).

This story addresses the problem faced by many married couple and I think this movie did a good job in portraying the problem. Sometimes it is hard to understand why many married couple choose to end their marriage, and this movie certainly shed some idea on the problem. Without doubt, a good watch.

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 25 people found the following review useful:

Life Is Made of Choices

6/10
Author: Claudio Carvalho from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
17 January 2008

The suburban middle class investment banker and family man Richard Cooper (Chris Rock) has been married for eight years with his wife Brenda (Gina Torres) and they have two children. Their marriage is in crisis due to the lack of sex, and Richard is feeling completely bored and dreaming on having sex everywhere with other women. When his sexy single friend Nikki Tru (Kerry Washington) that he has not seen since he was single stumbles in his office in Manhattan asking for a recommendation letter for a job, Chris has lots of fun with her, but he omits her visit to Brenda. Nikki visits Richard on the next afternoons, jeopardizing his position and making Richard rethink about his choices in life.

"I Think I Love My Wife" is an entertaining movie about a universal situation – the change of the sexual life between couples after years of marriage. Kerry Washington is extremely sexy and is perfect in the role of the smart single girl that uses her friendship seeking for fun. It is very pleasant to see the scenes with this gorgeous actress. Chris Rock plays a silly suburban character that fights for not cheating his wife. However the situations are inconsistent since Richard does not have sex with his wife and has daydreams with women; and when he meets a woman like Nikki he does not have sex with her? Brenda, performed by Gina Torres, is an unpleasant character with her denial of having sex. The moralist conclusion, with Richard and Brenda singing, is simply awful. My vote is six.

Title (Brazil): "Acho Que Amo Minha Mulher" ("I Think I Love My Wife")

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Well composed drama

Author: Gordon-11 from Earth
17 September 2007

This film is about a man having to make choices between his wife and kids, and a beautiful woman who suddenly appears in his life.

I thought this film was a comedy, but it was not. It was a drama about a man in an less than satisfactory marriage. I think the negative comments about this film stems from the fact that people expected this to be a comedy, hence they got disappointed by what they see. Richard Cooper's confusion is well portrayed, and I am sure a lot of people can relate to the situation. If the film had a title that sounded less like a comedy, so that people knew what to expect, I am sure it would have enjoyed a better word of mouth.

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 36 people found the following review useful:

Pootie Tang aspires for more.

4/10
Author: Maximillian Hope from United States
15 March 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

As Pootie Tang meets the marital comedy of Louis C.K.'s HBO show, I Think I Love My Wife, turns out to be slightly funnier than it looks. Although Chris Rock delivers lines in his films the same way he does in stand-up, making his performances less than mediocre, he turns out to be a more than competent director. Unfortunately that is where praise for this conventional, formulaic, and proclaimed remake of Chloe in the Afternoon stops. Rock vents much of his hostility towards women, married women in particular, in an attempt to excuse male chauvinism and infidelity. It seems the only message Rocks wants to get across is that life ends once a man is married, and the only way to reinvigorate this pre-marital excitement is to find a younger, crazy, attractive women to obsess over you. Rock plays an investment banker living in suburbia, working in the city as he narrates all the downsides of being married and domesticated, like one of his old sketches on SNL.

Rock's second chance behind the camera finds him directing a script filled with some chuckles, but plagued with undeniably bitter misogyny. His direction does feel clumsy and misguided, especially in many of the higher budget crane shots and slow motion tracking shots. The rest of the movie is hovered by whether or not Rock will cheat on his wife, while progressively straying away from his comfortable life at home.

And all of this conflict, and soul searching stems from his wife's refusal to have sex. Why she won't have sex with him is all explained in a short montage of rejections for unexplained and ridiculous reasons, ("My head hurts.") Steve Buscemi manages to bring some flair to film, despite the lighter fair of material he has to work with. Ultimately Rock has shelled out a falsely inspired comedy that will surely please fans of the venerated comedian.

Was the above review useful to you?

27 out of 49 people found the following review useful:

I think I'd like my money back

3/10
Author: Kristine (kristinedrama14@msn.com) from Chicago, Illinois
31 August 2007

I was really looking forward to I Think I Love My Wife, I saw the commercial advertisement for the DVD and this movie looked like so much fun. So I finally got the rental and watched it this morning and I have to say that I was a bit disappointed with it. You know what lost the major points with me? Now, I know Chris Rock's humor, I know he likes to joke about the white man, but this movie just seemed to keep mentioning the white race which I wasn't impressed with. Just because if it were the other way around with a certain line like "Is your wife white?", now if it was a white woman saying "is your wife black?", most people would have been insulted. I'm just sick of the humor, it's getting old and we need to grow up. The story is just the typical man with a mid life crisis with a typical marriage, at the least the horror version.

Richard Cooper is a married man with two beautiful children, awesome job with good pay, a big house, sounds like the perfect life, right? Well, wrong! Him and his wife do not have sex any more and his life has become a bit predictable, that is until he meets and old crush, Nikki and temptation is knocking down the door. Richard plays naive at first acting completely oblivious to her moves, yet when he realizes what she's after, he just keeps hanging out with her risking his job that she visits constantly and family. But Richard tries to remain tough while living a life that he's already over since he's been married.

Over all, I Think I Love My Wife isn't a bad film, it just wasn't what I expected. The acting was fine, it was just the story that seemed unbalanced and not to mention the racial lines that were just unnecessary. So if you're looking to watch this film, I would say to give it a look, I think me taking those lines seriously is a bit much, but I'm just sick of that "humor", I think we need to grow past it if we want a better future, you know? But judge for yourself, other than what I mentioned, it's just an average mid life crisis movie, nothing more.

3/10

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Boring married life ... and then Temptation

7/10
Author: vram22 from United States
3 June 2008

... And, it's Chris Rock at center. The movie was amusing to watch. There are some good laugh-out-loud moments, but it was mostly interesting because of his edgy narration throughout the movie. We hear his inner thoughts and clever wit - and we wait to see if he (a married man) will eventually give in to the endless temptation of a female friend.

Here's the setup: Rock plays a banker who has an effectively empty marriage ... his wife is focused on raising their two kids and is at the point of shunning any kind of physical intimacy. Out of the blue, a female friend from his past shows up and is pretty much everything his wife is not ... he can never say 'no' to meeting her, but where is it leading? Watching Chris kind of narrate his thoughts and feelings was fun to watch. All the other characters are kind of 1-dimensional, but they are so well acted, they are interesting to watch.

Whether or not you're a Chris Rock fan, this movie is pretty good based on its own merits: it's funny and insightful.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 6:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards Newsgroup reviews External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history