IMDb > "Avonlea" Stranger in the Night (1994)

"Avonlea" Stranger in the Night (1994)"Road to Avonlea" Stranger in the Night (original title)

« Prev | 57 of 93 Episodes | Next »


User Rating:
8.1/10   17 votes »
Your Rating:
Saving vote...
Deleting vote...
/10   (delete | history)
Sorry, there was a problem
Janet MacLean (written by)
Lucy Maud Montgomery (novels)
View company contact information for Stranger in the Night on IMDbPro.
TV Series:
Original Air Date:
13 February 1994 (Season 5, Episode 5)
Alec struggles to finish harvesting the hay before the rain comes, and is assisted by a mysterious young stranger named Caleb. Other strangers enter the plot as the truth about Caleb's past unfolds. Full summary » | Add synopsis »


 (Episode Cast) (in credits order)

Jackie Burroughs ... Hetty King

Bruce Greenwood ... Caleb Stokes
Mag Ruffman ... Olivia Dale
Gema Zamprogna ... Felicity King

Zachary Bennett ... Felix King
Harmony Cramp ... Cecily King
Lally Cadeau ... Janet King

Cedric Smith ... Alec King

Marilyn Lightstone ... Muriel Stacey
John Friesen ... Archie Gillis
Bob Bainborough ... Constable
Brian Kelly ... William McMillan

Bryan Renfro ... Arthur McMillan
Alex Floyd ... Baby Daniel
Ryan Floyd ... Baby Daniel
Luke ... Digger
rest of cast listed alphabetically:

Sarah Polley ... Sara Stanley (credit only)

Episode Crew
Directed by
Allan King 
Writing credits
(in alphabetical order)
Janet MacLean  written by
Lucy Maud Montgomery  novels "The Story Girl" "The Golden Road" "Chronicles of Avonlea" "Further Chronicles of Avonlea"

Produced by
Trudy Grant .... executive producer
Kevin Sullivan .... executive producer
Original Music by
John Welsman 
Cinematography by
Robert Saad  (as Bob Saad)
Film Editing by
Gordon McClellan 
Casting by
Anne Tait 
Art Direction by
Nancey Pankiw 
Set Decoration by
Ian Wheatley 
Costume Design by
Madeleine Stewart 
Makeup Department
Paul R.J. Elliot .... hair designer (as Paul Elliot)
Marilyn Terry .... makeup designer
Production Management
Deborah Bernstein .... executive in charge of production: CBC
Nicholas J. Gray .... production manager
Cathy Johnson .... executive in charge of production: The Disney Channel
Susan Morgan .... executive in charge of production: CBC
Julie Steiner .... post-production supervisor
Second Unit Director or Assistant Director
Cynthia Clayton .... second assistant director
Libby Hodgson .... first assistant director
Art Department
James Oswald .... first assistant art director
Greg Pelchat .... property manager
Richard M. Snider .... key greens
David Ritchie .... assistant property master (uncredited)
Sound Department
Glen Gauthier .... sound mixer
Jeremy MacLaverty .... supervising sound editor
Daniel Pellerin .... studio sound mixer
David Drainie Taylor .... dialogue editor (as David Taylor)
Jamie Jones .... stunt performer
Camera and Electrical Department
Robert Daprato .... key grip (as Bob DaPrato)
Peter Luxford .... camera operator
Norman O'Halloran .... gaffer (as Norm O'Halloran)
Editorial Department
Bernie Clayton .... on-line editor
Kris Engel .... assistant editor
Lorraine Grant .... colorist
Transportation Department
Greg O'Hara .... transportation coordinator
Other crew
Helen Asimakis .... story editor
Dan Matthews .... location manager
Yan Moore .... senior story editor
Peter Muldoon .... production accountant
Laurie Pearson .... story editor
Diane Messina Stanley .... executive consultant (as Dianne Massock)
James Stanley .... executive consultant
Mairin Wilkinson .... story editor
Joey Tanenbaum .... grateful acknowledgment
Toby Tanenbaum .... grateful acknowledgment

Series Crew
These people are regular crew members. Were they in this episode?
Writing credits
(in alphabetical order)
Fiona McHugh  developer

Produced by
Nicholas J. Gray .... producer
Noella Nesdoly .... supervising producer
Paul Quigley .... producer
Set Decoration by
Jaro Dick (1989)
Art Department
Wayne Jacques .... assistant decorator (series 7)
Sound Department
Christian T. Cooke .... adr mixer
Andy Koyama .... sound re-recording mixer
Virginia Storey .... foley artist (various episodes)
Special Effects by
Troy Rundle .... special effects technician (uncredited)
Visual Effects by
Kennedy Shah .... motion control operator
Tom Turnbull .... visual effects supervisor (as Thomas Turnbull)
Suzi Stingl .... stunt double: Davey
Camera and Electrical Department
Chris Mayo .... video assistant
Tracy Shaw .... dolly grip (1992-1993)
Costume and Wardrobe Department
Barbara Somerville .... costume buyer
Editorial Department
Dov Samuel .... assistant editor
Music Department
Ron Korb .... musician: flute
Jeff Wolpert .... scoring mixer
Transportation Department
Dave Marwick .... production driver
Other crew
Deborah Bernstein .... network executive
Catherine Denson .... network executive
Katharine Gray .... story department coordinator (season 5)
Cathy Johnson .... network executive
Fiona McHugh .... series developer
Jude Schneider .... network executive
David Smukler .... dialect coach: pre-production
Production CompaniesDistributorsOther Companies

Additional Details

Also Known As:
"Road to Avonlea: Stranger in the Night (#5.5)" - Canada (original title)
60 min (with commercials)
Filming Locations:


This FAQ is empty. Add the first question.

Message Boards

Discuss this movie with other users on IMDb message board for "Avonlea" (1990)

Related Links

Main series Episode guide Full cast and crew
Company credits IMDb TV section IMDb Drama section
IMDb Canada section

You may report errors and omissions on this page to the IMDb database managers. They will be examined and if approved will be included in a future update. Clicking the 'Edit page' button will take you through a step-by-step process.