IMDb > "Talkshow with Spike Feresten" (2006) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 12 reviews in total 

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Good Quality Program

10/10
Author: KennyWallaceRulz from Grenada
17 September 2006

After watching the series premiere of Talk Show with Spike Feresten I took a moment to really think wow there are actually good shows on after 12 besides SNL and I was also sad to see that it was only 30 minutes long. His great writing skills helped this show overcome a series lack of money and helping hands. Electronic Lincoln was hilarious and I really think this will be a good Dark Horse Talk Show.

I was very happy with the way he handled it and gave Andy Richtor some good lines to work with. As you would have suspected it was a little shaky but for that kind of time slot it was very good.

Overall if you are not someone on weed or even if you are and you don't have something more important to do than watch this great piece and have a fun time doing it.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Remember where you were

10/10
Author: Slopmaster4001 from Phoenix, AZ
19 December 2006

I say remember where and when you saw this show because I believe if Fox gives Talk Show a chance Spike will be right up there with Conan in a few years because like Conan he is incredibly funny and seems to be just grateful at having his own show which adds to the humor.

The funniest bits Spike has had so far are The Idiot Paparatzi and Comedy For Stoners and if your not high and get CFS what does that say about you.

In summary this show is funnier in 25 minutes than SNL in an hour so lets hope Talk Show gets the attention it deserves such as an extra half hour, more money and a band.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

A Good Show!

Author: Randy Coates from Canada
21 February 2008

This was a good show. Spike Feresten was a pretty funny host and the writing was good. There were a lot of weird and off beat jokes. I think it was more for the younger crowd than any of the other late night talk shows were / are. In the second season especially it got a little bit annoying because the guests were usually from other shows on the Fox network shamelessly plugging themselves. That made the show look less polished and professional but clearly they were using it for advertising because the show was in trouble in the ratings, they were talking a lot about canceling it. I still think this show should be given a chance because it took the Daily Show a while to find its feet too and Talkshow had a lot of potential to be a good show for a younger audience.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Funny as Heck!!

9/10
Author: lashaylalogan from United States
19 October 2006

This show was a pleasant surprise after watching Mad TV on a Saturday night. Spike is an excellent host that you can tell is still getting used to it but he is doing great adjusting to his new job. I can imagine it being a difficult transition from writer(Seinfeld) to host however, unlike a lot of new talk show hosts he does not let airtime ride while trying to figure out what to do next. He is quick-minded and each segment and section rolls into one another smoothly. It also doesn't hurt that he's kinda sexy in a nerdy type of way so he's not hard on the eyes like Leno or Letterman. I can't remember the exact episode date that was my favorite but I especially LOVED the Idiot Paparazzi skit with a fake J-Lo and Katie Holmes. Great New Show!!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

10 Stars......Seriously?

1/10
Author: TiburonCapt from United States
26 March 2009

Maybe I'm alone here, but this is a crap show. I'm sorry but I was lured in when I found out about Lil' Bill O'Reilly (which I had no idea came from this show until months later, and has honestly since lost its appeal) but I gave the show a fair shot. Spike tries to hard to make himself into something he's not, which is to say, he tries to be human. Fox didn't even bother to hide the strings when they took him out of the box he came in. His sketches try to hard, he himself isn't funny, and the writers are struggling to write material for a no-talent host. There is too much good TV out there to waste your time with this show, and Fox.....Fox we had some good times, but you need to get your f$%*ing act together and come up with something original instead of trying to be just another "Me-too" network.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

Hysterical

10/10
Author: michelep-3 from United States
14 September 2006

Spike Feresten is a comic genius. 'Talkshow' demonstrates a fresh take on the kind of odd ball irreverence that have made shows like Letterman and The Daily Show successful. His likability is palpable. He seems to find the unique angle of the joke, not the predictable sitcom path...thank God. His comedy is reminiscent of the award winning Arrested Development (cross your fingers that 'Talkshow' has a longer life span). The topics he highlights tend to be those things that pass by unnoticed by everyone else, yet when he creates a joke around them out you wonder how you missed it the first time around. I particularly enjoyed the sketches..."Unfair Target" will be a cult classic in no time. Set your Tivo's people...this is a show not to be missed.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Fox Does Not Renew Talk Show with Spike Feresten !!

10/10
Author: neonlightsentertainment (neonlightsentertainment@earthlink.net) from United States
21 June 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I am appalled and dismayed that the Network has canceled Talk Show with Spike Feresten !!

