IMDb > "The Love Boat" Japan Cruise: When Worlds Collide/The Captain and the Geisha/The Lottery Winners/The Emperor's Fortune: Part 1 (1983)

"The Love Boat" Japan Cruise: When Worlds Collide/The Captain and the Geisha/The Lottery Winners/The Emperor's Fortune: Part 1 (1983)

« Prev | 174 of 250 Episodes | Next »


User Rating:
7.5/10   10 votes »
Your Rating:
Saving vote...
Deleting vote...
/10   (delete | history)
Sorry, there was a problem
Richard Albrecht (teleplay) (segment)
Jill Baer (written by) (segment)
View company contact information for Japan Cruise: When Worlds Collide/The Captain and the Geisha/The Lottery Winners/The Emperor's Fortune: Part 1 on IMDbPro.
Original Air Date:
5 November 1983 (Season 7, Episode 7)
Part 1 of 2. The passengers and crew cruise through Japan. Photographer Lila Pearsell (Heather Thomas) is prejudiced toward the Japanese... See more » | Add synopsis »


 (Episode Cast) (in credits order)

Gavin MacLeod ... Captain Merrill Stubing

Bernie Kopell ... Doctor Adam Bricker

Fred Grandy ... Ship's Purser 'Gopher' Smith

Ted Lange ... Bartender Isaac Washington

Jill Whelan ... Vicki Stubing

Lauren Tewes ... Cruise Director Julie McCoy

Tony Danza ... Bud Ohara

Mariette Hartley ... Martha Chambers

Ted Knight ... Barney Gordon

Harvey Korman ... Harvey Willis

Jean Marsh ... Celia Hoffman

Rita Moreno ... Gladys Gordon

Nancy Morgan ... Joanie Hoffman

John Ritter ... Ben Cummins

James Shigeta ... Bud's Father (credit only)

Heather Thomas ... Lila Pearsell
Larry McCormick ... Newsman

Episode Crew
Directed by
Jerome Courtland 
Writing credits
(in alphabetical order)
Richard Albrecht  teleplay (segment "The Lottery Winners")
Jill Baer  written by (segment "The Emperor's Fortune")
Wilford Lloyd Baumes  developed by (as W.L. Baumes)
Casey Keller  teleplay (segment "The Lottery Winners")
Mike Marmer  written by (segment "The Captain and the Geisha")
Lan O'Kun  written by (segment "When Worlds Collide")
Jeraldine Saunders  suggested by
Rick Shaw  story (segment "The Lottery Winners")
Christopher Vane  written by (segment "The Emperor's Fortune")

Produced by
Art Baer .... producer
Henry Colman .... producer
Douglas S. Cramer .... executive producer
Hudson Hickman .... associate producer
Ben Joelson .... producer
Tim King .... associate producer
William A. Porter .... co-producer
Stephen K. Rose .... associate producer
Aaron Spelling .... executive producer
Original Music by
Ben Lanzarone 
Cinematography by
Robert L. Morrison (director of photography)
Film Editing by
Norman Wallerstein 
Casting by
Dennis Hammer (casting by)
Art Direction by
Larry Warwick 
Set Decoration by
James W. Payne  (as James Payne)
Costume Design by
Nolan Miller 
Makeup Department
Stephen Elsbree .... hair stylist (as Stephen A. Elsbree)
Robert Ostermann .... makeup artist (as Bob Ostermann)
Production Management
Joseph Dervin Jr. .... executive in charge of post production
Norman Henry .... executive production manager
Al Kraus .... supervising production manager
William A. Porter .... production manager
Sheridan Dar Reid .... unit production manager (as Dar Reid)
Second Unit Director or Assistant Director
Michael S. McLean .... second units directed by
Dirk Petersmann .... first assistant director
Charles H. Siegel .... second assistant director
Art Department
Gordon Kirschbaum .... supervising construction co-ordinator
Roger Montesano .... property master
Sound Department
Paul Levine .... sound effects editor
Curtis Mick .... sound effects editor (as Curt Mick)
Bruce Smith .... sound engineer
Robert Nichols II .... sound recordist (uncredited)
Camera and Electrical Department
Casey Jones .... grip (uncredited)
Casting Department
Adam Rich .... casting associate
Costume and Wardrobe Department
Charlotte Iwata .... costumer: women (as Charlotte Iwata-Oshiro)
Larry Velasco .... costumer: men
Editorial Department
Norman Wallerstein .... supervising film editor
Sue Kesler .... apprentice film editor (uncredited)
Location Management
Bob Gray .... location manager
Music Department
Charles Fox .... composer: theme music
Jack Jones .... singer: theme music
Jay Kleinberg .... music editor (as Jay Leinberg)
Rocky Moriana .... music supervisor
Paul Williams .... lyricist: theme music
Other crew
Richard Albrecht .... story editor
Jill Baer .... story editor
Doris DeHerdt .... script supervisor
Bret Garwood .... executive coordinator
Renate Kamer .... assistant to the executive producer
Casey Keller .... story editor
Mike Marmer .... story supervisor
Phill Norman .... title design
Christopher Vane .... story editor
Diana Weatherill .... assistant to the executive producer (as Diana Aretio)
Tony Webster .... executive script consultant
Stan Rodarte .... stand-in (uncredited)

Series Crew
These people are regular crew members. Were they in this episode?
Writing credits
(in alphabetical order)
Wilford Lloyd Baumes  developed by (as Wilfred Lloyd Baumes)
Billy Crystal 
Simon Muntner 

Produced by
Allen Brown .... producer (1978)
Alan Rafkin .... producer (1978)
Paul Stanley .... producer (1978)
Film Editing by
Kenneth Miller 
Terry M. Pickford 
Second Unit Director or Assistant Director
Bernard F. Basley .... second second assistant director (1985)
Sound Department
Kevin Kearney .... sound recordist (1981)
Greg P. Russell .... sound recordist
Jerry Brutsche .... stunts
Leslie Hoffman .... stunts: 78' high fall off love boat
Tony Snegoff .... stunts
Camera and Electrical Department
James F. Cornick .... best boy (1989-1993)
Scott Hamilton .... still photographer
Serge Poupis .... assistant camera
Serge Poupis .... first assistant camera
Joe Valdez .... second assistant camera
Other crew
Art Scholl .... pilot (1984)
Production CompaniesDistributors

Additional Details

60 min
Aspect Ratio:
1.33 : 1 See more »
Sound Mix:
Filming Locations:


This FAQ is empty. Add the first question.

Message Boards

Discuss this movie with other users on IMDb message board for "The Love Boat" (1977)

Related Links

Main series Episode guide Full cast and crew
Company credits IMDb TV section IMDb Comedy section

You may report errors and omissions on this page to the IMDb database managers. They will be examined and if approved will be included in a future update. Clicking the 'Edit page' button will take you through a step-by-step process.