What is wrong with The Fox Television Network, Canceling Talk Show With Spike Feresten and replacing it with Wanda Sikes? For those at the Network with a short attention span, Wanda At Large was canceled because the audience grew tired of her nasty insults that would make the audience cringe, and Wanda Sykes spewing out her very own brand of vindictive mud slinging jokes is not humor, it is nasty and repulsive.

Apparently The Fox Television Network has rewarded Wanda Sikes because she has garnered a self important appearance front of President Barak Obama. There is no doubt that Wanda's recent ill tempered in front of the President of The United States are not funny and the audience laughter was only to patronize and please Barak Obama.

Talk Show with Spike Feresten has a genuine sense of humor and has never deliberately or vindictively insulted any guest or performer. Spike's well rounded personality always gleefully, poked fun of life and himself.and his Filed Pieces during the first two seasons with AFTRA Actress Mary Mae Atwill, as the Mae West of the 21st Century were absolutely hysterical with Spike Feresten's skits:Judge Joe Brown, Trading Spouses and Last Season's James Kyson Lee Episode where Spike chats with Erica via the Internet on the show.

Despite the Network's budget constraints for elaborate field pieces and the Second Season's WGA Strike, Spike Feresten did not waiver his sense of humor or show integrity. Talk Show with Spike Feresten always had up in coming new talent and his Comedy for Stoners spoofs of Nanny 911 and Idiot Paparazzi were considered cutting edge and had excellent production value.

On a professional level, Spike Feresten, was the best Executive Producers, and Set Producer, Brett Webster along with his fabulous production crew were one of the best production teams that I have worked for in my AFTRA Career .It would really be very foolish and sad shame to cancel Talk Show with Spike Feresten.

Unfortunately, its success could conceivably be taken to Comedy Central or another Network and Financially speaking, that would become a valuable revenue loss for FOX Television..

On behalf of the late night Saturday Fox Television audience, supporters of Talk Show with Spike Feresten, including all cast and crew, we beseech the Network to retain the Talk Show With Spike Feresten Franchise and give the crew a second opportunity to become a successful Fox Show.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

mostly funny - worth a look-see

8/10
Author: happy_hotei from United States
18 September 2008

Talkshow with Spike Feresten is one of those shows that will definitely polarize audiences. Either you like it or you don't. Personally, I find most of the bits hilarious, but it does have some "huh?" moments.

Staples like "Idiot Paparazzi" are always good for a laugh, but my all-time favorite bit has to be the one-off "Hollywood Douchebag". "Comedy for Stoners" is the only regular bit that generally leaves me confused (which is part of the point!) Spike and his team of writers manage to churn out loads of fresh comedy time after time so the show never feels stale. Feresten's brand of humor may not be for everyone, but it's definitely worth trying.

The masses have spoken! We like this show and want more. Please note I am not a friend of or affiliated in any way with Spike Feresten, "Talkshow with Spike Feresten" staff, or Fox network and affiliates. It's just plain funny!

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Spikeness

Author: larkili from United States
13 May 2007

Spike, please stop saying that only Stoners watch late night Saturday TV...What about divorced middle-aged women raising kids alone who are chronically dateless? You are our mainstay, or at least you are mine, and I haven't smoked pot since Nixon was President (it was only that once, and yes I DID inhale). On Saturday night I watch Mystery on PBS, then Mad TV, then you, and then I turn OFF the TV and go to sleep because Sex in The City is BORING and STUPID (and nothing like the real thing, as far as I remember). You are not ever boring and when you're stupid, it's funny. My favorite piece was the one where you sprayed your neighbor who's dog pooped in your yard with the hose. I also love it when you call unlikely people on the street movie stars and chase after them. The recent appearance of Bobby Lee was icing on the cake...he reminds me so much of John Belushi. I could have lived without seeing his fuzzy anus, but I love you guys so much that we'll let that one slide. Keep it up, Spike, and remember: there are those of us who are not chemically altered who watch you faithfully.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

The KoreaTowns sketch was hilarious

9/10
Author: Tapan Trivedi (tapan@indiancomedian.com) from Los Angeles, Ca
12 February 2007

I saw it last week and the sketch about the Korea towns was funny . Very tongue in cheek and suitable to the political climate. Full points to the writers and Spike for that. The part where he makes the translator pull a rickshaw and throws out Korean words could have been pulled off only by Spike. This is a brave attempt by Fox . This is a brilliant show and I hope that it pulls off . My wife and I have been TIVOing it regularly and although it clashes it with a couple of other programs we watch it now on MySpace. I hope Fox dedicates full resources to the show and makes it daily. I can't wait to see Bobby Lee on his show . With people like Bernard Abedalla behind the show this is on the right track. Also Mary Mae as his wife looks beautiful.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history